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Acts 1 to 469, and other legal research materials.

WisLawTM, the computer−searchable CD−ROM, may now be ordered in both the DOS and Windows version
of Folio PreViews search and retrieval software.  The May 2, 1996 release of WisLawTM includes the 1993−94
Wisconsin Statutes and Annotations, Supreme Court Rules, and recent Opinions of the Attorney Gen-
eral.  The 1995 Wisconsin Acts 1 to 469, with hypertext links to the affected statutes, are included on Wis-
LawTM.

WisLawTM is only available by subscription for 12−month periods;  the number of CDs to be released in any
12−month period is indeterminate.  WisLawTM End−user license and subscription order forms are available
through Document Sales, 202 South Thornton Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin or by calling (608) 266−3358.
A 12−month subscription plus a license for no more than one simultaneous user costs $99.  A 12−month sub-
scription plus a license for no more than 4 simultaneous users costs $149.  A 12−month subscription plus
a license for no more than 10 simultaneous users costs $199.  Shipping is included.  Unless exempt by law,
all sales are subject to 5% state sales tax and, where applicable, 0.5% county sales tax and 0.1% Wisconsin
stadium sales tax.
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Prior releases of WisLawTM are still available; these CDs provide the end−user with research capabilities that
are available nowhere else.  No on−line statutory research and retrieval system permits the researcher to
examine past versions of the Statutes.  In many instances, the facts of the researcher’s case arose under and
are governed by statutes which are no longer current.  WisLawTM end−users can select the appropriate Wis-
LawTM release, insert it into a CD reader, and enjoy sophisticated search and retrieval capabilities in searching
the statutes in effect when the facts of the case arose.  Prior releases of WisLawTM may be licensed for the
discounted single simultaneous−user license fee of $30.00.  Supplies are limited.

Now Also Available...
Many chapters of the 1993−94 Wis. Stats., updated through 1995 Wisconsin Act 469, are now available
through Document Sales. Phone (608) 266−3358 for pricing and ordering information.
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T A B L E   O F   C O N T E N T S

Emergency Rules Now In Effect. Pages 5 to 15.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection: Rules relating to animal health.
Rule relating to prohibiting certain gaseous hydrocarbons
in mobile air conditioners.

Corrections: Rule relating to inmate mail.

Health & Family Services: Community Services, Chs. HSS 30−−
Rules relating to administration of child care funds.
Rules relating to child care providers certification.
Rule relating to child care funds and copayments.

Health & Family Services: Medical Assistance, Chs. HSS 100−−
Rules relating to coverage of school−based medical
services.

Health & Family Services: Health, Chs. HSS 110−−
Rules relating to permit fees.
Rules relating to public swimming pools.
Rules relating to fees.

Health & Family Services (Workforce Development): Economic Support, Chs. HSS 200−−
Rules relating to time limits on benefits for AFDC
recipients in the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills (JOBS)
program.

Industry, Labor & Human Relations (Commerce): Uniform Dwellings, Chs. ILHR 20−25
Rules relating to dwellings constructed in flood hazard
zones.

Industry, Labor & Human Relations (Commerce): Building & Heating, etc., Chs. ILHR 50−64
Multi−Family Dwelling, Ch. ILHR 66
Rules delaying energy efficiency revision to
chs. ILHR 50−64 and 66.

Industry, Labor & Human Relations (Workforce
Development):

Labor Standards, Chs. ILHR 270−279
Rules relating to the minimum wage.

Insurance, Commissioner of: Rules relating to premium rates for the Health Insurance
Risk−Sharing Plan (HIRSP).

Natural Resources: Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−
Rules relating to size and bag limits for Lac du Flambeau
reservation.
Rules relating to the 1996 deer hunting season.
Rules relating to fishing for yellow perch in Lake
Michigan.
Rules relating to the 1996 deer hunting season.
Rules relating to the 1996 migratory game bird season.
Rules relating to fishing for yellow perch in Lake
Michigan.

Public Instruction: Rules relating to dispute resolution concerning children
with exceptional educational needs (EEN).
Rules relating to the handicapping condition of significant
developmental delay.

Securities (Financial Institutions): Rules relating to alternative accounting guidelines for
certain financial statements.

Transportation: Rules relating to transportation of garbage or refuse
permits.
Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 76, relating to general
transportation aids.  [FIRST APPEARANCE]
Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 117, relating to
occupational driver’s license.  [FIRST APPEARANCE]
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Scope Statements. Pages 17 to 20.

Accounting Examining Board: Accy Code − Relating to the clarification of administrative
rules relating to certified public accountants.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional Geologists,
Professional Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors
Examining Board: A−E Code − Relating to clarification of administrative

rules relating to professional practice of architects,
landscape architects, professional geologists, professional
engineers, designers and land surveyors.

Natural Resources: S. NR 5.20 − Relating to a waiver of slow−no−wake
(SNW) requirement for the Wild Rose Mill Pond for two
days each year.

Natural Resources: Ch. NR 20 − Relating to fishing: inland waters; outlying
waters; and also
Ch. NR 25 − Relating to commercial fishing − outlying
waters.

Natural Resources: Section NR 728.11 − Relating to language authorizing the
Department to record affidavits in the County Register of
Deeds office for properties where contamination exists
which is not being adequately addressed by the responsible
party (RP).

Nursing Home Administrator Examining Board: NHA Code − Relating to clarification of administrative
rules relating to the practice of nursing home
administrators.

Optometry Examining Board: Opt Code − Relating to credential application, examination
and continuing education requirements and to standards of
professional conduct of optometrists.

Railroads, Commissioner of: Ch. RR 1 − Relating to hearing practice and procedure.

Railroads, Commissioner of: Ch. RR 3 − Relating to railroad ratemaking.

Revenue: SS. Tax 11.39 and 11.41 − Relating to the definition of
manufacturing, and taxation of items consumed or
destroyed in manufacturing for sales and use tax purposes.

Veterinary Examining Board: VE Code − Relating to evidence that would be required in
order to obtain a veterinary license of a candidate who is a
graduate of a school that has not been approved by the
Board.

Notice of Submittal of Proposed Rules to
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Pages 21 to 22.

Administration: Chs. Adm 66, 67 and 68 − Relating to manufactured home
dealer financial eligibility, manufactured home dealer trade
practices, facilities and records, and licensing periods and
fees for manufactured home dealers.

Commerce: Chs. ILHR 51, 52, 66, 69 and 70 − Relating to barrier−free
design requirements.

Employe Trust Funds: S. ETF 60.53 − Relating to deadlines to apply for death
benefits payable from the Wisconsin Retirement System
(WRS) and timing of automatic distribution of these
benefits.

Hearing and Speech Examining Board: S. HAS 6.09 (2) (o) − Relating to eliminating the
prohibition of not being able to evaluate patients by
correspondence, thus allowing a credential holder to
review fax or computer records and make
recommendations on treatment.

Transportation: Ch. Trans 117 − Relating to the occupational driver’s
license.

Transportation: Ch. Trans 55 − Relating to the granting of state aid to
airport owners.
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Transportation: Ch. Trans 152 − Relating to the Wisconsin interstate fuel
tax and the International Registration Plan (IRP).

Notice Section. Pages 23 to 33.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection: Hearing to consider s. ATCP 139.04 (11) created as an
emergency rule, relating to prohibiting certain flammable
refrigerants for use in mobile air conditioning systems.

Hearings to consider revision of ch. ATCP 143, relating to
the corn marketing order.

Commerce: Building and Heating, etc., Chs. ILHR 50 to 64
Multifamily Dwellings, Ch. ILHR 66
Barrier−Free Design, Ch. ILHR 69
Historic Building, Chs. ILHR 70
Hearings to consider revision of chs. ILHR 51, 52, 66, 69
and 70, relating to barrier−free design.

Employe Trust Funds: Hearing to consider s. ETF 60.53 (2), relating to deadlines
to apply for death benefits and timing of automatic
distribution of these benefits.

Hearing and Speech Examining Board: Hearing to consider revision of chs. HAS 4 to 6, relating to
calibration of audiometric equipment and use of support
personnel.

Hearing to consider amending s. HAS 6.09 (2) (o), relating
to the grounds for discipline for individuals who are
credentialed as speech−language pathologists and
audiologists.

Medical Examining Board: Hearing to consider revision of ch. Med 13, relating to
continuing education for podiatrists.

Transportation: Hearing to consider ch. Trans 55, relating to granting state
aid to airport owners.

Hearing to consider revision to ch. Trans 76, relating to
general transportation aids.

Hearing to consider the emergency revision and proposed
revision of ch. Trans 117, relating to occupational driver’s
license.

Hearing to consider revision of ch. Trans 152, relating to
Wisconsin interstate fuel tax and the international
registration plan.

Notice of Submission of Proposed Rules to the
Presiding Officer of each House of the
Legislature, Under S. 227.19, Stats. Page 34.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection: (CR 96−149)  − Ch. ATCP 77

Commerce: (CR 96−99)   − Chs. ILHR 20 and 21

Commerce: (CR 96−144) − Chs. ILHR 63 and 64

Health and Family Services: (CR 92−55)    − Ch. HSS 46

Health and Family Services: (CR 96−90)    − Chs. HSS 101, 105 and 107

Health and Family Services: (CR 96−124)  − Ch. HSS 136

Health and Family Services: (CR 96−154)  − Chs. HSS 105 and 107

Medical Examining Board: (CR 92−162)  − Chs. Med 1 to 8, 19 and 20 and 
                                s. Med 14.03

Natural Resources: (CR 96−77)    − Ch. NR 235

Natural Resources: (CR 96−78)    − Ch. NR 233

Natural Resources: (CR 96−86)    − SS. NR 439.01 and 484.04 and 
                                ch. NR 460

Natural Resources: (CR 96−87)    − SS. NR 400.02, 400.03, 407.03, 407.04, 
                                423.02, 423.03, 460 Appendix T, 
                                468.40 and 484.04
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Regulation and Licensing: (CR 96−130)  − SS. RL 34.01 and 34.011

Regulation and Licensing: (CR 96−150)  − Ch. RL 130

Revenue: (CR 96−75)    − S. Tax 11.83

Transportation: (CR 96−146)  − SS. Trans 325.01, 325.02, 326.01 
                             and 328.03

Transportation: (CR 96−147)  − Ch. Trans 102

Transportation: (CR 96−155)  − S. Trans 269.11 (2a)

Workforce Development: (CR 96−140)  − SS. HSS 55.70 to 55.77 and ch. DWD 56

Workforce Development: (CR 96−141)  − Ch. DWD 55

Administrative Rules Filed With the Revisor of
Statutes Bureau. Page 35.

Commerce: (CR 96−89)  − SS. ILHR 14.31 (3) (c) 1., ILHR 14.36 and
                            ILHR 14.38

Health & Familiy Services: (CR 96−120) − S. HSS 146.03 (9), (10) and (11)

Insurance, Commissioner of: (CR 96−37)   − S. Ins 6.20

Securities, Commissioner of: (CR 96−128) − S. SEC 2.01 (1) (c) 5 and (d) 5

Transportation: (CR 96−69)   − Ch. Trans 128

Transportation: (CR 96−117)  − S. Trans 276.07 (4) and (7)

Workforce Development: (CR 95−70)    − Ch. DWD 75 (HSS 275)

Notice of Nonacquiescence. Page 36.

Revenue: Tax Appeals Commission
Consolidated Papers, Inc. v. Wis. Dept. of Revenue
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E M E R G E N C Y   R U L E S   N O W   I N   E F F E C T

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate rules

without complying with the usual rule−making procedures. Using

this special procedure to issue emergency rules, an agency must find

that either the preservation of the public peace, health, safety or

welfare necessitates its action in bypassing normal rule−making

procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state newspaper,

which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal. Emergency rules are

in effect for 150 days and can be extended up to an additional

120 days with no single extension to exceed 60 days.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is

granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of

Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be

printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice will

contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the agency finding

of emergency, date of publication, the effective and expiration dates,

any extension of the effective period of the emergency rule and

information regarding public hearings on the emergency rule.

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer

Protection

1. Rules adopted revising chs. ATCP 10 to 12, relating to
animal health.

Finding of Emergency

The state of Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection (“department”) finds that an emergency exists
and that an emergency rule is necessary to protect public health,
safety and welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as
follows:

(1)  1995 Wis. Act 79 was published December 8, 1995. Under
its provisions, no person may keep farm−raised deer in Wisconsin
after June 1, 1996, unless that person is registered with the
department.

(2)  1995 Wis. Act 79 requires the department to adopt rules
which specify the fee for registration. In addition, rules are
necessary to establish the mechanism for registration.

(3)  Prior to 1995 Wis. Act 79, persons who kept farm−raised deer
were required to be licensed by the department of natural resources
(DNR).  Many persons who keep farm−raised deer will have become
licensed with DNR for calendar year 1996. Those licenses will be
transferred to the department as registrations.

(4) Permanent rules implementing 1995 Wis. Act 79 will not take
effect until on or about January 1, 1997. This emergency rule
establishes an interim procedure for registering herds of farm−raised
deer, pending the effective date of the permanent rules. Without this
emergency rule, no person would be able to start a farm−raised deer
herd in Wisconsin between June 1, 1996, and the effective date of
the permanent rules, because there would be no way to register that
herd.

(5)  1995 Wis. Act 79 also requires animal owners to provide a
means of testing those animals for tuberculosis without endangering
the animal or the person performing the test. In addition, a

non−statutory provision of that Act requires all keepers of
farm−raised deer to have the deer tested for tuberculosis between
December 8, 1995, and June 30, 1997.

(7) Concerns for the safety of farm−raised deer during testing
prohibit testing during significant periods of the year. For example,
deer should not be tested during the birthing season, the rut season
and the season in which the animals are in velvet. Therefore testing
is restricted to periods in late August to early October or during
January and February.

(8) The department anticipates that many keepers of farm−raised
deer will perform their testing in July, August or September of 1996,
before a permanent rule can be adopted. This emergency rule
establishes three alternative ways in which the animal owner can
insure the safety of the persons doing the testing. This is necessary
to insure the safety of the person conducting the test and to permit
the keeper of farm−raised deer to know what constitutes adequate
restraint of the animals.

(9) In September, 1995, the United States department of
agriculture adopted new regulations relating to identification and
slaughter shipment of bovines or cervidae which are reactors or
suspects for bovine tuberculosis. Wisconsin’s current
administrative rules are in conflict with the current federal
regulations. This emergency rule will make Wisconsin’s rules
consistent with the federal regulations, so that persons who comply
with federal law will not be placed in violation of state law.

(10) In March 1996, the department was advised by the United
States department of agriculture that the Russian federation intends
to prohibit shipment of poultry meat into the Russian federation
from any state which does not require veterinarians to report the
presence of specific poultry diseases to the state animal health
agency. Wisconsin’s current administrative rules do not require
reporting of 5 of the diseases which concern the Russian federation.

(11) Wisconsin poultry producers ship poultry meat valued in
excess of $1 million per year to the Russian federation. By adopting
a provision requiring veterinarians to report the existence of 5
diseases to the department, the department will protect the poultry
producers’ export market in the Russian federation. The department
has proposed a permanent rule requiring reporting of the diseases.
This emergency rule protects the export market during the period
before the permanent rule is effective.

Publication Date: June 3, 1996

Effective Date: June 3, 1996

Expiration Date: October 31, 1996

Extension Through: December 29, 1996

2. Rule adopted creating s. ATCP 139.04 (11), relating to
prohibiting the sale of butane, propane, mixtures of butane
and propane, or other gaseous hydrocarbons for use as
refrigerants in mobile air conditioners.

Finding of Emergency

(1) On June 2, 1995, the United States Environmental Protection
Agency (“EPA”) issued a final rule prohibiting the use of HC−12a,
a hydrocarbon−based refrigerant containing liquified petroleum
gas, as a refrigerant in mobile air conditioning systems.  EPA
prohibited HC−12a, and a predecessor product called OZ−12,
because of safety risks associated with the use of flammable
refrigerants in mobile air conditioning systems.  According to EPA,
the manufacturer of HC−12a did not provide adequate information
to demonstrate that the product was safe when used in a mobile air
conditioning system.

(2) Despite the current EPA rule, at least one company is
currently engaged in manufacturing and distributing HC−12a for
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use in motor vehicle air conditioning systems.  The Idaho
manufacturer argues that EPA lacks jurisdiction to regulate the sale
of its product.  HC−12a is currently being offered, distributed or
promoted for sale at wholesale and retail outlets in Wisconsin and
surrounding states, for use as a refrigerant in mobile air conditioning
systems.

(3) HC−12a is a highly flammable substance, as defined by the
American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM) standard test
procedure for refrigerants, the American Society of Heating,
Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE), and
Underwriter’s Laboratories.   Use of HC−12a or its predecessor,
OZ−12, in mobile air conditioning systems is inconsistent with
standards adopted by the Society of Automotive Engineers.
According to those standards, refrigerants used in mobile air
conditioning systems must be of low toxicity, and must be
nonflammable and nonexplosive.

(4) At least 13 states have enacted legislation prohibiting the sale
of refrigerants for use in air conditioning or refrigeration systems
unless those refrigerants meet flammability standards or are
specifically approved for their intended use.

(5) HC−12a and other hydrocarbon−based refrigerants, when
sold for use in motor vehicle air conditioning systems, present a
serious risk to public health and safety for the following reasons:

(a) Motor vehicles and mobile air conditioning systems are not
currently designed to use flammable refrigerants, or to prevent
hazards associated with flammable refrigerants.

(b) Refrigerants in mobile air conditioning systems commonly
leak into the engine compartments or passenger compartments of
motor vehicles.  Leaking refrigerant is often routed into the
passenger compartment through the air distribution system from the
evaporator.  Hydrocarbon refrigerants, which are heavier than air,
will tend to accumulate in low or confined spaces of a motor vehicle.

(c) Hydrocarbon refrigerants are flammable at low
concentrations.

(d) Internal components of a motor vehicle provide many
potential sources of ignition for flammable refrigerants.  Passenger
activities, such as smoking, may also create ignition sources.

(e) Fires or explosions resulting from the ignition of leaked
flammable refrigerant may cause serious bodily injury or death to
motor vehicle passengers.  Automotive technicians who test for
leaks, or who repair or service mobile air conditioning systems
containing flammable refrigerants, are also at risk.

(6) The risk to public health and safety cannot be adequately
addressed by product packaging or labeling, for the following
reasons:

(a) The use of flammable hydrocarbon−based products in motor
vehicle air conditioning systems is inherently hazardous.  That
hazard will not be materially altered by mere packaging or labeling.

(b) Use is hazardous to persons who are not aware that the
refrigerant is present, and have not have seen or read the product
label.

(c) Current product labels for HC−12a already contain a warning
statement that the contents are under pressure and are extremely
flammable.  Current labels direct use by qualified personnel only,
and list other cautions and instructions when recharging a mobile air
conditioning system with this substitute refrigerant.  These label
statements do not materially alter the hazard inherent in the use for
which the product is sold.  There are few if any protective actions
which a customer or technician could take to reduce the hazards
associated with use of the product.

(d) There are no automotive industry standards which would
allow a flammable refrigerant to be used in a motor vehicle air
conditioning system as currently designed.

(7) Flammable hydrocarbon−based refrigerants, including
HC−12a, OZ−12, and other refrigerants containing butane, propane,
mixtures of butane and propane, or other gaseous hydrocarbons,
pose a serious risk to public health and safety when sold for use as
refrigerants in mobile air conditioners.  At this time, the public
health and safety can only be protected by keeping these products

out of the channels of commerce in this state.  The department can
and should adopt rules, under ss. 93.07(1) and 100.37(2), Stats.,
prohibiting the sale of such products in this state.

(8) Pending the adoption of rules according normal
administrative rulemaking procedures, it is necessary to adopt
emergency rules under s. 227.24, Stats., to protect the public health,
safety and welfare.

Publication Date: October 9, 1996

Effective Date: October 9, 1996

Expiration Date: March 8, 1997

Hearing Date: November 15, 1996

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Department of Corrections

Rules adopted creating s. DOC 309.05 (2)(d), relating to
inmate mail.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Corrections finds an emergency exists and
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting
the emergency is:

Wisconsin state prison inmates outgoing mail is generally not
reviewed or censored.  Inmates have used mail to:

1. Contact the victims of their crimes, which has caused severe
emotional distress;

2. Threaten and harass elected officials, law enforcement
officers, and other persons; and

3. Defraud mail order and other businesses.

Since November 1, 1993, pursuant to Internal Management
Procedure #35, the department has stamped outgoing inmate mail to
indicate that the mail was sent from the Wisconsin state prison
system.  IMP #35 was adopted to protect victims of crime, the
public, and businesses from inmate harassment and fraud.

The Wisconsin Court of Appeals ruled in an unpublished
decision that IMP #35 had to be promulgated as an administrative
rule.

In order to protect the public welfare of the state, it is necessary
for the department to adopt the following emergency rule to ensure
that victims of crime are not further victimized by inmate mail, that
members of the public are not threatened or harassed, and that
businesses are not defrauded.

Publication Date: August 15, 1996

Effective Date: August 15, 1996

Expiration Date: January 12, 1997

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (3)

Health and Social Services

(Community Services, Chs. HSS 30−−)

1. Rules were adopted revising ss. HSS 55.70 to 55.76,
relating to administration of child care funds.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

The Legislature in s. 275 (2) of 1995 Wis. Act 289 directed the
Department to promulgate rules relating to public assistance
required under chs. 46, 48 and 49, Stats., as affected by the Acts of
1995, before July 1, 1996, for the period before permanent rules take
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effect, by using emergency rulemaking procedures but without
having to make a finding of emergency. These are public
assistance−related rules. They are for administration of health care
funds. They will take effect on July 1, 1996.

Analysis

The Department’s rules for county agency, tribal agency and
other child care administrative agency administration of funds for
child day care under s. 46.98, Stats., are revised by this order to bring
the rules into compliance with statute changes made by 1995 Wis.
Acts 27 and 289 and changes in federal regulations, including
federal regulations for child care and development block grant
funding, 45 CFR Parts 98 and 99, and at−risk child care, 45 CFR Part
257, since the rules were last revised in late 1991; to made policies
relating to eligibility for low−income child care more like child care
eligibility policies under the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills
(JOBS) training program under 42 USC 682 and s. 49.193, Stats.; to
prevent and deal with fraud; and to clarify the applicability of certain
policies.

Key changes are the following:

1. Income Eligibility

Income eligibility for low income child care is changed to be in
compliance with changes made in s. 46.98 (4), Stats., by Act 289.

2. Costs Charged to Parents

Parent co−payment responsibilities are revised to be those
established in state law based on family income and the cost of care.

3. Eligibility for Parents in Training or Educational Programs

Parent eligibility to received low−income child care funds when
the parents are in training or educational programs is modified so
that only parents under 20 years of age enrolled in high school or an
equivalent program are eligible, in compliance with Act 289
changes in the statutes.

4. Loss of Eligibility

A local agency is permitted to determine that a parent is no longer
eligible for child care funds if the parent fails to make required
co−payments or provides false information to the agency about
income or other matters affecting eligibility.

5. Recovery of Funds

Rules are added in compliance with 1995 Wis. Act 27 to provide
for recovery of funds from a parent if the parent was not eligible for
child care funds, and for recovery of an overpayment made to a
provider when the provider is responsible for the overpayment.

6. Reimbursement

Local agencies are permitted to reimburse parents under certain
circumstances for the cost of health care services or to make funds
available to parents for the purchase of child care services, and local
agencies are directed when to reimburse child care providers on the
basis of authorized units of service or for days of attendance.

7. Authorized Child Care Providers

Local agencies are permitted to make payments, under certain
conditions, to child care providers who are not licensed or certified,
including:

 a. When an AFDC recipient is involved in orientation,
enrollment or initial assessment in the JOBS program.

 b. When child care is on−site and short−term for parents in
training or education programs.

 c. When short−term care is needed for a child who is ill and not
allowed to receive care from a regulated provider.

8. Higher Rates for Higher Quality Care

Local agencies are required to pay higher for child care to
providers who meet higher quality of care standards, as allowed
under federal regulations.

 9. Reimbursement Rate Categories

Reimbursement rates are required to two age categories and five
provider types, a change from earlier policy.

10. Elimination of Rules for Respite Child Care

Rules for respite child care are eliminated, now that there is no
longer a separate fund program. The 1995−97 state budget folded
funding for respite child care into general community aids
allocations for counties.

Publication Date: June 29, 1996

Effective Date: July 1, 1996

Expiration Date: November 28, 1996

2. Rules adopted revising ss. HSS 55.55 to 55.63, relating to
certification of child care providers.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

The Legislature in s. 275 (2) of 1995 Wis. Act 289 directed th
Department to promulgate rules relating to public assistance
required under chs. 46, 48 and 49, Stats., as affected by the Acts of
1995, before July 1, 1996, for the period before permanent rules take
effect, by using emergency rulemaking procedures but without
having to make a finding of emergency. These are public
assistance−related rules. They are for certified child care. They will
take effect on July 1, 1996.

Analysis

The Department’s current rules for certification of family day
care providers, in−home day care providers and school−age day care
programs are amended by this order to bring the rules into
compliance with recent statute changes, in particular the changes
made by 1995 Wis. Act 289 in establishing Wisconsin Works (W−2),
a new system of assistance for families with dependent children
which will replace Aid to Families with Dependent Children
(AFDC), and to add needed protections for children, reduce or
eliminate unnecessary requirements and clarify the authority of
certifying agencies.

Key changes include:

1. Provisional Certification

Modifying standards for provisional certification so that no
training is required, in compliance with Act 289 changes in the
statutes.

2. Limited Certification

Deleting the category of limited certification, in compliance with
Act 289 changes in the statutes.

3. Training for Regular Certification

Deleting the optional requirement to add 5 hours of initial
training for regular certification, in order to standardize regulation
statewide.

4. Criminal Records Check

Adding requirements for state criminal records checks and FBI
criminal record check under certain circumstances, as required by
Act 289 changes in the statutes.

5. Certification Fee

Permitting counties and tribal agencies to charge certification
fees, as allowed under Act 289, not to exceed licensing fees for
family day care centers plus the cost of criminal record checks.

6. Acceptance of Certification

Providing that certification issued by one certifying agency is to
be accepted as valid by other certifying agencies.

7. Certification Exemption

Exempting specified child care arrangements from certification
because those arrangements are short−term.

8. Sanction Authority

Giving sanction authority to certifying agencies when there is
danger to the health, safety or welfare of children in care.

9. School−Age Programs

Adding requirements related to swimming pools and water
safety.
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Adding requirements for the safety of vehicles transporting
children.

Deleting requirements for:

a. Physical exams for children  and staff (replaced by a health
history requirement).

b. 75 square feet of outdoor space per child.

c. Daily outdoor activities.

d. A place for rest or relaxation.

e. Ongoing communication with the child’s parent.

f. Making copies of the certification standards available to all
parents.

10. Parochial and Private Schools

Deleting rules related to certification of parochial and private
schools since those programs can become licensed in order to
receive public child care funding.

11. Parent Checklist

Deleting the rules requirement that parents in certified family day
care and in−home day care complete and return a checklist of basic
certification standards but permitting counties and tribes to continue
to require it.

12. Other New or Changed Rules

a. Clarifying what is acceptable supervision and limiting the
number of hours a provider can provide child care per day.

b. Requiring TB tests for all certified providers.

c. Requiring proper hand washing for child care providers and
children.

d. Changing the water testing requirement when a public water
supply is not available to be a one−time test prior to or within 3
months of initial certification.

e. Requiring certified providers to report relevant information
to the certifying agency.

f. Prohibiting consumption of alcoholic beverages or
controlled substances on the premises during hours of operation.

g. Prohibiting discrimination.

Publication Date: June 29, 1996

Effective Date: July 1, 1996

Expiration Date: November 28, 1996

3. Rules adopted repealing s. HSS 55.76 (5), created as an
emergency rule relating to the administration of child care
funds and required co−payments.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Workforce Development finds that an
emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety and welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

Congress has just enacted welfare reform legislation which
makes major changes to the federal welfare system, in many cases
replacing federal entitlements with block grants to the states. The
Governor has directed the creation of a Child Care Working Group
to analyze the impact that the federal legislation will have on child
care in Wisconsin and on the Wisconsin works program, and to
analyze and identify effective methods and funding sources to
increase child care options and expand the availability of affordable
child care. Under these circumstances, it is necessary to withdraw
the schedule for child care co−payments and the phase−in
co−payment formula which were implemented by emergency rule
on July 1 of this year. This will avoid the administrative problems

and costs that would otherwise be incurred if these rules are changed
again as a result of the new federal law.

Publication Date: August 13,1996

Effective Date: August 13, 1996

Expiration Date: January 10, 1997

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Health and Social Services

(Medical Assistance, Chs. HSS 100−)

Rules adopted revising chs. HSS 101, 105 and 107, relating to
Medical Assistance coverage of school−based medical
services.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

The Legislature in s. 9126 (7m) of 1995 Wis. Act 27 directed the
Department to promulgate rules required under s. 49.45 (39), Stats.,
as created by Act 27, by using emergency rulemaking procedures,
but exempted the Department from the requirement under s. 227.24
(1) and (3), Stats., to make a finding of emergency.

Analysis

The 1995−97 Budget Act, 1995 Wis. Act 27, created s. 49.45
(39), Stats., which requires the Department of Health and Social
Services to reimburse school districts and Cooperative Educational
Service Agencies (CESAs) for Medical Assistance school−based
services. this rule−making order describes the covered services:
speech, language, audiology and hearing services; occupational
therapy; physical therapy; nursing services; psychological services,
counseling and social work; developmental testing and
assessments; transportation; and certain durable medical
equipment. the order also explains the recordkeeping collaboration
with other health care providers required of school−based service
providers.

Publication Date: June 15, 1996

Effective Date: June 15, 1996

Expiration Date: November 12, 1996

Hearing Dates: June 26, 27, 1996

Extension Through: January 10, 1997

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (3)

Health and Social Services

(Health, Chs. HSS 110−−)

1. Rules adopted revising chs. HSS 172, 175, 178, 195 to
198, relating to permits and permit fees.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health & Social Services finds that an
emergency exists and that the adoption of the rules is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public, peace, health, safety or
welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The Department and agent local government health departments
regulate campgrounds, camps, the operation of swimming pools that
serve the public, restaurants, hotels and motels, tourist rooming
houses, bed and breakfast establishments and food vending
operations, under the authority of ss. 254.47 and 254.61 to 254.88,
Stats., to ensure that these facilities comply with health, sanitation
and safety standards established by the Department by rule. The
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Department’s rules are in chs. HSS 172, 175, 178, 195, 196, 197 and
198, Wis. Adm. Code. None of these facilities may operate without
receiving a permit from the Department or an agent local
government health department. A permit is evidence that a facility
complies with the Department’s rules on the date of issuance of the
permit. All permits except those for bed and breakfast
establishments are one−year permits. A facility is charged a permit
fee. Permit fee revenues support the regulatory program.

In 1993 the Budget Act for 1993−95 directed the Department to
establish permit fees by rule beginning July 1, 1994. Until then the
fees had been set by statute.

This rulemaking order increases permit fees effective July 1,
1996, by about 10% for campgrounds; recreational and educational
camps; swimming pools that serve the public; restaurants; hotels,
motels and tourist rooming houses; bed and breakfast
establishments; and food vending operators and commissaries. It
also increases preinspection fees for restaurants; hotels, motels and
tourist rooming houses; bed and breakfast establishments; and food
vending commissaries.

The fees are increased to cover higher costs for these regulatory
programs.

The rules are being promulgated as emergency rules to protect
public health and safety. The fee increases will take effect on July 1,
1996, which is the beginning of a new permit period. Raising the fees
as provided in this order will enable the Department to avoid running
a deficit in program revenue and so avoid having to reduce
inspections of food−serving, lodging and recreational facilities and
taking longer to respond to foodborne and waterborne disease
outbreaks.

The fees established by this order do not apply to facilities
regulated by local health departments granted agent status under
s. 254.69, Stats. Permit fees for those facilities are established by the
local health departments, pursuant to s. 254.69 (2) (d), Stats.

Publication Date: June 8, 1996

Effective Date: July 1, 1996

Expiration Date: November 28, 1996

Hearing Date: August 28, 1996

2. Rules adopted revising ch. HSS 172, relating to public
swimming pools.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health and Social Services finds that an
emergency exists and that the rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows:

The Department and agent local government health departments
regulate the operation of public swimming pools under the authority
of s. 257.47, Stats, to ensure that these facilities comply with health,
sanitation and safety standards established by the Department by
rule. The Department rules are in ch. HSS 172, Wis. Adm. Code. No
public swimming pool may operate without having a permit from
the Department or an agent local government health department.

This rulemaking order clarifies and updates the definition of
public swimming pool, updates requirements for lifeguards and
adds rescue tubes as required lifeguard equipment.

Section 254.47 (1), Stats., directs the Department to define
“public swimming pool,” in rule, for purposes of the regulatory
program. The current rule definition has not been changes for many
years and has some resulting ambiguity, one reason being that some
types of facilities are called by new names.

The requirements under s. HSS 172.05 (2) (a)3. for lifeguard
certification have to be modified due to changes in American Red
Cross and the American Heart Association courses. The rules
changes will ensure  that all lifeguards are qualified  to fulfill their
duties as specified in ch. HSS 172. The exception under s. HSS
172.05 (2) (c) to lifeguard certification for persons holding a current
American Red Cross Water Safety Instructor certificate is removed.
This is because the American Red Cross Water Safety Instructor

certification course no longer includes course work in lifesaving
methods. The change, however, will allow persons currently
certified under the old program to the use of that certification until
it expires.

New lifeguard training incorporates use of rescue tubes. These
tubes are therefore made required equipment when lifeguards are
provided.

These changes are needed to protect the health and assure the
safety of persons using public swimming pools.

Publication Date: June 22, 1996

Effective Date: June 22, 1996

Expiration Date: November 19, 1996

Hearing Date: August 28, 1996

Extension Through: January 17, 1997

3. Rules adopted revising chs. HSS 124, 132 and 134,
relating to fees for certain facility construction plans.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health & Social Services finds that an
emergency exists and that the adoption of the rules is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

Until the enactment of the State Budget for 1995−97, 1995 Wis.
Act 27, construction plans for nursing homes, hospitals and facilities
for the developmentally disabled (FDDs) were subject to review and
approval by two state agencies. The Department of Industry, Labor
and Human Relations (DILHR) reviewed the plans for conformance
to the State Building Code, chs. ILHR 50−64. The Department of
Health and Social Services (DHSS), the licensing agency, reviewed
the plans for conformance to the Life Safety Code as adopted by
reference in chs. HSS 124, 132 and 134. Act 27 provided for
consolidation of plan review and approval responsibility in the
Department of Health and Social Services effective October 1, 1995.
On that date, DILHR’s nursing home and hospital facilities
construction plan review responsibility and functions were
transferred to DHSS. The State Building Code, however, remained
a DILHR responsibility because it applies to other buildings in
addition in addition to those health care facilities.

Through this rulemaking order, the Department is establishing
hospital, nursing home and FDD construction plan review fees that,
as required by ss. 50.02 (2) (b) and 50.36 (2), Stats., as affected by
Act 27, are less than the sum of the amount that were charged on
September 30, 1995, by the Department for review under ch. 50,
Stats., and by DILHR for review under ch. 101, Stats.

For the period October 1, 1995 through, at the latest, June 30,
1996, s. 9126 of Act 27 authorized the Department to collect fees for
the new consolidated review of hospital, nursing home and FDD
construction plans that were equal to the sum of the fees collectible
on September 30, 1995, when the two state agencies were reviewing
the plans separately. By July 1, 1996, the Department was expected
to have the new fee schedule in effect in the form of administrative
rules.

The Department is publishing these rules as emergency rules so
that the Department can continue to collect the necessary fees
revenue for consolidated review of hospital, nursing home and FDD
construction plans which will enable the Department to continue
consolidated review of those plans. Fee revenue supports plan
review. Without provision in rule for collecting fees for review plans
for compliance with the State Building Code, the Department cannot
continue doing that review pending the promulgation of permanent
rules. This would mean delay in approval given to projects, which
could delay improvements in health care for hospitals, patients and
nursing home and FDD residents. Proposed permanent rules will not
take effect for several months because it has taken the Department
a long time to develop the policies and procedures included in the
rules and these had to be developed before the lengthy process for
making permanent rules could begin.

