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3. Social Data Change Sheet for each child when need is indicated
(Form CY 22 A).

4. Financial records or financial statements upon request,

5. Record of meals served upon request.

6. Special reports. Each institution shall report to the department
within 48 hours after the occurrence of an unusual incident, such as
a major fire or the death or serious injury of any child or his alleged
abuse or exploitation.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1957, No, 22, eff. 11-1-57.

PW-CY 40.60 Licensing foster homes. (1) INTRODUCTION, (a) State-
ment of intent. The intent of these rules is to protect and promote the
health, safety, and welfare of children in care in foster homes in
Wisconsin.

(b) Effect of rules. The following rules for licensing foster homes
have the full effect and force of law as provided in section 227.01 (3),
Wis. Stats. These rules do not repeat the laws related to child care
and licensing. Persons using these rules should be aware of and
familiar with the statutory section containing laws pertinent to foster
care.

(¢) Ewxceptions to rules, The department may make, or may dele-
gate to an agency the authority to make, exceptions to any of the
rules for licensing foster homes when the department is assured that
granting such exceptions, or the authority to make exceptions, is not
detrimental to the health, safety or welfare of children.

(d) Definitions. 1. Departnment. The state of Wisconsin department
of Health and Social Services.

2. Rule, A regulation, standard, statement of policy or general order
(including the amendment or repeal of any of the foregoing), of
general application and having the effect of law,

3. Licensing agency. The agency responsible for evaluating the ap-
plicant, issuing a license if the applicant qualifies, and supervising
the licensee to insure his continued compliance with rules.

4, Foster home. Any facility operated by a person required to be
licensed under section 48.62, Wis, Stats.

5. Child. A person under 18 years of age.

6. Relative., A parent, grandparent, brother, sister, uncle, aunt,
first cousin, nephew, niece, stepparent, stepbrother, or stepsister,

7. Foster child. A child who lives in a home required to be licensed
under section 48.62, Wis. Stats.

8. Foster parent(s). A person or persons who operate a facility
required to be licensed under section 48.62, Wis, Stats,

9. Legal custodian. The person having the right to the care, cus-
tody and control of a child and the duty to provide food, clothing,
shelter, ordinary medical care, education and discipline for a child.

10. Guardian, The person having the right to make major decisions
affecting the child including the right to consent to marriage, to en-
listment in the armed forces, to major surgery and to adoption or to
make recommendations as to adoption,

(e) Statutory rights of applicants and licensees. (1) The right to
make application for a license (sections 48.68 and 47.75 (2), Wis.
Stats.)
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2. The right to be evaluated objectively on the basis of written
rules (sections 48.68 and 48.75 (1), Wis. Stats.)

3. The right to receive a license if applicant fully satisfies all re-
quirements (section 48.68, Wis. Stats.)

4. The right to written notice and specification of grounds for revo-
cation of license (sections 48.71 and 48.75 (2), Wis. Stats.)

5. The right to appeal when refused a license or when license has
been revoked (sections 48.72 and 48.75 (2), Wis. Stats.)

6. The right to accept children for care if licensed (section 48.62,
Wis. Stats.)

History: Cr. Register, April, 1957, No. 16, eff, 5—1-57; r. and recr.
Register, June, 1970, No. 174, eff, 1-1-71.

PW-CY 40.61 Foster parents and their families. (1) APPLICATION
FOR LICENSE. (a) The person or persons seeking a license shall make
application on forms prescribed by the department.* Married couples
shall both be parties to the application,

(b) Foster parents wishing to continue to be licensed shall file a
new application when:

1. Their present license will expire within 30-60 days.

2. They plan to move from the address specified on their present
license within 80 days or less.

3. Their legal status has changed within the last 30 days.

4. They wish to have the conditions changed that are specified on
their present license.

(2) AGE OF FOSTER PARENTS. (a) No applicant or applicants may
receive a license for the first time when one or both are younger than
21 or older than 64 years,

(b) No foster parent who reaches the age of 70 years may con-
tinue to be licensed except when his or her spouse is younger than 70.

(3) PERSONAL QUALIFICATIONS REQUIRED OF FOSTER PARENTS, Foster
parents shall be responsible, mature individuals of reputable character
~ who exercise sound judgment and display the capacity to provide good
care for children. They shall give sufficient information to enable the
licensing agency to verify whether or not they meet these require-
ments.

