1983 Assembly Bill 829

Date of enactment: May 10, 1984 Date of publication: May 18, 1984

1983 Wisconsin Act 506

AN ACT to amend 753.06 (2) (a), 753.06 (3) (d), 753.06 (5) (a), 753.06 (6) (am), 753.06 (6) (k), 753.06 (7) (f), 753.06 (8) (f) and 753.06 (10) (f) of the statutes, relating to increasing the number of circuit judges.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 753.06 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (2) (a) Kenosha county. The circuit has 5 branches. Commencing August 1, 1985, the circuit has 6 branches.

SECTION 2. 753.06 (3) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (3) (d) Waukesha county. The circuit has 7 branches. Commencing August 1, 1979, the circuit has 9 branches. Commencing August 1, 1985, the circuit has 10 branches.

SECTION 3. 753.06 (5) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (5) (a) Dane county. The circuit has 10 branches. Commencing August 1, 1979, the circuit has 12 branches. Commencing August 1, 1985, the circuit has 14 branches.

SECTION 3m. 753.06 (6) (am) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (6) (am) Clark county. The circuit has 2 branches. The branches shall be reduced to one as provided in 1983 Wisconsin Act (this act), section 8 (2).

SECTION 4. 753.06 (6) (k) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (6) (k) Wood county. The circuit has 2 branches. <u>Commencing August 1, 1985</u>, the circuit has 3 branches.

SECTION 5. 753.06 (7) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (7) (f) La Crosse county. The circuit has 3 branches. Commencing August 1, 1985, the circuit has 4 branches.

SECTION 6. 753.06 (8) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

- **2077** - 83 WisAct 506

753.06 (8) (f) Outagamie county. The circuit has 4 branches. Commencing August 1, 1985, the circuit has 5 branches.

SECTION 7. 753.06 (10) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.06 (10) (f) Dunn county. The circuit has one branch. Commencing August 1, 1985, the circuit has 2 branches.

SECTION 8. Nonstatutory provisions; circuit courts. (1) The initial election for circuit judges for the following branches shall be at the spring election of 1985, for terms commencing August 1, 1985, and ending July 31, 1991.

- (a) Branch 6 of the circuit court for Kenosha county.
- (b) Branch 10 of the circuit court for Waukesha county.
- (c) Branches 13 and 14 of the circuit court for Dane county.
- (d) Branch 3 of the circuit court for Wood county.
- (e) Branch 4 of the circuit court for La Crosse county.
- (f) Branch 5 of the circuit court for Outagamie county.
- (g) Branch 2 of the circuit court for Dunn county.
- (2) The circuit judge of branch 1 of the circuit court for Clark county on the effective date of this act shall serve for the remainder of his term or until the office becomes vacant under section 17.03 of the statutes, whichever occurs earlier. On that date, the office of circuit judge of branch 1 of the circuit court for Clark county shall be abolished without being replaced. Immediately after that abolishment, the circuit judge of branch 2 of the circuit court for Clark county shall become the circuit judge of branch 1, and all actions and proceedings in either previous branch of the circuit court for Clark county shall be in the new branch 1.