ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: proclaiming May 3, 1996, Trzeciego Maja Day.

Whereas, "Trzeciego Maja", May 3, 1996, marks the 205th anniversary of the signing of the Polish Constitution on May 3, 1791; and

Whereas, the Polish Constitution was the first written constitution in Europe; and

Whereas, the Polish Constitution, modeled after that of the United States, established the bold principle that the power to govern emanates from the people; and

Whereas, the Polish Constitution established a bicameral legislature, a system of checks and balances, an elected judiciary and trial by jury, the concept of habeas corpus and freedom of religion; and

Whereas, this document, described as "radical, if not revolutionary" by the tyrants of 18th century Europe, was nonetheless adopted without bloodshed; and

Whereas, the Polish Constitution was the product of a cross section of the best Polish political thought of the time, far-reaching in intent, with the promise for all Polish citizens of a democratic form of government, one that would ensure all citizens respect and consideration; and

Whereas, the democratic and Western-oriented ideals inherent in the first Polish Constitution live on today within a citizenry that has played a leading role in bringing an end to Communism in Eastern Europe and in the country that was the Soviet Union and whose elected representatives are presently at work building a new societal system based on the precepts of political liberty linked in spirit to Poland's historic values as embodied in the Polish Constitution of 1791; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the legislature of the state of Wisconsin recognizes the contribution of the Polish Constitution to the advancement of democracy and freedom by proclaiming May 3, 1996, "Trzeciego Maja Day" in the state of Wisconsin and invites all citizens to join their fellow Wisconsinites of Polish descent in celebrating Polish Constitution Day, "Trzeciego Maja".

Representative David T. Prosser, Jr. Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Brian D. Rude President of the Senate
Date	Donald J. Schneider Senate Chief Clerk