1987 Assembly Bill 469

Date of enactment: November 16, 1987 Date of publication: November 23, 1987

1987 Wisconsin Act 75

AN ACT to amend 753.06 (1) (a), 753.06 (3) (c), 753.06 (3) (d), 753.06 (5) (c), 753.06 (6) (h), 753.06 (8) (f), 753.06 (9) (i), 753.06 (10) (am), 753.06 (10) (g) and 753.26 of the statutes, relating to offices of circuit judges and increasing the number of circuit judges.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 753.06 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (1) (a) Milwaukee county. The circuit has 37 branches. Commencing August 1, 1988, the circuit has 39 branches. Commencing August 1, 1989, the circuit has 40 branches.

SECTION 2. 753.06 (3) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (3) (c) Washington county. The circuit has 3 branches. Commencing August 1, 1988, the circuit has 4 branches.

SECTION 3. 753.06 (3) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (3) (d) Waukesha county. The circuit has 9 branches. Commencing August 1, 1985, the circuit has 10 branches. Commencing August 1, 1988, the circuit has 12 branches.

SECTION 4. 753.06 (5) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (5) (c) Rock county. The circuit has 6 branches. Commencing August 1, 1988, the circuit has 7 branches.

SECTION 5. 753.06 (6) (h) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (6) (h) Sauk county. The circuit has 2 branches. Commencing August 1, 1988, the circuit has 3 branches.

SECTION 6. 753.06 (8) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (8) (f) Outagamie county. The circuit has 4 branches. Commencing August 1, 1985, the circuit

has 5 branches. Commencing August 1, 1988, the circuit has 6 branches.

SECTION 7. 753.06 (9) (i) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (9) (i) Oneida county. The circuit has one branch. Commencing August 1, 1988, the circuit has 2 branches.

SECTION 8. 753.06 (10) (am) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (10) (am) Barron county. The circuit has one branch. Commencing August 1, 1988, the circuit has 2 branches.

SECTION 9. 753.06 (10) (g) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (10) (g) Eau Claire county. The circuit has 3 branches. Commencing August 1, 1988, the circuit has 4 branches.

SECTION 9m. 753.26 of the statutes is amended to read:

753.26 Office and records to be kept at county seat. Except in branches Nos. 4, 5 and $6\ 7$ of the circuit court for Rock county, every circuit judge in this state shall maintain in his or her office the books, papers and records of the court at the county seat of the county in which the judge holds office, which office and the books, papers and records thereof shall at all reasonable times be open to access and inspection by any person having any business therewith except as otherwise provided by law. Originals of judgments or orders made under circuit court jurisdiction of branches Nos. 4, 5 and $6\ 7$ of the Rock county circuit court in Beloit, shall be kept at the county seat.

SECTION 10. Nonstatutory provisions. (1) The initial election for circuit judges for the following

87 WISACT 75

branches shall be at the spring election of 1988, for terms commencing August 1, 1988, and ending July 31, 1994:

- (a) Branches 38 and 39 of the circuit court for Milwaukee county.
- (b) Branch 4 of the circuit court for Washington county.
- (c) Branches 11 and 12 of the circuit court for Waukesha county.
 - (d) Branch 7 of the circuit court for Rock county.
 - (e) Branch 3 of the circuit court for Sauk county.

- (f) Branch 6 of the circuit court for Outagamie county.
 - (g) Branch 2 of the circuit court for Oneida county.
 - (h) Branch 2 of the circuit court for Barron county.
- (i) Branch 4 of the circuit court for Eau Claire county.
- (2) The initial election for circuit judge in branch 40 of the circuit court for Milwaukee county shall be at the spring election of 1989, for a term commencing August 1, 1989, and ending July 31, 1995.

- 614 -