Included in this order, in addition to fees for consolidated plan
review, are amendments to the Department’s rules for hospitals,
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nursing homes and FDDs that incorporate by reference the State
Building Code and make clear that it is now the Department that
reviews hospital, nursing home and FDD construction plans for
compliance with the State Building Code.

Publication Date: June 29, 1996

Effective Date: July 1, 1996

Expiration Date: November 28, 1996

Hearing Date: August 30, 1996

Extension Through: December 31, 1996

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Health & Social Services

(Economic Support, Chs. HSS 200−)

Rules adopted creating s. HSS 201.135, relating to time limits
on benefits for AFDC recipients participating in the JOBS
program.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

The Legislature in s. 275 (3) of 1995 Wis. Act 289 directed the
Department to promulgate the rule required under s. 49.145 (2) (n),
stats., as created by Wis. Act 289, by using emergency rulemaking
procedures but without having to make a finding of emergency. The
rule will take effect on October 1, 1996.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of
Workforce Development

Under the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
program an individual may apply and be determined eligible for
AFDC benefits with no regard to whether the individual has
received benefits in the past or the number of months an individual
may have already received benefits. Wisconsin Works (W−2), the
replacement program for AFDC, as created by 1995 Wis. Act 289,
includes a provision limiting the amount of time an individual may
receive AFDC benefits, W−2 employment position benefits or a
combination thereof. Under s. 49.145 (2) (n), Stats., as created by
1995 Wis. Act 289, the total number of months in which an adult has
actively participated in the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills
(JOBS) program under s. 49.193, Stats., or has participated in a W−2
employment position or both may not exceed 60 months. The
months need not be consecutive. Extensions to the 60 month time
limit may be granted only in unusual circumstances in accordance
with rules promulgated by the Department. Section 49.141 (2) (b),
Stats., as created by 1995 Wis. Act 289, provides that if a federal
waiver is granted or federal legislation is enacted, the Department
may begin to implement the W−2 program no sooner than July 1,
1996. Participation in JOBS under s. 49.193, Stats., begins to count
toward the 60−month limit beginning on October 1, 1996.

The federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (P.L. 104−193) was signed into law by
President Clinton on August 22, 1996. It creates the Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program which proves that
a state may not use any part of the TANF grant to provide assistance
to a family that includes an adult who has received assistance for 60
months, whether consecutive or not, under a state program funded
by the TANF block grant. Wisconsin submitted its TANF Block
Grant State Plan to the Federal Administration for Children and
Families on August 22, 1996. The Department will implement time
limits October 1, 1996, for AFDC recipients who are actively

participating in the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills (JOBS)
Training Program. Implementation of the time limits is part of the
continuing transition from AFDC to the W−2 program. W−2 will be
implemented statewide in September 1997.

Time limits reinforce the idea that AFDC is a temporary support
for families, rather than a long−term source of income. Wisconsin’s
Work Not Welfare (WNW) demonstration project which is
operating in Fond du Lac and Pierce Counties, has shown that time
limits create a sense of urgency for families to actively seek
alternatives to AFDC. Time limits stress mutual responsibility:
government provides support and services designed to promote
employment and participants who are able must prepare for and
enter employment.

The rule defines the term “actively participating” in the JOBS
program and includes criteria county or tribal economic support
agency would use to determine whether an extension of the 60
month time limit should be granted. The Department retains the right
to review an economic support agency’s decisions related to
extensions.

Publication Date: September 30, 1996

Effective Date: October 1, 1996

Expiration Date: February 28, 1997

Hearing Date: November 19, 1996

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Industry, Labor & Human Relations

(Uniform Dwellings, Chs. ILHR 20−25)

Rules adopted revising chs. ILHR 20 and 21, relating to one−
and two−family dwellings constructed in flood hazard
zones.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Industry, Labor and Human Relations finds
that an emergency exists and that the adoption of the rule is
necessary for the immediate preservation of public health, safety
and welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has
informed some municipalities that it will no longer allow variances
to a local ordinance that prohibits the construction of homes in flood
fringe areas where the foundation extends below the base flood
elevation. FEMA regulations allow this type of construction in some
locations but require the construction to meet a suitable building
code. The Uniform Dwelling Code, which regulates new home
construction in Wisconsin, has never addressed this issue. FEMA’s
actions have halted some residential projects, causing serious
financial hardship for those affected Wisconsin builders and
residents.

The proposed rules add requirements to the Uniform Dwelling
Code for construction in flood fringe areas in order to meet FEMA
requirements. The primary source of these rules is the National
Building Code published by Building Officials and Code
Administrators International, Incorporated (BOCA).

Publication Date: May 8, 1996

Effective Date: May 8, 1996

Expiration Date: October 5, 1996

Hearing Date: July 17, 1996

Extension Through: December 3, 1996
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EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Industry, Labor & Human Relations

(Building & Heating, etc., Chs. ILHR 50−64)
(Multi−Family Dwellings, Ch. ILHR 66)

Rule adopted delaying the effective date of a rule revision to
portions of chs. ILHR 50 to 64 and 66, relating to energy
efficiency.

Note:  A lawsuit has been filed challenging the validity of this
emergency rule action.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Industry, Labor and Human Relations finds
that an emergency exists and that the adoption of a rule is necessary
for the immediate preservation of public health, safety and welfare.
The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

1.On August 8, 1995, the Department adopted revised rules
relating to ventilation and energy conservation in public buildings
and places of employment. The purpose of these rules was to
improve indoor air quality in buildings and to comply with the
federal Energy Policy Act of 1992 which requires all states to revise
their commercial building codes to meet or exceed the American
Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air−Conditioning
Engineers/Illuminating Engineering Society (ASHRAE/IES)
standard 90.1−1989. The rules went into effect on April 1, 1996.

2.Information has been recently provided to the Department that
indicates that two of the provisions of the rules will cause excessive
costs for building owners without commensurate benefit.

3.The emergency rule is being promulgated to avoid economic
hardship caused by imposing unnecessary building construction and
operating costs on building owners and operators.

Emergency Rule Analysis

The emergency rule will delay the effective date of the Energy
Conservation related and Heating, Ventilating and Air Conditioning
related rules for one year to give the Department and its advisory
committee time to study the effect of the rules and make any
necessary changes.

Publication Date: April 6, 1996

Effective Date: April 6, 1996

Expiration Date: September 3, 1996

Hearing Date: May 28, 1996

Extension Through: December 31, 1996

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Industry, Labor & Human Relations

[Workforce Development]
(Labor Standards, Chs. ILHR 270−279)

Rules adopted revising ch. ILHR 272, relating to the
minimum wage.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Workforce Development finds that an
emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety and welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The minimum wage set by federal law will be raised to $4.75 per
hour effective October 1, 1996. The federal minimum wage covers

many but not all of the employers and employes in the state, and it
is not always easy for a particular employer to know if it is covered
by state or federal law. If the state did not act quickly to adjust its
minimum wage rules in response to the change in federal law, many
employers and employes would be subjected to confusion and
uncertainty in the calculation and payment of wages.

Publication Date: August 28, 1996

Effective Date: October 1, 1996

Expiration Date: February 28, 1997

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Commissioner of Insurance

Rule adopted revising s. Ins 18.07 (5) (b), relating to a
decrease in 1996−97 premium rates for the health
insurance risk−sharing plan.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

Pursuant to s. 619.14 (5) (e), Stats., the commissioner is not
required to make a finding of an emergency to promulgate this
emergency rule.

1996−97 Premium Adjustments

The Commissioner of Insurance, based on the recommendation
of the Health Insurance Risk−Sharing Plan (“HIRSP”) board, is
required to set the annual premiums by rule. The rates must be
calculated in accordance with generally accepted actuarial
principles and must be set at 60% of HIRSP’s operating  and
administrative costs. This rule adjusts the premium rates for the
period of October 1, 1996 through June 30, 1997, based upon a
recalculation of costs and subsidy payments for the 1996−1997
fiscal year. This adjustment represents a 12% reduction in premium
payments for the both the non−subsidized major medical and
medicare plans for person under age 65. The rates for low−income
persons entitled to a premium reduction under s. Ins 18.07 (5) (b) are
not affected.

Publication Date: September 4, 1996

Effective Date: October 1, 1996

Expiration Date: February 28, 1997

Hearing Date: November 8, 1996

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (6)

Natural Resources

(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−−)

1. Rules adopted amending s. NR 20.038, relating to special
size and bag limits for the Lac du Flambeau reservation.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Natural Resources finds that an emergency
exists and rules are necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare. A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is:

The department has recently come to an interim agreement with
the Lac du Flambeau band regarding their off−reservation harvest
goals. This rule change is needed for the 1996 fishing season in order
to meet our obligation in the agreement, thus, an Emergency Order
is required. This agreement will promote preservation and
protection of public peace, safety, and welfare in the ceded territory
of Wisconsin by minimizing regional social and economic
disruption known to be associated with reductions in walleye bag
limits on off−reservation waters. Pursuant to litigation arising form
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Lac Courte Oreilles v. Voight, 70 F. 2d 341 (7th Cir. 1983), the
Chippewa bands of Wisconsin, which includes the Lac du
Flambeau, have the right to take walleye from off−reservation
waters using efficient methods such as spearing and netting. The Lac
du Flambeau have made initial 1996 harvest declarations for
off−reservation lakes that are sufficiently high to require the
department to reduce the daily bag limit to 0 on several lakes,
consistent with the formula of s. NR 20.037. The Lac du Flambeau
have agreed to reduce harvest declarations to a level commensurate
with a daily bag limit of 2 walleye this year and a daily bag limit of
3 in future years, provided that the state reduces its daily bag limits
for walleye to 3, with a minimum length limit of 18” and increase
the muskellunge minimum length limit to 40” on waters within the
Lac du Flambeau reservation. The state has agreed to do so in order
to provide more socially acceptable sports fishing opportunity on
off−reservation waters. This will lessen tensions caused by severely
reduced bag limits and will assist local businesses dependent on the
sport fishery.

Publication Date: May 3, 1996

Effective Date: May 3, 1996

Expiration Date: September 30, 1996

Hearing Date: June 12, 1996

Extension Through: November 28, 1996

2. Rules were adopted revising chs. NR 10 and 11, relating to
the 1996 deer hunting seasons.

Finding of Emergency

The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., is
necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect the public
welfare. This emergency rule is needed to control deer populations
that are significantly over goal levels in order to prevent substantial
deer damage to agricultural lands and to minimize deer nuisance
problems, thereby protecting the public peace, health, safety or
welfare. Normal rule−making procedures will not allow the
establishment of these changes by August 1. Failure to modify our
rules will result in the failure to provide hunting opportunity and
comply with administrative rules.

Publication Date: May 3, 1996

Effective Date: August 12, 1996

Expiration Date: January 9, 1997

Hearing Date: June 11, 1996

3. Rules adopted amending ss. NR 20.02 (1) (c) and 25.05
(1) (e), relating to sport and commercial fishing for yellow
perch in lake Michigan.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Natural Resources finds that an emergency
exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The yellow perch population in Lake Michigan is rapidly
declining. This decline reflects six consecutive years of extremely
poor reproduction. Sport and commercial harvests of adult yellow
perch must be limited immediately in order to maximize the
probability of good reproduction in the near future.

Publication Date: July 1, 1996

Effective Date: July 1, 1996

Expiration Date: November 28, 1996

Hearing Dates: August 14 & 15, 1996

4. Rules adopted revising emergency rules relating to the
1996 deer hunting seasons

Finding of Emergency

The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., is
necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect the public
welfare. This emergency rule is needed to control deer populations
that are significantly over goal levels in order to prevent substantial
deer damage to agricultural lands and to minimize deer nuisance
problems, thereby protecting the public peace, health, safety or
welfare. Normal rule−making procedures will not allow the
establishment of these changes by August 1. Failure to modify our
rules will result in the failure to provide hunting opportunity and
comply with administrative rules.

Publication Date: August 9, 1996

Effective Date: August 12, 1996

Expiration Date: January 9, 1997

Hearing Date: September 12, 1996

5. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 10, relating to the 1996
migratory game bird season.

Finding of Emergency

The emergency rules procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., is
necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect the public
welfare. The federal government and state legislature have
delegated to the appropriate agencies rule−making authority to
control the hunting of migratory birds. The State of Wisconsin must
comply with federal regulations in the establishment of migratory
bird hunting seasons and conditions. Federal regulations are not
made available to this state until mid−August of each year. This
order is designed to bring the state hunting  regulations into
conformity with the federal regulations. Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes by
September 1. Failure to modify our rules will result in the failure to
provide hunting opportunity and continuation of rules which
conflict with federal regulations.

Publication Date: September 3, 1996

Effective Date: September 3, 1996

Expiration Date: January 31, 1997

Hearing Date: October 14, 1996

6. Rules adopted amending s. NR 25.05 (1) (e), relating to
sport and commercial fishing for yellow perch in Lake
Michigan.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Natural Resources finds that an emergency
exists and rules are necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare. A statement of facts
constituting the emergency is:

The yellow perch population in Lake Michigan is rapidly
declining. This decline reflects six consecutive years of extremely
poor reproduction. Commercial harvests of adult yellow perch must
be limited immediately in order to maximize the probability of good
reproduction in the near future.

Publication Date: October 1, 1996

Effective Date: October 1, 1996

Expiration Date: February 28, 1997

Hearing Date: November 11, 1996
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EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Public Instruction

1. Rules adopted revising ch. PI 11, relating to dispute
resolution concerning children with exceptional
educational needs between school boards and parents.

Finding of Emergency

Wisconsin is required under state and federal law to provide a due
process hearing system for the resolution of special education
disputes between parents and school districts.  1996 Wis. Act 431
will significantly revise that process and will require the department
rather than school districts to conduct the due process hearings.
Although the Act outlines the process, it does not fully describe the
manner in which hearings are to be initiated, the manner in which
hearing officers will be appointed, their qualifications and duties.
The current rules addressing those issues will not apply under the
new statutory process.  It is, therefore, necessary to adopt an
emergency rule addressing these issues so that the due process
hearing system will remain available to parents and districts when
the Act becomes effective.

Publication Date: June 25, 1996

Effective Date: June 25, 1996

Expiration Date: November 22, 1996

Hearing Dates: September 9 & 10, 1996

2. Rules were adopted revising ch. PI 11, relating to the
handicapping condition of significant developmental
delay.

Finding of Emergency

1995 Wis. Act 298 adds an alternative category of significant
developmental delay for the identification of disabled preschoolers
when the diagnosis is not clear. The Act becomes effective July 1 and
requires the department to conduct inservice training for early
childhood special education teachers and directors and pupil
services personnel in identifying children with significant
development delay to ensure that only children meeting the criteria
established by the department by rule are so identified.

In order to establish identification criteria under the significant
developmental delay category and in order to conduct the required
training sessions prior to the 1996−97 school year, rules must be in
place as soon as possible.

Publication Date: July 31, 1996

Effective Date: July 31, 1996

Expiration Date: December 28, 1996

Hearing Dates: September 9 & 10, 1996

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Securities

Rules adopted creating s. SEC 2.01 (1) (c) 5 and (d) 5,
relating to designating alternative accounting guidelines
for the preparation of financial statements for certain
governmental issuers of securities.

Finding of Emergency

The Office of the Commissioner of Securities for the State of
Wisconsin finds that an emergency exists and that rules are
necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health,

safety or welfare. A statement of the facts constituting the
emergency follows:

A. Background Information Regarding Predecessor Emergency
Rules Issued in 1982 and 1994.

Chapter 53, laws of 1981, took effect on January 1, 1982 and
provided that the exemption from registration under s. 551.22 (1),
Stats., for securities (other than revenue obligations) issued by any
state or any local subdivision of the state or any agency or corporate
or other instrumentality thereof, will be available “...only if the
issuer’s financial statements are prepared according to generally
accepted accounting principles or guidelines which the
commissioner designates by rule.” The purpose of that statutory
provision was to insure that financial statements prepared by
governmental entities relating to their debt securities offerings are
based on some recognized uniform accounting standards in order
that a potential public investor can make a fully−informed and
well−reasoned decision whether to purchase such debt securities.

As a result of the amendments created by Chapter 53, Laws of
1981, those governmental issuers of general obligation securities
after January 1, 1982 that did not have their current financial
statements prepared totally according to generally accepted
accounting principles (“GAAP”), would not be able to utilize the
securities registration exemption in s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., for the
sale of their securities to the general investing public. Rather, those
governmental issuers of such securities first would have had to
obtain a registration which involves an extensive filing and review
process under the Wisconsin Uniform Securities Law or,
alternatively, make a regulatory filing under a registration
exemption in order to offer the securities to the general public.

At the time the amendment to s. 551.22 (1) of the Stats., was
enacted in 1982, many governmental issuers did not prepare their
financial statements totally in accordance with GAAP. The result of
the statutory change would have posed a hardship on those issuers
of governmental general obligation securities subject to the
full−GAAP financial statement requirement due to the time it would
take for governmental issuers to be able to have their financial
statements prepared totally according to GAAP.

To alleviate any disruption to the borrowing plans of
governmental issuers of securities and the municipal securities
marketplace, the Wisconsin Commissioner of Securities office
promulgated emergency rules in 1982 that included the designation
of alternative accounting guidelines (from full−GAAP) for the
preparation of financial statements for certain governmental issuers
of securities. The alternative (to full−GAAP) accounting guidelines
were set forth by emergency rule in s. SEC 2.01 (1) (c) 2 and 3 for
financial statements for fiscal years ending on or before December
31, 1985. [which was extended in later years by subsequent rule to
December 31, 1990] which were either:  (i) prepared in accordance
with GAAP, but which were qualified for the fixed asset group or (ii)
prepared in compliance with accounting guidelines or procedures
mandated by state law or by rule of any state agency or
recommended by any state agency. Additional emergency rule
subsections under s. SEC 2.01 (1) (d) adopted in 1982 provided the
method of determining accounting principles and guidelines.

Similar action to adopt emergency rules was taken in 1994 by the
Commissioner of Securities Office after being informed by
representatives of Wisconsin municipal/governmental securities
issuers, bond attorneys and certified public accountant firms that the
Governmental Accounting Standards Board (“GASB”) had issued
in June 1991 Statement No. 14:  “The financial reporting entity.”
GASB Statement No. 14 requires that housing authorities and other
types of authorities, commissions or boards of
municipal/governmental entities (referred to as “component units”)
be included in the financial statements of the particular
municipal/governmental entity in order for such financial
statements to be considered “full−GAAP” without qualification.
GASB Statement No. 14 became effective accounting periods
beginning after December 31, 1992.

The parties who informed the Commissioner’s Office regarding
GASB Statement No. 14 stated that GASB Statement No. 14 would
have an immediate, negative impact on the availability or use of the
registration exemption in s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., by those
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governmental/municipal securities issuers who had component
units that would be subject to GASB Statement No. 14 and who
heretofore have had their general purpose financial statements
prepared in full compliance with GAAP. In particular, auditors for
such municipal/governmental issuers with component units subject
to GASB statement No. 14 generally would no longer be able to
issue unqualified opinions for general purpose financial of
municipal governmental issuers−−namely, that such financial are
prepared, totally and without qualification, on the basis of generally
accepted accounting principles. Two areas of concern in that regard
where identified by the auditor groups, and with respect to each of
the two areas, although the auditors could include unaudited
information regarding such component units in the governmental
issuers’ general purpose financial statements, the auditor’s opinion
would have to be qualified, thus precluding use of the s. 551.22 (1)
(a) exemption on a self−executing basis for offers and sales of the
governmental issuers’ securities to the public.

Therefore, in similar fashion to emergency rule−making action
taken by the agency in 1982, and for the purpose of alleviating
disruption that would occur to the near−term borrowing/bonding
plans of governmental issuers of securities claiming registration
exemption status under s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., and because it would
require a period of time for those governmental issuers to be able to
have their financial statements prepared according to full−GAAP
including the additional requirement under GASB Statement No. 14
(which necessitates having the audit report include all “component
units” of a governmental/municipal issuer), the Office of the
Wisconsin Commissioner of Securities, in consultation with
representatives of municipal issuers, municipal bond dealers,
financial advisors, bond attorneys and certified public accountant
groups, promulgated emergency rules that:  (i) designated (in
current subpar. (c)2) as an alternative accounting guideline, GAAP
but where the auditor’s opinion is qualified with respect to the
omission of component units required to be included by GASB
Statement No. 14;  (ii) designated (in current subpar. (c)3) as an
alternative accounting guideline, GAAP but where the auditor’s
opinion is qualified with respect to the unaudited financial
statements of an included component unit; and (iii) designated (in
current subpar. (c)4) as an alternative accounting guideline, GAAP
but where the auditor’s opinion is qualified with respect to the
general purpose financial statements for component units whose
securities financial statements are not presented in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles, but which are included in
the reporting entity in accordance with GASB Statement No. 14.

B. Recent Accounting Developments Warranting Present
Emergency rule Treatment.

The Commissioner’s Office was recently informed by
representatives of various Wisconsin governmental securities
issuers (principally with respect to Wisconsin public school district
and Wisconsin vocational school district issuers of debt securities),
bond attorneys, and certified public accounting firms that
interpretations by the Governmental Accounting Standards Board
(“GASB”) through its staff with respect to accounting treatment for
property tax recognition may cause many Wisconsin public school
districts and vocational school districts to have the audit opinions for
their financial statements qualified with respect to the deferral of
taxes. The existence of a qualified audit opinion would preclude use
of the s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., registration exemption on a use of the
s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., registration exemption on a self−executing
basis for offers and sales of a school district’s debt securities to the
public.

The specific accounting issue involves interpretation of the
current accounting standard for property tax recognition established
by the National Council on Governmental Accounting (“NCGA”)
Interpretation 3 “Revenue Recognition−−Property Taxes.” The
accounting interpretation issue is presented as a result of the
interplay of the following two factors:  (1) most public school and

vocational school districts operate on (and their financial statements
are prepared on) a July 1 to June 30 fiscal year; (2) the Wis. Statutes
authorize the various Wisconsin local units of government to allow
the payment of property taxes (which provide the funding for
payment of public school and vocational school district debts and
obligations) to be made in installments on January 1 and July 31 of
a given year (for example 1996) relating to taxes levied (in the 1996
example given) for a school district’s fiscal year extending from
July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1996.

Because the July 31 date for payment of the second property tax
installment is after the June 30 fiscal year for the school districts, the
staff of the GASB in communications with representatives of
Wisconsin accounting organizations and school district associations
on the issue, set forth the GASB staff’s view that the July 31 tax
installment revenues may not be recognized for purposes for fiscal
years ending the preceding June 30. As a result, auditors for
Wisconsin public school districts and vocational school districts
would need to show in such school districts’ financial statements,
deferred revenue for the July 31 installment property taxes. Despite
requests for reconsideration, the GASB staff has not changed its
position.

Such GASB staff interpretation has resulted in property tax
revenue and fund balance amounts as shown in most Wisconsin
school districts’ audit reports being different from that required to
be shown in such districts’ Annual Reports and budget documents,
thus causing confusion as to what a particular district’s financial
position actually is. The State of Wisconsin Department of Public
Instruction believes that the GASB staff interpretation, in the
context of the Wisconsin statutes governing the timing of property
tax levies and payments, does not result in appropriate school
district revenue and fund balance financial statement presentations.

As a consequence, Wisconsin public school and vocational
school districts may be requesting that their external auditors
prepare their district’s audited financial without showing deferred
revenue for uncollected property taxes−−which may result in the
auditor issuing a qualified opinion. The issuance of such a qualified
audit opinion would preclude use of the s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats.,
registration exemption on a self−executing basis for offers and sales
in Wisconsin of the school district’s debt securities to the public.

Therefore, in similar fashion to emergency rule−making action
taken by the agency in 1982 and 1994, and for the purpose of
alleviating disruption that would occur to the near−term
borrowing/bonding plans of governmental school district issuers
that regularly claim exemption status under s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats.,
for the offer and sale in Wisconsin of their debt securities, the Office
of the Wisconsin Commissioner of Securities, in consultation with
representatives of school district issuers, bond attorneys and
accounting groups, is adopting these emergency rules designating
an alternative−to−full−GAAP financial statement provision to deal
with this accounting issue to enable school district issuers to
continue to use the exemption in s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., on a
self−executing basis.

The emergency rule created in s. SEC 2.01 (1) (c)5 designates as
a permitted alternative accounting guideline for purposes of use of
the registration exemption in s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., GAAP, but
where the auditor’s opinions is qualified with respect to the
recognition of property tax revenue. The emergency rule created in
s. SEC 2.01 (1) (d)5 provides that the auditor’s opinion with respect
to the financial statements of a school district issuer covered by the
emergency rule in s. SEC 2.01 (1) (c)5 must contain language
corresponding to the qualification language in s. SEC 2.01 (1) (c)5.

Publication Date: June 24, 1996

Effective Date: July 1, 1996

Expiration Date: November 28, 1996

Hearing Date: September 4, 1996
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EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (3)

Transportation

1. Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 269, relating to
transportation of garbage or refuse permits.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Transportation finds that an emergency exists
and that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, safety and welfare. A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is:  Interstate status of this portion of
I−39 that had been USH 51 became effective upon completion of
signage. Signage was completed on August 23, 1996. Without this
emergency rule in place, overweight movement of garbage, which
had been allowed, will no longer be allowed on this highway
segment, while overweight movement of scrap will be allowed. This
will force garbage trucks to move on surface streets, creating safety
hazards for other traffic and creating economic hardship for garbage
haulers (and municipalities which pay for garbage and refuse
hauling), as there are no nearby detours paralleling this stretch of
highway.

Publication Date: September 9, 1996

Effective Date: September 9, 1996

Expiration Date: February 6, 1997

Hearing Date: October 30, 1996

2. Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 76, relating to general
transportation aids.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Transportation finds that an emergency exists
for the following reason: In Schoolway Transp. Co. v. Division of

Motor Vehicles, 72 Wis. 2d 223 (1976), a changed interpretation of
a statute was held to be a rule. The interpretation is being
administered as law and the Department will rely upon it to make
aids payments. This interpretation is in direct contrast to the manner
in which the statute was previously administered by the Department.
Therefor, the Department must promulgate the changed
interpretation as a rule or it is invalid. In order to make the change
in time to implement it for aids estimates and payment purposes, the
Department must promulgate this interpretation as an emergency
rule.

Publication Date: October 25, 1996

Effective Date: October 25, 1996

Expiration Date: March 24, 1997

Hearing Date: December 16, 1996

[See Notice this Register]

3. Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 117, relating to
occupational driver’s license.

Finding of Emergency

1995 Wis. Act 269 rewrote state law regarding the issuance of
occupational licenses. That Act goes into effect on November 1,
1996. Absent this emergency rule making, the Department will lack
rule authority necessary to administer the new law. This emergency
rule will permit the Department to issue occupational licenses until
the permanent rule establishing procedures for issuing occupational
licenses is in place. Therefore, the Department of Transportation
finds that an emergency exists and that the rule is necessary.

Publication Date: November 1, 1996

Effective Date: November 1, 1996

Expiration Date: March 31, 1997

Hearing Date: November 26, 1996

[See Notice this Register]
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STATEMENTS  OF  SCOPE  OF  PROPOSED  RULES

Accounting Examining Board

Subject:

Accy Code  − Relating to the clarification of administrative rules
relating to certified public accountants.

Description of policy issues:

Objective of the rule:

The objective of the rule is to clarify and update administrative
rules.  Recommended changes relate to:

� form, style, grammar and placement in the administrative code;

� issues of identifying statutory authority;

� references used to adopt standards of other organizations; and

� constitutionality and enforceability issues.

Policy analysis:

Existing policies are in chs. Accy 1 to 9.  The proposal would do
the following:

➀  Clarify statutory authority regarding chs. Accy 1, 4, 5 and 7;

➁  Delete references to “public accountant,” as the statute is no
longer in effect;

➂  Repeal s. Accy 5.11 as it is in conflict with the Open Records
Law;

➃  Modify instances of incorrect form, style, grammar and
punctuation.

➄  Reorganize chapters and  information for consistency; and

➅  Review references regarding authority for adoption of
competence and technical standards set by professional
organizations.

Statutory authority:

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 440.05, Stats., and 
ch. 443, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

10 hours

Architects, Landscape Architects,
Professional Geologists, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors
Examining Board

Subject:

A−E Code − Relating to clarification of administrative rules
relating to professional practice of architects, landscape architects,
professional geologists, professional engineers, designers and land
surveyors.

Description of policy issues:

Objective of the rule:

The objective of the rule is to clarify and update administrative
rules.  Recommended changes relate to:

�  form, style, grammar and placement in the administrative code;

�  consistency with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990;

�  examination passing scores, cheating policy; and

�  adequacy of references to related statutes and rules.

Policy analysis:

Existing policies are in chs. A−E 1−10, Wis. Adm. Code.  The
proposal would do the following:

❶  create provisions which would require the Board to grant
reasonable accommodations to applicants with disabilities;

❷  include penalties for cheating on the examination, as well as
updating language regarding passing scores; and

❸  improve clarity, grammar and punctuation.

Statutory authority for the rule:

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 440.05, Stats., and 
ch. 443, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

10 hours

Natural Resources
Subject:

S. NR 5.20 − Relating to a waiver of slow−no−wake  (SNW)
requirement for the Wild Rose Mill Pond for two days each year.

Description of policy issues:

Description of policy issues to be resolved (include groups likely
to be impacted or interested in the issue):

A public hearing will be held to determine if the request by the
Village of Wild Rose to modify the slow−no−wake requirement is
justified.  If it is justified, the Department will proceed with the
rulemaking process.  If the request is not justified, the Department will
deny the request.

Explain the facts that necessitate the proposed change:

Pursuant to s. NR 5.20, the Department is required to hold a public
hearing to determine if a rule change is necessary in this situation.

Statutory authority for the rule:

Section 30.635, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

The anticipated time commitment is 21 hours.  One hearing will be
held in Wautoma in March, 1997.

Natural Resources
Subject:

Ch. NR 20 − Relating to fishing: inland waters; outlying waters.

Ch. NR 25 − Relating to commercial fishing − outlying waters.

Description of policy issues:

Description of policy issues to be resolved (include groups likely
to be impacted or interested in the issue):

This rule change will reduce sport and commercial harvests of
yellow perch from Green Bay.  It may include reductions in annual
total allowable commercial harvests by commercial fishers,
reductions in the daily sport fishing bag limit, and a closure of sport
fishing during the spawning season.  It will affect sport and
commercial fishers, and related businesses.

Explain the facts that necessitate the proposed change:

Although the Green Bay yellow perch population has not
experienced the severe problems found in southern Lake Michigan,
reproduction has declined in recent years, resulting in a markedly
reduced adult population.  Protective measures are needed to
maximize the likelihood of a recovery, and to assure equitable
allocation of the harvest between sport and commercial fishers.
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Statutory authority for the rule:

Sections 29.085, 29.174 (3) and (4a) and 29.33, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

The anticipated time commitment is 38 hours.  One hearing will be
held in Green Bay in January, 1997.

Natural Resources
Subject:

Section NR 728.11 − Relating to language authorizing the
Department to record affidavits in the County Register of Deeds office
for properties where contamination exists which is not being
adequately addressed by the responsible party (RP).

Description of policy issues:

Description of policy issues to be resolved (include groups likely
to be impacted or interested in the issue):

The current language allows the Department to record affidavits in
the County Register of Deeds office for properties where
contamination is known to exist, but is not being properly addressed
by the RP.  These sites are oftentimes ones where the RP, who usually
is also the owner of the property, has claimed an inability to proceed
with the environmental cleanup, due to a lack of financial resources
to do so.  The current language was adopted by the Natural Resources
Board, with a one year sunset date.  In order to continue with this rule
language, the entire rule−making process must proceed.

Explain the facts that necessitate the proposed change:

This language has been in place for almost one year now and has
been implemented by District staff.  This language is similar to that
found in s. NR 726.05 (8) (b), which allows the Department to require
an RP to record an affidavit, applicable to their property, when the
Department determines that complete removal or remediation of the
contamination is impossible or impractical.  There have also been a
number of historical instances where Department staff have recorded
affidavits when it was believed a particular piece of contaminated
property was being sold or changing hands.

Statutory authority for the rule:

Sections 144.431 (1) (a) and (b), 144.442, 144.76, 144.765 and
144.77, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

The anticipated time commitment is 27 hours.  Two or three
hearings will be held in January, 1997.

Nursing Home Administrator Examining
Board

Subject:

NHA Code − Relating to clarification of administrative rules
relating to the practice of nursing home administrators.

Description of policy issues:

Objective of the rule:

The objective of the rule is to clarify and update administrative
rules.  Recommended changes relate to:

✚  form, style, grammar and placement in the administrative code;

✚  consistency with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990;

✚  examination passing scores, cheating policy; and

✚  provisional licensure and professional standards.

Policy analysis:

Existing policies are in chapters NHA 1 − 6, Wis. Adm. Code.  The
proposal would do the following:

Clarify:

�  authority and definitions;

	  requirements for education and experience;

�  licensure, biennial renewal and reciprocal examination;

create:

�  provisions to require the Board to grant reasonable
accommodations to applicants with disabilities;

�  passing score for national examination; and

�  policy dealing with cheating on the examination;

consider:

�  writing administrative rules pertaining to provisional
(temporary) licensure and the study of improvement and methods for
enforcement of the practice standards of nursing home
administrators;

repeal:

�  chapter NHA 6, pertaining to access to public records; and

make:

�  minor, technical, grammatical and punctuation changes.

Statutory authority for the rule:

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 440.03 (1m), 440.05, 456.01,
456.02 (6) and 456.10, Stats., and ch. 19, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

50 hours.

Optometry Examining Board
Subject:

Opt Code − Relating to credential application, examination and
continuing education requirements and to standards of professional
conduct of optometrists.

Description of policy issues:

Objective of the rule:

The objective of the rule is:

�  To clarify definitions.

�  Initial credential application procedures.

�  Requirements for reciprocal applicants.

�  Continuing education reporting requirements.

�  Appropriate delegation of tasks to unlicensed individuals.

�  Exceptions relating to performance of the minimum visual
examination.

Policy analysis:

The Optometry Examining Board strives to ensure that its
administrative rules reflect:

①  Clarity;

②  Streamlined application and renewal procedures; and

③  The current scope of the practice of optometry.

For example, under the current renewal procedures, optometrists
certified under ss. 449.17 and 449.18, Stats., are required to submit
certificates of attendance, as well as written certifications as proof of
completion of the continuing education coursework

The Board proposes to amend various provisions in ch. Opt 6, to
reflect that a signed statement certifying that the continuing education
coursework has been completed is sufficient for purposes of renewing
a credential.  Licensees will be required to retain certificates of
attendance for a specific period of time and to provide them to the
Board upon request.

Statutory authority for the rule:

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 449.18, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

40 hours
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Railroads, Commissioner of

Subject:

OCR Code, ch. RR 1 − Relating to hearing practice and procedure.

Description of policy issues:

Objective of the proposed rule:

To clarify and update the OCR’s rules governing hearing
procedure and practice.

Policy analysis:

The primary thrust of the proposed rule will be to codify the OCR’s
current practices and procedures and delete obsolete provisions.  The
existing rules do not fully cover some areas of OCR hearing practice.
The proposed rule will more fully describe these practices, so that a
reader of the rules will better understand the OCR’s practices and
requirements.

The proposed rule will:

1.  More fully define the “parties” to OCR hearings.  The
existing rule provides only a limited definition.

2.  Set forth form and content requirements for petitions, notices
and decisions.  The OCR currently follows a specific format for
notices and decisions.  The rule would simply codify the present
practice.  The OCR currently does not require any specific form or
information when a petition is filed.  Consequently, petitioners are
sometimes uncertain what they need to file.  The rule would set out
easily−met, simple requirements, but which also ensure that the OCR
receives certain minimum details concerning the petition.

3.  Allow the hearing examiner to issue a final decision when the
Commissioner recuses himself or herself, when the Commissioner is
temporarily unable to carry out the duties of the office due to illness
or when Commissioner’s position is vacant.  At present, the OCR
could not issue a final decision in the event any of these conditions
arose.

4.  Allows a stipulation of facts by the parties to constitute a
“hearing”.  This change would allow the OCR to dispense with a
hearing where there is no factual dispute and where no other need for
a hearing exists.

5.  Clarify the procedures needed to fulfill s. RR 1.13
“Environmental review.”;

6.  Define the class of hearing for purposes of s. 227.01, Stats.
The OCR currently includes this determination in each notice of
hearing.

7.  Make other minor miscellaneous procedural revisions.

Statutory authority:

Sections 189.02 (1), 195.03 (1), and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Staff time and administrative costs:

60 hours

Railroads, Commissioner of

Subject:

OCR Code, ch. RR 3 − Relating to railroad ratemaking.

Description of policy issues:

Objective of the proposed rule:

The proposed rule would repeal ch. RR 3, which contains rules on
intrastate railroad ratemaking.

Policy analysis:

The federal Interstate Commerce Commission Termination Act of
1995 preempts all state authority to regulate railroad ratemaking. 49
USC sec. 10501.  The Termination Act granted the new Surface
Transportation Board (STB) exclusive authority over ratemaking and
other practices covered by ch. RR 3.  The Termination Act also
extended the STB’s jurisdiction to include rail transportation between
points in the same state.

Under the provisions of the former Interstate Commerce Act
(ICA), the ICC certified state agencies, including the OCR, to regulate
intrastate ratemaking.  The Termination Act eliminated this practice.
On April 3, 1996, the STB published its conclusion in the federal
register that such state certifications were invalidated by the
Termination Act. 61 FR 14849.  Consequently, the rules in ch. RR 3
should be repealed.

Statutory authority:

Sections 189.02 (1), 195.03 (1), and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Staff time and administrative costs:

2 hours

Revenue
Subject:

Notice is hereby given, pursuant to s. 227.135, Stats., that the
Department of Revenue plans to promulgate administrative rules
affecting ss. Tax 11.39 and 11.41, relating to the definition of
manufacturing, and taxation of items consumed or destroyed in
manufacturing for sales and use tax purposes.

Description of policy issues:

Objective of the proposed rule:

The objective of the proposed rule order is to correct ss. Tax 11.39
and 11.41 due to:

(a)  Change in Department policy with respect to dental labs;

(b)  The following decisions by the Wisconsin Tax Appeals
Commission and Wisconsin courts (House of Bidwell v. Wisconsin
Department of Revenue, Artex Corporation v. Wisconsin Department
of Revenue; and

(c)  Standards of the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Existing policies:

This proposed rule order reflects the Department of Revenue’s
existing policy of providing accurate information to taxpayers,
practitioners, and Department employes regarding sales and use taxes
as they apply to manufacturers.

Policy alternatives:

Do nothing.  The rule will be incorrect in that it does not reflect
Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission and Wisconsin court decisions
and changes in Department policy as it relates to dental labs.

Statutory authority:

Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Estimate of staff time required:

The Department estimates it will take approximately 40 hours to
develop this rule order.  This includes drafting the rule order, review
by appropriate parties, and preparing related documents.  The
Department will assign existing staff to develop this rule order.

Veterinary Examining Board

Subject:

VE Code − Relating to evidence that would be required in order to
obtain a veterinary license of a candidate who is a graduate of a school
that has not been approved by the Board.

Description of policy issues:

Objective of the rule:

This amendment shall require applicants who have graduated from
a school not approved by the Board to complete and obtain
certification from the Educational Commission for Foreign
Veterinary Association.

Policy analysis:

This amendment will only allow those applicants who have
completed and obtained their ECFVG (Educational Commission for
Foreign Veterinary Graduates) certification to be eligible for licensure
as a veterinarian in Wisconsin.
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Statutory authority for the rule:

Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

1 hour
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SUBMITTAL OF RULES TO LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL CLEARINGHOUSE

Notice of Submittal of Proposed Rules to
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings for further information on a particular rule.

Administration

Rule Submittal Date

On October 11, 1996, the Wisconsin Department of Administration
submitted three proposed rules to the Wisconsin Legislative Council
Clearinghouse.

Analysis

Regulation of mobile home dealers has been transferred from the
Department of Transportation to the Department of Administration.
Chapters Trans 140, 141 and 144, created by the Department of
Transportation for the regulation of mobile home dealers, were
adopted by the Department of Administration as policy, pending
enactment of the proposed rules.  The proposed rules create
chs. Adm 66, 67 and 68, relating to manufactured home dealer
financial eligibility, manufactured home dealer trade practices,
facilities and records, and licensing periods and fees for manufactured
home dealers.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The Department intends to promulgate the proposed rules without a
public hearing, pursuant to s. 227.16 (2) (e), Stats.  The
organizational unit that is primarily responsible for promulgation of
these rules is the Division of Housing, Mobile Home Park/Dealer
License Section.

Contact Person

If you have any questions, you may contact Donna Sorenson at (608)
266−2887.

Commerce

Rule Submittal Date

On October 28, 1996, the Wisconsin Department of Commerce
submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin Legislative Council
Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule affects chs. ILHR 51, 52, 66, 69 and 70, relating
to barrier−free design requirements.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required.  The agency unit responsible for the
promulgation of the proposed rule is the Department of Commerce.

Contact Person

If you have any questions, you may contact the Department of
Commerce at (608) 266−1018.

Employe Trust Funds

Rule Submittal Date

Notice  is hereby given that on October 21, 1996, the Wisconsin
Department of Employe Trust Funds submitted to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse a proposed order affecting
s. ETF 60.53.

Analysis

The subject matter of the proposed rule relates to deadlines to apply
for death benefits payable from the Wisconsin Retirement System
(WRS) and timing of automatic distribution of these benefits.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is scheduled for November 26, 1996.

Contact Person

If you have any questions, you may contact Mary Anglim, Retirement
Services Division at (608) 266−6611.

Hearing and Speech Examining Board

Rule Submittal Date

On November 1, 1996, the Department of Regulation and Licensing
submitted to the  Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse a proposed
order affecting s. HAS 6.09 (2) (o).

Analysis

Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.

In this proposed rule−making order, the Hearing and Speech
Examining Board is amending s. HAS 6.09 (2) (o) to eliminate the
prohibition of not being able to evaluate patients by correspondence,
thus allowing a credential holder to review fax or computer records
and make recommendations on treatment.  This change is consistent
with the advent of more modern and sophisticated types of electronic
transmission of data.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The date for the public hearing is December 2, 1996.

Contact Person

If you have any questions, you may contact Pamela Haack, Rules
Center Coordinator at (608) 266−0495.

Transportation

Rule Submittal Date

On October 29, 1996, the Department of Transportation  submitted a
proposed rule to the Joint Legislative Council Staff.

Analysis

The proposed rule affects ch. Trans 117, relating to the occupational
driver’s license.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for November 26, 1996.
The organizational unit responsible for the promulgation of the
proposed rule is the Division of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Driver
Services.

Contact Person

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact Julie
Johnson, Paralegal, at (608) 266−8810.

Transportation

Rule Submittal Date

On October 30, 1996, the Department of Transportation  submitted a
proposed rule to the Joint Legislative Council Staff.
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Analysis

The proposed rule affects ch. Trans 55, relating to the granting of state
aid to airport owners.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for December 3, 1996.
The organizational unit responsible for the promulgation of the
proposed rule is the Division of Infrastructure Development, Bureau
of Aeronautics.

Contact Person

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact Julie
Johnson, Paralegal, at (608) 266−8810.

Transportation

Rule Submittal Date

On October 30, 1996, the Department of Transportation  submitted a
proposed rule to the Joint Legislative Council Staff.

Analysis

The proposed rule affects ch. Trans 152, relating to the Wisconsin
interstate fuel tax and the International Registration Plan (IRP).

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for December 6, 1996.
The organizational unit responsible for the promulgation of the
proposed rule is the Division of Motor Vehicles/Vehicle Services
Section.

Contact Person

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact Julie
Johnson, Paralegal, at (608) 266−8810.
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N O T I C E   S E C T I O N

Notice of Hearing
Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection


 (Reprinted from October 31, 1996 Wis. Adm. Register)

The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection announces it will hold a public hearing on its
emergency rule (s. ATCP 139.04 (11)), relating to prohibiting the sale
of butane, propane, and other flammable refrigerants for use in mobile
air conditioning systems.

Hearing Information
The public hearing will be held:

November 15, 1996 Room 266
Friday Dept. of Agriculture, Trade
1:30 p.m. & Consumer Protection

Prairie Oak State Office Bldg.
Handicapped 2811 Agriculture Dr.
Accessible MADISON,  WI

Written Comments
Public comment is being sought on the Department’s emergency

rule, pursuant to s. 227.24 (4), Stats., which requires that a public
hearing be held within 45 days after an emergency rule is adopted.
Following the public hearing, the hearing record will remain open
until November 27, 1996 to receive additional written comments.

An interpreter for the hearing−impaired will be available upon
request for this public hearing.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by November 8, 1996 either by writing to Jamie
Tukiendorf, Division of Trade and Consumer Protection, P.O.
Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911 [telephone (608) 224−4924] or
by calling the Department TDD at (608) 224−5058.

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Agriculture, Trade & Consumer
Protection

Statutory authority:  ss. 93.07 (1) and 100.37 (2)

Statute interpreted:  s. 100.37

In order to protect the public from fire and explosion hazards, this
emergency rule bans the sale of butane, propane, mixtures of butane
and propane, or other gaseous hydrocarbons for use as refrigerants in
mobile air conditioners.

Hazardous Substances Law

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(“Department”) regulates the sale and labeling of hazardous
substances under s. 100.37, Stats.  Section 100.37 (1), Stats., defines
a hazardous substance to include any substance or mixture of
substances which is flammable or combustible “if such substance or
mixture of substances may cause substantial personal injury or
substantial illness during or as a proximate result of any customary or
reasonably foreseeable handlng or use.”

The hazardous substances law authorizes the Department to
identify “hazardous substances” by rule.  The Department may
regulate “hazardous substances” in various ways.  The Department
may, by rule:

●  Require precautionary labeling of hazardous substances.

●  Restrict the use of hazardous ingredients.

●  Prescribe package safety standards.

●  Ban the sale of a hazardous substance if less restrictive
alternatives are inadequate to protect public health and safety.

Current rules under ch. ATCP 139, Wis. Adm. Code, spell out
packaging and labeling requirements for hazardous substances.
Current rules also prohibit the sale of certain hazardous substances if
there is a serious hazard that cannot be adequately addressed by other
means.

Emergency Rule Contents

This emergency rule lists, as “hazardous substances” under ch.
ATCP 139, gaseous hydrocarbons intended for use as refrigerants in
mobile air conditioners.  It also prohibits the sale of those substances
for use in mobile air conditioners because they pose a serious safety
hazard which cannot be adequately addressed by labeling or other
means.  The prohibition does not apply to refrigerants which are
properly labeled for specific end uses approved by the United States
Environmental Protection Agency, and which meet recognized
industry flammability standards for those end uses.

Fiscal Estimate
See page 21 of the October 31, 1996 Wis. Adm. Register.

Copies of Emergency Rule and Fiscal
Estimate

A copy of this emergency rule and fiscal estimate can be obtained
at no charge by making a request to:

Tom Stoebig, (608) 224−4944
Bureau of Consumer Protection

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Dr.

P.O. Box 8911
MADISON,  WI  53708−8911

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
See page 21 of the October 31, 1996 Wis. Adm. Register.

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection


 (Reprinted from October 31, 1996 Wis. Adm. Register)

The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection announces that it will hold five public hearings
on amending the Corn Marketing Order (ch. ATCP 143).  The
proposed amendment increases the assessment rate under the corn
marketing order from one−tenth of one cent ($0.001) per bushel to
one−half of one cent ($0.005) per bushel.

Written Comments
The hearings will be held at the dates and places indicated below.

The public is invited to attend the hearings and comment on the
proposed rule.  Following the public hearings, the hearing record will
remain open for additional written comments until December 20,
1996.

Copies of Rule and Contact Person
A copy of the rule may be obtained, free of charge, from:

Marketing Order Program
Telephone 1 (800) 462−2765

Wis. Dept. of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911

Madison, WI  53708−8911

Copies will also be available at the public hearings.

An interpreter for the hearing−impaired will be available upon
request for these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
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interpreter by November 25, 1996 by contacting Margaret Fay at
1−800−462−2765 (Voice) or by contacting the Department at (608)
224−5058 (TDY Telephone).

Hearing Information
The hearings are scheduled as follows:

December 9, 1996 Room 106
Monday Wis. Dept. of Agriculture,
11:00 a.m. to Trade & Consumer Protection
2:00 p.m. Prairie Oak Office Bldg.
Handicapped 2811 Agriculture Dr.
Accessible MADISON,  WI

December 10, 1996 Room UW−Cooperative Extension
Tuesday Demonstration Center−−First Floor
11:00 a.m. to Rock Co. Courthouse
2:00 p.m. 51 South Main Street
Handicapped JANESVILLE,  WI
Accessible

December 11, 1996 Large Conference Room
Wednesday DATCP−−Eau Claire Regional Office
11:00 a.m. to 927 Loring St.
2:00 p.m. ALTOONA,  WI
Handicapped
Accessible

December 12, 1996 Room 101 Classroom Bldg.
Thursday UW−Fond du Lac Center/
11:00 a.m. to UW−Cooperative Extension
2:00 p.m. Campus Drive
Handicapped FOND DU LAC,  WI
Accessible

December 13, 1996 UW Cooperative Extension−−
Friday Lower Level Conference Room
11:00 a.m. to Iowa Co.Courthouse(New Addition)
2:00 p.m. 222 North Iowa St.
Handicapped DODGEVILLE,  WI
Accessible

Analysis

Statutory authority:  ss. 96.05 and 96.08

Statute interpreted:  s. 96.11

The proposed rule amends s. ATCP 143.06 (1) by increasing the
assessment rate under the corn marketing order from one−tenth of one
cent ($0.001) per bushel to one−half of one cent ($0.005) per bushel.

The proposed amendment must be approved by more than 50% of
the affected corn producers voting in a referendum before the
increased assessment rate becomes effective.  If corn growers or
affected producers approve the referendum, the Department intends
to have the amended marketing order in effect in the fall of 1997 for
the harvest and sale of corn grown in 1997 and subsequent years.

BACKGROUND

The corn marketing order (ch. ATCP 143, Wis. Adm. Code) was
created in 1983 and requires all producers of corn sold into
commercial channels to pay an assessment at the rate of one−tenth of
one cent ($0.001) per bushel.  The funds are used for financing
research, market development, and educational programs related to
corn sales.

Each producer selling corn into commercial channels is liable for
payment of the assessment under the corn marketing order.  Handlers
and dealers taking title to corn sold to them by producers are
responsible for collecting the assessment from amounts due the
producers.  Under the marketing order, a producer may request a
refund of the assessment which the producer paid into the marketing
order.

The rate of assessment has not changed since the marketing order
became effective on February 1, 1983.

The Wisconsin Corn Growers Association has petitioned the
Department Secretary to amend the marketing order to increase the
assessment rate to one−half of one cent ($0.005) per bushel.  The
increase is projected to generate an additional $400,000 in assessment
revenue annually.

Fiscal Estimate
The Department would incur one−time costs of $35,000 to cover

administrative costs related to the rule amendment process.  The
Wisconsin Corn Growers Association has signed an agreement with
the Department to fully reimburse the agency for the cost of adoption.
There will be no net fiscal impact to the Department.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed amendment will not have a significant economic

impact on small businesses.  The corn marketing order provides for
a refund which enables a producer to receive a refund upon submitting
proof satisfactory to the marketing board that the assessment for
which the refund is requested has been paid.

Notice of Hearings
Department of Commerce

(Building & Heating, etc., Chs. ILHR
50−64)
(Multifamily Dwellings, Ch. ILHR 66)
(Barrier−Free Design, Ch. ILHR 69)
(Historic Buildings, Ch. ILHR 70)

Notice is given that pursuant to ss.101.02 (15) and 101.13, Stats.,
the Department of Commerce proposes to hold public hearings to
consider the revision of rules under chs. ILHR 51, 52, 66, 69 and 70,
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to Barrier−free Design.

Hearing Information

December 9, 1996 Wausau
Monday North Central Technical Institute
11:00 a.m. Room 450/451

1000 Campus Drive

December 10, 1996 Madison
Tuesday Room 103 Conf. Room
11:00 a.m. GEF−I, State Office Bldg.

201 E. Washington Ave.

December 17, 1996 Milwaukee
Tuesday Multi−Media Center
10:30 a.m. Goodwill Industries

6055 North 91st. Street

A copy of the rules to be considered may be obtained from the
Department of Commerce, Division of Safety and Buildings, 201
East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 7969, Madison, Wisconsin
53707, by calling (608) 261−6546 or at the appointed times and
places the hearings are held.

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearings and will be
afforded the opportunity of making an oral presentation of their
positions.  Persons making oral presentations are requested to submit
their facts, views and suggested rewording in writing.  Written
comments from persons unable to attend the public hearings, or who
wish to supplement testimony offered at the hearings, may be
submitted no later than January 6, 1997, for inclusion in the
summary of public comments submitted to the Legislature.  Any such
comments should be submitted to Diane Meredith at the address noted
above.  Written comments will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearings.  Persons submitting comments
will not receive individual responses. These hearings are held in
accessible facilities.

If you have special needs or circumstances which may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please call
(608) 266−8982 or Telecommunication Device for the Deaf (TDD)
at (608) 264−8777 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
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Accommodations such as interpreters, English translators or
materials in audio tape format will, to the fullest extent possible, be
made available on request by a person with a disability.

Analysis of Proposed Rules

Statutory Authority:  ss. 101.02 and 101.13

Statute Interpreted:  s. 101.13

The purpose of ch. ILHR 69 and the other accessibility related
code chapters is to insure that any public building or facility is
designed, constructed, and altered to be accessible and usable by
people with disabilities.

The proposed changes are in response to 1995 Wis. Act 27 that
eliminated the percentage requirements for remodeled buildings and
to concerns raised by users of the code.  The following is a summary
of the major changes being proposed in ch. ILHR 69 and the other
accessibility related code chapters.

1.  Eliminate the requirement in the Building Code that prohibits
the use of open risers.  The requirements in ADAAG 4.1.3 (4) allow
open risers under certain conditions.  [ILHR 51.16 (4) (a) 1.]

2.  Create acceptable installation heights for water fountains
accommodating persons who have difficulty stooping.  [ILHR 52.60
(4)]

3.  Add to s. ILHR 66.38 (4) (a) 2. an informational note
clarifying that a stairway adjacent to a ramp is considered a stairway
on an accessible route. [ILHR 66.38 (4) (a) 2.]

4.  Establish minimum construction requirements for existing
buildings that are converted from a non−covered occupancy to a
covered occupancy under the Building Code.  [ILHR 69.03 (3) (b)]

5.  Create rules covering maintenance of facilities and describing
department authority.  [ILHR 69.045 and 69.11 (2)]

6.  Eliminate the requirements for a petition for variance to be
submitted when an owner is justifying disproportionality or is
applying the alternate technical provisions specified in ADAAG 4.1.6
(3).  [ILHR 69.10 (3) and ILHR 69.20 (1)]

7.  Incorporate by reference the national standards for automatic
doors, American National Standards Institute (ANSI) A156.10−1991
and A156.19−1990 as specified in ADAAG 4.13.12.  [ILHR 69.105
and 69.29 (3)]

8.  Clarify the accessibility requirements to be applied to places
of worship. [ILHR 69.16]

9.  Clarify the parking sign requirements to permit owners to
identify employee parking spaces with signs other than the TRANS
200 sign.  [ILHR 69.17 (2) (b)]

10.  Clarify that all buildings and facilities are required to comply
with chapter ILHR 69.  [ILHR 69.18 (1)]

11.  Clarify the accessible route requirements in buildings less
than 3 stories and with a gross area less than 20,000 square feet.  An
accessible route shall be provided to all areas of the accessible floor
level raised or depressed by not more than 3 feet.  Where common−use
areas, such as lunchrooms and meeting rooms, are provided in the
building or facility, the accessible floor level shall contain at least one
of each type of common−use areas.  [ILHR 69.18 (1m)]

12.  Clarify the accessible route requirements for buildings less
than 3 stories and with a gross area 20,000 square feet or more.
Vertical access shall be provided to mezzanines containing
common−use and public−use areas.  Vertical access will not be
required to mezzanines containing additional employment areas.
Permit the use of vertical wheelchair lifts and limited−use elevators to
provide vertical access between floor levels.  [ILHR 69.18 (2) (b)]

13.  Allow an exemption for an accessible route to floors used
entirely for storage.  [ILHR 69.18 (2) (a) 2. and (b) 2.]

14.  Clarify when areas of rescue assistance are required.  [ILHR
69.18 (3)]

15.  Repeal the requirements relating to unisex toilet rooms to be
consistent with 1995 Wis. Act 285.  [ILHR 69.18 (4)]

16.  Repeal the percentage of remodeling of requiremens to be
consistent with 1995 Wis. Act 27. [ILHR 69.19 and 69.20]

17.  Clarify that a petition for variance will not required when
alterations to an existing building comply with the technical
provisions specified in ADAAG 4.1 6 (3).  [ILHR 69.20 (1) (a)]

18.  Clarify that residential elevators are restricted for use in
existing churches only.   [ILHR 69.20 (3) (c)]

19.  Revise the accessibility requirements for historical buildings
to be consistent with the minimum accessibility requirements
specified in ADAAG 4.1.7.  [ILHR 69.21, 70.42, 70.43 and 70.44]

20.  Clarify the parking access aisle must lead to an accessible
route in front of the parking spaces.  [ILHR 69.245]

21.  Eliminate the sentence relating to open risers under the
guardrail section, since it does not apply.  [ILHR 69.26 (2)]

22.  Allow handrails in elevators to have shapes differing from
ADAAG 4.26 and require certain shaped handrails to be used at
stairways and ramps.  [ILHR 69.275 and 69.36 (1)]

23.  Specify the minimum platform sizes for wheelchair platform
lifts and limited−use elevators, but eliminate the minimum shaft sizes.
[ILHR 69.28 (2)]

24.  Specify, in Figure 25, the “x” dimension is 12 inches, if the
door has a latch.  [ILHR 69.29]

25.  Clarify requirements relating to shower spray units in
bathtubs and showers, and clear floor space at bathtubs.  [ILHR 69.33,
69.34 (2), 69.35 (2)]

26.  Specify that accessible seating in bleacher−type seating must
be located within the first row of permanent seating.  [ILHR 69.375]

27.  Create minimum requirements for mini−storage buildings.
[ILHR 69.415(2)]

28.  Clarify requirements relating to accessible transient lodging.
[ILHR 69.42]

The proposed rules have been developed with the assistance of the
Barrier−free Design Advisory Committee.  The members of that
citizen advisory committee are as follows:

Kayleen Brereton Public member
Cleo Eliason Easter Seals Society of 

Wisconsin, Inc.
Chuck Hanson American Society of Civil 

Engineers
Mary Lawson Wisconsin Society of 

Architects
Len Linzmeier Wisconsin Builders Assoc.
Jim Mather Department of Health and 

Social Services
Richard Pomo Department of

Administration
Edward Solner Wisconsin Society of 

Architects
Dave Wheaton Southeastern Wisconsin 

Building Inspectors Assoc.
Paul Yochum Governor’s Committee for

People with Disabilities

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1.Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rules.

Small architectural, engineering and plumbing design firms will
be affected by the proposed rules.  When a small business operator is
remodeling or altering an existing building or constructing a new
building, the remodeling, alteration or new construction must comply
with the proposed rules.

2.Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required for
compliance with the rules.

Small architectural, engineering and plumbing design firms will
be affected by the proposed rules.  When a small business operator is
remodeling or altering an existing building or constructing a new
building, the remodeling, alteration or new construction must comply
with the proposed rules.

3.Types of professional skills necessary for compliance with the
rules.

None known.
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Environmental Assessment

The Department has prepared a preliminary environmental
assessment (EA) on the revisions to chapters ILHR 51, 52, 66, 69 and
70, relating to Barrier−free Design requirements.  The preliminary
recommendation is a finding of no significant impact.  Copies of the
EA are available from the Department on request and will be available
at the public hearings.  Comments on the EA should be directed to:

Diane Meredith
Safety and Buildings Division

Department of Commerce
P. O. Box 7969

Madison, Wisconsin 53707
Phone (608) 266−8982 or

TTY (608) 264−8777

Written comments will be accepted until January 6, 1997.

Fiscal Estimate

Existing rules are being revised to clarify and in some instances
eliminate certain requirements, therefore not creating a fiscal impact.

Notice of Hearing
Employe Trust Funds

The Wisconsin Department of Employe Trust Funds will hold a
public hearing in accordance with the provisions of s. 227.16 (1),
Stats., to review a proposed rule, which creates  s. ETF 60.53 (2), Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to deadlines to apply for death benefits payable
from the Wisconsin Retirement System and timing of automatic
distribution of these benefits.  The public hearing will be held on
Tuesday, November 26, 1996 at 1:00 p.m. in Room 371, GEF 1,
201 East Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin.

The public record on this proposed rule making will be held open
until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, November 29, 1996 to permit the
submission of written comments from persons unable to attend the
public hearing in person or who wish to supplement testimony offered
at the hearing.  Any such written comments should be addressed to
Mary Anglim, Department of Employe Trust Funds, P.O. Box 7931,
Madison, Wisconsin  53707−7931, FAX (608) 267−0633.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin
Department of Employe Trust Funds

Under s. 401(a)(9)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), if a
participant or alternate payee dies before beginning a distribution
from a qualified retirement plan, the person’s entire interest in the plan
must be distributed by the end of the fifth year after the year of death.
This is the so−called five−year rule.  Normally, death benefits are paid
in a lump sum under this rule.

There are two exceptions to the five−year rule.  First, any
beneficiary may receive the death benefit as an annuity paid over his
or her lifetime or for a period not exceeding his or her life expectancy,
provided the annuity begins and at least one payment is made by the
end of the first year following the year of the participant’s death.
Second, a beneficiary who was the spouse of the participant may defer
application for an annuity or a lump sum until the later of this date or
January 1 of the year the participant would have attained age 70.5.
The exception for spouses does not include spouses of deceased
alternate payees.

Before May 16, 1996, the Department lacked statutory authority
to limit death benefit payment options in accord with federal tax law
and to make mandatory distributions when the account owner failed
to apply voluntarily.  1995 Wisconsin Act 302 authorized the
Department to require distributions of death benefits in conformance
with federal tax law.  The Department is in the process of
promulgating another rule to govern automatic distributions to living
participants and alternate payees and to beneficiaries of annuitants.
This proposed rule is intended to govern payment of death benefits to

beneficiaries of participants and alternate payees who died before
beginning a distribution from their Wisconsin Retirement System
(WRS) account.  This proposed rule potentially affects death benefits
for all active and inactive WRS participants and for annuitants who
have not yet begun distribution from their additional contributions
account.

The proposed rule provides the following:


Beneficiaries may receive a death benefit as a life annuity by
applying by the end of September of the year following the year of the
participant’s or alternate payee’s death.  This deadline was chosen for
administrative and federal compliance reasons.  Federal law requires
a beneficiary who chooses a life annuity to receive at least one annuity
payment before the end of the year following the year of death.  In
order to receive a check from the WRS on December 1, a beneficiary
must have an annuity effective date of November 1.  The late
September application deadline ensures that the Department has
sufficient time to process the application and issue the first check
within federal deadlines.


Beneficiaries who elect a lump sum benefit control the date of
payment by filing an application at the appropriate time.  The
Department pays lump sum death benefits as quickly as possible,
usually within 60 days of the date it receives the application.  In the
year of payment, lump sum death benefits are credited with 5%
interest pro−rated for the number of full calendar months before the
payment date.  Thus it is often to the beneficiary’s advantage to apply
for a payment early in a calendar year.  The proposed rule provides that
the Department will not accept applications filed after the end of
September in the fifth year following the year of the participant’s or
alternate payee’s death.  Since the Department is required to distribute
the benefit in a lump sum prior to December 31 with or without an
application, the late September deadline ensures that the Department
has sufficient time to make the distribution within federal deadlines.


A beneficiary who was the spouse of the participant at the time of
death may defer application until the end of the year in which the
participant would have reached age 69.5, if that is later than the dates
described above.  However, under the proposed rule, to preserve the
right to receive a life annuity at a later date, a spouse must file a
beneficiary designation by the end of September in the year following
the year of the participant’s death or by September 30, 1999,
whichever is later.  The deferred effective date is included to allow the
Department time to locate and inform spouses who would otherwise
be beyond the deadline to apply for a life annuity.

Section 40.23 (4) (e) 2., Stats., and this proposed rule require the
spouse to file a beneficiary designation in order to prevent significant
tax penalties to a secondary beneficiary or possible forfeiture of the
benefit should the spouse die before applying.  Under s. 40.02 (8)(b),
Stats., if a potential beneficiary dies without filing either a benefit
application or a beneficiary designation, the benefit is payable to the
original participant’s next beneficiary.  Non−spouse beneficiaries
have only five years after the year of the participant’s death to receive
the death benefit in any form.  However, under IRC s.
401(a)(9)(B)(iv)(II) and Prop. Reg. 1.401(a)(9)(B)−1, C−5, if the
spouse has named a beneficiary the five−year period starts over from
the date of  the spouse’s death.


Provided a beneficiary can be located, the Department will
automatically distribute the benefit as a lump sum if no application is
filed by the deadlines described above, i.e., before December 31 of the
fifth year after the year of the participant’s or alternate payee’s death
or (for the spouse of the deceased participant only) effective January
1 of the year the participant would have attained age 70.5.

This rule does not address steps the Department will take, as
mandated under s. 40.08 (8), Stats., when beneficiaries cannot be
located.  The Department intends to promulgate a rule on abandoned
account procedures in the future.

General Summary of Rule

This proposed rule specifies deadlines within which beneficiaries
of certain deceased participants, alternate payees, and beneficiaries
may apply for death benefits from the Wisconsin Retirement System.

Beneficiaries may receive a death benefit as a life annuity by
applying by the end of September of the year following the year of the
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participant’s or alternate payee’s death.  They may apply for a lump
sum benefit no later than the end of September of the fifth year
following the year of the participant’s or alternate payee’s death.  A
beneficiary who was the spouse of the participant at the time of death
may defer application until the end of the year in which the participant
would have reached age 69.5, if that is later than the dates described
above.  However, to preserve the right to receive a life annuity at a later
date, a spouse must file a beneficiary designation by the end of
September in the year following the year of the participant’s death or
by September 30, 1999, whichever is later.

If the department does not receive an application by the applicable
deadline, and it is able to locate a beneficiary, the department will
distribute the benefit as a lump sum.  The rule limits a beneficiary’s
ability to postpone the distribution by filing a waiver of benefits and
specifies that beneficiaries who become eligible as a result of a waiver
or the death of another beneficiary are subject to the original
application and distribution deadlines.

Authority for Rule

  SS. 40.015 (2), 40.03 (2) (i),  (t), and 40.24 (4) (e) and (f),  as
affected by 1995 Wis. Act 302.

Statutes Interpreted

SS. 40.02 (8),  40.08 (8), 40.23 (4) (c), (e) and (f), and 40.73, as
affected by 1995 Wis. Act 302

Related Federal Statutes and
Regulations

  Section 401(a)(9)(B), Internal Revenue Code; Prop. Reg.
1.401(a)(9)−1, C−1 to C−6.

Fiscal Estimate

The Department estimates that there will be no direct fiscal impact
from this rule upon the state and anticipates no effect upon the fiscal
liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school
district, vocational, technical and adult education school district or
sewerage district.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The Department anticipates that the provisions of this proposed
rule will have no direct adverse effect on small businesses.

Copies of Rule and Contact Persons

Copies of this rule are available without cost by making a request
to the Department of Employe Trust Funds, Office of the Secretary,
P.O. Box 7931, Madison, Wisconsin  53707, telephone (608)
266−1071.  For questions about this rule, please call Mary Anglim,
(608) 266−6611.

Notice of Hearing
Hearing and Speech Examining Board

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to authority vested in the
Hearing and Speech Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11
(2), Stats., and ss. 459.085 and 459.12 (2), Stats., as amended by
1995 Wis. Act 170, and interpreting ss. 459.34 (2), 459.085 and
459.12 (2), Stats., the Hearing and Speech Examining Board will hold
a public hearing at the time and place indicated below to consider an
order to amend ss. HAS 4.03, 5.02 (2) (f) and 6.09 (2) (t) and (u);
and to create ss. HAS 4.03 (2) and (3), 5.02 (2) (fm), 6.02 (4n) and
6.065, relating to calibration of audiometric equipment and the use of
support personnel.

Hearing Information

The hearing will be held:

December 2, 1996 Room 179A
Monday 1400 East Washington Ave.
2:00 p.m. MADISON,  WI

Written Comments
Interested people are invited to present information at the hearing.

People appearing may make an oral presentation, but are urged to
submit facts, opinions and argument in writing as well.  Facts,
opinions and argument may also be submitted in writing without a
personal appearance by mail addressed to:

Office of Administrative Rules
Department of Regulation & Licensing

P.O. Box 8935
MADISON,  WI  53708

Written comments must be received by December 16, 1996 to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Regulation & Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and
       227.11 (2), Stats., and ss. 459.085 and 459.12 (2), Stats.,
      as amended by 1995 Wis. Act 170

Statutes interpreted:  ss. 459.34 (2), 459.085 and 459.12 (2)

In this proposed rule−making order, the Hearing and Speech
Examining Board amends s. HAS 4.03 and creates ss. HAS 4.03 (2)
and (3) and 5.02 (2) (fm), relating to the conduct of hearing
instrument specialists.  The proposed rules establish the frequency of
the calibrations of audiometric equipment, clarify the requirements
relating to masking sources and define unprofessional conduct to
include the failure to maintain adequate records of certification of
calibrations for a period of 5 years and failure to provide access to
those records when requested by the Board or its representative.

Several provisions in ch. HAS 6 are created, relating to the
supervision of unlicensed individuals by speech−language
pathologists and audiologists.  The proposed rules define “direct
supervision” for purposes of monitoring unlicensed individuals and
identify the number of unlicensed individuals which may be
supervised by a speech−language pathologist or audiologist at any
given time.  In addition, the proposed rules amend s. HAS 6.09
(2) (u), to clarify that “knowingly permitting an unlicensed person to
provide clinical services that exceed that person’s competence,
education, training and experience” constitutes a ground for
discipline.

Text of Rule
SECTION 1.  HAS 4.03 is amended to read:

HAS 4.03   Equipment used to measure hearing.  (1)  Pure tone
audiometry must be conducted with a pure tone audiometer which
conforms to the American National Standards Institute, ANSI S3.6
(R1989 1996) approved June 19, 1969.  A copy of such standard may
be obtained by writing to: American National Institute, 1430
Broadway, New York, NY 10018.  Copies are on file at the offices of
the department, the secretary of state and the revisor of statutes.  Such
audiometer shall be capable of generating a minimum of 9 discrete
frequencies, ranging from 250 Hz through 8 Khz (250, 500, 1000,
1500, 2000, 3000, 4000, 6000, 8000 Hz).  Output levels over the
frequency range shall conform to standard ANSI S3.6 specified
above.  A masking source shall be either available  within, or capable
of being attached to, the audiometer.  The masking source must have
white noise or narrow band capability.

SECTION 2.  HAS 4.03 (2) and (3) are created to read:

HAS 4.03 (2)  A masking source shall be either available within,
or capable of being attached to, the audiometer.  The masking source
must have one of the following:

(a)  White noise capability.

(b)  Speech noise capability.

(c)  Narrow band noise and white noise or speech noise capability.

Note:  A copy of Standard ANSI S3.6 may be obtained by
writing to:  The American National Standards Institute, 11 West 42nd
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Street, New York, NY 10036.  Copies of the Standard are on file at the
offices of the Department of Regulation and Licensing, the Secretary
of State and the Revisor of Statutes.

(3)  Audiometric equipment used in the evaluation of hearing
sensitivity for the fitting and sale of hearing instruments shall be
calibrated not less than once every 12 months.

SECTION 3.  HAS 5.02 (2) (f) is amended to read:

HAS 5.02 (2) (f)  Failing to maintain proper calibration and record
of audiometer, of audiometric equipment as specified in s. 459.085,
Stats.

SECTION 4.  HAS 5.02 (2) (fm) is created to read:

HAS 5.02 (2) (fm)  Failing to maintain adequate records of
certification of calibrations of audiometric equipment for a period of
5 years or failing to provide access to those records when requested
by the board or its representative.

SECTION 5.  HAS 6.02 (4n) is created to read:

HAS 6.02 (4n)  “Direct supervision” means:

(a)  For purposes of monitoring unlicensed persons who assist in
the practice of speech−language pathology, providing direct
observation of the clinical services provided by the individual to
patients during 220 of the first 720 hours following the individual’s
training and providing on−site observation and evaluation of clinical
care provided by the individual to each patient a minimum of 2 out of
every 10 sessions, or 2 sessions each month including the final
session, whichever is sooner.

