

1997 Assembly Joint Resolution 117

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending Harry Caray for his accomplishments as a baseball announcer and expressing grief at his death.

Whereas, Harry Caray, the legendary Chicago Cubs Baseball Team broadcaster, died on February 18, 1998, at the age of 83 years in Rancho Mirage, California; and

Whereas, Harry Caray began his broadcasting career in 1945 with the Saint Louis Cardinals and was a baseball announcer for 53 years, including 25 years with the Cardinals; and

Whereas, Harry Caray in 1982 became the play–by–play announcer for Chicago Cubs games on WGN–TV and WGN Radio, a position that he held for 16 seasons; and

Whereas, Harry Caray announced one season, 1970, for the Oakland Athletics and 11 seasons, from 1971 through 1981, for the Chicago White Sox; and

Whereas, Harry Caray in 1989 won the Ford C. Frick Award and was honored during ceremonies at the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York; and

Whereas, Harry Caray was elected to the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame in 1988; and

Whereas, Harry Caray was inducted into the National Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 1994; and

Whereas, Harry Caray was famous for his rendition of "Take Me Out to the Ballgame" during the seventh–inning stretch at Wrigley Field, his call "Cubs Win, Cubs Win" after Cubs victories and his distinctive expression "Holy Cow!"; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend the decades of entertaining broadcasting that Harry Caray gave to Chicago Cubs fans and major league baseball fans everywhere, express their sorrow at his death and extend their condolences to his family, the Chicago Cubs organization, the National Association of Broadcasters and major league baseball; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Harry Caray's wife, Dutchie, and the Chicago Cubs organization.

Senator Fred Risser President of the Senate Representative Scott R. Jensen Speaker of the Assembly

Date

Charles R. Sanders Assembly Chief Clerk