ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: the life and public service of Patricia Spafford Smith.

Whereas, Patricia Spafford Smith was born on August 17, 1925, in Shell Lake, Wisconsin, and died on December 31, 2002; and

Whereas, Mrs. Smith graduated from Shell Lake High School; and

Whereas, she attended Superior State Teachers College (now University of Wisconsin-Superior); and

Whereas, Mrs. Smith received a B.B.A. from the University of Minnesota in 1946; and

Whereas, after graduation, she was employed as an accountant by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue; and

Whereas, she married James W. Smith on October 22, 1949, who preceded her in death in 1969; and

Whereas, Mrs. Smith was first elected to the Wisconsin assembly in 1978, and served in the 1979 through 1983 sessions; and

Whereas, during her tenure in the assembly, she served as the majority caucus sergeant at arms during the 1983 session; and

Whereas, Mrs. Smith also served as chairperson and vice-chairperson of the Assembly Committee on Tourism and Recreation, and co-chairperson of the Joint Committee on Tax Exemptions; and

Whereas, upon her retirement from the legislature, she served on the Washburn County Board and the Shell Lake City Council and as Mayor of Shell Lake; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend the devoted public service that Patricia Spafford Smith contributed to this state and her community, express their sorrow at her death, and extend their condolences to her family and friends; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Mrs. Smith's daughter, Margaret Mary of Seattle, Washington; her sons, Bill, John, and Stephen of Rice Lake, Wisconsin, Patrick of Appleton, Wisconsin, and Michael of Seattle, Washington; and her sister, Helen Kay Omernik of Montrose, Colorado.

Senator Alan J. Lasee President of the Senate	Representative John G. Gard Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk