
   

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD 
DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES 
      :       (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 21-086) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
ORDER 

 
An order of the Dentistry Examining Board to amend DE 11.025 (3) (i), relating to 

requirements for class III permits for anesthesia. 
 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
ANALYSIS 

 
Statutes interpreted: s. 447.02 (2) (b), Stats. 
 

Statutory authority: ss.  15.08 (5) (b) and 447.02 (2) (b), Stats.  

 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Each Examining Board shall promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of 
the profession to which it pertains, and define and enforce professional conduct and unethical 

practices not inconsistent with the law relating to the particular profession.  [ s. 15.08 (5) (b), 

Stats.] 
 

The Examining Board shall promulgate rules specifying the standards, conditions and any 

educational requirements that are in addition to the requirements specified in s. 447.04 (1) 
that must be met by a dentist to be permitted to induce general anesthesia or conscious 

sedation in connection with the practice of dentistry.  [ s. 447.02 (2) (b), Stats.] 

 
Related statute or rule: s. 447.04 (1), Stats. 

 
Plain language analysis: 

The rule clarifies that dentists who apply for a Class 3 anesthesia permit allowing a dentist to 
perform deep sedation or general anesthesia, as an option for receiving the permit complete a 

postdoctoral residency in an accredited dental program in dental anesthesiology. 

 
Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None. 

 

Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of how 

and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in drafting 

the proposed rule: 

No comments were received on the statement of scope.  

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 



   

Illinois :  Illinois does not require a permit for minimal sedation.  Moderate sedation requires 

a Permit A.  Deep sedation or general anesthesia requires a Permit B.  To receive a Permit B, 
a dentist must be a diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofac ial Surgery, or 

complete 2 years of advanced training in anesthesiology or have a specialty license in oral 

and maxillofacial surgery. (225 ILCS 25/8.1) 
 

Iowa:  Iowa requires a general anesthesia permit if the dentist is applying deep sedation or 

general anesthesia. To qualify for a moderate sedation permit, the applicant shall complete a 
training program approved by the board that consists of a minimum of 60 hours of instruction 

and management of at least 20 patients or an accredited residency program that includes: 

formal training and clinical experiences in moderate sedation; a training that includes 
rescuing patients from a  deeper level of sedation than intended; and if intends to utilize on 

pediatric or ASA III or IV patients, an accredited residency program that includes formal 

training in anesthesia and clinical experience in managing pediatric or ASA III or IV patients.  
To qualify for a general anesthesia permit, the applicant shall compete an advanced education 

program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation that provides training in 
deep sedation and general anesthesia; a minimum of one year of advanced training in 

anesthesiology and related academic subjects in a training program approved by the 

anesthesia credentials committee of the board; formal training in airway management; and 
current ACLS certification.  (IAC 650-29.11) 

 

Michigan:  Under Chapter 6 of the Michigan Administrative Rules, R338.11601 - 
R338.11605, the requirements for general anesthesia, intervenous conscience sedation and 

enteral sedation are identified. Under R338.11603, Michigan adopts the standards for 
advanced training in anesthesia and pain control and training in intravenous conscious 

sedation as identified by the Commission on Dental Education of the American Dental 

Association in the publication entitled “Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to 
Dentists and Dental Students” (October 2012).  Michigan adopts the standards for enteral 

sedation course as outlined in the Dental Education of the American Dental Association in 

the publication entitled “Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and 
Dental Students” (October 2012).   

 

Minnesota:  Minnesota requires the following education for deep sedation or general 
anesthesia: a didactic and clinical program at a dental school, hospital, or graduate medical or 

dental program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation equivalent to a 
program for advanced specialty education in oral and maxillofacial surgery or a one year 

residency in general anesthesia at an institution certified by the American Society of 

Anesthesiology, the American Medical Association, or the Joint Commission on Hospital 
Accreditation with minimum number of hours for various procedures. The dentist must also 

have ACLS or PALS certification and CPR certification. (Minnesota Administrative Rules 

3100.3600) 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:   
The Dentistry Examining Board members were consulted in the development of this rule 

project.  

 

  



   

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on 
economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local government 

units, and individuals. No comments were received. 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 
 

Effect on small business: 
These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 

227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by 

email at Jennifer.Garrett@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-6795. 

 

Agency contact person: 
Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 
Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8306; 

telephone 608-267-7139; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 

 
TEXT OF RULE 

 
SECTION  1 DE 11.025 (3) (i) 4. is amended to read: 

 

DE 11.025 (3) (i) 4. Postdoctoral Completion of a postdoctoral residency in an accredited 

dental program in dental anesthesiology. 
 

SECTION 2  EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first 

day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to 
s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

 

 (END OF TEXT OF RULE) 
 


