
   

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional 

Counseling and Social Work Examining Board 
 

 
IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL 

COUNSELING AND SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD 
 

 
 

ORDER OF THE MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL 

COUNSELING AND SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD  
ADOPTING RULES 

(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 14-082 
 
 

ORDER 
 

An order of the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling, Social Worker 
Examining Board to repeal MPSW 1.03, and 1.04 (2) (intro), (a) and (b); to renumber MPSW 
1.04 (1); and to create 1.035 relating to rules, and application. 

 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

 
 
 

ANALYSIS 
 

Statutes interpreted:    ss.  15.08 (5) (b), and 457.20(3), Stats. 
 
Statutory authority:     ss.  15.08 (5) (b), and 440.071 (1), Stats. 

 
Explanation of agency authority: 

 

The board shall promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the profession and 
define and enforce professional conduct and unethical practices not inconsistent with the law 

relating to pharmacy. s. 15.08 (5) (b), Stats. 
 

The board may not require a person to complete any postsecondary education or other program 
before the person is eligible to take an examination for a credential the board grants or issues. s. 
440.071 (1), Stats.  

 
Related statute or rule: N/A 

 
Plain language analysis: 



   

 

Section 1 and 2 repeals the current rule-making procedure and creates a new procedure.  The 

rules committee is deemed by the board to be obsolete.  The Sections of the Board will still 
propose and draft the rules applying to individual professions and hold the public hearings while 

the Board will draft rules and hold public hearings for the matters the board deems as a joint 
interest. 
 

Section 3 renumbers MPSW 1.04 to MPSW 1.04 to reflect there is no other subunit of that rule 
section. 

 
Section 4 repeals the provisions requiring all application requirements prior to sitting for the 
examination.  2013 Act 113 prohibits a board from requiring the education be completed prior to 

the taking the examination.  This section removes the requirement of education be completed 
prior to taking the examination.   In addition, this section removes the obsolete requirement that 

all application materials be submitted 60 days prior to the examination. 
 
Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:  None 

 
Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 
Illinois:  Illinois requires marriage and family therapist education to be completed prior to 
examination.  Completion of education prior for examination is not required for professional 

counselors or social workers.   A credential may be renewed within 5 years by payment of fees 
and proof of completion of continuing education.  Renewal of a credential after 5 years requires 

payment of fees, proof of completion of continuing education and either evidence of active 
practice in another state or proof of passing of the examination during the time the license was 
lapsed.   

 
Iowa:  Iowa does not require marriage and family therapists, mental health counselors or social 

workers to complete education prior to examination.  A credential may be renewed within five 
years pay fees and verification of continuing education.  After five years marriage and family 
therapists and mental health counselors may renew upon payment of fees and verification of 80 

hours of continuing education.  After five years social workers may renew upon payment of fees, 
verification of continuing education and passing of the ASWB examination within last five years 

at the appropriate credentialing level.  Reinstatement of a credential after revocation, suspension 
or surrendered may not be made until one year after the order or surrender and applicatio n shall 
allege facts which, if established, will be sufficient to enable the board to determine that the basis 

for the revocation, suspension or surrender no longer exists and it will be in the public interest 
for the license to be reinstated 

 
Michigan:  Michigan requires marriage and family therapy education prior to taking the 
examination.  Professional counselors and social workers do not need to complete education 

prior to the examination.  Marriage and family therapists and professional counselors may renew 
their credentials within three years by payment of fees and after three years by payment of fees 

and proof of licensure in another state or pass the examination.  Social workers may renew their 



   

credentials within three years by the submission fees and proof of completion of continuing 
education. 

 
Minnesota:  Minnesota requires marriage and family therapy education prior to the examination.  

Professional counselors and social workers may complete examination prior to education.  
Marriage and family therapist may renew within 5 years by payment of fees and proof of 
completion of continuing education and after five years by payment of fees, proof of continuing 

education and passing the exam.  Marriage and family therapy revoke credentials may be 
restored for reasons the board considers sufficient.  Professional counselors may renew within 

two years by payment of fee and continuing education and after two years by meeting current 
initial requirements.  Social workers may renew within one year by payment of fees, proof of 
meeting continuing education and supervision requirements and after one year by meeting 

current initial requirements. 
 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

The Board implemented 2013 Wisconsin Act 114.  In addition, the Board reviewed the rules to 

bring the rules into compliance with statutes and remove obsolete provisions. 
 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

 

This rule was posted for economic comments for a period of 14 days and none were received. 
 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 

 

Effect on small business: 

 
These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 
227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by 

email at Eric.Esser@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 
 

Agency contact person: 
 
Sharon Henes, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 

Services, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 
8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-2377; email at 

Sharon.Henes@wisconsin.gov. 
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

TEXT OF RULE 
 

SECTION 1.  MPSW 1.03 is repealed. 
 



   

SECTION 2.  MPSW 1.035 is created to read: 
 

MPSW 1.035 Rule-making.  (1)  Except as provided in sub. (2), each section shall be 
responsible for proposing and drafting rules applying to its profession, and for holding public 

hearings on those rules.  The board may approve and adopt rules proposed by any section of the 
board.   
(2) The board shall be responsible for promulgating rules applying to matters that the board 

determines are of joint interest among the sections. 
 

SECTION 3.  MPSW 1.04 (1) is renumbered to MPSW 1.04. 
 
SECTION 4.  MPSW 1.04 (2) is repealed. 

 
SECTION 5.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first 

day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 
227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 
 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 
 