(4) HEALTH OF FOSTER FAMILY. (a) All members of the foster
family household shall be in physical and mental health that will not
adversely affect the health of children received for care, or the quality
and manner of their care. :

(b) At the time of the first application for a license and not less
often than annually thereafter, foster parents shall authorize their
physician to submit a statement to the licensing agency certifying
that a physical examination, including TB test and/or X-ray was
completed within the past year and that the foster parents were es-
sentially free from medical conditions which might endanger foster
children.

(c¢) If the licensing agency or the department has reason to believe
that the physical or mental health of any child or adult member of
the foster family household might endanger children in ecare, the

#* NOTE: A licensing agency may use the department prescribed form

printed under their own agency name instead of the departmental
identification. .
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agency or the department may require that the foster parents (for
themselves or in behalf of their own children), or the adult family
members in question, shall authorize the submitting of a statement
from a qualified physician and if required, a psychiatrist, certifying
the condition of the person,

History: Cr. Register, April, 1957, No. 16, eff. 5-1-57; r. and recr,
Register, June, 1970, No, 174, eff. 1-1-71

PW-CY 40.62 Foster homes, (1) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS, (a) The
home shall be so constructed, arranged and maintained as to provide
adequately for the health and safety of all occupants, It shall be of
size and space, and shall have furnishings and equipment to accom-
modate comfortably both the family and foster children in their care.
The licensing agency or the department may require inspection of
the home by fire, health, sanitation or safety officials when in its
judgment such expert opinion is needed to assist the agency in making
a decision about the safety of the home for the care of foster
children.

(b) Potentially dangerous items such as, but not limited to house-
hold poisons, medicines, plastic bags, matches, knives and firearms
shall not be kept where they are easily accessible to children.

(2) SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS, (a) Each foster child shall be pro-
vided with a separate bed except that 2 brothers or 2 sisters may
share a double bed, Each bed shall be of such size as to insure comfort
of the child, shall have suitable springs in good condition, a clean
and comfortable mattress with waterproof covering when necessary,
and provided with suitable bedding adequate for the season.

(b) No foster child one year of age or older shall be permitted to
share a bedroom with one or both foster parents.

(e¢) No child 6 years of age or older shall be permitted to share a
bedroom with a child of the opposite sex.

(d) There shall be at least 35 square feet of floor space for each
child occupying a bedroom.

(e) Foster children shall not be permitted to sleep in any building,
apartment or other structure which is separate from the family
home; nor shall any child be permitted to sleep in an unfinished attic,
in an unfinished basement,” or in a hall or any other room which is
normally used for other than sleeping purposes.

(f) Foster children under the age of 7 years shall not be permitted
to sleep in finished basement bedrooms or in bedroomgs above the
second floor of a single family dwelling.

(g) Foster children 7 years or older shall not be permitted to
sleep in finished basement bedrooms or in bedrooms above the floor
of a single family dwelling unless suitable provision has been made
for heating, ventilation and humidity control, and all exits from such
bedrooms have been approved in writing by fire safety officials ac-
ceptable to the licensing agency.

(h) At night a responsible adult shall sleep within call of foster
children.

- (8) SrorRAGE FACILITIES. TFoster parents shall provide sufficient
drawer and closet space to accommodate each child’s clothing, toys
and other belongings.

_ *NOTE: “A basement is a story whose floorline is below grade at
any entrance or exit and whose ceiling is not more than 6 feet above
grade at any such entrance or exit.” Wis, Adm, Code section Ind 51,13,
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(4) RECREATION AND PLAY SPACE. The home shall have space for
indoor play and access to outdoor play space. Outdoor play space
shall be fenced when, in the judgment of the licensing agency or
the department, nearby street traffic, railroad tracks, lake, river or
other potential hazards suggest the mecessity for such protection.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1957, No. 16, eff. 5-1-57; r. and reer.
Register, June, 1970, No. 174, eff, 1-1-71, ‘

PW-CY 40.63 Care of children, (1) SUPERVISION OF CHILDREN. (a)
The care of foster children is a demanding responsibility, It shall not
be combined with regular part-time care of other children, with the
care of non-related aged individuals, or with any other service or
business conducted in the home without the written approval of the
licensing agency. Such approval shall be dependent upon the presen-
tation of satisfactory evidence that such undertaking will not ‘be
likely to interfere with the quality or manner of care provided fostel
children,

(b) The foster mother shall not be regularly employed outside
the home without written approval of the licensing agency. Such
approval shall be dependent upon the presentation of satisfactory
evidence that suitable plans will be made for the care of children
during the foster mother’s absence from the home,

(¢) Children under the age of 7 years shall not be left in the
home without supervision by a responsible person,

(d) Children 7 years and older shall receive responsible supervi-
sion appropriate to their age and maturity as might reasonably be
provided by a prudent parent in the case of her own children:

(2) DiscIPLINE, (a) Child training and discipline shall be handled
with kindness and understanding.

(b) No child in care shall be subjected to verbal abuse derogatory
remarks about himself or members of his family, or to threats to
expel the child from the foster home.

(¢) No child in care shall be subjected to unusual, severe or cruel
punishment.

(d) No child shall be permitted to discipline any other child in
care.

(e) No child in carve shall be deprived of meals, mail or family
visits as a method of discipline,

(8) WORK PERFORMED BY CHILDREN, Children in care shall have
opportunities to assume responsibility for household duties or chores
appropriate to their age, sex, health, and ability. Such duties shall
not be assigned as punishment, or interfere with school, sleep, recrea-
tion or study.

(4) EpUcATION. Foster parents shall make every reasonable effort
to see that children of school age in their care attend school regu-
larly unless otherwise excused by school officials,

(5) MORAL AND RELIGIOUS TRAINING, Foster parents shall provide
for the moral training of children in care and shall make opportuni-
ties available to each child in care for religious education and attend-
ance at services compatible with his religious heritage,

(6) NUTRITION. Food shall be provided to children in care in sufft-
cient quantities and varieties, and shall p10v1de for essential nutri-
tional and dietary needs,
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(7) CLOTHING, TIoster parents shall see that funds provided by
parents or agency for the purchase of clothing are used in such a
way that childven in their care are comfortably and appropriately
clothed within the limits of funds provided, and that children’s cloth:
ing is kept in a state of suitable repair and cleanliness,

(8) INFANTs. Foster parents shall not provide care for more than
2 foster children at one time who are under 2 years of age

(9) RESPONSIBILITY OF THE FOSTER PARENTS TO THE LICENSING
AGENCY, (a) Foster parents shall be responsible for seeing that they
accept children for care only in conformity with the conditions relat-
ing to number, sex, age or other limitations specified on the license.

(b) Foster parents shall notify the licensing agency within 4 days
after the acceptance of a child into their home from a source other
than the licensing agency.

(10) RESPONSIBILITY OF FOSTER PARENTS TO CHILD’S LEGAL CUS-
TODIAN. (a) Foster parents shall keep the legal custodian informed
of the child’s progress while in their care. They shall consult with
the legal custodian regarding cave, training and plans for the child
whenever more than the day-to-day routine is involved.

(b) Foster parents shall consult with the legal custodian before
taking or allowing the child to go on vacation trips or visits to the
child’s relatives.

(¢) Foster parents shall notify the legal custodian as soon as
possible of emergencies involving the foster child. This includes
serious illness or injury requiring medical treatment, unauthorized
absence from the home, or other situations of which prudence sug-
gests the legal custodian be notified. This requirement in no way
relieves foster parents from first taking action such as obtaining
emergency medical treatment for the child before notifying his legal
custodian.

(d) Foster parents shall allow the legal custodian a minimum of
80 days in which to make suitable plans for the child when the foster
parents have requested the child’s removal from their home,

(e) Foster parents shall secure the approval of the child’s legal
custodian before making plans for the care of the child by other
persons for any period in excess of 48 hours.

(f) No child in care shall be permitted to use or be known by the
foster parents’ surname unless the child’s parents or guardian give
their consent in writing, or the child’s name is changed under section
296.36, Wis. Stats,

(g) Foster parents shall cooperate with the child’s legal custodian
in seeing that an appropriate relationship is maintained between
the child and his relatives,

(h) Foster parents shall maintain in confidence all information
detrimental to children in their cave,

(11) RECORDS TO BE MAINTAINED BY FOSTER PARENTS, (a) Foster
parents shall maintain during the time a child is in their care, a
record on forms provided by the department. Such records shall con-
tain the following information:

1. Child’s name or alias by which he is known.

2, Child’s birthdate.
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3. Name of the person or agency to be notified in an emergency.
-4, Date child received for care.
' 5, Person or agency placing the child.

6. Name of physician to be called in an emergency.

7. Medical information about the child while in their care such
as medical examinations and immunizations, illnesses and accidents,
including dates of each,

8. Name of dentist and dates child seen.

9. Name of school and grades attended.

b. At the request of the licensing agency or the department,
foster parents shall make available for inspection such records of
children received by them for cave,

. Histoxry: Cr, Register, April, 1957, No 16, eff, 5-1-67; r. and recr.
Register, June, 1970, No. 174, eff. 1-1-71

PW-CY 40.64 Additional exceptions to the legal limit of 4 unrelated
children. In no instance will the department make an exception for
the placement of more than 8 unrelated children in one foster home,

NOTE: LIMITS FOR EXCEPTIONS, As provided in section 48.64 (3),
Wis, Stats,, the number of children who may be pla.u:d in a foster home
is limited to 4 or less unless all children placed ‘are in the relationship
to each other of brother or gister, or unless the department in accord-
ance with its rules, adopted under s. 48.67 malkes an exception.”

(1) ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR FOSTER PARENTS. Before an
exception is granted for the first time, foster parents shall meet the
following requirements in addition to those required for licensing
for the care of 4 or less children:

. (a) Foster parents shall either:

1. Have had 2 or more years of experience as foster parents,
institutional houseparents, or other relevant child care experience, or,
" 2. Have successfully completed not less than 24 class hours of
foster parent training, or,

3. Agree to take such foster parent training within a period not to
exceed one year.

(b) At least one foster parent shall either:

1, Have successfully completed a course in first aid training aec-
ceptable to the licensing agency, or,

2. Agree to take such course in first aid within a period not to
exceed one year.

(2) ADDITIONAL SPACE REQUIREMENTS, For an exception to be
grantéd, the home shall initially meet, and shall continue to meet the
following requirements:

(a) There shall be an average of 200 square feet or more of in-
door living space® for each occupant of the household including foster
children.

(b) The home shall have a room for indoor recreation.

(¢) The home shall have a quiet area suitable for study.

* NOTEB: The term “living space” is intended to include all areas of

the house except an unfinished basement, attic or similar areas not
usually occupied by the family in their daily living.
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(d) The home shall contain one complete bathroom* for each 8
persons occupying the household 1nclud1ng' foster children. If children
of both sexes 6 years of age or older live in the household, there shall
be 2 complete bathrooms,

(e) Dining facilities shall be such as to permit all members of the
household to sit down to meals togethenr.

(f) The home shall be inspected annually and certified in writing

as being free from fire safety hazards by fire safety officials acceptable
“to the licensing agency.

(3) OTHER ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS. For an exception to be
granted, the foster parents shall initially meet, and shall continue to
meet the following requirements:

(a) Foster parents shall contract in writing for the exclusive
placement of children in their home by or through one agency.

(b) The number of children foster parents may receive for care
plus the number of their own children who live in the household shall
not exceed a combined total of 10,

(c) At those times when the number of foster children and children
of the foster parents younger than 16 years exceeds 8, there shall
be another person in the home to assist the foster parent at those
times when more than 8 children are present. An assistant is not
required when 2 foster parents are at home. The person selected to
serve as assistant to the foster parents shall meet the requirements
for licensing related to personal qualifications, health, and shall be
no younger than 18 years of age.

(d) The foster mother shall not be employed away from the home,

Histoxy: Cr., Register, April, 1957, No. 16, eff. 5~1-57; r, and recr.
Register, June, 1970, No, 174, eff. 1-1-71,

PW-CY 40.70 Definitions, (1) DAY CAMPING means an experience in
group living in a natural environment. It is a creative, educational
experience in cooperative group living in the out-of-doors; carried on
during the day time under the supervision of trained leaders. It uti-
lizes resources of the natural surroundings to contribute significantly
to mental, physical, social and spiritual growth,

(2) DEPARTMENT means the Wisconsin State Department of Public
Welfare.

(3) DivisioN means the Wisconsin State Division for Children and
Youth,

History: Cr, Register, October, 1961, No, 70, eff. 11-1-61,

PW-CY 40.71 License. (1) LICENSE REQUIREMENTS, Day Camps pro-
viding group care for 4 or more children under 7 years of age and
operating for compensation and/or consideration for services must be
licensed.

(2) LICENSE PROCEDURES. (a) A non-transferable license shall be
secured annually from the department, upon appropriate application
and compliance with the rules and standards,

(b) Each license shall bear the name of the camp, name of the
person licensed, and a description of the premises,

* NOTE: Complete bathroom is intended to include stool, washbhowl,
and a tub or shower,
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(¢) The number of children specified on the license is the maxnnum
number to be received or to be cared for at one time.

(d) There is no fee charged for the license.

(3) LICENSING EXEMPTIONS. No license is 1equ11ed f01 a person or
persons who provide: (a) Camping experience for childien at the
child’s own home and/or in homes of relatives or guardians,

(b) Camping experience conducted by public and parochial schools.

(c) Camping given to children on church premises while their
parents are attending religious services.

(4) APPLICATION FOR LICENSE. An application for a licénse which
shall be made in writing to the department shall include: (a) A
statement from the state laboratory of hygiene or certified laboratory
indicating that the water source has been tested and found to be safe.

(b) A statement of the purpose of the day camp.

(¢) A description of the program and activities designed to carry
out the purposes.

(d) A general description of the camp area and its general geo-
graphical location.

(e) A completed application form.

(b) RENEWAL OF LICENSE. Application for a renewal of license shall
be made: (a) Each year in writing to the department on specified
forms,

(b) Whenever there is a change in the conditions described on the
last license issued.

(6). EVALUATION, (a) A representative of the department shall visit
and study each day camp before the initial licensing and each subse-
quent renewal. The representative shall submit to the department a
written evaluation indicating whether the required standards have
been met. He may visit at any time to assure continued compliance.

(b) Each camp shall have the continued supervision and consulta—
tion of the department and shall submit required reports.

(c) The department at its discretion shall have the authority “fo
make exceptions to any rule or standard, when it is assured that the
granting of such an exception will not be detrimental to the ch;ldlen
attending the camp. AT

(7) PROVISIONAL LICENSES. A provisional license may be issued: and
renewed in periods up to two years to any camp whose services:.are
needed, but is temporarily unable to conform to all established mini-
mum lequuements.

(8) REVOCATION OF LICENSE., (a) The right to opelate 1s dependent
upon continued compliance with the required rules and standald o

{(b) The license may be revoked by the department in aécordance
with section 48.71 (1) and (2), Wis, Stats,, and with section PW—CY
'40.02 dealing with license procedures,

(9) APPEAL PROCEDURE. (a) Any person agg‘ueved by th depalt-
ment’s refusal or failure to issue or renew a license, or by 1ts revoca-
tion of a license, has the right to an administrative heaung plo\hded
for contested cases in chapter 227, Wis, Stats.

(b) Judicial review of the department’s demswn mav be had as
provided in chapter 227, Wis, Stats, .
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(10) ALLEGED VIOLATIONS. (a) Whenever the department has rea-
son to believe that any person is violating any of the provisions of
sections 48.60, 48.62, or 48.65 Wis. Stats., it shall make an investiga-
tion to determine the facts and prosecute under section 48.76, Wis.
Stats. if indicated.

(b) The department may either revoke the license and/or institute
prosecution.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1961, No, 70, eff, 11-1-61,

PW-CY 40,72 Personnel standards. (1) ALL PERSONNEL., (a) Re-
quired standards. 1. The camp staff shall be adequate for the mainte-
nance of the camp, for the care, protection, and education of the
campers, and for business administration, There shall be a ratio of at
least one counselor to every 8 children younger than 7 years of age.
(This ratio is exclusive of administrative staff, junior counselors, or
counselors-in-training, Administrative staff is defined as those staff
members whose main responsibility involves other than direct program
relationships with campers, i.e, divectors, office staff, maintenance
staff, cooks, dietitian, nurse.)
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