
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 

PROPOSED ORDER TO ADOPT  RULES 

The Wisconsin Department of Health Services proposes an order to repeal DHS 181.03 (11) to (13), DHS 

181.04 (3) (b) and (c), DHS 181.04 (6), (7) and (Note), DHS 181.06 (1) (j) and (k), DHS 181.06 (3);  to 

renumber and amend DHS 181.04 (3) (a); to amend DHS 181.02, DHS 181.03 (10), DHS 181.04 (5), 

DHS 181.06 (1) (c) to (f) and (h) and (i), DHS 181.06 (1) (L) and (n), DHS 181.06 (2), DHS 181.07 and 

(Note), DHS 181.08 (2) (a); and to repeal and recreate DHS 181.04 (2), DHS 181.04 (4), and DHS 

181.05, relating to reporting of blood lead test results.  

  

RULE SUMMARY 

Statute interpreted 

Sections 254.13 and 254.156, Stats. 

 

Statutory authority 

Sections 227.11 (2) (a), 250.04 (7), 254.13 and 254.156, Stats. 

 

Explanation of agency authority 

The Department’s authority to promulgate the proposed rules is provided in statute. Section 227.11 (2) 

(a), Stats., authorizes the Department to promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of any statute 

enforced or administered by the agency if the agency considers it necessary to effectuate the purpose of 

the statute. Section 254.15, Stats., requires the Department to administer a comprehensive statewide lead 

poisoning prevention program that includes childhood lead poisoning screening requirements. Section 

254.13, Stats., requires that the Department promulgate rules specifying the form of the required reports. 

Section 254.156, Stats., requires the Department to promulgate a rule defining lead poisoning or lead 

exposure that corresponds to the specification of the centers for disease control and prevention.  

 

Related statute or rule  

Section 254.11(9), Stats. 

 

Plain language analysis  

The Department proposes to amend ch. DHS 181 in order to comply with statutes governing Wisconsin’s 

lead poisoning prevention program. Specific revisions include: updating the blood lead reference value, 



updating forfeiture amounts, and updating and clarifying reporting requirements to reflect current 

definitions, standards and best practices. 

 

The Department proposes to make the following revisions to the rule chapter: 

 

1.  In 2012, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) lowered the blood lead level at 

which it considers a child to be lead poisoned. The CDC now recommends public health interventions at 

5 µg/dL, rather than 10 µg/dL. In Wisconsin, “lead poisoning or lead exposure” is currently defined in s. 

DHS 181.03, as a concentration of lead in the blood of 10 µg/dL or more. Section 254.156, Stats., 

requires the Department to promulgate a rule defining “lead poisoning or lead exposure” to correspond to 

the specification of the CDC. In addition, s. 254.11 (9), Stats., was modified by 2017 Wisconsin Act 59 to 

lower the level of lead concentration from 10 to 5 micrograms per 100 milliliters of blood to match the 

CDC reference value. The Department therefore proposes to update the current definition of “lead 

poisoning or lead exposure” to the blood lead level set by the CDC. 

 

2.  Section DHS 181.08 sets the maximum forfeiture penalty for violating provisions of the chapter to 

$1,000 per violation per day. This amount was based on s. 254.30 (2) (a), Stats.  In 2015, Wisconsin Act 

55, Section 4049d, amended s. 254.30 (2) (a), Stats., and increased the maximum forfeiture penalty to 

$5,000 per violation per day in compliance with the federal requirements. The proposed rule updates the 

current maximum forfeiture penalty, as provided in the statute. 

 

3. Chapter DHS 181 has not been substantially revised since 2002. The Department proposes to make 

non-substantive corrections and clarifications to reflect current definitions, standards and best practices.  

 

There are no reasonable alternatives to the proposed rulemaking. The Department must amend ch. DHS 

181 in order to comply with statutory directives provided by the Legislature. 

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulations 

In 2012, the CDC began using a reference value of 5 µg/dL to identify children with blood lead levels that 

are much higher than most children’s levels.  

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states 

Illinois: 



Permissible blood lead levels are confirmed (venous) under 10 mcg/dL for children under age 16 years 

and for pregnant or breast-feeding women, and confirmed (venous) less than 25 mcg/dl for all other 

persons. Health care providers must report a blood lead level in excess of permissible levels to the 

department of health within 48 hours. All capillary results of 10 mcg/dL or more for a person under age 

16 years must be reported within 48 hours. All negative results must be reported within 30 days. A 

Medicaid ID number must be included, if applicable. Laboratory name or laboratory code number must 

be reported but the rule does not specify that the clinical laboratory improvement amendments (CLIA) 

number is required. Date of sample analysis, occupation, and employer information are not required to be 

reported. Written or electronic reports are acceptable but the code also states that reports shall be on the 

form provided in an appendix to the administrative rule. DPH 77 Ill. Adm. Code 845 

Iowa: 

Blood lead reporting is included with other reportable poisonings and non-communicable conditions. 

Reporting responsibility is extended to school nurses, school officials, poison control centers, medical 

examiners, occupational nurses, hospitals, health care providers and clinical laboratories outside the state 

of Iowa for all reportable poisonings and conditions. Iowa requires reporting all test results for adults and 

children to the department of health. Test results greater than or equal to 20 mcg/dL in a child under age 

six or a pregnant woman must be reported immediately by telephone. All other results must be reported at 

least weekly in an electronic format. The report includes patient’s marital status and if the patient is 

female, whether the patient is pregnant. A report is not required to include parent/guardian name, 

laboratory phone number or CLIA number, date of sample analysis, occupation, or employer information. 

Iowa Adm. Code 641, Chapter 1. 

Michigan: 

All test results must be reported within 5 days and must include secondary contact (name, phone number) 

for parent/guardian if the person tested is a minor; social security number and Medicaid number, if 

applicable; physician/provider fax number and email address; and a specimen number. The test result 

must be rounded to the nearest whole number. The laboratory CLIA number is not required to be 

reported. Michigan requires electronic reporting by laboratories and point-of-care test sites but also 

allows reports to be mailed or faxed. The rule includes a quality assurance section, which allows the 

Department to inspect copies of the medical records pertaining to blood lead testing that will be submitted 

by the clinical laboratory or user of a portable blood lead analyzer to verify the accuracy of the submitted 

data. The rule includes a section on confidentiality of reports. The rule does not include a section on 

penalties and enforcement. Michigan Admin. Code R 325.9081-325.9087. 

Minnesota: 

Results greater than or equal to 15 mcg/dL must be reported within 2 days, results <15 mcg/dL must be 

reported monthly. In comparison to ch. DHS 181, the following information is not required to be included 

in the report content: ethnicity, guardian name, laboratory CLIA number, employer, and occupation are 

not required. Method of analysis is required to be reported. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.9502. 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies 



A technical advisory committee was convened to review all content and proposed changes. The 

committee met on June 21, 2018 and included representatives from laboratories, local health 

Departments, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin and the Department’s Division of Public Health Bureau 

of Environmental and Occupational Health. The committee unanimously accepted all proposed changes. 

The Department did not rely on data or analytical methodologies to draft the proposed rule and was 

instead guided by the specifications provided by the CDC. 

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business 

There was a public commenting period in regards to economic impact from September 24, 2018 through 

October 9, 2018. No comments were received. 

 

Effect on small business  

None. The proposed rules do not impact small businesses.  

 

Agency contact person  

Shelley Bruce 
1 West Wilson Street 
Madison, WI 53703 
608-267-0928 
shelley.bruce@dhs.wisconsin.gov 
 

Statement on quality of agency data 

The data sources referenced and used to draft the rules and analyses are accurate, reliable, and objective 

and are discussed in the “Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies.” 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission 

Comments may be submitted to the agency contact person that is listed above until the deadline given in 

the upcoming notice of public hearing. The notice of public hearing and deadline for submitting 

comments will be published in the Wisconsin Administrative Register and to the Department’s website, at 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/rules/permanent.htm. Comments may also be submitted through the 

Wisconsin Administrative Rules Website, at: https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/chr/active. 

 

RULE TEXT 

SECTION 1. DHS 181.02 and DHS 181.03 (10) are amended to read:  



DHS 181.02 This chapter applies to any physician, nurse, hospital administrator, director of a blood 

drawing site or local health officer who obtains a person’s blood sample or orders that a blood sample be 

taken from a Wisconsin resident for the purpose of measuring the concentration of lead in the blood and 

to directors of clinical laboratories and persons performing onsite blood lead testing, that analyze human 

blood samples to determine the concentration of lead in blood. 

DHS 181.03 (10) “Lead poisoning or lead exposure” means a concentration of lead in the blood of 10 

micrograms or more of lead per 100 milliliters of human blood.  has the meaning given in s. 254.11 (9), 

Stats. 

 

SECTION 2. DHS 181.03 (11) to (13) are repealed.  

 

SECTION 3. DHS 181.04 (2) is repealed and recreated to read:  

 

DHS 184.04 (2) (a) When a health care provider sends a blood sample to a clinical laboratory for 

determination of the concentration of lead in the blood, the health care provider shall include with the 

blood sample all the information required under s. DHS 181.06 (1). This shall fulfill the requirement of 

the health care provider to report under s. 254.13 (1), Stats., unless the health care provider uses a 

laboratory outside the state of Wisconsin. 

 

(b) If the health care provider sends blood samples to a clinical laboratory outside of Wisconsin, the 

health care provider shall report the blood lead test results and the other information described in s. DHS 

181.06 to the department, unless written assurance is provided by the clinical laboratory to the department 

that the clinical laboratory is reporting the results to the department within the time specified in s. DHS 

181.05, in which case, the health care provider’s reporting requirements shall be considered fulfilled as 

described in par. (a).  

 

SECTION 4. DHS 181.04 (3) (a) is renumbered DHS 181.04 (3) and amended to read: 

 

DHS 181.04 (3) Except as provided in par. (b), directors Directors of clinical laboratories and persons 

performing onsite blood lead testing shall report to the department the results of all blood lead tests and 

the other information as described in s. DHS 181.06 for each blood lead test regardless of the 

concentration of lead in the blood. 

 

SECTION 5. DHS 181.04 (3) (b) and (c) are repealed.  

 

SECTION 6. DHS 181.04 (4) is repealed and recreated to read:  

 

DHS 181.04 (4) The department shall make blood lead test results accessible to health care providers 

treating the person tested. 

 

SECTION 7. DHS 181.04 (5) is amended to read:  

 

DHS 181.04 (5) Blood sample test results shall be accessible to health care providers treating the person 

tested. If the blood sample results indicate lead test result indicates lead poisoning or lead exposure, the 



department shall transmit results of the test the test result to the local health department in the area in 

which the person tested resides. 

 

SECTION 8. DHS 181.04 (6), (7) and (Note) are repealed.  

 

SECTION 9. DHS 181.05 is repealed and recreated to read:  

 

DHS 181.05 Timetable for reporting. (1) Blood lead concentrations of 45 micrograms or more of lead per 

deciliter of blood shall be reported to the department within 24 hours from the time the analysis is 

completed. 

 

(Note) For patients with blood lead results of 45 micrograms lead per deciliter of blood or more, report to 

the department blood lead test results and other patient information by telephoning or faxing the 

Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program at telephone (608) 266−5817 or fax (608) 267−0402. 

 

DHS 181.05 (2) Blood lead concentrations meeting the definition of lead poisoning or lead exposure but 

less than 45 micrograms of lead per deciliter of blood shall be reported to the department within 48 hours 

from the time the analysis is completed. 

 

DHS 181.05 (3) Blood lead concentrations that do not meet the definition of lead poisoning or lead 

exposure shall be reported to the department within10 days from the time the analysis is completed. 

 

SECTION 10. DHS 181.06 (1) (c) to (f) and (h) and (i) are amended to read:  

 

DHS 181.06 (1) (c) The patient’s gender, male or female sex.  

 

DHS 181.06 (1) (d) The patient’s race: Z=Unknown, W=White, B=Black, A=Asian, N=Native American, 

O=Other. 

 

DHS 181.06 (1) (e) The patient’s ethnicity: Z=unknown, H=Hispanic, N= Non−Hispanic. 

 

DHS 181.06 (1) (f) The patient’s street address, apartment number, city or town, county, and zip code, 

and telephone number. 

 

DHS 181.06 (1) (h) For a patient under 18 years of age, a parent’s or guardian’s area code and phone 

telephone number. 

 

DHS 181.06 (1) (i) For a patient 16 years of age or older, the patient’s occupation and if the patient is 

employed, the employer’s name, street full address, and telephone number, street address, city or town, 

state and zip code if employed. 

 

SECTION 11. DHS 181.06 (1) (j) and (k) are repealed.  

 

SECTION 12. DHS 181.06 (1) (L) and (n) are amended to read: 

 



DHS 181.06 (L) The month, date day and year the blood sample was collected. 

 

DHS 181.06 (n) The name of the health care provider submitting the blood sample, the name of that 

person’s facility or practice, street full address, city or town, state, zip code, area code and  phone 

telephone number. 

 

SECTION 13. DHS 181.06 (2) is amended to read:  

 

DHS 181.06 (2) ADDITIONAL INFORMATION TO BE PROVIDED BY LABORATORY. A clinical 

laboratory that determines the lead concentration in a sample of blood submitted to it for a blood lead test 

shall submit to the department a report on the results of the blood lead test in accordance with ss. DHS 

181.05 and 181.07. That report shall include all the information in sub. (1) and, in addition, all of the 

following information: 

 

(a) The name of the clinical laboratory performing the analysis, and the laboratory’s street address, city or 

town, state, zip code, area code and phone telephone number, and clinical laboratory improvement 

amendments number. 

 

(b) The month, date day and year the laboratory analysis was completed. 

 

(c) Results of the blood lead test in micrograms of lead per 100 milliliters deciliter of blood. 

 

SECTION 14. DHS 181.06 (3) is repealed.  

 

SECTION 15. DHS 181.07 and (Note) are amended to read: 

 

DHS 181.07 Form of report submitted to the department. Reporting to the department shall be by 

electronic means in a format acceptable to the department unless the laboratory or other person who 

screens health care provider that tests for lead poisoning or lead exposure does not have suitable 

electronic data transport capability, in which case, reports may be paper reports in a format acceptable to 

the department. 

 

DHS 181.07 (Note) See Appendix A to this chapter for an acceptable format for either electronic or paper 

reporting of blood lead test results. To obtain more information about reporting, including obtaining an 

acceptable form or information about acceptable formats for reporting, write or call visit the Childhood 

Lead Poisoning Prevention Program, Division of Public Health website at 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/lead/formspubs.htm (“public health” tab); email 

dhsleadpoisoningprevention@wisconsin.gov; telephone (608) 266-5817; or mail request to Wisconsin 

Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program, P.O. Box 2659, Room 145, Madison, WI 53701−2659; 

telephone (608) 266−5817. 

 

SECTION 16. DHS 181.08 (2) (a) is amended to read:  

 

DHS 181.08 (2) (a) Civil. Pursuant to s. 254.30 (2) (a), Stats., any physician, nurse, hospital 

administrator, local health officer, director of a clinical laboratory or director of a blood drawing site who 



violates any provision of this chapter may be required to forfeit not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 

$5000. Each day of continued violation constitutes a separate offense. 

 

SECTION 17. EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, as provided in § 227.22 (2) (intro.), Wis. Stats. 


