

2005 Senate Joint Resolution 16

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** honoring and applauding the 2004–2005 University of Wisconsin–Green Bay women's basketball team and Head Coach Kevin Borseth on another very successful regular season and wishing them the best of luck in the NCAA tournament.

Whereas, the UW-Green Bay women's basketball team won its 4th consecutive Horizon League women's basketball championship March 7, 2005, as the Phoenix defeated Wright State at the Nutter Center, 58–48; and

Whereas, Tiffany Mor, a senior forward, was named the 2005 Horizon League Player of the Year and led the Horizon League in scoring (16.2), field goal percentage (61.6), and blocked shots (72), was named to the 2004–05 ESPN the Magazine Academic All–America Second Team, and is one of 10 semifinalists for the 3rd annual Creamland Dairies Collegiate Basketball Award of Excellence; and

Whereas, UW-Green Bay senior guard Abby Scharlow earned a place on the All-Horizon League First Team for the 2nd consecutive season, sophomore forward Nicole Soulis made the All-Horizon League Second Team for the 2nd year in a row, senior guard Mary Kulenkamp was a repeat selection to the All-Horizon League Defensive Team, and freshman guard Kayla Groh represented the Phoenix on the All-Horizon League Newcomer Team; and

Whereas, Coach Kevin Borseth received his 6th Horizon League Coach of the Year honor in 7 seasons by guiding the Phoenix to a 7th straight Horizon League regular—season title, and Borseth is the all—time leader in Horizon League history in league wins (95), winning percentage (89.6), and league tournament victories (17); and

Whereas, the Phoenix is making its 4th consecutive trip to the NCAA tournament and earned the No. 10 seed in the Philadelphia Region of the 2005 NCAA tournament and will face the No. 7 seed University of Maryland on Sunday, March 20, 2005, in College Park, Maryland; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the legislature of the state of Wisconsin honors and applauds the 2004–2005 University of Wisconsin–Green Bay women's basketball team and Head Coach Kevin Borseth on another very successful regular season and wishes them the best of luck in the NCAA tournament; and, be it further

*Resolved, That* the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Head Coach Kevin Borseth, his staff, each member of the team, and Athletic Director Ken Bothof.

Representative John G. Gard	Senator Alan J. Lasee
Speaker of the Assembly	President of the Senate
Date	Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk