

State of Misconsin 1997 - 1998 LEGISLATURE

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1, TO 1997 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 94

January 15, 1998 – Offered by Representative R. POTTER.

1	Relating to: Wisconsin women's accomplishments and significant Wisconsin
2	events.
3	Whereas, the sesquicentennial year is an appropriate time to reflect upon the
4	residents of this state whose accomplishments are impressive; and
5	Whereas, among the more significant of those persons are those who were the
6	first to accomplish notable things; and
7	Whereas, Wisconsin has been blessed with more than its share of women who
8	were pathfinders; and
9	Whereas, Shirley Abrahamson (1933–) became the first woman to serve on the
10	Wisconsin State Supreme Court, in 1976, and the first woman to be Chief Justice,
11	on August 1, 1996; and
12	Whereas, Olympia Brown (1835–1926), a minister and publisher, was the first
13	ordained woman minister in the United States and a key figure in the women's rights
14	movement; and

1997 – 1998 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, Carrie Chapman Catt (1859-1947) was a suffragist and President of
2	the National American Woman Suffrage Association, which she reorganized as the
3	League of Women Voters, with 2,000,000 members, after passage of the 19th
4	Amendment to the U.S. Constitution guaranteed women the vote; and
5	Whereas, Kathryn Clarenbach (1920-1994) was the founder of the National
6	Organization for Women and the National Women's Political Caucus; and
7	Whereas, Edna Ferber (1885–1968), an author, received the 1925 Pulitzer Prize
8	for the novel <i>So Big</i> ; and
9	Whereas, Lynn Fontanne (1887-1983) appeared in theater, motion pictures
10	and television, and she and her husband were jointly awarded the Presidential
11	Medal of Freedom in 1964; and
12	Whereas, Zona Gale (1874–1938), an author, received the 1921 Pulitzer Prize
13	for the novel <i>Miss Lulu Bett</i> ; and
14	Whereas, Jane Hamilton (1952-) received the PEN/Hemingway Foundation
15	Award for the novel <i>The Book of Ruth</i> and also wrote <i>A Map of the World</i> ; and
16	Whereas, Mildred Fish Harnack (1902-1943) was a war hero who, while an
17	instructor at the University of Berlin, organized a resistance group and transmitted
18	intelligence to the Allies and was executed by the Nazis; and
19	Whereas, Cordelia Harvey (1824–1895), a humanitarian, was instrumental in
20	establishing military hospitals in the North during the Civil War; and
21	Whereas, Belle Case La Follette (1859–1931), a lawyer and editor, was the first
22	woman to graduate from the University of Wisconsin Law School and was a leader
23	in supporting the rights of women and African–Americans; and
24	Whereas, Frances Huntley-Cooper was the first Black mayor of a Wisconsin
25	city (Fitchburg); and

1997 – 1998 Legislature – 3 –

1	Whereas, Katherine Lyall was the first woman President of the University of
2	Wisconsin System; and
3	Whereas, Helen Farnsworth Mears (1872–1916) was a sculptor and created the
4	Frances Willard statue in Statuary Hall of the U.S. Capitol and "The Genius of
5	Wisconsin" in the Wisconsin Capitol; and
6	Whereas, Kathryn Morrison (1942-) was the first woman elected to the state
7	senate, in 1975; and
8	Whereas, Lorine Niedecker (1903-1970) was the author of several books of
9	poetry and is featured in most anthologies of 20th Century American poetry; and
10	Whereas, Georgia O'Keeffe (1887–1986) was an artist and innovative painter
11	of flowers and landscapes and was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom in
12	1977; and
13	Whereas, Vel Phillips was elected Secretary of State in 1978 and was the first
14	Black constitutional officer in Wisconsin; and
15	Whereas, Margaretha Meyer Schurz (1833–1876) was an educator and opened
16	the first United States kindergarten in Watertown in 1856; and
17	Whereas, Donna Shalala was the first woman Chancellor of the University of
18	Wisconsin-Madison and was named by President Clinton as the U.S. Secretary of
19	Health and Human Services; and
20	Whereas, Dena Smith was elected State Treasurer in 1960 and was the first
21	woman elected to statewide office in Wisconsin; and
22	Whereas, Rosa A. Smith was the first Black woman to serve as a
23	superintendent of schools; and
24	Whereas, Barbara Thompson (1924-) became the first woman to hold the
25	elective office of State Superintendent of Public Instruction, in 1973; and

1997 – 1998 Legislature – 4 –

LRBs0401/1 JS:kmg:hmh

1	Whereas, Laura Ingalls Wilder (1867–1957) was an author of children's books
2	and wrote a series of books, including Little House on the Prairie, which was based
3	on her life growing up in the Midwest; and
4	Whereas, Frances Willard (1839-1898) was a social reformer who organized
5	the Woman's Christian Temperance Union; and
6	Whereas, Laura Ross Wolcott (1834–1915) was a physician and suffragist and
7	the first woman physician in Wisconsin, and she was active in organizing, and served
8	as the first President of, the Wisconsin Woman's Suffrage Association; and
9	Whereas, the accomplishments of Wisconsin women are indicated by many
10	notable events; and
11	Whereas, in 1875 the free high school law passed; women became eligible for
12	election to school boards; and the State Industrial School for Girls was established
13	at Milwaukee; and
14	Whereas, in 1920 the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution (women's
15	suffrage) was ratified, and Wisconsin was the first state to deliver its ratification to
16	Washington; and
17	Whereas, in 1921 equal rights for women and prohibition laws were enacted;
18	and
19	Whereas, in 1925 the first 3 women; Mildred Barber, Hellen Brooks and Helen
20	Thompson; were elected to the Wisconsin assembly; now, therefore, be it
21	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the
22	Wisconsin legislature, meeting in this state's sesquicentennial year, recognize and
23	salute the notable achievements of Wisconsin women; and, be it further

3

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint
resolution to the Wisconsin Sesquicentennial Commission.

(END)