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than the minimum rate. Where such minimum rates are used, all fami-
lies shall be expected to pay the applicable minimum rate except where
liability is waived according to HSS 1.02 (9} or where a minimum pay-
ment exceeds the available income of the responsible party (ies). Mini-
mum charges under this section may also be set on a per unit hasis (e.g.

er hour, per day, elc.) provided such minimum charges do not accumu-
ate to exceed $25.00 per month.

(13m} SPECIAL PAYMENT SCHEDULES. The secretary may establish spe-
cial payment schedules, to be used in place of schedules determined ac-
cording to s. HSS 1.03 (12) or (13), for desighated providers and types
of services on a pilot basis for periods not to exceed 3 years. Special pay-
ment schedules shall be directed toward goals which include, but are not
limited to, increasing revenue to expand or maintain service levels, in-
proving administration of the fee system and assessing the impact of
different fee approaches on service. Beyond the pilot period, the pay-
ment schedule for the designated type of service shall be established
according to s. HSS 1.03 (12} or {13) or any other applicable provision
of law. Special payment schedules shail incorporate standards for in-
come and may incorporate standards for assets. These standards may .
not be more stringent than the income and assets provisions of the Wis-
consin medical assistance program described in ss. HSS 103,62 and HSS
103.03, Wis. Adm. Code. However, where income is less than the limit for
medical assistance eligibility, the secretary may approve schedules
where assets are not considered and payments for a month of service do
not exceed 3% of the family’s gross monthly income. Special payment
schedules may disregard the parental payment limits set according to s,
HSS 1.08 (18) {a). This paragraph shall not apply to residential care
provided at the Wisconsin centers for the developmentally disabled,

(14) ApsusTMENTS. The maximum monthly payment rate calculated
under 5. HSS 1.03 (12) or {13} is adjustable in the following situations;

(a} In cases where family members who contribute to the family in-
come are not responsible parties for the liability being charged to the
family, the maximum monthly payment rate shail not exceed the sum of
the unearned and one-half the earned income of responsible party (s),
less a percentage of earnings equal to that used by the Wisconsin AFDC
program {or work related expenses,

{b} When payment at the maximum monthly payment rate, as caleu-
lated in s. HSS 1.03 (12) or (13), would create a documentable hardship
on the family, (such as the forced sale of the family residence or cessa-
tion of an education program), a lower maxirmum monthiy payment rate
may be authorized by the appropriate payment approval authority
under the following provisions;

1. Hardship adjustments are normally restricted to situations where
services extend more than one year, and sufficient relief is not afforded
to the family through an extended or deferred payment plan.

2. Each hardship adjustment shall be decumented by additional fam-
ily financial information. Such documentation shall become part of the
client’s collection file as provided in HSS 1.06.

3. Responsible parties shall he informed in writing of approval or de-
nial with approval taking the form of a written agreement.
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4, Hardship adjustments shail be reviewed annually and, if necessary,
renegotiated. o C

(15) EXTENDED PAYMENT PLANS. Agencies must have the capability to
work out an extended payment plan with any responsible party who in-
dicates that payment at their monthly payment rate would place a bur-
den on their family. Such payment plans have the effect of the responsi-
ble party paying a lesser monthly amount over a longer period of time
but with the total expected amount to equal the full application of the
monthly payment rate under HSS 1.02 (8) [(6)1. Authority to approve
extended payment plans may he placed at whatever staff level the pay-
ment approval authority determines is appropriate. o

(18) SHORTCUTS TO DOCUMENT NG ABILITY TO PAY FOR SERVICES NOT
COVERED BY THIRD-PARTY PAYERS. (a) Family income information in form
DHSS 130 is not required where no family member receives earned in-
come and the family is supported in full or in part by income imainte-
nance benefits. o :

(b) The financial information form (DHSS 130) is not required for

fee-chargeable services when zero ability fo pay can be documented. The
following families making application for services are automatically con-

sidered to have no ability to pay when the following financial informa-

tion is documented on other forms required by the department,
1. Recipients of SSI. '

2. When the fafnily has no earned income and are recipients of AFDC,.

Medical Assistance, Food Stamps or General Relief.
3. Grbup-eligi-bles under the state Title XX plan who request services.

4, Families whose income is lower than the peint at which payment
begins according to the maximum monthly payment rate schedule for
families of similar size. o o :

(17) RELATIONSHIP TO EXTENT OF SERVICES. When full financial infor-
mation is provided, the monthly payment rate eatablished according to
sub, (12} or (13) and adjusted according to sub. {14) {(a) is the total
ceiling amount that the family may be billed a month regardless of the
number of family members receiving services, the number of agencies
providing services, or the magnitude or extent of services received. .

. (18) (a) Parental payment limits set according to HSS 1.03 (21) shall
be applied to the billings to parents for each child who receives care or
services, When parents of a client are divorced or separated, the fotal
billed to both parents for the care of a child may not exeeed the one
billing limit used for the care or service received by the child. When a
minor child and an adult from one family receive services, the parental
payment limit shall not apply to billings for services to the adult. Paren-
tal payment limits shall ge applied to care and services as follows:

1. For outpatient psychotherapy normaily covered by health insur-
ance and purchased or provided by county agencies, parents who pro-
vide full insurance information and necessary authorizations for billing
all applicable insurance shall not be billed a total amount per child per
month greater than the monthly parental payment limit per month for
each child who receives service,
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2. For other services normally covered by health insurance, parents
who provide full insurance information and necessary authorizations for
hilling all applicable insurance shall not be billed more than the daily
parental payment limit per day for each child who receives service.

3. Far residential care not normally covered by health insurance, the
following applies:

a. When a child is in care for less than 20 days in a calendar month, the
parents shall not be billed more than the daily parental payment limit
per day for that child’s care. :

b. When a child is in care for more than 20 days in a calendar month,
the payment approval authority shall adopt an agency policy for paren-
tal payment limits accarding to either the daily or monthly limit. The
limit chosen shall apply uniformly to all parents.

¢. When the daily limit is used, agencies may prorate daily billings for
all families served hy the agency according to their ability to pay. Under
this prorating approach, the billing shall be the lesser of the daily limit
or the family’s monthly payment amount determined by HSS 1,03 (12)
or (13} multiplied by 12 and divided by 365.

Note: Example. If the maximum monthly peyment for the family {8 $80, the 5aily rate
.- wonld be $2,63, : .

(380/month x 12 months/year + 365 days/year = $2,63/day)

d. As an alternative to ¢., when the daily limit s used, agencies may
hill all parents the daily limit for each day of care up to their monthly
payment rate determined according to sub. {12} or (13).

4. For all other care and services, the parents shall not be billed more
than the daily parental payment limit.

Note: For outpatient psychotherapy purchased or provided by county agencies, the maxi-
mum billing rate Lo qualified parenta for outpatient paychotherapy was $4.00 per day per
child client for auch care from Seplember 1, 1977 through Decermber 31, 1979. For such care
from January 1, 1980 through June 30, 1980, the maximum rate for this service wes $120 per

month per child elient. From July 1, 1980 through Decomber 31, 1980, the maximum rate was
$152 per month per child client.

For all other services, the maximum billing rate for care from September 1, 1977 through
June 30, 1980 was $4.00 per day per child client, From July 1, 1980 through December 31,
1980 lhe_maximum rate for all other services was $5.00 per day per child clent.

{b)} The appropriate payment approval authority may bill a responsi-
ble party a minimum payment for therapeutic reasons for a fee charge-
able service. The therapeutic charge may be a per month amount or a
per visit or per unit of service charge and may result in a higher amount
than the maximum monthly payment rate. A charge for “no-show™ is
considered a therapeutic charge. Therapeutic charges may not exceed
the maximum monthly payment by more than $25.00 per month. Thera-
peutic charges and minimum charge (s} established under sub. (13) may
not fotal more than $25.00 per family nor may a therapeutic charge ex-

ceed the responsible party’s available income,

{c) Pre-existing child support orders. When residential care is pro-
vided under ch. 48, Stats., and there is a support order under ch. 62 or
767, Stats., in existence before the ch. 48 disposition, the billing amount
to parents for residential care shall not be less than the previously or-
dered amount attributable to the child client. This provision supercedes
maximum billing limitations of s. HSS 1.03 (12) and (18) (a).
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(19) REDETERMINATION OF MAXIMUM MONTHLY PAYMENT RATE. The
maximum monthly payment rate established upon entry into the system
shall be reviewed at least once per year. A redetermination shall be made
at any time during the treatment or payment period that a significant
change occurs in available income. The redetermined maximum
monthly payment rate may be applied retroactively or prospectively.

(20) PavyMeNnT pERIOD. Monthly billing to responsible parties with
ability to pay shall continue until:

{a) Liability has been met or
(b} A waiver of remaining liability is obtained or

(¢} Client records for inpatient mental health services are placed in
 inactive status as specified under s, HSS 1.06 (3) (d) of these rules.

(21) PAReNTAL PAYMENT LIMIT. The parental payment limits shall be
determined as follows:

(a) The daily parental payment limit shatl be $5.00 subject to adjust-
ment by the department according to par. {b)

(b} The daily parental payment limit shall be adjusted upward or
downward in direct proportion to the Consumer Price Index. The ad-
justment shall be rounded downward fo the nearest whole dotiar. The
base date for computing the adjustments shall be date of the last pub-
lished Consumer Price Index for Milwaukee in 1979, The base dollar
amount shall be $5.00 per day. This adjustment shall be computed at the
end of each calendar year and shall be effective the following July.

(¢) The monthly parental payment limit shall be the daily limit mul-
tiplied by 365 with the product divided by 12.

History: Cr. Reglater, August, 1978, No. 272, off, -1-78; am, (2} to {6}, renum, (7) to {14}
to be {8), (11), (12), (14}, {17) to (20} respectively and am. (B), (11), (14), {17), (i8) (b)
and (20}, r. and recr. (18} (), cr. (7), {9), (10}, {13}, {16} and (16}, Regiater, November,
1979, No. 287, eff. 1-1-80; emerg. am, (18} (a), off, 7-1-80; am. (18) (a}, Register, October,
1980, No. 208, off. 11-1-80; r. and recr. {18) (a), cr. (18) {c) and (21), Register, December,
1980, No. 300, eff. 1-1-81; cr. (13m}, Register, Juna, 1881, No. 308, off. 7-1.81.

‘HSS 1.04 Fee establishment, calculation and approval. (1) AppLi-
caBiLITY. With respect to client services for which responsible parties
incur lability and may be billed, each facility operated by the depart-
ment, a county department of social services, or a board established
under s. 51.42, 51.437, or 46.23, Stats.; or an agency providing services
purstant to a contract in excess of $10,000 per year with the department,
a county department of public welfare or social services, or a board es-
tablished under s. 51.42, 51.437, or 46.23, Stats., shall establish a fee or
set of fees as follows:

Sa} Facility fee or service fee. The division, county department of so-
cial services, hoard established under s. 61,42, 51.437, or 46.23, Stats., or
private firm in charge of the facility shall establish a uniform facility fee,
except that if the facility provides 2 or more services of a disparate na-
ture with associated wide differences in per-service cost, separate per-
service fees shall be established.

(b) Fee calculation. Fees shall be determined in advance for each cal-
endar year, except that divisions may determine fees in advance for each

fiscal year. For purchased services, the contract rate and billable units to
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the purchaser should be identical to the fee and billable units to the
responsible party (s}, wherever possible, Fees shall be determined by di-
viding either the number of patient days projected by the year in ques-
tion, or, if the facility or service provides less than 24 hour care, the
number of hours of billable client service projected for the year in ques-
tion, into allowahble anticipated facility or service-related expenditures
for the year in question. For purchased services not easily converted to
time units and where the contract or agreement specifies purchase units
other than time, fees shall be set using the contract unit.

(¢} Expenditures. Expenditures mean ordinary and necessary budg-
eted non-capital expenses and depreciation on capital equipment. Cost
standards that govern purchase of care and services under s. 46.036,
Stats,, shail apply to expenditures for calculating the fee. Quilays associ-
ated with non-client-specific community service and with client services
exempted under s. HSS 1.01 (4} plus a pro-rata share of depreciation
and associated administration or indirect costs are excluded. Where the
facility establishes separate per-service fees, expenditures mean ordi-
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