

2009 Assembly Joint Resolution 101

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending Fond du Lac High School on its sesquicentennial.

Whereas, following the establishment of a union high school district in 1858, the first classes at Fond du Lac High School were taught by Edwin Johnson and M. S. Merrill in January 1859; and

Whereas, the first Fond du Lac graduating class — the Class of 1860 — was made up of four students: Isa Mather, Emma Jane Ward, Kate Frame, and Kelsey Adams; and

Whereas, after several years of occupying rented facilities around the city, Fond du Lac High School in 1865 moved into a permanent building, which burned to the ground in 1868 and was replaced in 1873; and

Whereas, in 1922 a new high school building was dedicated that would serve the district for almost 80 years; it was renamed L. P. Goodrich High School in 1955, in memory of a longtime Fond du Lac school superintendent who had later served as the Milwaukee Public Schools superintendent; and

Whereas, the most recent incarnation of Fond du Lac High School opened for classes at the beginning of the 2001–2002 school year; and

Whereas, distinguished graduates of Goodrich or Fond du Lac High School over the years include former Governor Scott McCallum, former Attorney General Peggy A. Lautenschlager, and U.S. Representative Thomas E. Petri; and

Whereas, Fond du Lac High School is celebrating 150 years of academic excellence and service to the Fond du Lac community; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature congratulate Fond du Lac High School on its sesquicentennial.

Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate	Representative Michael J. Sheridan Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk