

2007 Senate Joint Resolution 35

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** commending the University of Wisconsin men's and women's basketball teams.

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin (UW) men's and women's basketball teams completed their 2006–07 seasons with their best records ever with the men finishing 30–6 and the women completing a 23–13 campaign; and

Whereas, both teams earned postseason tournament selections with the Badger men advancing to the second round of the NCAA Tournament and the Badger women getting to the finals of the WNIT; and

Whereas, the Badger men's team's 17-consecutive-game winning streak and its 13 conference victories were a school record which contributed to the team being ranked in the top ten for 17 weeks, including 12 weeks in the top five and one week as the number one team in the nation; and

Whereas, head coach Bo Ryan received the Adolph Rupp Cup as the national coach of the year and senior Alando Tucker was selected as a first-team All-American, the first ever UW player named as a first-team All American by the Associated Press; and

Whereas, the Badger women's team, whose roster contains no seniors, closed out its season with a program—best 23 wins, with 17 coming at home, the most in school history; and

Whereas, head coach Lisa Stone from Oregon, Wisconsin, ranks 22nd in overall winning percentage among active Division I coaches with a record 408–169 (.707) and has consistently boasted Academic All–Big Ten honorees in her coaching career at UW; and

Whereas, junior Jolene Anderson from Port Wing, Wisconsin, was named first-team All-Big Ten and is the fastest UW player to collect 1,000 and 1,500 career points; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend and congratulate the UW men's and women's basketball teams for their hard work and great achievements in the 2006–07 season; and, be it further

*Resolved, That* the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to head coach Bo Ryan, to head coach Lisa Stone, and to members of the teams.

Representative Michael D. Huebsch Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate
Date	Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk