1995 Senate Joint Resolution 30

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

To amend section 4 (1) of article VI; and **to create** section 4 (6) of article VI of the constitution; **relating to:** 4-year terms of office for district attorneys (first consideration).

Resolved by the senate, the Assembly concurring, That:

SECTION 1. Section 4 (1) of article VI of the constitution is amended to read:

[Article VI] Section 4 (1) <u>Sheriffs Except as provided in sub. (2)</u>, <u>sheriffs</u>, coroners, registers of deeds, <u>district attorneys</u>, and all other elected county officers except judicial officers, <u>district attorneys</u> and chief executive officers, shall be chosen by the electors of the respective counties once in every 2 years.

SECTION 2. Section 4 (6) of article VI of the constitution is created to read:

[Article VI] Section 4 (6) Beginning with the general election in 1998, district attorneys shall be chosen by the electors of the respective counties once in every 4 years.

SECTION 3. Numbering of new provision. The new subsection (6) of section 4 of article VI of the constitution created in this joint resolution shall be designated by the next higher open whole subsection number in that section number in that article if, prior to or simultaneously with the ratification by the people of the amendment proposed in this joint resolution, any other ratified amendment has created a subsection (6) of section 4 of article VI of the constitution of this state. If several joint resolutions simultaneously create a subsection (6) of section 4 of article VI of the constitution of this state. If several joint resolutions simultaneously create a subsection (6) of section 4 of article VI, the chief of the legislative reference bureau shall determine the sequence and the numbering.

Be it further resolved, That this proposed amendment be referred to the legislature to be chosen at the next general election and that it be published for 3 months previous to the time of holding such election.

Representative David T. Prosser, Jr. Speaker of the Assembly

Senator Brian D. Rude President of the Senate

Donald J. Schneider Senate Chief Clerk

Date