ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending the 1999 Academic Decathlon Team of Waukesha Catholic Memorial High School.

Whereas, Waukesha Catholic Memorial High School has placed first in the Wisconsin Academic Decathlon in 1997, 1998 and 1999; and

Whereas, the Waukesha Catholic Memorial Academic Decathlon Team set a new Wisconsin record by earning 48,465 points in the 1999 state competition, breaking its own 1998 record by over 1,000 points; and

Whereas, the Waukesha Catholic Memorial Academic Decathlon Team has proudly represented the state of Wisconsin for 3 consecutive years at the U.S. Academic Decathlon National Championship, placing 5th in 1997, 6th in 1998 and 3rd in 1999; and

Whereas, the Waukesha Catholic Memorial Academic Decathlon Team set a standard of excellence for all students in the state of Wisconsin at the 1999 U.S. Academic Decathlon National Championship in Anaheim, California; and

Whereas, Coach John Burke and the members of the 1999 Academic Decathlon Team of Waukesha Catholic Memorial High School (Dan Ark, Carolyn Batchelor, Craig Batzler, Mike Brueck, Allen Joseph, Stephanie Sanders, Dan Strassburger, Laura Wysocki, Josh Zeier) have exhibited the highest degree of teamwork by spending many hours on weekdays and weekends preparing for the 10 academic tests and demonstrations required by the state competition; and

Whereas, Coach Burke and the 1999 Academic Decathlon Team of Waukesha Catholic Memorial High School have demonstrated the highest degree of commitment to academic achievement and serve as role models for students, teachers and citizens across the Badger State; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin legislature proudly commends Coach John Burke and the members of the 1999 Waukesha Catholic Memorial Academic Decathlon Team; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Coach Burke and each member of the 1999 Waukesha Catholic Memorial Academic Decathlon Team.

Representative Scott R. Jensen Speaker of the Assembly
Charles R. Sanders