

2001 Assembly Joint Resolution 25

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** the life and public service of Joseph L. Looby.

Whereas, Joseph L. Looby was born on November 24, 1917, in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, and died on January 26, 2001; and

Whereas, Joe Looby graduated from St. Patrick's High School in 1935; and

Whereas, Joe Looby married Mert Brettingen Madsen on July 12, 1944, in Manitowoc, Wisconsin; and Whereas, during World War II, Joe Looby served in the U.S. Army from 1943 until 1946; and

Whereas, Mr. Looby worked many years at the Uniroyal tire company and from 1960 to 1968 served as treasurer of the local rubber workers union; and

Whereas, Joe Looby received his first tastes of elected office with stints on the Eau Claire city council from 1964 to 1968 and on the Eau Claire County board from 1965 to 1975; and

Whereas, Joe Looby was elected to the Wisconsin assembly in 1968 and, with the exception of one session in 1979, served continuously during the 1969 through 1987 sessions; and

Whereas, during his tenure in the assembly, Joe Looby served on several standing committees including the Committee on Labor (chairperson for 12 years), Committee on Municipalities, and Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That** the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend the devoted public service that Joseph L. Looby contributed to this state and his community, express sorrow at his death, and extend condolences to his family and friends; and be it further

*Resolved, That* the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Joseph L. Looby's 5 daughters, Judi Moondance and Connie Hintz, both of Eau Claire, Wisconsin; Cherry Kjarsgaard and Karen Padfield, both of Altoona, Wisconsin; and Kathleen Thompson of Madison, Wisconsin; and 2 sons, Kevin Looby of Hopkins, Minnesota, and Brian Looby of Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Senator Fred A. Risser	Representative Scott R. Jensen
President of the Senate	Speaker of the Assembly
Date	John A. Scocos Assembly Chief Clerk