(b)  For purposes of monitoring unlicensed persons who assist in
the practice of audiology, providing comprehensive, periodic and
documented supervision which include, but is not limited to:

1.  Identifying specific roles and tasks for the individual.

2.  Ensuring that the tasks performed by the individual do not
require the exercise of professional judgment or entail interpretation
of results or the development or modification of treatment plans.

3.  Providing appropriate training that is competency−based and
specific to job performance.

SECTION 6.  HAS 6.065 is created to read:

HAS 6.065  Supervision of unlicensed persons.  For purposes of
supervising unlicensed persons who assist in the practice of
speech−language pathology or audiology:

(1)  A speech−language pathologist may supervise up to
3 individuals at any given time.

(2)  An audiologist may supervise up to 10 individuals at any given
time.

SECTION 7.  HAS 6.09 (2) (t) and (u) are amended to read:

HAS 6.09 (2) (t)  Delegating the provisions of clinical services to
unlicensed persons for whom the licensee does not provide direct
supervision and assume full responsibility.  In this paragraph, ‘direct
supervision’ means providing direct observation of the clinical
services rendered by an employe to a patient during the first 10 hours
following the employe’s training, and providing on−site observation
and evaluation of clinical care provided by the employe to each
patient during the first session following the assessment, and
thereafter, a minimum of one out of every 10 sessions or one session
each month including the final session, whichever is sooner has the
meaning given in s. HAS 6.02 (4n).

(u)  Knowingly permitting any professional staff or unlicensed
person to provide clinical services that exceed that staff person’s
competence, education, training and experience.

Fiscal Estimate

1.  The anticipated fiscal effect on the fiscal liability and revenues
of any local unit of government of the proposed rule is:  $0.00.

2.  The projected anticipated state fiscal effect during the current
biennium of the proposed rule is:  $0.00.

3.  The projected net annualized fiscal impact on state funds of the
proposed rule is:  $0.00.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules will be reviewed by the Department through

its Small Business Review Advisory Committee to determine
whether there will be an economic impact on a substantial number of
small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Copies of Rule and Contact Person
Copies of this proposed rule are available without cost upon

request to:

Pamela Haack,  (608) 266−0495
Office of Administrative Rules

Department of Regulation & Licensing
1400 East Washington Ave., Room 171

P.O. Box 8935
Madison, WI  53708

Notice of Hearing
Hearing and Speech Examining Board

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to authority vested in the
Hearing and Speech Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11
(2), Stats., and interpreting s. 440.035 (1), Stats., the Hearing and
Speech Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to amend s. HAS 6.09
(2) (o), relating to the grounds for discipline for individuals who are
credentialed as speech−language pathologists and audiologists.

Hearing Information
The hearing will be held:

December 2, 1996 Room 179A
Monday 1400 East Washington Ave.
2:00 p.m. MADISON,  WI

Written Comments
Interested people are invited to present information at the hearing.

People appearing may make an oral presentation, but are urged to
submit facts, opinions and argument in writing as well.  Facts,
opinions and argument may also be submitted in writing without a
personal appearance by mail addressed to:

Office of Administrative Rules
Department of Regulation & Licensing

P.O. Box 8935
MADISON,  WI  53708

Written comments must be received by December 16, 1996 to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Regulation & Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and
       227.11 (2)

Statute interpreted:  s. 440.035 (1)

In this proposed rule−making order, the Hearing and Speech
Examining Board amends s. HAS 6.09(2) (o), relating to the grounds
for discipline for individuals who are credentialed as
speech−language pathologists and audiologists.

Text of Rule
SECTION 1.  HAS 6.09 (2) (o) is amended to read:

HAS 6.09 (2) (o)  Evaluating or treating Treating solely by
correspondence.

Fiscal Estimate
1.  The anticipated fiscal effect on the fiscal liability and revenues

of any local unit of government of the proposed rule is:  $0.00.

2.  The projected anticipated state fiscal effect during the current
biennium of the proposed rule is:  $0.00.
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3.  The projected net annualized fiscal impact on state funds of the
proposed rule is:  $0.00.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules will be reviewed by the Department through

its Small Business Review Advisory Committee to determine
whether there will be an economic impact on a substantial number of
small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Copies of Rule and Contact Person
Copies of this proposed rule are available without cost upon

request to:

Pamela Haack,  (608) 266−0495
Office of Administrative Rules

Department of Regulation & Licensing
1400 East Washington Ave., Room 171

P.O. Box 8935
Madison, WI  53708

Notice of Hearing
Medical Examining Board

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to authority vested in the
Medical Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.,
and s. 448.05 (3) (b), as created by 1995 Wis. Act 245, and ss. 448.07
(1) (d) and 448.13 (1), Stats., as amended by 1995 Wis. Act 245, and
interpreting ss. 448.05 (3) (b), 448.07 (1) (d) and 448.13 (1), Stats.,
will hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order to amend ch. Med 13 (title) and ss. Med 13.01,
13.02, 13.03 (1), 13.04 (title) and 13.04, 13.05 (1) (intro.), (1) (a) and
(2) and 13.06; and to create ss. Med 13.03 (1) (b) and 13.05 (1m),
relating to continuing medical education for podiatrists.

Hearing Information
The hearing will be held:

December 19, 1996 Room 179A
Thursday 1400 East Washington Ave.
9:00 a.m. MADISON,  WI

Written Comments
Interested people are invited to present information at the hearing.

People appearing may make an oral presentation but are urged to
submit facts, opinions and argument in writing as well.  Facts,
opinions and argument may also be submitted in writing without a
personal appearance by mail addressed to:

Office of Administrative Rules
Department of Regulation & Licensing

P.O. Box 8935
Madison,  WI  53708

Written comments must be received by January 3, 1997 to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Regulation & Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 
            227.11 (2), Stats., s. 448.05 (3) (b), as created by
           1995 Wis. Act 245, and ss. 448.07 (1) (d) and 448.13 (1),
          Stats., as amended by 1995 Wis. Act 245.

Statutes interpreted:  ss. 448.05 (3) (b), 448.07 (1) (d)
           and 448.13 (1)

In this proposed rule−making order, the Medical Examining
Board amends and creates rules relating to continuing medical
education for podiatrists.  1995 Wis. Act 245 requires the Board to
promulgate rules establishing continuing education requirements for
podiatrists.  At the time of application for renewal of registration, each
podiatrist shall submit proof of completion of continuing education

programs or courses of study for at least 30 hours of credit.  These
programs or courses must be approved by the Council of Podiatry
Education of the American Podiatric Medical Association.  The
Board may waive this requirement if it finds that exceptional
circumstances have prevented a podiatrist from meeting the
requirement.  Applicants for a license to practice podiatry must supply
evidence satisfactory to the Board that he or she has completed
12 months of postgraduate training in a program approved by the
Board.  The rules also require that an applicant for a license to practice
podiatry must supply evidence satisfactory to the Board that he or she
has completed 12 months of postgraduate training in a program
approved by the Board.

Text of Rule
SECTION 1.  Chapter Med 13 (title) is amended to read:

Chapter Med 13

CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION
FOR PHYSICIANS AND PODIATRISTS

SECTION 2.  Med 13.01 and 13.02 are amended to read:

Med 13.01  Authority and purpose.  The rules in this chapter are
adopted by the medical examining board pursuant to the authority
delegated by ss. 15.08 (5), 227.11, and 448.40 448.13, Stats., and
govern the biennial training requirements for physicians and
podiatrists under s. 448.40 448.13, Stats.

Med 13.02  Continuing medical education required; waiver.
(1)  Each physician or podiatrist required to complete the biennial
training requirement provided under s. 448.13, Stats., shall, in each
second year at the time of making application for a certificate of
registration as required under s. 448.07, Stats., sign a statement on the
application for registration certifying that the physician or podiatrist
has completed at least 30 hours of acceptable continuing medical
educational programs within the 2 calendar years immediately
preceding the calendar year for which application for registration is
made.

(2)  A physician or podiatrist may apply to the board for waiver of
the requirements of this chapter on grounds of prolonged illness or
disability or other similar circumstances, and each such case will be
considered individually on its merits by the board.

SECTION 3.  Med 13.03 (1) is amended to read:

Med 13.03 (1)  Educational courses and programs approved in
advance by the board may be used for credit, except that the board
may approve for credit completed programs and courses conducted
in other countries.

(a)  Physicians.  The board recognizes only those educational
programs recognized as approved at the time of the physician’s
attendance by the council on medical education of the American
medical association, or the American osteopathic association, or the
liaison committee on continuing medical education or may recognize
program providers outside the U.S. unless any of the foregoing have
been previously disapproved by the board.  The board will accept
attendance at and completion of programs accredited as the American
medical association’s or the American osteopathic association’s
“Category I” or an equivalent as fulfilling the requirements of this
chapter for continuing medical education.  One clock hour of
attendance shall be deemed to equal one hour of acceptable
continuing medical education for the purposes of this chapter.

SECTION 4.  Med 13.03 (1) (b) is created to read:

Med 13.03 (1) (b) Podiatrists.  The board recognizes only those
educational programs recognized as approved at the time of the
podiatrist’s attendance by the council on podiatric medical education
of the American podiatric medical association, or may recognize
program providers outside the U.S.  One clock hour of attendance
shall be deemed to equal one hour of acceptable continuing medical
education.

SECTION 5.  Med 13.04 (title) and 13.04 are amended to read:

Med 13.04  Physician postgraduate training program; length
of service.  The board will accept postgraduate training in a program
approved by the board under the provisions of s. Med 1.02 (3), as
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fulfilling the requirements of this chapter for continuing medical
education for physicians.  Three consecutive months of such
postgraduate training shall be deemed to equal 30 hours of acceptable
continuing medical education for the purpose of this chapter.

SECTION 6.  Med 13.05 (1) (intro.) and (1) (a) are amended to
read:

Med 13.05  Evidence of compliance.  (1) PHYSICIANS.  The
board will accept as evidence of compliance by physicians with the
requirements of this chapter, as original documents or verified copies
thereof, any or all or any combination of the following:

(a)  Certification by either the providing institution or organization
or the American medical association or the American osteopathic
association, or components thereof, of attendance at and completion
of continuing medical education programs approved under the
provisions of s. Med 13.03 (1) (a).

SECTION 7.  Med 13.05 (1m) is created to read:

Med 13.05 (1m) PODIATRISTS.  The board will accept as
evidence of compliance by podiatrists with the requirements of this
chapter, as original documents or verified copies thereof, certification
by either the providing institution or organization or the council on
podiatric medical education of the American podiatric medical
association, or components thereof, of attendance at and completion
of continuing medical education programs approved under the
provisions of s. Med 13.03 (1) (b).

SECTION 8.  Med 13.05 (2) is amended to read:

Med 13.05 (2) RETENTION REQUIREMENT.  Evidence of
compliance shall be retained by each physician or podiatrist through
the biennium for which 30 hours of credit are required for
registration.

SECTION 9.  Med 13.06 is amended to read:

Med 13.06  Audit.  The board may require any physician or
podiatrist to submit his or her evidence of compliance to the board
during the biennium for which 30 hours of credit are required for
registration to audit compliance.

Fiscal Estimate
1.  The anticipated fiscal effect on the fiscal liability and revenues

of any local unit of government of the proposed rule is:  $0.00.

2.  The projected anticipated state fiscal effect during the current
biennium of the proposed rule is:  $0.00.

3.  The projected net annualized fiscal impact on state funds of the
proposed rule is:  $0.00.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules will be reviewed by the Department through

its Small Business Review Advisory Committee to determine
whether there will be an economic impact on a substantial number of
small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Copies of Rule and Contact Person
Copies of this proposed rule are available without cost upon

request to:

Pamela Haack,  (608) 266−0495
Office of Administrative Rules

Department of Regulation & Licensing
1400 East Washington Ave., Room 171

P.O. Box 8935
Madison, WI  53708

Notice of Hearing
Department of Transportation

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 114.31(7), Stats., and
interpreting s. 114.31(7), Stats., the Department of Transportation
will hold a public hearing in Room 414 of the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison,
Wisconsin on the 3rd day of December, 1996, at 1:00 PM, to

consider the creation of ch. Trans 55, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the
granting of state aid to airport owners.

The public record on this proposed rule making will be held open
until December 6, 1996, to permit the submission of written
comments from persons unable to attend the public hearing or who
wish to supplement testimony offered at the hearing.  Any such
comments should be submitted to Tomas Thomas, Department of
Transportation, Division of Transportation Infrastructure
Development, Bureau of Aeronautics, Room 701, P. O. Box 7914,
Madison, WI  53707−7914.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible entrance are
available on the north and south sides of the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  s. 114.31(7)

STATUTE INTERPRETED:  s. 114.31(7)

General Summary of Proposed Rule.  Section 114.31(7), Stats.,
directs that the Secretary shall, by rule, establish the conditions
necessary for the granting of state aid for airport development projects
and for other related purposes.  The purpose of this proposed rule is
to assure that state funded investments in public−use airports, once
constructed, are operated in a way consistent with sound public policy
goals.  These goals include:

� Protection of the public investment in airport facilities

� Operation of facilities in a safe manner

� Providing facilities to the general public in a
non−discriminatory form

� Maintenance of facilities to assure maximum useful life and
value

In addition to assuring that funded facilities meet public policy
expectations, the proposed rule will provide provisions for
compliance assistance and a progressive process for dispute
resolution.

The proposed rule will replace the existing process of preparing
written project grant assurances and have those assurances adopted by
municipal resolutions for each project requested.  The proposed rule
will thereby reduce state and local administrative activity and reduce
incrementally the cost, time and effort required to conduct an airport
improvement project.  The proposed rule will also provide potential
project sponsors with public notice of the requirements (conditions)
attached to a grant of state funds for airport improvement.

Fiscal Impact

The state airport aid program is currently funded at $10 mil/yr.  The
Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the
liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school
district, technical college district, sewerage district, or any
federally−recognized tribes or bands.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule will have no adverse impact on small
businesses.

Preparation and Copies of Proposed
Rule

This analysis was prepared by Keith W. Gerard, J.D., Room 751,
Hill Farms State Transportation Building, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue,
Madison, WI 53707.  Copies of the proposed rule may be obtained
upon request, without cost, by writing to Tomas Thomas, Department
of Transportation, Division of Transportation Infrastructure
Development, Bureau of Aeronautics, Room 701, P. O. Box 7914,
Madison, WI  53707−7914, or by calling (608) 266−2023.
Hearing−impaired individuals may contact the Department using
TDD (608) 266−3351.  Alternate formats of the proposed rule will be
provided to individuals at their request.
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Notice of Hearing
Department of Transportation

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 85.16, Stats., interpreting
s. 86.303(5)(f)(intro.) and (i)(intro.), Stats., the Department of
Transportation will hold a public hearing on the 16th day of
December, 1996, at the Hill Farms State Transportation Building,
Room 901A, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, WI, at 9:30 AM,
to consider the repeal and recreation, by emergency rule, of ch. Trans
76, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to general transportation aids.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on request
for this hearing.  Please make reservations for a hearing interpreter no
later than 10 days prior to the hearing.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible entrance are
available on the north and south sides of the building.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  s. 85.16

STATUTE INTERPRETED:  s. 86.303(5)(f)(intro.) and (i)(intro.)

General Summary of Emergency Rule.  The General
Transportation Aids (GTA) Program is a program provided to defray
a portion of the costs incurred with constructing and maintaining
roads under local jurisdiction.  The GTA program is a reimbursement
program based on each local government’s spending patterns.  GTA
funds are distributed to all Wisconsin counties and municipalities in
amounts determined using a formula which is based on local “eligible
costs.”  Generally, all road or street construction and maintenance
expenditures within the right of way are considered eligible costs.  A
percentage of other expenditures are also considered eligible costs,
including law enforcement, street lighting maintenance and
construction, and storm sewer construction.

The share of cost rate is determined by the available funding and
the six−year average costs reported by each county and municipality.
Distribution of GTA payments to local governments are computed
and paid on a calendar year basis.  Quarterly payments are made on
the first Monday of January, April, July and October.  The Department
obtains cost data from Financial Reports which all local units of
government must file annually with the Department of Revenue.  The
reports are based upon calendar year expenditures and revenues and
are submitted each spring and summer.

Late filing of Financial Report forms will result in a reduction of
the local government’s GTA received in 1996.  Failure to submit the
Financial Report with the Department of Revenue by the deadline will
result in a reduction in GTA payments the following year.  The
reduction will be equal to 1% for each day late, to a maximum of 10%,
as provided in s. 86.303(5)(f) and (i), Stats.

As provided in s. 86.303(5)(f)(intro.) and (i)(intro.), Stats., the
Department proposes this rule making to administratively interpret
the phrase “each day” to exclude Saturday, Sundays and legal
holidays.  The Department’s long−standing and consistent
interpretation of the phrases “within 30 days” and “each day” has been
calendar days.  The Department has concluded that it would be fairer
and more reasonable to continue to interpret the phrase “within 30
days” as calendar days, but to exclude Saturdays, Sundays and legal
holidays from the interpretation of the phrase “each day” for the
purposes of the one percent reduction for each day that the report is
late.  The reason for this revised interpretation is that the 10% penalty
cap can still be reached within 30 calendar days.  Using this
interpretation, timely reports and calculations will still be available for
state and local budgeting and planning purposes.

Fiscal Impact

Four local governments will be affected for 1997 GTA payments.
These four local governments will receive a total of $18,061.93 more
based on less days of penalties.  This does slightly affect the
distribution of funds, but not the appropriation amounts.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule will have no adverse impact on small
businesses.

Copies of Emergency Rule and Contact
Person

Copies of this emergency rule are available without cost upon
request by writing to the Department’s Office of General Counsel, P.
O. Box 7910, Room 115−B, Madison, WI  53707−7910, or by calling
(608) 267−3703.  Alternate formats of the proposed rule will be
provided to individuals at their request.  Hearing−impaired
individuals may contact the Department using TDD (608) 266−0396.

Notice of Hearing
Department of Transportation

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 343.02, Stats., and
interpreting s. 343.10, Stats., the Department of Transportation will
hold a public hearing in Room 421 of the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison,
Wisconsin on the 26th day of November, 1996, at 9:30 AM, to
consider the emergency revision and the proposed revision of ch.
Trans 117, Wisconsin Administrative Code, relating to occupational
driver’s licenses.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on request
for this hearing.  Please make reservations for a hearing interpreter at
least 10 days prior to the hearing.

The public record on this proposed rule making will be held open
until December 6, 1996, to permit the submission of written
comments from persons unable to attend the public hearing or who
wish to supplement testimony offered at the hearing.  Any such
comments should be submitted to Richard Kleist, Department of
Transportation, Bureau of Driver Services, Room 301, P. O. Box
7920, Madison, WI  53707−7920.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible entrance are
available on the north and south sides of the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  SS. 343.10, 343.02

STATUTES INTERPRETED:  SS. 343.10, 343.06, 343.38,
351.025

General Summary of Proposed Rule.  1995 Wis. Act 269 rewrote
the statute governing issuance of occupational driver licenses in
Wisconsin.  Under prior law, drivers who lost their operating
privileges could petition any municipal or circuit judge in the state and
request an occupational license.  In many instances, the day−to−day
task of reviewing applications and issuing licenses was being
performed by court staff.  1995 Wis. Act 269 vested responsibility for
reviewing applications and issuing licenses in the Department of
Transportation instead of judges.

This proposed rule making provides the Department’s
administrative interpretation of the newly revised statute.  In addition,
this rule making ties together many of the other laws and regulations
affecting driver licensing to present one coherent source of
information on the issuance of occupational licenses.

There are two primary sections to this rule making: proposed s.
Trans 117.025, which lays out the occupational licensing process, and
s. Trans 117.03, which describes the manner in which the Department
will decide whether to issue an occupational license, what restrictions
will be placed on the license.  The proposed amendments to s. Trans
117.03 also clarify which prohibitions or restrictions of occupational
licensing may be waived by a court in conducting a review under s.
343.10(4), Stats.

To obtain an occupational license, a person makes an application
to the Department at any DMV service center (except the “express
service facilities” that are not equipped to handle any matters other
than driver license and registration renewals).  The application
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includes a petition for occupational license, proof of financial
responsibility for the future, and the original or a certified copy of any
required court order for issuance of the license, and a $40
non−refundable application fee.

The DMV service center will accept the application and conduct
an on−the−spot initial screening of the application.  If the center
detects no obvious defect in the application or reason the person
would be ineligible for an occupational license, it will issue the person
a 15 day temporary driving receipt and ask the person to return to the
DMV service center on the next working day (or, if the center is a
“travelling site,” the next time the travel team returns to the location.)
The application will then be forwarded to the Division of Motor
Vehicles Compliance and Restoration Section for formal review.

The Compliance and Restoration Section will carefully review the
application for occupational license and make an initial determination
regarding the person’s eligibility for occupational licensing and what
restrictions should be placed on the license.  If the person is ineligible
for licensing, it will notify the driver by mail that the application was
denied and the reasons for denial.  If the person is eligible for
licensing, the unit will advise the DMV service center to issue the
person an occupational license and will set the restrictions to be placed
on the license.

A person whose application for occupational license is denied may
appeal the decision to deny the license, or the decision to impose
certain restrictions on the license, to the circuit court in the county
where the person resides.  Section 343.10, Stats., requires the driver
to provide the court with a copy of his or her driver record.  WISDOT
will encourage courts to adopt local rules also requiring the driver to
provide a copy of DMV’s denial letter to the court so that the court can
see what prompted DMV’s license denial.

The court can review the Department’s decision de novo and grant
or deny the person an occupational license or whether to change the
restrictions imposed on the licensee by DMV.  The court can change
any of the discretionary decisions made by the Department in issuing
the license.  As was the case under prior law, the court may not
overstep its statutory powers and order issuance of a license or waiver
of a restriction where license denial or imposition of the restriction are
mandatory.  Upon completion of its review, the person may return to
DMV and reapply for an occupational license.  The Department will
issue the license subject to any restrictions imposed by the court.  As
was the case under the prior law, the Department will not issue the
license if the person is statutorily prohibited from being licensed, and
will impose any statutorily required restrictions.

Proposed s. Trans 117.03(1) lays out the mandatory qualifications
for occupational licensing:

� Wisconsin residency;

� A revoked or suspended license;

� Proof of financial responsibility;

� A completed application;

� Surrender of old licenses;

� Proof of installation of any required ignition interlock device
(repeat drunk drivers only);

� Proof of completion of alcohol assessment (repeat drunk drivers
only);

� Valid license status in other states (if the person is moving to
Wisconsin);

� Having passed their driving tests (primarily new drivers);

� Not being convicted of certain sexual offenses;

� Meeting all physical health requirements;

� Not being revoked more than once in the preceding year; and

� Not having “judge shopped” to more than one circuit court.

All of these mandatory requirements are taken from various
statutory provisions within Ch. 343, Stats., and are reiterated in this
proposed rule making for clarity.

Proposed s. Trans 117.03(2) details the restrictions which are
required for occupational licensing under the statutes:

� The license can’t grant any privileges the driver didn’t have
before his/her license was suspended or revoked;

� The license can’t authorize operation of commercial motor
vehicles if the driver is disqualified;

� An absolute sobriety requirement if the driver has 2 or more
alcohol related convictions;

� The license can’t authorize operation of any vehicle for which
the person hasn’t posted proof of financial responsibility; and

� The license can’t authorize operation of a school bus.

Section 343.10, Stats., leaves a number of discretionary decisions
in the Department’s hands, subject to judicial review.  Discretionary
determinations to be made by the Department in deciding whether to
issue an occupational license to a person include:

� Whether operating a motor vehicle is essential to the driver’s
livelihood; and

� The number and seriousness of prior offenses.

The Department will rely on drivers’ affirmations that they need
licenses for their livelihood.  In considering the number and
seriousness of prior offenses, the Department proposes to
preliminarily deny occupational licenses to two types of drivers:
those with 24 or more demerit points in the preceding year and those
with 3 or more alcohol offenses in a 5 year period.

Drivers in either class will need to apply to a circuit court for
license.  The Department expects that approximately 1 in 500
occupational license applicants will receive a preliminary denial
based on points (44 people statewide per year).  The number of drivers
with 3 or more alcohol offenses in a 5−year period who will apply for
occupational licenses is not known.  With both groups of drivers, the
Department believes a case−by−case review by a judge of the driver’s
request for an occupational license is appropriate.

The Department also has discretion regarding whether to impose
certain restrictions on a driver.  These restrictions include:

� Limitations on the hours or routes of travel to be authorized
under the license;

� Whether to impose restrictions on the use of alcohol or
controlled substances; and

� Whether to require an ignition interlock as a condition of
licensing.

Under this proposed rule, the Department will decide the
reasonableness of hours and routes of travel on a case by case basis.
The Department will impose an ignition interlock device requirement
only in instances where third offense drunk drivers are required to
install the device on a vehicle following a conviction for operating
while intoxicated.  The Department will restrict the use of alcohol or
controlled substances under the proposed rule for drivers convicted
of 2 or more prior alcohol offenses as required by statute.

Any discretionary decision made by the Department may be
reviewed by a circuit court upon the driver’s request.  The Department
will implement the court’s determinations on these discretionary
matters.

This proposed rule making does not affect the Department’s
longstanding practice of permitting emergency service providers
extended operating authority in bona fide emergencies.  Clarification
is made, however, that only persons engaged in activities to minimize
threats to human life qualify for the emergency service provider
endorsement.

Fiscal Effect

The fiscal effect of this rule making derives from that of 1995 Wis.
Act 269.  The Department has issued approximately 22,000
occupational licenses over the past few years and expects to issue
approximately the same number in the coming year.  This will result
in an increase to state revenues of approximately $440,000 as monies
that were paid to courts are directed to the Department.

The Department expects to incur one−time data processing costs
of at least $21,000, and forms development, revision and distribution
costs of $5,000.  The Department expects a workload increase of at
least 1.2 FTEs at a cost of approximately $37,500 and ongoing forms
costs of approximately $2,000 annually.
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Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule is not expected to affect small businesses.

Preparation and Copies of Proposed
Rule

Preparation of this proposed rule was done by Richard Kleist of the
Division of Motor Vehicles.  Copies of the emergency rule and the
proposed rule may be obtained upon request, without cost, by writing
to Richard Kleist, Department of Transportation, Bureau of Driver
Services, Room 301, P. O. Box 7920, Madison, WI  53707−7920, or
by calling (608) 266−2261.  Hearing−impaired individuals may
contact the Department using TDD (608) 266−0396.  Alternate
formats of the proposed rule will be provided to individuals at their
request.

Notice of Hearing
Department of Transportation

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 227.18, Stats., and
interpreting ss. 341.405, 341.43 and 341.45, Stats., the Department
of Transportation will hold a public hearing in Room 414 of the Hill
Farms State Transportation Building, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue,
Madison, Wisconsin on the 6th day of December, 1996, at
1:00 PM, to consider the amendment of ch. Trans 152, Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to Wisconsin Interstate Fuel Tax and the International
Registration Plan.

The public record on this proposed rule making will be held open
until December 13, 1996, to permit the submission of written
comments from persons unable to attend the public hearing or who
wish to supplement testimony offered at the hearing.  Any such
comments should be submitted to Steven R. Postler, Department of
Transportation, Bureau of Vehicle Services, Room 151, P. O. Box
7955, Madison, WI  53707−7955.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible entrance are
available on the north and south sides of the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  ss. 227.11(2), 227.18, 341.405
and 341.45(5)

STATUTES INTERPRETED:  ss. 341.405, 341.43 and 341.45

General Summary of Proposed Rule.  The purpose of this
proposed rule is to update rules that are used in the administration of
fuel use taxes for certain types of motor vehicles.  Essentially, this
proposed rule applies to vehicles that operate in Wisconsin at a weight
greater than 26,000 pounds.  Section 341.45(1g)(a), Stats., indicates
that qualified motor vehicles as described in this proposed rule must
pay tax on motor fuel used while operating in Wisconsin.  Since most
states collect fuel tax at the pump, Wisconsin would not receive tax on
fuel purchased out of state but used here.  The proposed rule updates
the policies and procedures used to collect fuel taxes on that fuel.

The proposed rule also codifies rules used in the administration of
the International Registration Plan (IRP).  Section 341.405, Stats.,

indicates the Secretary of Transportation shall do all things necessary
to effectuate the IRP adopted by the American Association of Motor
Vehicles Administrators, with such exceptions as are deemed
advisable and such changes as are necessary.  The IRP is an agreement
among states of the United States and provinces of Canada providing
for payment of heavy vehicle (18 wheel semi tractor−trailers for the
most part) registration fees based on the miles operated in each
member jurisdiction.

The concept of IRP is for interstate operators of heavy vehicles to
pay registration fees to IRP member jurisdictions based on the
percentage of total miles travelled in each IRP jurisdiction in which
they operate.  Interstate operators are required to file mileage reports
with the jurisdiction in which they are based.  The base jurisdiction
collects the registration fees due each member jurisdiction according
to the data on the mileage reports.  The base jurisdiction then forwards
the registration fees collected to each IRP member jurisdiction once
a month.

Trans 152 contains the following key provisions:

1. Trans 152.02 defines various terms pertaining to fuel tax
collection and to the administration of the IRP.

2. Trans 152.05 updates rules concerning a fuel tax license.

3. Trans 152.095 establishes rules concerning successor liability.

4. Trans 152.11 establishes rules concerning records requirements.

5. Trans 152.123 establishes rules concerning inadequate records.

6. Trans 152.124 establishes rules concerning a staggered
registration period.

7. Trans 152.125 establishes rules concerning issuance of
permanent IRP plates.

8. Trans 152.126 establishes rules concerning display of IRP
plates.

9. Trans 152.13 updates rules concerning audits and assessments.

10. Trans 152.16 establishes rules concerning jeopardy
assessments.

Fiscal Effect

Minimal fiscal effect is expected.  Ch. Trans 152 updates and
codifies procedures currently being used to collect fuel taxes and IRP
registration fees.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule will have no adverse impact on small
businesses.

Preparation and Copies of Proposed
Rule

Preparation of this proposed rule was done by Steven R. Postler.
Copies of the rule may be obtained upon request, without cost, by
writing to Steven R. Postler, Department of Transportation, Bureau of
Vehicle Services, Room 151, P. O. Box 7955, Madison, WI
53707−7955, or by calling (608) 266−3376.  Hearing−impaired
individuals may contact the Department using TDD (608) 266−0396.
Alternate formats of the proposed rule will be provided to individuals
at their request.
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NOTICE OF SUBMISSION OF PROPOSED RULES TO THE PRESIDING OFFICER OF

EACH HOUSE OF THE LEGISLATURE, UNDER S.  227.19, STATS.

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection 
(CR 96−149):

Ch. ATCP 77 − Relating to laboratory certification fees for
laboratories that test milk, food or water for compliance with
public health standards.

Commerce  (CR 96−99):
Chs. ILHR 20 and 21 − Relating to one− and two−family
dwelling construction in floodplains.

Commerce  (CR 96−144):
Chs. ILHR 63 and 64 − Relating to energy conservation and
ventilation.

Health & Family Services  (CR 92−55):
Ch. HSS 46 − Relating to group day care centers for children.

Health & Family Services  (CR 96−90):
Chs. HSS 101, 105 and 107 − Relating to Medical Assistance
(MA) reimbursement for provision of school−based health care
services.

Health & Family Services  (CR 96−124):
Ch. HSS 136 − Relating to embalming standards.

Health & Family Services  (CR 96−154):
Chs. HSS 105 and 107 − Relating to elimination of coverage
under the Medical Assistance (MA) program for services that
are medically unnecessary, including services and items that
enhance fertility in males or females.

Medical Examining Board  (CR 92−162):
Chs. Med 1 to 8, 19 and 20 and s. Med 14.03 − Relating to open
book examinations on statutes and rules, examination reviews
and claims of examination error, and requirements relating to
oral examinations by applicants.

Natural Resources  (CR 96−77):
Ch. NR 235 − Relating to the regulation of effluent limitations
and pretreatment standards for the organic chemicals, plastics
and synthetic fibers industry.

Natural Resources  (CR 96−78):
Ch. NR 233 − Relating to the regulation of wastewater effluent
limitations and pretreatment standards for the pesticide
chemicals industry.

Natural Resources  (CR 96−86):
SS. NR 439.01 and 484.04 and ch. NR 460 − Relating to
general provisions for emission standards for hazardous air
pollutants.

Natural Resources  (CR 96−87):
SS. NR 400.02, 400.03, 407.02, 407.03, 407.04, 423.02,
423.03, 460 Appendix T, 468.40 and 484.04 − Relating to
emission standards for hazardous air pollutants generated from
halogenated solvent cleaning operations.

Regulation & Licensing  (CR 96−130):
SS. RL 34.01 and 34.011 − Relating to conditions for
transporting firearms in vehicles by private security persons.

Regulation & Licensing  (CR 96−150):
Ch. RL 130 − Relating to examinations and continuing
education requirements for interior designers.

Revenue  (CR 96−75):
S. Tax 11.83 − Relating to the Wisconsin sales and use tax
treatment of motor vehicles.

Transportation  (CR 96−146):
SS. Trans 325.01, 325.02, 326.01 and 328.03 − Relating to
motor carrier safety regulations, motor carrier safety
requirements for transportation of hazardous materials, and
motor carrier safety requirements for intrastate transportation
of hazardous materials.

Transportation  (CR 96−147):
Ch. Trans 102 − Relating to driver license issuance.

Transportation  (CR 96−155):
S. Trans 269.11 (2a) − Relating to transportation of garbage or
refuse permits.

Workforce Development  (CR 96−140):
SS. HSS 55.70 to 55.77 and ch. DWD 56 − Relating to
administration of child care funds.

Workforce Development  (CR 96−141):
Ch. DWD 55 − Relating to child care certification.

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/149
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/99
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/144
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1992/55
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/90
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/124
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/154
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1992/162
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/77
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/78
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/86
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/87
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/130
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/150
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/75
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/146
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/147
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/155
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/140
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/141
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ADMINISTRATIVE   RULES   FILED   WITH   THE

REVISOR   OF   STATUTES   BUREAU

The following administrative rules have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication of these rules could be
delayed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at (608) 266−7275 for updated information on the effective dates for the listed
rules.

Commerce  (CR 96−89):
An order amending ss. ILHR 14.31 (3) (c) 1.,  ILHR 14.36
and ILHR 14.38, relating to the inspection of fire
extinguishing systems.

Effective 01−01−97.

Health & Family Services  (CR 96−120):
An order affecting s. HSS 146.03 (9), (10) and (11), relating
to vaccine−preventable diseases.

Effective 12−01−96.

Insurance, Commissioner of  (CR 96−37):
An order affecting s. Ins 6.20, relating to investments by
town mutual insurers.

Effective 01−01−97.

Securities, Commissioner of  (CR 96−128):
An order creating s. SEC 2.01 (1) (c) 5 and (d) 5, relating to
designating alternative accounting guidelines for the
preparation of financial statements for certain governmental
issuers of securities.

Effective 12−01−96.

Transportation  (CR 96−69):
An order affecting ch. Trans 128, relating to a traffic
violation and registration program.

Effective 01−01−97.

Transportation  (CR 96−117):
An order amending s. Trans 276.07 (4) and (7), relating to
allowing the operation of “double bottoms” (and certain
other vehicles) on certain specified highways.

Effective 12−01−96.

Workforce Development  (CR 95−70):
An order creating ch. DWD 75 (HSS 275), relating to appeal
procedures for persons applying for or receiving vocational
rehabilitation services.

Effective 01−01−97.

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/89
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/120
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/37
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/128
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/69
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/117
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1995/70
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N O T I C E  OF  N O N A C Q U I E S C E N C E

−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−

CONSOLIDATED PAPERS, INC.,                   :
                                  Petitioner,
v.                                                                         :

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE,
                                Respondent,                        :

Docket No. 95−M−126                                       :

−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−

Pursuant to sec. 73.01 (4) (e) 2, Stats., the respondent hereby gives notice that, although it is not appealing
the Order of the Tax Appeals Commission rendered in the above−captioned matter under date of October 2,
1996, it has adopted a position of nonacquiescence in regard to that decision or order.  The effect of this
action is that, although the decision or order is binding on the parties for the instant case, the Commission’s
conclusions of law, the rationale and construction of statutes in the instant case are not binding upon or
required to be followed by the respondent in other cases.
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