



ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: the life and public service of Lyman F. Anderson.

Whereas, Lyman F. Anderson was born on February 16, 1926, in Madison, Wisconsin, and died on October 25, 2005, in Madison, Wisconsin; and

Whereas, Mr. Anderson was a graduate of Oregon High School, and earned a bachelor of arts degree in history at the University of Wisconsin–Madison in 1950; and

Whereas, he dedicated his life to serving others and was active in town, county, and state government for over 40 years; and

Whereas, Mr. Anderson was first elected to the Oregon Town Board in 1961, where he served until 1974; and

Whereas, Mr. Anderson was elected to the Wisconsin assembly in 1974, serving in the 1975–1976 session; and

Whereas, during his tenure in the legislature, Mr. Anderson was a member of the Committee on Agriculture, the Committee on Printing, and chairman of the Republican Policy Committee on Agriculture; and

Whereas, Mr. Anderson was known as the dean of the Dane County Board of Supervisors and served for over 27 years, from 1972 through 1976 and from 1980 until 2004; and

Whereas, Mr. Anderson was a devoted member of the Sons of the American Revolution, a genealogical society comprised of ancestors of patriots who fought for our nation's freedom in the American Revolution; and

Whereas, Mr. Anderson was a hardworking farmer with a great deal of common sense, dedicated to agricultural, natural resources, and property rights, and believed in working with anyone, regardless of political ideology, to get the job done; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend the devoted public service that Lyman F. Anderson contributed to this state and his community, express their sorrow at his death, and extend their condolences to his family and friends; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint resolution to his wife, Pat Anderson and to members of Mr. Anderson's family.

Senator Alan J. Lasee President of the Senate Representative John G. Gard Speaker of the Assembly

Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk

Date