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STATE OF WISCONSIN 
PSYCHOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : PSYCHOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD 
PSYCHOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES 
      :       (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 21-015) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
ORDER 

 
An order of the Psychology Examining Board to amend Psy 4.017 (2) (b), relating to the 
renewal and reinstatement of licenses. 

 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
ANALYSIS 

 

Statutes interpreted:  ss. 440.035 (2) and 440.08 (3) (b), Stats. 
 

Statutory authority:   ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 440.08 (3) (b), Stats. 
 

Explanation of agency authority:   

 

Each examining board shall promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance 

of the trade or profession to which it pertains and define and enforce professional conduct 
and unethical practices not inconsistent with the law relating to the particular trade or 
profession.  [s. 15.08 (5) (b), Stats.] 

 
The department or the interested examining board or affiliated credentialing board, as 

appropriate, may promulgate rules requiring the holder of a credential who fails to renew 
the credential within 5 years after its renewal date to complete requirements to restore the 
credential, in addition to the applicable requirements for renewal established under chs. 

440 to 480, that the department, examining board or affiliated credentialing board 
determines are necessary to protect the public health, safety, or welfare.  The rules may 

not require the holder to complete educational requirements or pass examinations that are 
more extensive than the educational or examination requirements that must be completed 
to obtain an initial credential from the department, the examining board or the affiliated 

credentialing board.  [s. 440.08 (3) (b), Stats.] 
 

Related statute or rule: Psy 4 
 
Plain language analysis:  

 

The objective of the proposed rule is to correct a drafting error in Psy 4 in CR 19-117, 

relating to renewal and reinstatement of licenses. CR 19-117 erroneously reduces the 
number of continuing education hours for late licensure renewal from 40 hours to 30 
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hours. The result is that licensees who renew their licenses late must report only 30 
continuing education credits. Those who renew at the proper time must report 40 

continuing education hours. The proposed rule will correct the error and restore equity 
between those who renew in a timely fashion and those who renew late. 

 
Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:  None. 
 

Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of 

how and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in 

drafting the proposed rule: N/A 
 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 
Illinois: 

The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation licenses clinical 
psychologists, prescribing psychologists, prescribing psychologists controlled substance, 
and prescribing psychologists clinical rotation program.  Random audits of continuing 

education are performed.  Additionally, Illinois offers “restoration” of an inactive license 
requiring verification of active practice is another jurisdiction, one year in an approved 

education program, six months in a supervised experience, or passing the examination.   
 
Iowa: 

The Iowa Board of Psychology is in the Bureau of Professional Licensure in the 
Department of Public Health.  Random audits of continuing education are performed 

each renewal cycle.  Additionally, Iowa offers “reactivation” of an inactive license, 
requiring an application, fee, verification of competence through a current license in 
another jurisdiction, and evidence of having completed 40 hours of continuing education, 

or, if the license has been inactive for more than five years, evidence of having completed 
80 hours of continuing education. 

 
Michigan: 

The Michigan Board of Psychology is in the Department of Licensing and Regulatory 

Affairs.  Continuing education is required for renewal starting in September 2019, and 
the department may audit licensees.  Additionally, Michigan offers “relicensure.”  If a 

license expired less than three years ago, the licensee is required to complete 40 hours of 
continuing education.  If it has been more than three years, complete 40 hours of 
continuing education and provide evidence of a current license in another jurisdiction or, 

if no current license, complete the examination.   
 

Minnesota: 

The Minnesota Board of Psychology is a stand-alone agency.  Random audits of 
continuing education are performed each month.  Additionally, the Board offers 

“relicensure” after a voluntary or board termination if the licensee has not practiced 
without a license and complied with the requirements for examination and licensure in 

effect at the time of application for relicensure.   
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Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:  

 

The Board reviewed CR 19-117 finding that it erroneously reduces the number of 

continuing education hours for late licensure renewal from 40 hours to 30 hours.    
 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 
 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on 
economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local 
government units, and individuals. No comments were received. 

 
Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 
 

Effect on small business: 
 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 
s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 
contacted by email at Daniel.Hereth@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 

 
Agency contact person: 

 
Kevyn Radcliffe, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and 
Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 4822 Madison Yards Way, P.O. 

Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-266-0797; email at 
DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 

 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION 1.  Psy 4.017 (2) (b) is amended to read: 

Psy 4.017 (2) (b) Certify the completion of 30 40 hours of continuing education during 
the last biennium. 
   

SECTION 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the 
first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, 

pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
 

 
 



  Page 4 

Dated ______9/2/2021___________  Agency 

__________________________________ 
       Chairperson 
       Psychology Examining Board 

 


