

2005 Assembly Joint Resolution 35

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: proclaiming the week of May 8 to 14, 2005, as Salvation Army Week in the state of Wisconsin.

Whereas, in 1880 the Salvation Army came to the United States; and

Whereas, by 1889 the Salvation Army established a command post in a small storefront on Milwaukee's West Water Street under Captain Samuel Neil and his wife; and

Whereas, over the next century the Salvation Army embarked on a mission of service whereby:

In 1893 the first "Red Kettle" drive was instituted;

In 1903 a home for men was established and the first thrift store opened;

In 1922 the Booth Home and Hospital for unwed mothers was founded to provide shelter with a home–like atmosphere to young women;

In 1925 Army Lake Camp was opened near East Troy, offering a summer camp experience to hundreds statewide;

In 1932 Salvation Army soup kitchens fed the hungry during the Depression;

In 1935 the Salvation Army began its first toy distribution;

In 1941 the Salvation Army assisted servicemen and women during WWII and helped organize the USO;

In 1953 the Salvation Army established an Adult Rehabilitation Center to serve destitute, homeless men;

In 1984 the Salvation Army joined together with Health Care for the Homeless; and In 1998 the Salvation Army opened the Winterstar Transitional Housing Program; and

2005 Assembly Joint Resolution 35

Whereas, the Salvation Army has established community centers in Appleton, Beloit, Eau Claire, Fond du Lac, Green Bay, Janesville, Kenosha, La Crosse, Madison, Manitowoc, Marinette, Milwaukee, Oak Creek, Oshkosh, Racine, Sheboygan, Stevens Point, Superior, Waukesha, and Wausau providing many outreach programs that serve thousands of people throughout the state; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin legislature commemorates 125 years of the Salvation Army in the United States and 116 years in Wisconsin by proclaiming May 8 to 14, 2005, as Salvation Army Week in the state of Wisconsin.

Senator Alan J. Lasee President of the Senate Representative John G. Gard Speaker of the Assembly

Date

Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk