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12—month period is indeterminate. WisLaw™ End—user license and subscription order forms are available
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than one simultaneous user costs $99. A 12—month subscription plus a license for no more than 4 simulta-
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applicable, 0.5% county sales tax and 0.1% Wisconsin stadium sales tax.

Document Sales accepts credit card orders. Payments by check, money order, or credit card should be made
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son, Wisconsin 53707-7840. Telephone 1-800-362-7253.

Prior releases of WisLaw are still available; these CDs provide the end—user with research capabilities that
are available nowhere else. No on-line statutory research and retrieval system permits the researcher to
examine past versions of the Statutes. In many instances, the facts of the researcher’s case arose under and
are governed by statutes which are no longer current. WisLaw™ end—users can select the appropriate Wis-
Lawm release, insert it into a CD reader, and enjoy sophisticated search and retrieval capabilities in searching
the statutes in effect when the facts of the case arose. Prior releases of WisLaw™ may be licensed for the
discounted single simultaneous—user license fee of $30.00. Supplies are limited.

Now Also Available...

Chapters 48 and 938, 1993-94 Wis. Stats., updated through 1995 Wisconsin Act 469, are now available
through Document Sales. Phone 266—3358 or 800-362-7253 for pricing and ordering information.
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EMERGENCY RuUrLEs Now IN EFFECT

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate rules
without complying with the usual rule—making procedures. Using
this special procedure to issue emergency rules, an agency must find
that either the preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare necessitates its action in bypassing normal rule—making
procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state newspaper,
which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal. Emergency rules are
in effect for 150 days and can be extended up to an additional
120 days with no single extension to exceed 60 days.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice will
contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the agency finding
of emergency, date of publication, the effective and expiration dates,
any extension of the effective period of the emergency rule and
information regarding public hearings on the emergency rule.

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer
Protection

1. Rules were adopted creating s. ATCP 21.15, relating to
potato late blight.

Finding of Emergency

The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection finds, pursuant to s. 224.24 (1), Stats., that an
emergency rule is necessary to preserve the public peace, health,
safety or welfare. The following circumstances justify the
emergency rule:

1) In recent years, new forms of the highly virulent “Irish potato
famine” fungus, Phytophthora infestans, have caused increasingly
devastating losses to potato and tomato growers in the United States
and Canada. The fungus causes a disease of potato plants which is
commonly known as “late blight.”

2) The National Association of State Departments of
Agriculture reports that late blight epidemics in 1992, 1993 and
1994 were the worst in decades, and that some individual farm losses
have amounted to hundreds of thousands of dollars in a single year.
The University of Wisconsin estimates that Wisconsin growers lost
up to $10 million in 1994 and $6 million in 1995 due to late blight.

3) The potato industry is one of Wisconsin’s most important
agricultural industries. In 1995, Wisconsin was the 3rd leading state
in the nation in potato production. Cash receipts to Wisconsin potato
growers totalled over $150 million in 1995. Potatoes are an
important food source for the people of Wisconsin and other states.
Potato production also supports important processing and
distribution industries in Wisconsin. The uncontrolled spread of late
blight would have a devastating impact on Wisconsin potato
growers, and would seriously affect the public health, safety and
welfare.

4) Late blight appears on potato plant leaves, stems and tubers.
It causes foliar lesions which are followed by severe defoliation in

wet weather. It can also reduce marketable yield by directly
infecting and rotting potato tubers. Once late blight appears, it
spreads rapidly and can cause total crop loss.

5) Late blight fungal spores can be carried to other plants by
many things, including wind, rain, machinery, workers, wildlife and
infected seed potatoes. The University of Wisconsin reports that
spores can be transported over 25 miles by storms.

6) There are very few registered fungicides in the United States
that are effective in controlling the new forms of late blight fungus.

7) Because of the lack of registered fungicides, and the ease
with which the late blight fungus spreads, potato growers must
mitigate the spread of the disease by removing sources of the
overwintering inoculum. Among other things, potato growers must
properly dispose of potato cull piles and potato plants which
germinate from waste potatoes.

8) If individual potato growers fail to implement necessary
cultural practices to mitigate the spread of late blight, that failure
will have a potentially devastating impact on other growers and on
the Wisconsin potato industry as a whole.

9) In order to ensure that growers take adequate steps to mitigate
the spread of late blight, it is necessary to adopt rules that spell out
critical problems and establish sanctions for growers who fail to
comply. Because of the imminent threat of harm to the potato
industry, rules are urgently needed prior to the 1996 planting and
growing season.

10) Under normal rulemaking procedures, it is not possible for
the Department to adopt rules prior to the 1996 planting and growing
season. Pending the adoption of permanent rules, the following
emergency rules are needed to protect the public health, safety and
welfare, and to mitigate the spread of late blight during the 1996
planting and growing season.

Publication Date: May 1, 1996
Effective Date: May 1, 1996
Expiration Date: September 28, 1996
Hearing Dates: May 30, 1996

2. Rules adopted revising chs. ATCP 10 to 12, relating to
animal health.

Finding of Emergency

The state of Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection (“department”) finds that an emergency exists
and that an emergency rule is necessary to protect public health,
safety and welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as
follows:

(1) 1995 Wis. Act 79 was published December 8, 1995. Under
its provisions, no person may keep farm-raised deer in Wisconsin
after June 1, 1996, unless that person is registered with the
department.

(2) 1995 Wis. Act 79 requires the department to adopt rules
which specify the fee for registration. In addition, rules are
necessary to establish the mechanism for registration.

(3) Prior to 1995 Wis. Act 79, persons who kept farm—raised deer
were required to be licensed by the department of natural resources
(DNR). Many persons who keep farm—raised deer will have become
licensed with DNR for calendar year 1996. Those licenses will be
transferred to the department as registrations.

(4) Permanent rules implementing 1995 Wis. Act 79 will not take
effect until on or about January 1, 1997. This emergency rule
establishes an interim procedure for registering herds of farm-raised
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deer, pending the effective date of the permanent rules. Without this
emergency rule, no person would be able to start a farm—raised deer
herd in Wisconsin between June 1, 1996, and the effective date of
the permanent rules, because there would be no way to register that
herd.

(5) 1995 Wis. Act 79 also requires animal owners to provide a
means of testing those animals for tuberculosis without endangering
the animal or the person performing the test. In addition, a
non-statutory provision of that Act requires all keepers of
farm-raised deer to have the deer tested for tuberculosis between
December 8, 1995, and June 30, 1997.

(7) Concerns for the safety of farm—raised deer during testing
prohibit testing during significant periods of the year. For example,
deer should not be tested during the birthing season, the rut season
and the season in which the animals are in velvet. Therefore testing
is restricted to periods in late August to early October or during
January and February.

(8) The department anticipates that many keepers of farm—raised
deer will perform their testing in July, August or September of 1996,
before a permanent rule can be adopted. This emergency rule
establishes three alternative ways in which the animal owner can
insure the safety of the persons doing the testing. This is necessary
to insure the safety of the person conducting the test and to permit
the keeper of farm-raised deer to know what constitutes adequate
restraint of the animals.

(9) In September, 1995, the United States department of
agriculture adopted new regulations relating to identification and
slaughter shipment of bovines or cervidae which are reactors or
suspects for bovine tuberculosis. Wisconsin’s  current
administrative rules are in conflict with the current federal
regulations. This emergency rule will make Wisconsin’s rules
consistent with the federal regulations, so that persons who comply
with federal law will not be placed in violation of state law.

(10) In March 1996, the department was advised by the United
States department of agriculture that the Russian federation intends
to prohibit shipment of poultry meat into the Russian federation
from any state which does not require veterinarians to report the
presence of specific poultry diseases to the state animal health
agency. Wisconsin’s current administrative rules do not require
reporting of 5 of the diseases which concern the Russian federation.

(11) Wisconsin poultry producers ship poultry meat valued in
excess of $1 million per year to the Russian federation. By adopting
a provision requiring veterinarians to report the existence of 5
diseases to the department, the department will protect the poultry
producers’ export market in the Russian federation. The department
has proposed a permanent rule requiring reporting of the diseases.
This emergency rule protects the export market during the period
before the permanent rule is effective.

June 3, 1996
June 3, 1996
October 31, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Department of Corrections

Rules adopted creating s. DOC 309.05 (2)(d), relating to
inmate mail.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Corrections finds an emergency exists and
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health, safety or welfare. A statement of the facts constituting
the emergency is:

Wisconsin state prison inmates outgoing mail is generally not
reviewed or censored. Inmates have used mail to:

WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER No. 489

September 30, 1996

1. Contact the victims of their crimes, which has caused severe
emotional distress;

2. Threaten and harass elected officials, law enforcement
officers, and other persons; and

3. Defraud mail order and other businesses.

Since November 1, 1993, pursuant to Internal Management
Procedure #35, the department has stamped outgoing inmate mail to
indicate that the mail was sent from the Wisconsin state prison
system. IMP #35 was adopted to protect victims of crime, the
public, and businesses from inmate harassment and fraud.

The Wisconsin Court of Appeals ruled in an unpublished
decision that IMP #35 had to be promulgated as an administrative
rule.

In order to protect the public welfare of the state, it is necessary
for the department to adopt the following emergency rule to ensure
that victims of crime are not further victimized by inmate mail, that
members of the public are not threatened or harassed, and that
businesses are not defrauded.

August 15, 1996
August 15, 1996
January 12, 1997

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (3)

Health and Social Services
(Community Services, Chs. HSS 30--)

1. Rules were adopted revising ss. HSS 55.70 to 55.76,
relating to administration of child care funds.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

The Legislature in s. 275 (2) of 1995 Wis. Act 289 directed the
Department to promulgate rules relating to public assistance
required under chs. 46, 48 and 49, Stats., as affected by the Acts of
1995, before July 1, 1996, for the period before permanent rules take
effect, by using emergency rulemaking procedures but without
having to make a finding of emergency. These are public
assistance—related rules. They are for administration of health care
funds. They will take effect on July 1, 1996.

Analysis

The Department’s rules for county agency, tribal agency and
other child care administrative agency administration of funds for
child day care under s. 46.98, Stats., are revised by this order to bring
the rules into compliance with statute changes made by 1995 Wis.
Acts 27 and 289 and changes in federal regulations, including
federal regulations for child care and development block grant
funding, 45 CFR Parts 98 and 99, and at-risk child care, 45 CFR Part
257, since the rules were last revised in late 1991; to made policies
relating to eligibility for low—income child care more like child care
eligibility policies under the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills
(JOBS) training program under 42 USC 682 and s. 49.193, Stats.; to
prevent and deal with fraud; and to clarify the applicability of certain
policies.

Key changes are the following:
1. Income Eligibility

Income eligibility for low income child care is changed to be in
compliance with changes made in s. 46.98 (4), Stats., by Act 289.

2. Costs Charged to Parents

Parent co—payment responsibilities are revised to be those
established in state law based on family income and the cost of care.

3. Eligibility for Parents in Training or Educational Programs

Parent eligibility to received low—income child care funds when
the parents are in training or educational programs is modified so
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that only parents under 20 years of age enrolled in high school or an
equivalent program are eligible, in compliance with Act 289
changes in the statutes.

4. Loss of Eligibility

A local agency is permitted to determine that a parent is no longer
eligible for child care funds if the parent fails to make required
co—payments or provides false information to the agency about
income or other matters affecting eligibility.

5. Recovery of Funds

Rules are added in compliance with 1995 Wis. Act 27 to provide
for recovery of funds from a parent if the parent was not eligible for
child care funds, and for recovery of an overpayment made to a
provider when the provider is responsible for the overpayment.

6. Reimbursement

Local agencies are permitted to reimburse parents under certain
circumstances for the cost of health care services or to make funds
available to parents for the purchase of child care services, and local
agencies are directed when to reimburse child care providers on the
basis of authorized units of service or for days of attendance.

7. Authorized Child Care Providers

Local agencies are permitted to make payments, under certain
conditions, to child care providers who are not licensed or certified,
including:

a. When an AFDC recipient is involved in orientation,
enrollment or initial assessment in the JOBS program.

b. When child care is on—site and short—term for parents in
training or education programs.

c. When short—term care is needed for a child who is ill and not
allowed to receive care from a regulated provider.

8. Higher Rates for Higher Quality Care

Local agencies are required to pay higher for child care to
providers who meet higher quality of care standards, as allowed
under federal regulations.

9. Reimbursement Rate Categories

Reimbursement rates are required to two age categories and five
provider types, a change from earlier policy.

10. Elimination of Rules for Respite Child Care

Rules for respite child care are eliminated, now that there is no
longer a separate fund program. The 1995-97 state budget folded
funding for respite child care into general community aids
allocations for counties.

Publication Date:
Effective Date:

June 29, 1996
July 1, 1996

Expiration Date: November 28, 1996
2. Rules adopted revising ss. HSS 55.55 to 55.63, relating to
certification of child care providers.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

The Legislature in s. 275 (2) of 1995 Wis. Act 289 directed th
Department to promulgate rules relating to public assistance
required under chs. 46, 48 and 49, Stats., as affected by the Acts of
1995, before July 1, 1996, for the period before permanent rules take
effect, by using emergency rulemaking procedures but without
having to make a finding of emergency. These are public
assistance—related rules. They are for certified child care. They will
take effect on July 1, 1996.

Analysis

The Department’s current rules for certification of family day
care providers, in—home day care providers and school-age day care
programs are amended by this order to bring the rules into
compliance with recent statute changes, in particular the changes
made by 1995 Wis. Act 289 in establishing Wisconsin Works (W-2),
a new system of assistance for families with dependent children
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which will replace Aid to Families with Dependent Children
(AFDC), and to add needed protections for children, reduce or
eliminate unnecessary requirements and clarify the authority of
certifying agencies.
Key changes include:
1. Provisional Certification

Modifying standards for provisional certification so that no
training is required, in compliance with Act 289 changes in the
statutes.

2. Limited Certification

Deleting the category of limited certification, in compliance with
Act 289 changes in the statutes.

3. Training for Regular Certification

Deleting the optional requirement to add 5 hours of initial
training for regular certification, in order to standardize regulation
statewide.

4. Criminal Records Check

Adding requirements for state criminal records checks and FBI
criminal record check under certain circumstances, as required by
Act 289 changes in the statutes.

5. Certification Fee

Permitting counties and tribal agencies to charge certification
fees, as allowed under Act 289, not to exceed licensing fees for
family day care centers plus the cost of criminal record checks.

6. Acceptance of Certification

Providing that certification issued by one certifying agency is to
be accepted as valid by other certifying agencies.

7. Certification Exemption

Exempting specified child care arrangements from certification
because those arrangements are short—term.

8. Sanction Authority

Giving sanction authority to certifying agencies when there is
danger to the health, safety or welfare of children in care.

9. School-Age Programs

Adding requirements related to swimming pools and water
safety.

Adding requirements for the safety of vehicles transporting
children.

Deleting requirements for:

a. Physical exams for children and staff (replaced by a health
history requirement).

b. 75 square feet of outdoor space per child.

c. Daily outdoor activities.

d. A place for rest or relaxation.

e. Ongoing communication with the child’s parent.

f. Making copies of the certification standards available to all
parents.

10. Parochial and Private Schools
Deleting rules related to certification of parochial and private
schools since those programs can become licensed in order to
receive public child care funding.
11. Parent Checklist
Deleting the rules requirement that parents in certified family day
care and in—home day care complete and return a checklist of basic
certification standards but permitting counties and tribes to continue
to require it.
12. Other New or Changed Rules
a. Clarifying what is acceptable supervision and limiting the
number of hours a provider can provide child care per day.
b. Requiring TB tests for all certified providers.
c. Requiring proper hand washing for child care providers and
children.
d. Changing the water testing requirement when a public water
supply is not available to be a one—time test prior to or within 3
months of initial certification.



Page 8

e. Requiring certified providers to report relevant information
to the certifying agency.

f. Prohibiting consumption of alcoholic beverages or
controlled substances on the premises during hours of operation.

g. Prohibiting discrimination.

June 29, 1996

July 1, 1996
November 28, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

3. Rules adopted repealing s. HSS 55.76 (5), created as an
emergency rule relating to the administration of child care
funds and required co—payments.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Workforce Development finds that an
emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety and welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

Congress has just enacted welfare reform legislation which
makes major changes to the federal welfare system, in many cases
replacing federal entitlements with block grants to the states. The
Governor has directed the creation of a Child Care Working Group
to analyze the impact that the federal legislation will have on child
care in Wisconsin and on the Wisconsin works program, and to
analyze and identify effective methods and funding sources to
increase child care options and expand the availability of affordable
child care. Under these circumstances, it is necessary to withdraw
the schedule for child care co—payments and the phase—in
co—payment formula which were implemented by emergency rule
on July 1 of this year. This will avoid the administrative problems
and costs that would otherwise be incurred if these rules are changed
again as a result of the new federal law.

August 13,1996
August 13, 1996
January 10, 1997

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Health and Social Services
(Medical Assistance, Chs. HSS 100-)

Rules adopted revising chs. HSS 101, 105 and 107, relating to
Medical Assistance coverage of school-based medical
services.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

The Legislature in s. 9126 (7m) of 1995 Wis. Act 27 directed the
Department to promulgate rules required under s. 49.45 (39), Stats.,
as created by Act 27, by using emergency rulemaking procedures,
but exempted the Department from the requirement under s. 227.24
(1) and (3), Stats., to make a finding of emergency.

Analysis

The 1995-97 Budget Act, 1995 Wis. Act 27, created s. 49.45
(39), Stats., which requires the Department of Health and Social
Services to reimburse school districts and Cooperative Educational
Service Agencies (CESAs) for Medical Assistance school-based
services. this rule-making order describes the covered services:
speech, language, audiology and hearing services; occupational
therapy; physical therapy; nursing services; psychological services,
counseling and social work; developmental testing and
assessments; transportation; and certain durable medical
equipment. the order also explains the recordkeeping collaboration
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with other health care providers required of school-based service
providers.

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

June 15, 1996
June 15, 1996
November 12, 1996

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (3)

Health and Social Services
(Health, Chs. HSS 110--)

1. Rules adopted revising chs. HSS 172, 175, 178, 195 to
198, relating to permits and permit fees.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health & Social Services finds that an
emergency exists and that the adoption of the rules is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public, peace, health, safety or
welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The Department and agent local government health departments
regulate campgrounds, camps, the operation of swimming pools that
serve the public, restaurants, hotels and motels, tourist rooming
houses, bed and breakfast establishments and food vending
operations, under the authority of ss. 254.47 and 254.61 to 254.88,
Stats., to ensure that these facilities comply with health, sanitation
and safety standards established by the Department by rule. The
Department’s rules are in chs. HSS 172, 175, 178, 195, 196, 197 and
198, Wis. Adm. Code. None of these facilities may operate without
receiving a permit from the Department or an agent local
government health department. A permit is evidence that a facility
complies with the Department’s rules on the date of issuance of the
permit. All permits except those for bed and breakfast
establishments are one—year permits. A facility is charged a permit
fee. Permit fee revenues support the regulatory program.

In 1993 the Budget Act for 1993-95 directed the Department to
establish permit fees by rule beginning July 1, 1994. Until then the
fees had been set by statute.

This rulemaking order increases permit fees effective July 1,
1996, by about 10% for campgrounds; recreational and educational
camps; swimming pools that serve the public; restaurants; hotels,
motels and tourist rooming houses; bed and breakfast
establishments; and food vending operators and commissaries. It
also increases preinspection fees for restaurants; hotels, motels and
tourist rooming houses; bed and breakfast establishments; and food
vending commissaries.

The fees are increased to cover higher costs for these regulatory
programs.

The rules are being promulgated as emergency rules to protect
public health and safety. The fee increases will take effect on July 1,
1996, which is the beginning of a new permit period. Raising the fees
as provided in this order will enable the Department to avoid running
a deficit in program revenue and so avoid having to reduce
inspections of food—serving, lodging and recreational facilities and
taking longer to respond to foodborne and waterborne disease
outbreaks.

The fees established by this order do not apply to facilities
regulated by local health departments granted agent status under
s. 254.69, Stats. Permit fees for those facilities are established by the
local health departments, pursuant to s. 254.69 (2) (d), Stats.

June 8, 1996

July 1, 1996
November 28, 1996
August 28, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

2. Rules adopted revising ch. HSS 172, relating to public
swimming pools.
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Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health and Social Services finds that an
emergency exists and that the rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows:

The Department and agent local government health departments
regulate the operation of public swimming pools under the authority
of s. 257.47, Stats, to ensure that these facilities comply with health,
sanitation and safety standards established by the Department by
rule. The Department rules are in ch. HSS 172, Wis. Adm. Code. No
public swimming pool may operate without having a permit from
the Department or an agent local government health department.

This rulemaking order clarifies and updates the definition of
public swimming pool, updates requirements for lifeguards and
adds rescue tubes as required lifeguard equipment.

Section 254.47 91), Stats., directs the Department to define
“public swimming pool,” in rule, for purposes of the regulatory
program. The current rule definition has not been changes for many
years and has some resulting ambiguity, one reason being that some
types of facilities are called by new names.

The requirements under s. HSS 172.05 (2) (a)3. for lifeguard
certification have to be modified due to changes in American Red
Cross and the American Heart Association courses. The rules
changes will ensure that all lifeguards are qualified to fulfill their
duties as specified in ch. HSS 172. The exception under s. HSS
172.05 (2) (c) to lifeguard certification for persons holding a current
American Red Cross Water Safety Instructor certificate is removed.
This is because the American Red Cross Water Safety Instructor
certification course no longer includes course work in lifesaving
methods. The change, however, will allow persons currently
certified under the old program to the use of that certification until
it expires.

New lifeguard training incorporates use of rescue tubes. These
tubes are therefore made required equipment when lifeguards are
provided.

These changes are needed to protect the health and assure the
safety of persons using public swimming pools.

June 22, 1996
June 22, 1996
November 19, 1996
August 28, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

3. Rules adopted revising chs. HSS 124, 132 and 134,
relating to fees for certain facility construction plans.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health & Social Services finds that an
emergency exists and that the adoption of the rules is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

Until the enactment of the State Budget for 1995-97, 1995 Wis.
Act 27, construction plans for nursing homes, hospitals and facilities
for the developmentally disabled (FDDs) were subject to review and
approval by two state agencies. The Department of Industry, Labor
and Human Relations (DILHR) reviewed the plans for conformance
to the State Building Code, chs. ILHR 50—64. The Department of
Health and Social Services (DHSS), the licensing agency, reviewed
the plans for conformance to the Life Safety Code as adopted by
reference in chs. HSS 124, 132 and 134. Act 27 provided for
consolidation of plan review and approval responsibility in the
Department of Health and Social Services effective October 1, 1995.
On that date, DILHR’s nursing home and hospital facilities
construction plan review responsibility and functions were
transferred to DHSS. The State Building Code, however, remained
a DILHR responsibility because it applies to other buildings in
addition in addition to those health care facilities.

Through this rulemaking order, the Department is establishing
hospital, nursing home and FDD construction plan review fees that,
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as required by ss. 50.02 (2) (b) and 50.36 (2), Stats., as affected by
Act 27, are less than the sum of the amount that were charged on
September 30, 1995, by the Department for review under ch. 50,
Stats., and by DILHR for review under ch. 101, Stats.

For the period October 1, 1995 through, at the latest, June 30,
1996, s. 9126 of Act 27 authorized the Department to collect fees for
the new consolidated review of hospital, nursing home and FDD
construction plans that were equal to the sum of the fees collectible
on September 30, 1995, when the two state agencies were reviewing
the plans separately. By July 1, 1996, the Department was expected
to have the new fee schedule in effect in the form of administrative
rules.

The Department is publishing these rules as emergency rules so
that the Department can continue to collect the necessary fees
revenue for consolidated review of hospital, nursing home and FDD
construction plans which will enable the Department to continue
consolidated review of those plans. Fee revenue supports plan
review. Without provision in rule for collecting fees for review plans
for compliance with the State Building Code, the Department cannot
continue doing that review pending the promulgation of permanent
rules. This would mean delay in approval given to projects, which
could delay improvements in health care for hospitals, patients and
nursing home and FDD residents. Proposed permanent rules will not
take effect for several months because it has taken the Department
a long time to develop the policies and procedures included in the
rules and these had to be developed before the lengthy process for
making permanent rules could begin.

Included in this order, in addition to fees for consolidated plan
review, are amendments to the Department’s rules for hospitals,
nursing homes and FDDs that incorporate by reference the State
Building Code and make clear that it is now the Department that
reviews hospital, nursing home and FDD construction plans for
compliance with the State Building Code.

June 29, 1996

July 1, 1996
November 28, 1996
August 30, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Health & Social Services
(Economic Support, Chs. HSS 200-)

Rules were adopted revising chs. HSS 201 and 206, relating
to pay for performance demonstration project under the
AFDC program.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

The Legislature in s. 12 (2) and (3) of 1995 Wis. Act 12 permitted
the Department to promulgate the rules required under s. 49.193
(3m) and (9m), Stats., as created by Act 12, by using emergency
rulemaking procedures but without having to make a finding of
emergency. They will take effect on March 1, 1996.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of
Health and Social Services

Under s. 49.19, Stats., families inquiring about the Aid to
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program are
immediately encouraged to apply for assistance without exploring
possible alternatives to welfare. Once determined eligible, many
families come to consider the AFDC program a program of
long—term financial support, sometimes spanning generations. Yet
AFDC was originally meant to be a temporary, emergency program.

Wisconsin has obtained approval from the Food and Consumer
Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture and from the
Administration for Children and Families of the U.S. Department of
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Health and Human Services to conduct a Pay for Performance (PFP)
demonstration project beginning March 1, 1996. The major
objective of the Pay for Performance demonstration project is to
focus on freedom from public assistance by encouraging immediate
attachment to the work force and helping families explore
alternatives to AFDC before becoming dependent on AFDC. The
demonstration project will be conducted statewide except in Dane,
Dodge, Jefferson and Waukesha counties. In those counties
individuals may be assigned to a control group which will be exempt
from the demonstration project requirements to permit evaluation of
the demonstration project. Statutory authority for the Department to
operate two related demonstration projects, Self—Sufficiency First
and Pay for Performance, was included in 1995 Wis. Act 12. Under
the federal government’s terms and conditions of approval for
demonstration project, the Department is now calling the combined
project Pay for Performance.

The first component of the Pay for Performance demonstration
project encourages alternatives to AFDC through services of a
financial planning resource specialist (FPRS) and up—front job
search. This component is directed at helping applicants identify
alternatives to AFDC, facilitating immediate orientation and
referral to the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills (JOBS) program
and requiring job search before receiving AFDC. Cooperation is
made an AFDC eligibility requirement. An individual who fails
without good cause to cooperate with these requirements will be
ineligible to receive AFDC benefits for himself or herself and his or
her family.

For an individual who becomes an AFDC recipient after
fulfilling the applicant job search requirements, there is a second
component of the Pay for Performance demonstration project. This
requires the JOBS case manager to design an employability plan for
the recipient that focuses on employment at the earliest opportunity
and requires the recipient to participate in a set number of hours of
participation in JOBS program activities or work to maintain AFDC
eligibility. Failure, without good cause, to maintain participation as
assigned will result in sanctions in the next possible month based on
the number of hours missed without good cause multiplied by the
federal minimum wage. Failure to participate in at least 25% of the
assigned hours will result in no AFDC benefits being paid for that
month and a reduction to $10 in food stamp benefits.

These are the rules for the implementation of the Pay for
Performance demonstration project.

March 1, 1996
March 1, 1996

July 29, 1996

April 16, 1996
September 26, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:
Extension Through:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Industry, Labor & Human Relations
(Uniform Dwellings, Chs. ILHR 20-25)

Rules adopted revising chs. ILHR 20 and 21, relating to one—
and two—family dwellings constructed in flood hazard
zones.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Industry, Labor and Human Relations finds
that an emergency exists and that the adoption of the rule is
necessary for the immediate preservation of public health, safety
and welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has
informed some municipalities that it will no longer allow variances
to a local ordinance that prohibits the construction of homes in flood
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fringe areas where the foundation extends below the base flood
elevation. FEMA regulations allow this type of construction in some
locations but require the construction to meet a suitable building
code. The Uniform Dwelling Code, which regulates new home
construction in Wisconsin, has never addressed this issue. FEMA’s
actions have halted some residential projects, causing serious
financial hardship for those affected Wisconsin builders and
residents.

The proposed rules add requirements to the Uniform Dwelling
Code for construction in flood fringe areas in order to meet FEMA
requirements. The primary source of these rules is the National
Building Code published by Building Officials and Code
Administrators International, Incorporated (BOCA).

Publication Date: May 8, 1996
Effective Date: May 8, 1996
Expiration Date: October 5, 1996
Hearing Date: July 17, 1996

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Industry, Labor & Human Relations

(Building & Heating, etc., Chs. ILHR 50-64)
(Multi-Family Dwellings, Ch. ILHR 66)

Rule adopted delaying the effective date of a rule revision to
portions of chs. ILHR 50 to 64 and 66, relating to energy
efficiency.

Note: A lawsuit has been filed challenging the validity of this
emergency rule action.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Industry, Labor and Human Relations finds
that an emergency exists and that the adoption of a rule is necessary
for the immediate preservation of public health, safety and welfare.
The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

1.0n August 8, 1995, the Department adopted revised rules
relating to ventilation and energy conservation in public buildings
and places of employment. The purpose of these rules was to
improve indoor air quality in buildings and to comply with the
federal Energy Policy Act of 1992 which requires all states to revise
their commercial building codes to meet or exceed the American
Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning
Engineers/Illuminating  Engineering Society (ASHRAE/IES)
standard 90.1-1989. The rules went into effect on April 1, 1996.

2.Information has been recently provided to the Department that
indicates that two of the provisions of the rules will cause excessive
costs for building owners without commensurate benefit.

3.The emergency rule is being promulgated to avoid economic
hardship caused by imposing unnecessary building construction and
operating costs on building owners and operators.

Emergency Rule Analysis

The emergency rule will delay the effective date of the Energy
Conservation related and Heating, Ventilating and Air Conditioning
related rules for one year to give the Department and its advisory
committee time to study the effect of the rules and make any
necessary changes.

Publication Date: April 6, 1996
Effective Date: April 6, 1996
Expiration Date: September 3, 1996
Hearing Date: May 28, 1996

Extension Through: November 1, 1996
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EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Industry, Labor & Human Relations

[Workforce Development]
(Labor Standards, Chs. ILHR 270-279)

Rules adopted revising ch. ILHR 272, relating to the
minimum wage.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Workforce Development finds that an
emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety and welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The minimum wage set by federal law will be raised to $4.75 per
hour effective October 1, 1996. The federal minimum wage covers
many but not all of the employers and employes in the state, and it
is not always easy for a particular employer to know if it is covered
by state or federal law. If the state did not act quickly to adjust its
minimum wage rules in response to the change in federal law, many
employers and employes would be subjected to confusion and
uncertainty in the calculation and payment of wages.

August 28, 1996
October 1, 1996
February 28, 1997

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (5)

Natural Resources
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1--)

1. Rules adopted amending s. NR 20.038, relating to special
size and bag limits for the Lac du Flambeau reservation.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Natural Resources finds that an emergency
exists and rules are necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare. A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is:

The department has recently come to an interim agreement with
the Lac du Flambeau band regarding their off-reservation harvest
goals. This rule change is needed for the 1996 fishing season in order
to meet our obligation in the agreement, thus, an Emergency Order
is required. This agreement will promote preservation and
protection of public peace, safety, and welfare in the ceded territory
of Wisconsin by minimizing regional social and economic
disruption known to be associated with reductions in walleye bag
limits on off—reservation waters. Pursuant to litigation arising form
Lac Courte Oreilles v. Voight, 70 F. 2d 341 (7th Cir. 1983), the
Chippewa bands of Wisconsin, which includes the Lac du
Flambeau, have the right to take walleye from off-reservation
waters using efficient methods such as spearing and netting. The Lac
du Flambeau have made initial 1996 harvest declarations for
off—reservation lakes that are sufficiently high to require the
department to reduce the daily bag limit to 0 on several lakes,
consistent with the formula of s. NR 20.037. The Lac du Flambeau
have agreed to reduce harvest declarations to a level commensurate
with a daily bag limit of 2 walleye this year and a daily bag limit of
3 in future years, provided that the state reduces its daily bag limits
for walleye to 3, with a minimum length limit of 18" and increase
the muskellunge minimum length limit to 40 on waters within the
Lac du Flambeau reservation. The state has agreed to do so in order
to provide more socially acceptable sports fishing opportunity on
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off—reservation waters. This will lessen tensions caused by severely
reduced bag limits and will assist local businesses dependent on the
sport fishery.
Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

May 3, 1996

May 3, 1996
September 30, 1996
June 12, 1996

2. Rules were adopted revising chs. NR 10 and 11, relating to
the 1996 deer hunting seasons.

Finding of Emergency

The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., is
necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect the public
welfare. This emergency rule is needed to control deer populations
that are significantly over goal levels in order to prevent substantial
deer damage to agricultural lands and to minimize deer nuisance
problems, thereby protecting the public peace, health, safety or
welfare. Normal rule-making procedures will not allow the
establishment of these changes by August 1. Failure to modify our
rules will result in the failure to provide hunting opportunity and
comply with administrative rules.

May 3, 1996
August 12, 1996
January 9, 1997
June 11, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

3. Rules adopted amending ss. NR 20.02 (1) (c) and 25.05
(1) (e), relating to sport and commercial fishing for yellow
perch in lake Michigan.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Natural Resources finds that an emergency
exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The yellow perch population in Lake Michigan is rapidly
declining. This decline reflects six consecutive years of extremely
poor reproduction. Sport and commercial harvests of adult yellow
perch must be limited immediately in order to maximize the
probability of good reproduction in the near future.

July 1, 1996

July 1, 1996
November 28, 1996
August 14 & 15, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Dates:

4. Rules adopted revising emergency rules relating to the
1996 deer hunting seasons

Finding of Emergency

The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., is
necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect the public
welfare. This emergency rule is needed to control deer populations
that are significantly over goal levels in order to prevent substantial
deer damage to agricultural lands and to minimize deer nuisance
problems, thereby protecting the public peace, health, safety or
welfare. Normal rule-making procedures will not allow the
establishment of these changes by August 1. Failure to modify our
rules will result in the failure to provide hunting opportunity and
comply with administrative rules.

August 9, 1996
August 12, 1996
January 9, 1997
September 12, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

5. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 10, relating to the 1996
migratory game bird season.
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Finding of Emergency

The emergency rules procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., is
necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect the public
welfare. The federal government and state legislature have
delegated to the appropriate agencies rule—making authority to
control the hunting of migratory birds. The State of Wisconsin must
comply with federal regulations in the establishment of migratory
bird hunting seasons and conditions. Federal regulations are not
made available to this state until mid—August of each year. This
order is designed to bring the state hunting regulations into
conformity with the federal regulations. Normal rule—making
procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes by
September 1. Failure to modify our rules will result in the failure to
provide hunting opportunity and continuation of rules which
conflict with federal regulations.

September 3, 1996
September 3, 1996
Expiration Date: January 31, 1997

Hearing Date: October 14, 1996
[See Notice this Register]

Publication Date:
Effective Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Public Instruction

1. Rules adopted revising ch. PI 11, relating to dispute
resolution concerning children with exceptional
educational needs between school boards and parents.

Finding of Emergency

Wisconsin is required under state and federal law to provide a due
process hearing system for the resolution of special education
disputes between parents and school districts. 1996 Wis. Act 431
will significantly revise that process and will require the department
rather than school districts to conduct the due process hearings.
Although the Act outlines the process, it does not fully describe the
manner in which hearings are to be initiated, the manner in which
hearing officers will be appointed, their qualifications and duties.
The current rules addressing those issues will not apply under the
new statutory process. It is, therefore, necessary to adopt an
emergency rule addressing these issues so that the due process
hearing system will remain available to parents and districts when
the Act becomes effective.

June 25, 1996

June 25, 1996
November 22, 1996
September 9 & 10, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Dates:

2. Rules were adopted revising ch. PI 11, relating to the
handicapping condition of significant developmental
delay.

Finding of Emergency

1995 Wis. Act 298 adds an alternative category of significant
developmental delay for the identification of disabled preschoolers
when the diagnosis is not clear. The Act becomes effective July 1 and
requires the department to conduct inservice training for early
childhood special education teachers and directors and pupil
services personnel in identifying children with significant
development delay to ensure that only children meeting the criteria
established by the department by rule are so identified.

In order to establish identification criteria under the significant
developmental delay category and in order to conduct the required
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training sessions prior to the 199697 school year, rules must be in
place as soon as possible.

July 31, 1996

July 31, 1996
December 28, 1996
September 9 & 10, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Dates:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT
Securities

Rules adopted creating s. SEC 2.01 (1) (¢) 5 and (d) 5,
relating to designating alternative accounting guidelines
for the preparation of financial statements for certain
governmental issuers of securities.

Finding of Emergency

The Office of the Commissioner of Securities for the State of
Wisconsin finds that an emergency exists and that rules are
necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare. A statement of the facts constituting the
emergency follows:

A. Background Information Regarding Predecessor Emergency
Rules Issued in 1982 and 1994.

Chapter 53, laws of 1981, took effect on January 1, 1982 and
provided that the exemption from registration under s. 551.22 (1),
Stats., for securities (other than revenue obligations) issued by any
state or any local subdivision of the state or any agency or corporate
or other instrumentality thereof, will be available “...only if the
issuer’s financial statements are prepared according to generally
accepted accounting principles or guidelines which the
commissioner designates by rule.” The purpose of that statutory
provision was to insure that financial statements prepared by
governmental entities relating to their debt securities offerings are
based on some recognized uniform accounting standards in order
that a potential public investor can make a fully—informed and
well-reasoned decision whether to purchase such debt securities.

As a result of the amendments created by Chapter 53, Laws of
1981, those governmental issuers of general obligation securities
after January 1, 1982 that did not have their current financial
statements prepared totally according to generally accepted
accounting principles (“GAAP”), would not be able to utilize the
securities registration exemption in s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., for the
sale of their securities to the general investing public. Rather, those
governmental issuers of such securities first would have had to
obtain a registration which involves an extensive filing and review
process under the Wisconsin Uniform Securities Law or,
alternatively, make a regulatory filing under a registration
exemption in order to offer the securities to the general public.

At the time the amendment to s. 551.22 (1) of the Stats., was
enacted in 1982, many governmental issuers did not prepare their
financial statements totally in accordance with GAAP. The result of
the statutory change would have posed a hardship on those issuers
of governmental general obligation securities subject to the
full-GAAP financial statement requirement due to the time it would
take for governmental issuers to be able to have their financial
statements prepared totally according to GAAP.

To alleviate any disruption to the borrowing plans of
governmental issuers of securities and the municipal securities
marketplace, the Wisconsin Commissioner of Securities office
promulgated emergency rules in 1982 that included the designation
of alternative accounting guidelines (from full-GAAP) for the
preparation of financial statements for certain governmental issuers
of securities. The alternative (to full-GAAP) accounting guidelines
were set forth by emergency rule in s. SEC 2.01 (1) (c) 2 and 3 for
financial statements for fiscal years ending on or before December
31, 1985. [which was extended in later years by subsequent rule to
December 31, 1990] which were either: (i) prepared in accordance
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with GAAP, but which were qualified for the fixed asset group or (ii)
prepared in compliance with accounting guidelines or procedures
mandated by state law or by rule of any state agency or
recommended by any state agency. Additional emergency rule
subsections under s. SEC 2.01 (1) (d) adopted in 1982 provided the
method of determining accounting principles and guidelines.

Similar action to adopt emergency rules was taken in 1994 by the
Commissioner of Securities Office after being informed by
representatives of Wisconsin municipal/governmental securities
issuers, bond attorneys and certified public accountant firms that the
Governmental Accounting Standards Board (“GASB”) had issued
in June 1991 Statement No. 14: “The financial reporting entity.”
GASB Statement No. 14 requires that housing authorities and other
types of  authorities, commissions or  boards  of
municipal/governmental entities (referred to as “component units’)
be included in the financial statements of the particular
municipal/governmental entity in order for such financial
statements to be considered “full-GAAP” without qualification.
GASB Statement No. 14 became effective accounting periods
beginning after December 31, 1992.

The parties who informed the Commissioner’s Office regarding
GASB Statement No. 14 stated that GASB Statement No. 14 would
have an immediate, negative impact on the availability or use of the
registration exemption in s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., by those
governmental/municipal securities issuers who had component
units that would be subject to GASB Statement No. 14 and who
heretofore have had their general purpose financial statements
prepared in full compliance with GAAP. In particular, auditors for
such municipal/governmental issuers with component units subject
to GASB statement No. 14 generally would no longer be able to
issue unqualified opinions for general purpose financial of
municipal governmental issuers——namely, that such financial are
prepared, totally and without qualification, on the basis of generally
accepted accounting principles. Two areas of concern in that regard
where identified by the auditor groups, and with respect to each of
the two areas, although the auditors could include unaudited
information regarding such component units in the governmental
issuers’ general purpose financial statements, the auditor’s opinion
would have to be qualified, thus precluding use of the s. 551.22 (1)
(a) exemption on a self—executing basis for offers and sales of the
governmental issuers’ securities to the public.

Therefore, in similar fashion to emergency rule—making action
taken by the agency in 1982, and for the purpose of alleviating
disruption that would occur to the near—term borrowing/bonding
plans of governmental issuers of securities claiming registration
exemption status under s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., and because it would
require a period of time for those governmental issuers to be able to
have their financial statements prepared according to full-GAAP
including the additional requirement under GASB Statement No. 14
(which necessitates having the audit report include all “component
units” of a governmental/municipal issuer), the Office of the
Wisconsin Commissioner of Securities, in consultation with
representatives of municipal issuers, municipal bond dealers,
financial advisors, bond attorneys and certified public accountant
groups, promulgated emergency rules that: (i) designated (in
current subpar. (¢)2) as an alternative accounting guideline, GAAP
but where the auditor’s opinion is qualified with respect to the
omission of component units required to be included by GASB
Statement No. 14; (ii) designated (in current subpar. (c)3) as an
alternative accounting guideline, GAAP but where the auditor’s
opinion is qualified with respect to the unaudited financial
statements of an included component unit; and (iii) designated (in
current subpar. (c)4) as an alternative accounting guideline, GAAP
but where the auditor’s opinion is qualified with respect to the
general purpose financial statements for component units whose
securities financial statements are not presented in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles, but which are included in
the reporting entity in accordance with GASB Statement No. 14.

B. Recent Accounting Developments Warranting Present
Emergency rule Treatment.

The Commissioner’s Office was recently informed by
representatives of various Wisconsin governmental securities
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issuers (principally with respect to Wisconsin public school district
and Wisconsin vocational school district issuers of debt securities),
bond attorneys, and certified public accounting firms that
interpretations by the Governmental Accounting Standards Board
(“GASB”) through its staff with respect to accounting treatment for
property tax recognition may cause many Wisconsin public school
districts and vocational school districts to have the audit opinions for
their financial statements qualified with respect to the deferral of
taxes. The existence of a qualified audit opinion would preclude use
of the s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., registration exemption on a use of the
s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., registration exemption on a self—executing
basis for offers and sales of a school district’s debt securities to the
public.

The specific accounting issue involves interpretation of the
current accounting standard for property tax recognition established
by the National Council on Governmental Accounting (“NCGA”)
Interpretation 3 “Revenue Recognition——Property Taxes.” The
accounting interpretation issue is presented as a result of the
interplay of the following two factors: (1) most public school and
vocational school districts operate on (and their financial statements
are prepared on) a July 1 to June 30 fiscal year; (2) the Wis. Statutes
authorize the various Wisconsin local units of government to allow
the payment of property taxes (which provide the funding for
payment of public school and vocational school district debts and
obligations) to be made in installments on January 1 and July 31 of
a given year (for example 1996) relating to taxes levied (in the 1996
example given) for a school district’s fiscal year extending from
July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1996.

Because the July 31 date for payment of the second property tax
installment is after the June 30 fiscal year for the school districts, the
staff of the GASB in communications with representatives of
Wisconsin accounting organizations and school district associations
on the issue, set forth the GASB staff’s view that the July 31 tax
installment revenues may not be recognized for purposes for fiscal
years ending the preceding June 30. As a result, auditors for
Wisconsin public school districts and vocational school districts
would need to show in such school districts’ financial statements,
deferred revenue for the July 31 installment property taxes. Despite
requests for reconsideration, the GASB staff has not changed its
position.

Such GASB staff interpretation has resulted in property tax
revenue and fund balance amounts as shown in most Wisconsin
school districts’ audit reports being different from that required to
be shown in such districts’ Annual Reports and budget documents,
thus causing confusion as to what a particular district’s financial
position actually is. The State of Wisconsin Department of Public
Instruction believes that the GASB staff interpretation, in the
context of the Wisconsin statutes governing the timing of property
tax levies and payments, does not result in appropriate school
district revenue and fund balance financial statement presentations.

As a consequence, Wisconsin public school and vocational
school districts may be requesting that their external auditors
prepare their district’s audited financial without showing deferred
revenue for uncollected property taxes——which may result in the
auditor issuing a qualified opinion. The issuance of such a qualified
audit opinion would preclude use of the s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats.,
registration exemption on a self—executing basis for offers and sales
in Wisconsin of the school district’s debt securities to the public.

Therefore, in similar fashion to emergency rule—making action
taken by the agency in 1982 and 1994, and for the purpose of
alleviating disruption that would occur to the near—term
borrowing/bonding plans of governmental school district issuers
that regularly claim exemption status under s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats.,
for the offer and sale in Wisconsin of their debt securities, the Office
of the Wisconsin Commissioner of Securities, in consultation with
representatives of school district issuers, bond attorneys and
accounting groups, is adopting these emergency rules designating
an alternative—to—full-GAAP financial statement provision to deal
with this accounting issue to enable school district issuers to
continue to use the exemption in s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., on a
self—executing basis.

The emergency rule created in s. SEC 2.01 (1) (c)5 designates as
a permitted alternative accounting guideline for purposes of use of



Page 14

the registration exemption in s. 551.22 (1) (a), Stats., GAAP, but
where the auditor’s opinions is qualified with respect to the
recognition of property tax revenue. The emergency rule created in
s. SEC 2.01 (1) (d)S provides that the auditor’s opinion with respect
to the financial statements of a school district issuer covered by the
emergency rule in s. SEC 2.01 (1) (c¢)5 must contain language
corresponding to the qualification language in s. SEC 2.01 (1) (c)5.

June 24, 1996

July 1, 1996
November 28, 1996
September 4, 1996

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT
Transportation

Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 269, relating to
transportation of garbage or refuse permits.
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Finding of Emergency

The Department of Transportation finds that an emergency exists
and that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, safety and welfare. A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is: Interstate status of this portion of
[-39 that had been USH 51 became effective upon completion of
signage. Signage was completed on August 23, 1996. Without this
emergency rule in place, overweight movement of garbage, which
had been allowed, will no longer be allowed on this highway
segment, while overweight movement of scrap will be allowed. This
will force garbage trucks to move on surface streets, creating safety
hazards for other traffic and creating economic hardship for garbage
haulers (and municipalities which pay for garbage and refuse
hauling), as there are no nearby detours paralleling this stretch of
highway.

Publication Date: September 9, 1996

September 9, 1996
February 6, 1997
October 30, 1996

Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

Hearing Date:
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STATEMENTS OF SCOPE OF PROPOSED RULES

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection

Subject:

S. ATCP 139.04 (11) — Designating gaseous hydrocarbons as
banned hazardous substances when intended for use as refrigerants in
mobile air conditioners.

Description of policy issues:
Preliminary objectives:

Prohibit the sale, distribution and use of HC—12a, a highly
flammable, hydrocarbon—based substance, that is marketed as a
replacement refrigerant for motor vehicle air conditioning systems.
This rule will continue to allow refrigerant substitutes which are
properly labeled and intended for specific end uses approved by the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and which meet recognized
industry standards related to flammability for that specific end use.
Indirectly, this rule will also implement refund requirements under
s. 100.37 (7), Stats., for automotive retail businesses and others who
unknowingly purchase any banned product inventory.

Preliminary policy analysis:

Under s. 100.45, Stats., the Department administers and enforces
regulations governing the repair and servicing of mobile air
conditioners and trailer refrigeration equipment, and the safe and
proper usage, recovery and recycling of ozone—depleting refrigerants
and their substitutes.

As part of its investigative authority, the Department identified a
distribution network in Illinois that solicited Wisconsin businesses to
sell and market HC—12a in this state. In addition, the Department has
found a Wisconsin car sales business with a large inventory of this
product.

HC-12a is packaged and sold by an Idaho—based corporation. The
product is labeled as containing liquefied petroleum gas, and is being

marketed and sold as an “ozone safe”, “natural organic refrigerant” for
use in motor vehicle air conditioning and refrigeration systems.

In June, 1995, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency through
its authority under the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments issued a final
rule prohibiting the use of HC—12a as a substitute for R—12, an
ozone—depleting refrigerant commonly used in motor vehicle air
conditioning and other systems. The federal rule prohibited this and
a previously—marketed product, called OZ-12, as refrigerant
substitutes in all end uses other than industrial process refrigeration
due to insufficient product safety data provided by the manufacturer.
This federal decision was based, in part, on public safety concerns
expressed by the automotive industry, various trade associations and
state regulators on the use of flammable refrigerants in currently
designed motor vehicle air conditioning systems.

The Idaho company has continued to market and distribute these
products in many states, arguing that the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency only has authority under the Federal Clean Air Act
Amendments to regulate ozone—depleting refrigerants and substitutes
to these refrigerants. The Idaho company contends that HC—12a is
being distributed and sold as a “second generation” refrigerant
substitute, or as a substitute for a substitute refrigerant.

HC-12a is an extremely flammable substance, as determined by
the American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM), the
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning
Engineers (ASHRAE), and Underwriter’s Laboratories. Use of these
hydrocarbon—based refrigerants in mobile air conditioning systems
also contradicts standards developed by the Society of Automotive
Engineering that refrigerants in these systems “must be of low
toxicity, nonflammable and nonexplosive.”

Because of public safety concerns posed by the use of flammable
refrigerants in motor vehicle air conditioning and other systems, at

least 13 states have enacted specific legislation prohibiting sale and
use of products as refrigerants in motor vehicle air conditioning,
residential, commercial or industrial air conditioning or refrigeration
systems unless approved for that use or unless it meets appropriate
industry standards related to flammability.

Section 100.45, Stats., and current rules under ch. ATCP 136, Wis.
Adm. Code, do not provide authority to the Department to prohibit
the sale and distribution, or to limit the use of highly flammable and
potentially dangerous refrigerant substitutes. = However, the
Hazardous Substances Act under s. 100.37, Stats., administered by
the Department, provides authority to declare by rule certain
substances as hazardous, and to impose additional requirements to
protect public health and safety “in view of the special hazards
presented by a particular hazardous substance.” Included in this
authority is the ability to prohibit by rule the sale of a hazardous
substance, to prescribe by rule methods of sale, and to limit or ban the
use of any ingredient if the Department finds such action necessary to
protect the public health and safety.

The proposed rule to list hydrocarbon—based refrigerants as
banned hazardous substances in certain circumstances will address a
product viewed by both the public and private sectors as presenting
an unreasonable risk of injury or imminent hazard to the public health,
welfare and safety.

Policy alternatives:

U Do nothing. This alternative assumes that further federal action
may be directed toward the Idaho company to prohibit or restrict the
sale and distribution of HC—12a. However, this alternative does not
address the imminent hazard to motor vehicle operators and
technicians who repair and service mobile air conditioning systems
that may have been replaced with these highly flammable refrigerant
substitutes. This alternative also does not address the current product
refund requirements under s. 100.37(7), Stats., which would benefit
businesses in the state that may unknowingly purchase these unsafe
refrigerant substitutes. Using its authority under s. 100.45, Stats., the
Department has been able to get compliance from two distributors to
remove small containers of HC—12a from sale in this state. However,
HC-12a is also being distributed in 22—Ib. pressurized cylinders. Due
to substantial risks involved in allowing further distribution of this
product within the channels of commerce of this state, the Department
intends to adopt an emergency rule prohibiting the sale and
distribution of hydrocarbon—based refrigerants intended for use in
motor vehicle air conditioning systems.

0 The Department could implement an information and
education effort to inform registered businesses and technicians
engaged in repairs and servicing of mobile air conditioning systems.
This alternative has already been implemented by the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency via its own distribution channels.
The Department is cooperating in the dissemination of information
regarding the regulatory status and public safety risks associated with
HC-12a. Various elements of the automotive trades industry are also
helping to disseminate information on these products. Again, this
alternative does not address the imminent risk to public safety posed
by the use of flammable refrigerants in motor vehicle air conditioning
systems.

Statutory authority:

The Department proposes to revise s. ATCP 139.04 under
authority of ss. 93.07 and 100.37 (2), Stats.

Staff time required:

The Department estimates that it will use approximately .2 FTE
(Full Time Equivalent) staff to develop this rule. This includes
research, drafting, preparing related documents, holding public
hearings, and communicating with affected persons and interest
groups. The Department will use existing staff to develop this rule.
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Corrections

Subject:

S.DOC 313.02 (2) (d)

Description of policy issues:

Description of the objective of proposed s. DOC 313.02 (2) (d):

Ch. DOC 313 does not define what an “industry” is. The objective
of the proposed rule is to clarify the meaning of “industry” and
thereby distinguish between new industries and established
industries.

Description of existing policies relevant to proposed
5. DOC 313.02 (2) (d) and of new policies proposed to be included in
the rule and an analysis of policy alternatives:

New policies:
The proposed rule will not create new policy.

Existing policies:
Section 303.01 (1), Stats., provides the procedure for establishing
an industry.

Chapter DOC 313 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code does not
define “industry”.

The Department has an existing policy statement interpreting the
meaning of “industry”, which will be incorporated in the definition.
The Department has interpreted “industry” to mean the production of
related products or services. Relocation of an industry, expansion of
an industry or the acquisition of new customers for the product or
service does not create a new industry.

The Department believes this interpretation is consistent with the
common meaning of “industry”, as used in the private sector.

Analysis of policy alternatives:

The alternative to the interpretation referred to above is to define
“industry” in a way which limits an industry to a single product or
service at one location for one customer.

This definition is inconsistent with the common meaning of
“industry” and would require approval of the Prison Industries Board,
notification to the Joint Committee on Finance and a hearing as
required by s. 303.01 (1), Stats., if the industry had a new customer,
relocated to another prison, expanded to another prison or produced
arelated product.

A second alternative is to make no changes, which means there will
be no definition of “industry” and no certainty about the Department’s
responsibilitiesunder s. 303.01 (1), Stats.

Statutory authority for rule:
Section 227.11 (2), Stats.

Estimates of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

The Department estimates that approximately fifteen (15) hours of
employe time within the Department will be required to develop the
proposed rule.

Health & Family Services
(Community Services, Chs. HSS 30—-)

Subject:

Ch. HSS 70 — Relating to group homes for recovering substance
abusers.

Description of policy issues:
Description of objective(s):

To implement amendment to s. 46.976 (2), Stats., made by Wis.
Act 27.

Description of policies —— Relevant existing policies, proposed
new policies and policy alternatives considered:

Since December, 1990, the Department has had to implement
s. 46.976, Stats., which provides a revolving fund to make 2—year
loans of up to $4,000 each to applying non—profit organizations to
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help with the costs of establishing programs to provide housing for
individuals recovering from alcohol or other drug abuse. 1995 Wis.
Act 27 amended s. 46.976 (2), Stats., to provide that the loans would
be to help with housing for 6 or more individuals rather than 4 or
more individuals. The rules, which are necessary for implementation
of the statute, are being amended to conform to the statutory change.

Statutory authority:
s.46.976 (4), Stats.

Estimates of staff time and other resources needed to develop
the rules:

5 hours of staff time

Health & Family Services
(Health, Chs. HSS 110——)

Subject:

Ch. HSS 133 — Relating to licensing of home health agencies.
Description of policy issues:

Description of objective(s):

The Department is proposing these rule modifications for two
basic reasons. First, the Department proposes changing several
administrative practices to make the home health licensure program’s
workload more manageable. Second, the Department proposes to
clarify desirable home health agency practices. One amendment is
designed to clarify appropriate agency patient discharge practices and
conditions under which agencies may discharge patients. A second
amendment clarifies that responsibility for supervisory oversight
extends to personal care workers. Similarly, two proposed new
sections also address personal care workers and agency discharge
procedures. One will identify appropriate tasks and services that may
be performed by personal care workers. The other is directed at
promoting patient care continuity in the event of an agency closure by
specifying required agency practices.

Description of policies —— relevant existing policies, proposed new
policies and policy alternatives considered:

Specifically, the Department will modify the rules to do the
following:

1. Change the process by which it issues annual licenses to home
health agencies. Currently, the Department batch processes the
license applications of all home health agencies simultaneously once
a year. To more evenly distribute the workload of processing the
license applications, the Department proposes to stagger the annual
licensure periods of agencies throughout the year. To permit this
change, s. HSS 133.03 (5) needs to be modified to delete reference to
a particular day of the year (June 1st) that all home health agency
annual license periods must commence from.

2. Change provisions relating to license renewal. The existing
administrativerules pertaining to the renewal of an agency’s license,
s. HSS 133.03 (6), do the following:

a. Mandate that agency licenses must be valid for a period of one
full year;

b. Require that license applications be received by the
Department at least 7 days before expiration of the current license;

c. Set a licensure fee equal to 3.00% of an agency’s annual net
income;

d. Require a variety of agency descriptive information with
each license application; and

e. Provide that license renewal is contingent on an agency
maintaining good standing vis—a—vis its compliance with the
provisions of ch. HSS 133.

The Department proposes to modify subsection (6) to do the
following:

a. Allow the Department to issue a license for a period of less
than a year (transitioning to staggered agency annual licensure
periods throughout the year requires this);

b. Provide the Department additional time to process
applications by specifying a longer 30—day lead time between license
application submission and license expiration;
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c. Allow the Department to prorate license fees in those
circumstances where the Department issues a license for less than a
one—year period;

d. Specity that the Department may verify agency self—reported
annual net income data against Medicare cost reports;

e. Drop the requirement that agencies submit a variety of agency
descriptive information with each license application;

f. Institute the policy that an agency’s ceasing provision of
home health services to patients constitutes the agency’s
relinquishment of its license;

g. Institute the policy that continued issuance of a home health
agency license is predicated on an agency providing skilled nursing
and other therapeutic services to at least 51% of the patients served in
the previous licensure period; and

h. Authorize the Department to issue conditional (less than full)
licenses to license holders deemed not to meet the Department’s
criteria for being “fit and qualified” to continue to provide home
health services.

3. Modify provisions relating to patient discharge. Current rules
address both an agency’s acceptance and discharge of patients. The
proposed rules no longer address patient acceptance, but expand the
requirements regarding the conditions under which an agency may
discharge patients, extend an appeal right to patients involuntarily
discharged by an agency, and require agencies to prepare discharge
summaries within 30 days for all patients discharged.

4. Add rules that address the appropriate use of personal care
workers in home health agencies.

5. Add rules that address the appropriate protocol in the event an
agency ceases operations.

Statutory authority:
Section 50.49 (2), Stats.

Estimates of staff time and other resources needed to develop
the rules:

Bureau of Quality Assurance = (BQA)

(BQA) Director’s Office 3 hours
BQA Health Services Section 10 hours
BQA Provider Regulation and

Quality Improvement Section 25 hours

Insurance, Commissioner of

Subject:

SS.Ins 3.39 and 3.46 — Relating to changes required by the
Kassebaum—Kennedy bill to Medicare supplement and long term care
policies.

Description of policy issues:
A statement of the objective of the proposed rule:

Federal legislation known as the Kassebaum—Kennedy bill
requires states to modify certain aspects of the rules regulating the sale
of Medicare Supplement insurance and long term care insurance.
Some changes needed may include revisions to the disclosure
statements required in Appendix 8 of Ins 3.39 and benefit triggers,
rate increase restrictions, and non—forfeiture benefit requirements in
s. Ins 3.46.

A description of existing policies relevant to the rule and of new
policies proposed to be included in the rule, and an analysis of policy
alternatives:

Unless Wisconsin wishes to have regulation of these areas taken
over by the federal government, certain changes must be made.

A statement of the statutory authority for the rule:

Sections 628.34 (12), 628.38, 631.20, 632.72, 632.76 and
632.81, Stats.
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An estimate of the amount of time that state employes will
spend to develop the rule and a description of other resources
necessary to develop the rule:

Depending on how much work the NAIC does in changing the
model laws in this area, OCI (Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance) time could vary from 100 to 400 hours.

Natural Resources

Subject:
Ch. NR 27 — Relating to endangered and threatened species.
Description of policy issues:

Description of policy issues to be resolved, include groups likely
to be impacted or interested in the issue:

1995 Wis. Act 296 modifies the state endangered and threatened
species law to authorize the Department to issue permits for the
incidental take of endangered and threatened species and initiate a
state agency consultation process to protect endangered and
threatened species. The Act requires that the Department adopt a rule
establishing a notification process upon receipt of an application to
incidentally take an endangered or threatened species. The rule
identifies organizations, or individuals, to be notified of receipt of an
application. The rule will list organizations, and academic institutions
known to be interested in endangered and threatened species, and,
further, provide that notice will be provided to others requesting it.

Explain the facts that necessitate the proposed change:

The incidental take authorization for endangered and threatened
species is a new authority, and requires the Department to notify
organizations of receipt of an application under the law. As a result,
the Department will prepare a news release or notice, similar to that
provided under our environmental impact rules to provide to news
media and others requesting it. Generally, however, under the public
records law, written information regarding this application process or
others must be provided to persons requesting it, so there appears to
be no change in policy.

Statutory authority:

Section 29.415 (6m), Stats.

Estimate of staff time required:

The estimated time commitment is 90 hours. One public hearing
is proposed to be held in Madison.

Regulation & Licensing

Subject:

RL Code — Relating to the regulation of auctioneers and auction
companies.

Description of policy issues:
Objective of the rule:

The changes being recommended relate to such issues as
amending the form, style, grammar and punctuation of certain
provisions and by creating provisions relating to cheating on
examinations and ADA standards.

Policy analysis:

This proposal would create provisions which require the
Department to grant reasonable accommodations to applicants with
disabilities. The proposal would expand the policy relating to
cheating on an examination so that other forms of cheating, in
addition to providing unauthorized assistance on an examination,
would be cause for the Department to refuse to release an examination
score or to refuse to issue a credential to an applicant. Other changes
would entail creating definitions and moving a definition from one
chapter to another.

Statutory authority:
Sections 227.11 (2), 480.06 and 480.10, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

5 hours
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Regulation & Licensing

Subject:

RL Code — Relating to the regulation of cemetery authorities,
cemetery salespeople and preneed sellers of cemetery merchandise.

Description of policy issues:
Objective of the rule:

The changes being recommended relate to such issues as form and
style, clarity, grammar and punctuation, and the repeal of obsolete
provisions.

Policy analysis:

1989 Wis. Act 307 initially required the Department of Regulation
and Licensing to establish by rule fees for the registration of
cemeteries, cemetery salespeople and preneed sellers of cemetery
merchandise. The Act also stated and continues to state that the
Department may establish by rule a report filing fee. Chapter RL 50
initially established such fees; however, the Biennial Budget Bill,
1991 Wis. Act 39, created statutory fees for registering cemetery
authorities, cemetery salespeople and preneed sellers. Therefore,
chapter RL 50 was revised to remove the registration fees. It still
requires a $40 report filing fee, with some exceptions.

The Department proposes removing the report filing fee from the
rules, because the registration renewal fees in s. 440.08 (2) (a) 21, 22
and 23, Stats., are based on a formula which includes the costs of
regulation and enforcement. This formula is used to determine the
renewal fees of all professions and occupations regulated by the
Department. Costs associated with reviewing annual reports and
conducting financial audits of care accounts and preneed trust
accounts should be included in the registration renewal fee. There is
no need for a separate report filing fee in the rule; therefore, the
Department proposes repealing it.

Other technical changes include:
00 Removing the requirement that certain applications and

requests for approval which are filed by cemetery authorities or
preneed sellers be sworn to before a notary public.

00 Clarification of requirements relating to bonds obtained by
warehouses for cemetery merchandise.

00 Other minor technical changes.

Statutory authority:

Sections 157.62 (2) and (7), 227.11 (2), 440.01 and
440.92 (6) and (7), Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

5 hours

Regulation & Licensing

Subject:

RL Code — Relating to contents of prelicense education programs
and courses for real estate licensure.

Description of policy issues:
Objective of the rule:

To specify the number of classroom hours of prelicense education
which a nonresident applicant must complete; and to review and
describe the prescribed contents of courses.

Policy analysis:

1. An applicant for a salesperson’s license must complete
72 classroom hours of education, except that the applicant obtains a
waiver of the specific 72 hour course by having successfully
completed 10 semester—hours of credit courses at an institution of
higher learning. A person who has held an active real estate license
in another licensing jurisdiction within the 2—year period prior to
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filing an application in Wisconsin may satisfy the 72 classroom hour
requirement by completing all but 23 hours of comparable education
at a school in another licensing jurisdiction [see s. RL 25.03 (4)]. The
contents of the 23 hours are specified in the rules, as are the contents
of the complete 72 hour course.

2. An applicant for a broker’s license must complete an additional
36 classroom hours of education, except that the applicant may obtain
a waiver of the specific 36 hour course by having successfully
completed 20 semester hours of credit courses in an institution of
higher learning or by being licensed to practice law in Wisconsin. A
person who has held an active real estate broker’s license in another
licensing jurisdiction within the 2—year period prior to filing an
application in Wisconsin may satisfy the 36 classroom hour
requirement by completing all but 20 hours of comparable education
at a school in another licensing jurisdiction [see s. RL 25.02 (3)]. The
contents of the 20 hours are specified in the rules, as are the contents
of the complete 36 hour course.

3. Currently a person licensed in another licensing jurisdiction
within the 2—year period prior to filing an application in Wisconsin,
must complete the prelicense education, described above, and pass the
licensing examination. An applicant for a salesperson’s license is
required to pass the 40 question state portion of the licensing
examination and is exempt from the 100 question national portion of
the examination. An applicant for a broker’s license must pass the
state portion of the salesperson’s examination and must pass the
100 question broker’s examination. The broker’s examination does
not contain two portions.

4. It has been proposed that the 23 classroom hours of education
which a nonresident applicant for a salesperson’s license must
complete at a Wisconsin—approved school be reduced to 13 hours and
that the 20 classroom hours of education which a nonresident
applicant for a broker’s license must complete at a
Wisconsin—approved school be reduced to 3 hours. The new rules
would specify the course contents which would relate to laws and real
estate practice requirements which are specific to the state of
Wisconsin.

5. An alternative proposal would amend the education
requirements so that an applicant who has held a license in another
jurisdiction with the 2 years prior to filing an application in Wisconsin
would not be required to obtain any of the education at a
Wisconsin—approved school and course, but could satisfy the full
education requirement by attending comparable education in another
licensing jurisdiction. The applicant would, however, be required to
pass the prelicense examination, as described above, in order to
demonstrate his or her knowledge of Wisconsin’s laws which relate
to the practice of real estate.

6. Another alternative is to change the rules to simply require an
applicant who has held a license in another jurisdiction within the
2 years prior to filing an application to certify that the applicant has
read the real estate laws of the state of Wisconsin and will abide by
them when practicing under a Wisconsin real estate license.

Statutory authority:

Sections 227.11 (2), 452.05, 452.07, 452.09 (2) and (3)
and 452.11, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

10 hours

Affect on budget, staff or uniform policies or procedures of the
agency:

The rules would simplify licensing requirements and reduce the
time required to explain the requirements to applicants. If the contents
of courses are revised, the Department would have to send additional
correspondence to approved schools and the schools would have to
amend their curricula accordingly. Depending on whether new
contents are added or removed, new questions would have to be
written for the prelicense examination and old questions removed.
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SuBMITTAL OF RULES TO LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL CLEARINGHOUSE

Notice of Submittal of Proposed Rules to
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings for further information on a particular rule.

Natural Resources

Rule Submittal Date

On September 13, 1996, the Wisconsin Department of Natural
Resources submitted a proposed rule [WT—-50-96] to the Legislative
Council Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule amends chs. NR 102, 105, 106 and 207, Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to surface water quality standards, criteria and their
implementation procedures (Great Lakes Initiative).

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are required and will be held October 15, 16, 17 and
22, 1996.

Contact Person

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact Beth
Goodman, Bureau of Watershed Management, at (608) 266—3219.

Transportation

Rule Submittal Date

On September 12, 1996, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation
submitted a proposed rule to the Joint Legislative Council Staff.
Analysis

The proposed rule amends ch. Trans 102, Wis. Adm. Code, relating
to driver license issuance.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held October 15, 1996. The
Division of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Driver Services is the
organizational unit responsible for promulgation of the proposed rule.
Contact Person

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact Julie A.
Johnson, Paralegal, at (608) 266—8810.

Workforce Development

Rule Submittal Date

On September 16, 1996, the Wisconsin Department of Workforce
Development submitted a proposed rule for Legislative Council
Review.

Analysis

The proposed rule affects ch. DWD [ILHR] 301, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to migrant labor.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are scheduled for October 21, 1996 and
November 5, 1996.

Contact

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact the
Department of Workforce Development at (608) 2667552 .
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NOTICE

SECTION

Notice of Hearing

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
» (Reprinted from September 15, 1996 Wis. Admn. Register)

The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection announces that it will hold a public hearing on
its rule relating to “late blight”, a serious plant disease which poses an
imminent threat to Wisconsin’s potato industry. The rule interprets
ss. 93.07 and 94.02, Stats., and amends ch. ATCP 21, Wis. Adm.
Code.

Written Comments

The public is invited to attend the hearing and comment on the rule.
Following the public hearing, the hearing record will remain open
until October 18, 1996 for additional written comments.

Copies of Rule
A copy of this rule may be obtained, free of charge, from:

Bureau of Plant Industry
Telephone (608) 224-4573
Wis. Dept. of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Dr.
Madison, WI 53708

Copies will also be available at the public hearing.

Contact Person

An interpreter for the hearing—impaired will be available on
request for these hearings. Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by calling Jayne Krull at (608) 224-4614 or by contacting
the TDD at the Department at (608) 224—-5058.

Hearing Information
The hearing is scheduled as follows:

October 8, 1996 Conference Room B (lower level)

Tuesday UW-Extension City-County Bldg.
7:00 p.m. to 1516 Church St.

9:00 p.m. STEVENS POINT, WI
Handicapped accessible

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Agriculture, Trade & Consumer
Protection

Statutory authority: ss. 93.07 (1) and (12) and 94.01 (1)
Statutes interpreted: ss. 93.07 (12) and 94.02 (1)

This rule requires potato growers to take steps to control “late
blight,” a serious plant disease which poses an imminent threat to
Wisconsin’s potato industry. This rule is needed to prevent the spread
of the disease.

Background

In recent years, new forms of the highly virulent “Irish potato
famine” fungus, Phytophthora infestans, have caused increasingly
devastating losses to potato growers in the United States and Canada.
The fungus causes a disease of potato plants which is commonly
known as “late blight”.

The National Association of State Departments of Agriculture
reports that late blight epidemics in 1992, 1993 and 1994 were the
worst in decades, and that some individual farm losses have amounted
to hundreds of thousands of dollars in a single year. The University
of Wisconsin estimates that Wisconsin growers lost up to $10 million
in 1994 and $6 million in 1995, due to late blight.

The potato industry is one of Wisconsin’s most important
agricultural industries. In 1995, Wisconsin was the 3rd leading state
in the nation in potato production. Cash receipts to Wisconsin potato
growers totalled over $150 million in 1995. Potatoes are an important
food source for the people of Wisconsin and other states. Potato
production also supports important processing and distribution
industries in Wisconsin. The uncontrolled spread of late blight would
have a devastating impact on Wisconsin potato growers, and would
seriously affect the public health, safety and welfare.

Late blight appears on potato plant leaves, stems and tubers. It
causes foliar lesions which are followed by severe defoliation in wet
weather. It can also reduce marketable yield by directly infecting and
rotting potato tubers. Once late blight appears, it spreads rapidly and
can cause total crop loss.

Late blight fungal spores can be spread by many things, including
wind, rain, machinery, workers, wildlife and infected seed potatoes.
The University of Wisconsin reports that spores can be transported
over 25 miles by storms.

There are very few registered fungicides in the United States that
are effective in controlling the new forms of late blight fungus.
Because of the lack of registered fungicides, and the ease with which
the late blight fungus spreads, potato growers must mitigate the
spread of the disease by removing sources of the overwintering
inoculum. Among other things, potato growers must properly
dispose of potato cull piles and “volunteer” potato plants which
germinate from waste potatoes.

A failure by individual potato growers to implement necessary
cultural practices to mitigate the spread of late blight will have a
potentially devastating impact on other growers, and on the
Wisconsin potato industry as a whole.

In order to ensure that growers take adequate steps to mitigate the
spread of late blight, it is necessary to adopt rules that spell out critical
practices and establish sanctions for growers who fail to comply.

Rule Contents

Under this rule, a person who owns or controls land on which
potato “cull piles” are located must dispose of those cull piles by
May 20. (“Cull piles” are piles of waste potatoes.) The person must
dispose of the “cull piles” by one of the following methods:

® By feeding the cull potatoes to livestock so that they are
completely consumed by May 20.

® By spreading the cull potatoes on fields and incorporating the
cull potatoes into the soil.

® By depositing the cull potatoes in a licensed landfill with the
written permission of the landfill operator.

® By another method which the Department approves in writing.

Under this rule, whenever volunteer potato plants appear on land
where cull potatoes were spread, or on land where potato plants were
intentionally grown in a prior year, the person who owns or controls
that land must immediately remove or kill those volunteer potato
plants. Pesticides used to kill volunteer potato plants must be labeled
for the crop in which the volunteer potatoes emerge, or for the site at
which they emerge.

Under this rule, the Department may issue pest quarantine and
abatement orders to prevent or control late blight infestations, or to
remedy violations of this rule. If the Department finds any field
infested with late blight, the Department may order the person owning
or controlling that field to treat it, in a manner specified by the
Department, in order to control or eliminate the infestation.
Treatment may include pesticide applications specified by the
Department.

Under this rule, the Department may order the destruction of a
potato crop infested with late blight, if the Department finds that
alternative measures will not adequately prevent or mitigate the
spread of late blight.
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Fiscal Estimate

This rule clarifies integrated pest management control practices
needed to mitigate the spread of a serious potato plant disease which
poses an imminent threat to Wisconsin’s potato industry. It also
reiterates existing Department authority to enforce these control
measures. Because these are existing practices and authority, no
significant increase in Department workload or costs is anticipated.
There are no additional costs to local government.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rule will not significantly affect small businesses
because it does not impose any new reporting or recordkeeping
requirements and does not require new professional skills that might
be needed by a small business (technical assistance is available from
the University of Wisconsin—-Extension and the growers’
association). This proposed rule applies to potato growers.
(Currently, there are 262 growers, 237 of which meet the definition
of a small business.)

The proposed rule defines the practices that are necessary to
control a highly virulent potato fungus, commonly known as “late
blight.” It also clarifies the Department’s authority to enforce those
practices. Growers are required to dispose of cull potatoes and
volunteer potato plants and must treat or dispose of diseased crops in
order to mitigate the spread of late blight.

Most growers are well aware of the severe economic damage that
this disease can cause and are already following pest management
practices recommended by the University—Extension/Plant
Pathology Department and outlined in the proposed rule.

Notice of Hearings

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
» (Reprinted from September 15, 1996 Wis. Admn. Register)

The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection announces that it will hold public hearings on
proposed amendments to ch. ATCP 30, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to
the use of atrazine pesticides.

Written Comments

The hearings will be held at the times and places shown below. The
public is invited to attend the hearings and comment on the proposed
rule. The Department also invites comments on the draft
environmental impact statement which accompanies the rule.
Following the public hearings, the hearing record will remain open
until October 11, 1996 for additional written comments.

Copies of Rule
A copy of this rule may be obtained, free of charge, from:

Agricultural Resource Management Division
Telephone (608) 224-4505
Wis. Dept. of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Dr.
P.O. Box 8911
Madison, WI 53708-8911

Copies will also be available at the public hearings.

Contact Person

An interpreter for the hearing—impaired will be available on
request for these hearings. Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by September 20, 1996 either by writing to Paula Noel,
2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708,
telephone (608) 224—-4505 or by contacting the message relay system
(TTY) at (608) 224-5058. Handicap access is available at the
hearings.

Hearing Information
Four hearings are scheduled:
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September 30, 1996
Monday

1:00 to 4:00 p.m.
evening session
6:00 to 8:00 p.m.

Ramada Inn
3431 Milton Ave.
JANESVILLE, WI

October 1, 1996
Tuesday

1:00 to 4:00 p.m.
evening session
6:00 to 8:00 p.m.

Timberland Room

Best Western Arrowhead Lodge
600 Oasis Rd.

BLACK RIVER FALLS, Wi

October 2, 1996
Wednesday

1:00 to 4:00 p.m.
evening session
6:00 to 8:00 p.m.

Best Western Royale
5110 Main Street
STEVENS POINT, WI

October 3, 1996 Room A

Thursday Brillion Community Center
1:00 to 4:00 p.m. 120 Center Street

evening session BRILLION, Wi

6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
Written comments will be accepted until October 11, 1996.

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Agriculture, Trade & Consumer
Protection

Statutory authority: ss. 93.07 (1), 94.69 (9), 160.19 (2), and
160.21 (1)

Statutes interpreted: ss. 94.69, 160.19 (2) and 160.21 (1)

In order to protect Wisconsin groundwater, current rules under ch.
ATCP 30, Wis. Adm. Code, restrict the statewide rate at which
atrazine pesticides may be applied. Current rules also prohibit the use
of atrazine in areas where groundwater contamination levels attain or
exceed state enforcement standards.

Based on new groundwater test data, this rule expands the number
of areas in which atrazine use is prohibited.

Atrazine Prohibition Areas

Current rules prohibit the use of atrazine where atrazine
contamination of groundwater equals or exceeds the current
groundwater enforcement standard under ch. NR 140, Wis. Adm.
Code. Current rules prohibit atrazine use in 91 designated areas,
including major prohibition areas in the lower Wisconsin river valley
and much of Dane and Columbia counties.

This rule repeals and recreates 2 current prohibition areas to
expand those areas, and creates 6 new prohibition areas, resulting in
a new total of 97 prohibition areas throughout the state. The rule
includes maps describing each of the new and expanded prohibition
areas.

Within every prohibition area, atrazine applications are prohibited.
Atrazine mixing and loading operations are also prohibited, unless
conducted over a spill containment surface which complies with s.
ATCP 29.151 (2) to (4), Wis. Adm. Code.

Fiscal Estimate

See September 15, 1996 Wisconsin Administrative Register,
page 22.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

See September 15, 1996 Wisconsin Administrative Register,
page 23.

Notice of Hearing
Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection

The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection announces that it will hold a public hearing on
a proposed rule (proposed ch. ATCP 77, Wis. Adm. Code) relating to
laboratory certification fees. The hearing will be held at the time and
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place shown below. The public is invited to attend the hearing and
make comments on the proposed rule. Following the public hearing,
the hearing record will remain open until October 16, 1996 for
additional written comments.

A copy of this rule may be obtained free of charge, from the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Food Safety, 2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O.
Box 8911, Madison WI 53708, or by calling (608)224—-4700. Copies
will also be available at the public hearing.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on request
for this hearing. Please make reservations for a hearing interpreter by
July 15, 1996 either by writing to Debbie Mazanec, 2811 Agriculture
Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708, (608—224-4712 ), or by
contacting the message relay system (TTY) at 608-266—-4399 to
forward your call to the Department at 608—224-5058. Handicap
access is available at the hearing.

Hearing Information
October 11, 1996

Friday
10:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon

WI Dept. of Agriculture

Trade & Consumer Protection
Board Room
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI 53704

Analysis Prepared by the Department
of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection

Statutory Authority: ss. 93.07(1), 93.12(7), and 97.24(3)
Statutes Interpreted: ss. 93.12(4) and (7) and 97.24

The 1995-97 biennial budget act, 1995 Wis. Act. 27, transferred
much of the administration of Wisconsin’s laboratory certification
program from the department of health and social services to the
department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection
(“department”), effective July 1, 1996.

Under this program, the department will be responsible for
certifying laboratories that test milk, food or water for compliance
with public health standards prescribed by federal, state or local laws.
Under 1995 Wis. Act 27, the department’s public health lab
certification program must be funded by certification fees paid by the
certified laboratories. The department must establish these fees by
rule.

Current rules governing the public health lab certification program
are contained in ch. HSS 165, Wis. Adm. Code. The current rules
remain in effect until the department amends or repeals them. This rule
repeals portions of HSS 165 related to lab certification and fees, and
creates new certification and fee requirements under ch. ATCP 77,
Wis. Adm. Code. The department expects to propose additional rules
related to the lab certification program later this year.

This rule does all of the following:

eldentifies the laboratories which must be certified by the
department

eEstablishes a procedure by which a laboratory may obtain and
annually renew its certification.

*Establishes certification fees.
Under this rule, a certified laboratory must pay the following fees:

* A basic annual certification fee of $400, except that the basic fee
is $200 for a dairy plant laboratory which is solely engaged in
performing antibiotic drug residue screening tests on bulk milk tanker
loads of milk received at that dairy plant.

*A supplementary annual fee of $120 for each different type of
milk test performed by the laboratory, if the laboratory is engaged in
milk testing. This supplementary fee finances proficiency testing of
milk analysts, which is currently required under state and federal law.
If a milk testing laboratory applies for certification in mid—year, this
supplementary fee is prorated by the number of months remaining in
the calendar year for which the applicant seeks certification.
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Fiscal Estimate

Laboratories were previously certified and inspected by the
Wisconsin Department of Health & Social Services (HSS) under s.
252.22, Stats and ch. HSS 165, Wis. Adm. Code. 1995 Wis. Act 27
transferred laboratory certification and inspection to the Wisconsin
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(DATCP) under s. 93.12, Stats., effective July 1, 1996. DATCP is
required to promulgate rules establishing a fee schedule to offset the
cost of certification of laboratories.

Creation of ch. ATCP 77, (Laboratory Certification Fees) and
repeal of s. HSS 165.21 has no effect on GPR funds, but will increase
PRO funds.

The rule will increase revenues due to increased fees. Fees have
been increased for existing laboratories. Portions of this program are
mandatory and have been under—funded in the past. The Federal
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (PMO) requires laboratories examining
milk and water for the grade A dairy industry to be certified. In order
for grade A dairy plants to ship fluid milk and milk products
out—of—state, the milk they process and the water they use must be
examined at a laboratory certified under this program. Recently, the
PMO mandated a new category of laboratories be certified for the
testing of raw bulk milk for drug residue. Many of these laboratories
will now be required to pay certification fees. About 85% of milk
produced in Wisconsin is shipped out—of—state.

Previously, H&SS exempted many local public health laboratories
from paying fees. This rule will continue that exemption.

Approximately 45 local water laboratories are also certified under
this program. Based on current data, local costs will increase
approximately $4500 under the proposed rule.

As stated above, this program has been underfunded;

a. During the current fiscal year HSS collected $72,000 in
laboratory certification fees.

b. The program is authorized 2.5 FTE’s requiring $175,000
annual funding.

c. Proposed fees will likely generate $180,000 annually, which
should support the program for four (4) years without any additional
fee increases.

The proposed annual fee schedule is as follows:

a. Laboratory site fees of $400 for fully certified laboratories and
$200 for laboratories which only screen bulk milk tankers for drug
residue.

b. Individual milk test fee of $120

The current fees charged by H&SS are based on $104 fee for each
type of test performed in the laboratory. For example, a laboratory
performing standard plate counts, somatic cell counts and a drug
residue test would have paid fees totalling $312. Under this proposed
rule, the total fees would be $760 ($400 + $360 (3 tests at $120 each)
=3$760).

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Proposed ch. ATCP 77, Wis. Adm. Code

LABORATORY CERTIFICATION FEES

This rule establishes fees for certification of laboratories
examining milk, water or food products for the protection of public
health. This rule implements the provisions of 1995 Wis. Act 27
which shifts the administration and performance of the evaluation of
milk, water and food laboratories from the Wisconsin Department of
Health and Social Services, Division of Health, to the Wisconsin
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.

The proposed laboratory certification fee rule establishes fees to
offset the costs of certification of laboratories as required in s. 93.12,
Stats. These fees are based on recovering 100% of the costs of this
program from from the industry affected by the program.

The approximately 250 laboratories currently certified range from
small, one person laboratories to large facilities with dozens of
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analysts. Chapter ATCP 77, Wis. Adm. Code, (Laboratory
Certification Fees) will have a fiscal impact on “small businesses” as
defined in s. 227.114 (1)(a), Stats. Annual laboratory fees are
increased as compared to the previous $104 per test fee charged by the
Wisconsin Department of Health and Social Services, Division of
Health. This fee increase is due to the fact that the laboratory
certification program has been, and continues to be, inadequately
funded

The proposed rule may impose some significant costs for
businesses such as dairy plants that receive raw milk in bulk trucks.
In order to comply with Interstate Milk Shipment requirements and
s. ATCP 60.19(2), Wis. Adm. Code, requirements, these plants must
have drug residue testing facilities on site. These facilities may be
fully certified laboratories or drug residue screening sites. Average
fees for these sites can range from $320 for one test to $760 for three
tests.

The proposed rule may increase costs for some full service
laboratories. These laboratories currently pay a fee of $104 per test.
Average fees under the proposed rule can range from $520 for one test
to $1600 for ten tests.

The proposed rule may impact local government water
laboratories. These laboratories currently pay fees of $104 per test
based on the number of tests they run. Under the proposed rule, these
laboratories would pay a $400 site fee and no fees for tests.

The impact of the other proposed rule changes on small business
is negligible. It would not be necessary for licensed establishments to
retain additional professional services such as accounting or legal
services to comply with this rule.

Notice of Hearing

Banking
(Financial Institutions)

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 218.02 (9), Stats., and
interpreting s. 218.02, Stats., the Department of Financial Institutions
will hold a public hearing at 101 E. Wilson St., Room 531A in the
city of Madison, Wisconsin, on the 24th day of October, 1996, at
11:00 a.m. to consider the amending of s. Bkg. 73.01; relating to
adjustment service companies.

Analysis Prepared by the Department
of Financial Institutions

Statutory authority: s. 218.02 (9)
Statute interpreted: s. 218.02

Under s. 218.02 (9), Stats., the secretary of the department of
financial institutions may make such rules as it shall deem necessary
or proper for the effective administration and enforcement of
adjustment service companies (ASC). These companies provide debt
management and counseling to debtors who are experiencing
financial difficulty. The proposed rule will allow ASC’s to accept
voluntary contributions from creditors as well as charge a fee to
debtors to cover operational and administrative costs. Under current
law, an ASC may either receive a voluntary contribution from a
creditor, or charge the debtor a fee to cover administrative costs, but
an ASC cannot do both.

(QThe proposed change will not have an adverse impact on
debtors since fee structure for the debtor remains in tact. Under
current law, this fee is limited to 10% of the amount of money paid to
the licensee to be distributed to a creditor or creditors or $120 in any
calendar month, whichever is less.

(QThe proposed change will not have an adverse impact on
creditors since all donations or fees received by the ASC from a
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creditor are strictly voluntary and capped at 15% of the funds
disbursed to the individual creditor or creditors.

(QThe proposed change will have an impact on the ASCs because
they will now be able to accept funds from two sources (provided the
creditor is willing to make a voluntary contribution, and the debtor
has demonstrated the ability to pay the administrative fee).

An alternative to implementing this proposed change would be to
raise the limit on the amount the ASC can charge a debtor; or either
raising the limit a creditor may contribute, or requiring the creditor to
contribute to the ASC. These alternatives are not appropriate from a
policy or fiscal perspective. Given these considerations, the proposed
administrative rule change should be adopted.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This administrative rule change will not have an effect on small
business as defined by s. 227.114 (1), Stats.

Fiscal Impact

The proposed administrative rule has no fiscal impact on the
operations of the DFL.

Text of Rule

Section 1. Bkg. 73.01 is amended to read:

Bkg. 73.01 Fees of licensees. The fees permitted in this section are
the only fees that may be assessed the debtor and include all charges
of any kind or nature whatsoever. The fees shall be agreed upon in
advance and stated in the contract or agreement established between
the licensee and debtor. The fees for distributing funds may not be
assessed the debtor until the debtor had made payment to the licensees
for distribution to a creditor or creditors.

(1) Only-one Both of the 2 alternative fee plans set forth below may
be used when contracting services with a debtor.

(a) The maximum monthly fee charged the debtor shall not exceed
10% of the amount of money paid to the licensee to be distributed to
a creditor or creditors or $120 in any calendar month, whichever is
less.

 (b) As-an altern

a licensee may accept voluntary fees or contributions from the creditor
or creditors in an amount not to exceed 15% of the funds disbursed
to the individual creditor or creditors. The disbursements may not
show discrimination based upon the creditors’ willingness to make
voluntary contributions to the licensee. If the fee is deducted from the
disbursement, remittance records shall disclose the total amount
credited to the individual accounts of the debtor. This amount must
also reflect in the disbursement record furnished the creditor or
creditors.

Contact Person

Steven C. Little, Director of Licensed Financial Services, Division
of Banking, Department of Financial Institutions, P.O. Box 7876,
Madison, Wisconsin, 53707-7876. Business Phone: (608)
264-7873

Notice of Hearing
Health & Family Services
(Health, Chs. HSS 110——)

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss.157.01 and 250.04(7),
Stats., the Department of Health and Family Services will hold a
public hearing to consider the amendment of s. HSS 136.03(1), (2)(a)
and Note, Wis. Adm. Code, and the repeal and recreation of s. HSS
136.04, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to embalming standards.
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Hearing Information

October 23, 1996
Wednesday
Beginning at 9 a.m.

Room 180

Washington Square Office Bldg.
1400 E. Washington Ave.
Madison, Wi

The public hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.

Analysis Prepared by the Department
of Health and Family Services

This order updates the Department’s standards for embalming
dead human bodies to eliminate references to licensed embalmers, to
add required compliance with the U.S. Occupational Safety and
Health Administration (OSHA) standard for occupational exposure
to bloodborne pathogens, and to improve the language used to
express requirements relating to preparation of bodies prior to
embalming. Licensing of embalmers was discontinued in June 1985
when 1983 Wis. Act 485 went into effect.

The changes to ch. HSS 136 are being made on recommendation
of the Funeral Directors Examining Board.

Contact Person

To find out more about the hearing or to request a copy of the
proposed rule changes, write or phone:

Peggy Peterson
Vital Statistics Section
Division of Health
P. O. Box 309
Madison, WI 53701
(608) 267-7812 or, if you are hearing impaired,
(608) 266—1511 (TDD)

If you are hearing or visually impaired, do not speak English, or
have other personal circumstances which might make
communication at the hearing difficult and if you, therefore, require
an interpreter, or a non—English, large print or taped version of the
hearing documents, contact the person at the address or phone number
above. A person requesting a non—English or sign language
interpreter should make that request at least 10 days before the
hearing. With less than 10 days notice, an interpreter may not be
available.

Written comments on the proposed rules received at the above
address no later than October 29, 1996 will be given the same
consideration as testimony presented at the hearing.

Fiscal Estimate

This rulemaking order updates the Department’s standards for
embalming dead human bodies. The Department is responsible under
s. 157.01, Stats., for making the standards in the interests of protecting
public health. The Department of Regulation and Licensing’s
Funeral Directors Examining Board is responsible for enforcing the
standards.

The order deletes references to licensing of embalmers because
licensing of embalmers was discontinued in 1985; incorporates by
reference the U.S. Occupational Health Administration (OSHA)
standard for dealing with occupational exposure to bloodborne
pathogens; and generally improves language used in the rules.

These rule changes will not affect the expenditures or revenues of
state government or local governments. They do not add to the costs
of enforcement. Local governments are not involved in
standard—setting or enforcement.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These rule changes will apply to the 1185 active licensed funeral
directors and 159 apprentice funeral directors in the state. Most of the
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605 funeral establishments in the state are small businesses as “small
business” is defined in s. 227.114(1)(a), Stats.

The rulemaking order brings the language of ch. HSS 136 into
conformance with the statutes in regard to who may do embalming
and the name of the professional examining board. The order also
reorganizes the section of rules relating to the preparation of bodies
prior to embalming, improves language use in that section and adds
to that section a provision calling attention to existing requirements
of the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
for precautions to be taken to prevent infection when there is
occupational exposure to bloodborne and body fluid—borne
pathogens.

The rule changes do not add to reporting or bookkeeping
requirements.

No new professional skills are required for funeral establishments
to comply with the rule changes.

Notice of Hearing

Natural Resources
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1--)

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 29.085, 29.155,
29.174(3) and 227.11(2)(a), Stats., interpreting ss. 29.085, 29.155
and 29.174(1) and (2), Stats., the Department of Natural Resources
will hold a public hearing on Natural Resources Board Emergency
Order No. WM-27-96(E) relating to the 1996 migratory game bird
season. This emergency order took effect on September 3, 1996. The
significant regulations are:

Ducks: The state is divided into two zones each with 50—day
seasons. The season in the southern duck zone begins at noon
September 28 and continues through October 6 and, following a
5—day closed period, reopens October 12 and continues through
November 21. The north duck zone season begins at noon September
28 and continues through November 16. The daily bag limit in both
zones is 5 ducks, including 4 mallards and one canvasback for the
entire 50 days in both zones.

Canada Geese: The state is apportioned into 3 goose hunting
zones: Horicon, Collins and Exterior. Other special goose
management subzones within the Exterior Zone include Brown
County, Burnett County, New Auburn, Rock Prairie and the
Mississippi River. Season lengths are: Collins Zone — 65 days;
Horicon Zone — 86 days; Exterior Zone — 79 days; and Mississippi
River Subzone — 70 days. The Burnett County and New Auburn
Subzones are closed to Canada goose hunting.

Bismuth: Tin shot is legalized for migratory bird hunting.
A special youth duck hunt event is established for September 21.

Hearing Information

October 14, 1996 Room 611B

Monday GEF #2

at 1:00 p.m. 101 S. Webster St.
Madison

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to the Americans with
Disabilities Act, reasonable accommodations, including the
provision of informational material in an alternative format, will be
provided for qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.
Please call Jon Bergquist at (608) 266—8841 with specific information
on your request at least 10 days before the date of the scheduled
hearing.

Written comments on the emergency rule may be submitted to Mr.
Jon Bergquist, Bureau of Wildlife Management, P.O. Box 7921,
Madison, WI 53707 no later than October 16, 1996. Written
comments will have the same weight and effect as oral statements
presented at the hearing. A copy of the emergency rule may be
obtained from Mr. Bergquist.

Fiscal Estimate

There is no fiscal effect.
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Notice of Hearings

Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection—General,

Chs. NR 100—-)
(Environmental Protection—-WPDES,
Chs. NR 200—-)

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 144.025 (1) and (2),
147.01 and 227.11(2)(a), Stats., interpreting ss.144.025(1) and (2),
147.01, 147.02(3) to (6), 147.025(4) to (6), 147.035(5), 147.04(5),
147.08, 147.23 and 147.25, Stats., the Department of Natural
Resources will hold public hearings on revisions to chs. NR 102, 105,
106 and 207, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to surface water quality
standards, criteria and their implementation procedures.

The Great Lakes Water Quality Initiative (GLI) was developed in
1989 as a unique cooperative agreement between the B Great Lakes
States and 2 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regions to
assemble the most up—to—date scientific information on persistent
toxic chemicals in the Great Lakes basin. The goal was to develop a
consistent set of water quality standards for the entirety of the basin.
In 1990, Congress amended the Clean Water Act (22 USC s.1 268)
formalizing the process for developing the GLI guidance and
requiring the Great Lakes states to adopt provisions consistent with
and as protective as the guidance within 2 years of federal publication.
The final guidance was published on March 23, 1 995. The proposed
changes to Wisconsin’s water quality standards in chs. NR 102, 105,
106 and 207 will help ensure consistency with the guidance and
consequently with the other states in the Great Lakes basin.

Specifically, some of the changes include:

Chapter NR 102 — Water Quality Standards for Wisconsin Surface
Waters. This chapter contains only a few amendments needed to
maintain consistency with changes to chs. NR 105 and 207.

Chapter NR 105 —Surface Water Quality Criteria for Toxic
Substances. Amendments to this chapter, including the criteria tables,
are predominantly due to inclusion of more recent scientific
information and improved methodologies that are used in the
established procedures. New specific procedures have been added
which would allow for the determination of temporary secondary
values for toxic substances until database requirements are fulfilled to
calculate water quality criteria.

Chapter NR 106 — Procedures for Calculating Water Quality Based
Effluent Limitations for Toxic and Organoleptic Substances
Discharged to Surface Waters. Proposed amendments include:

a. Elimination of mixing zones for highly bioaccumulative
substances when they are for new or increased discharges within the
Great Lakes basin.

b. Provisions for including new permit limits based on temporary,
secondary values for substances with reasonable potential to impact
water quality.

c. Allowing for implementation of pollution minimization
programs as alternatives to attaining effluent limitations in
circumstances where data are lacking or where measurement of
compliance is not possible.

d. Modification of the default receiving water design flows.

e. Inclusion of both a mass and a concentration water quality based
limit in permits.

f. Refinement of whole effluent toxicity data evaluation and permit
limitations.

Chapter NR 207 — Water Quality Antidegradation. The proposed
amendments include establishing an Outstanding International Lake
Superior Waters designation for the Lake Superior basin. This means
that no new or increased discharges of the nine pollutants identified
in the three state Governors’ zero discharge demonstration project
would be allowed unless the discharger was employing best
technology in process and control. In addition, several modifications
are proposed as minor housekeeping additions.
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Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to s.227.114, Stats., it
is not anticipated that the proposed rule will have an economic impact
on small businesses.

Notice is hereby further given that the Department has made a
preliminary determination that this action does not involve significant
adverse environmental effects and does not need an environmental
analysis under ch. NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code. However, based on the
comments received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal. This environmental
review document would summarize the Department’s consideration
of the impacts of the proposal and reasonable alternatives.

Hearing Information

October 15, 1996
Tuesday
at 1:00 p.m.

Room 041, GEF #3
125 S. Webster St.
Madison

October 16, 1996
Wednesday
at 12:30 pm.

DNR Eau Claire Office
404 S. Barstow St.
Eau Claire

October 16, 1996
Wednesday
at 6:30 p.m.

WI Indianhead Tech. College
600 N. 21st Street
Superior

October 17, 1996
Thursday
at 12:30 p.m.

Nature Center Auditorium
Bay Beach Wildlife Sanctuary
1660 East Shore Drive

Green Bay

October 22, 1996
Tuesday
at 3:30 p.m.

Havenwoods State Forest
6141 N. Hopkins St.
Milwaukee

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to the Americans with
Disabilities Act, reasonable accommodations, including the
provision of informational material in an alternative format, will be
provided for qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.
Please call Beth Goodman at (608) 266-3219 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of the
scheduled hearing.

Written comments on the proposed rule may be submitted to Ms.
Beth Goodman, Bureau of Watershed Management, P.O. Box 7921,
Madison, WI 53707 no later than October 31, 1996. Written
comments will have the same weight and effect as oral statements
presented at the hearings. A copy of the proposed rule and its fiscal
estimate may be obtained from Ms. Goodman.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary Of Rule

The Great Lakes Water Quality Initiative (GLI) is a unique
cooperative effort of the Great Lakes states and the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency. The GLI developed Guidance for
a consistent set of water quality standards for the entirety of the Great
Lakes system. The final FLI Guidance was published in the Federal
Register on March 23, 1995 in compliance with a court order; States
have until March 1997 with which to comply. Industrial, municipal
and environmental representatives have worked with the Department
to prepare the rule amendments to NR 102, 105, 106 and 207. The
proposed changes to Wisconsin’s water quality standards will ensure
consistency with the GLI Guidance and consequently with the other
states in the Great Lakes Basin. A special designation for Lake
Superior is also proposed.

Fiscal Impact
The proposed amendments do not create additional regulatory
workload beyond the requirements of the WPDES permit program.
Because our current rules are the most comprehensive of all the states
in the Great Lakes basin, the additional costs associated with the GLI
should be smaller than is the case in other states.

Additional costs of implementing the GLI for point sources in
Wisconsin will be small or marginal, even though costs for a small
number of individual entities could be substantial. This is based
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primarily on the several years of experience implementing the
requirements of current rules. Most of the costs to dischargers will be
associated with additional monitoring of effluent quality. In some
instances, cost will be incurred to implement pollutant minimization
programs and other methods to determined the source of specific
pollutants and to reduce these sources within production processes.
Few expenditures are expected for additional treatment capacity and
technology. The Department estimates a representative annualized
cost for a minor publically owned treatment works (POTW) is $500,
and for a major POTW is $10,000. There are 435 minor POTWs and
80 major POTWs in Wisconsin. Thus, the total estimated annualized
cost to local governments is $1, 017,500. These costs are estimates
and, due to case—by—case implementation, may be highly variable.

Department costs for implementing these rules are difficult to
determine because of the case—by—case implementation, and because
there are several provisions which offer options to the dischargers to
choose alternative implementation methodologies.

Additional costs to the Department for implementation should also
be small. In some instances the costs of obtaining information and
data could be significant, but there are default methodologies which
are allowed to make implementation more simple and less time
consuming, usually at little cost to the regulated community. Again,
due to the case—by—case implementation, specific costs cannot be
determined.

Notice of Hearing
Regulation & Licensing

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to authority vested in the
Department of Regulation and Licensing in s. 227.11 (2), Stats., and
ss. 440.962 (1) (e), 440.964 and 440.966 (2), Stats., as created by
1995 Wis. Act 322, and interpreting ss. 440.962 (1) (e), 440.964 and
440.966 (2), Stats., the Department of Regulation and Licensing will
hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated below to consider
an order to create ch. RL 130, relating to examinations and
continuing education requirements for interior designers.

Hearing Information:

October 14, 1996 Room 179A
Monday 1400 East Washington Ave.
10:30 a.m. MADISON, Wi

Written Comments

Interested people are invited to present information at the hearing.
People appearing may make an oral presentation, but are urged to
submit facts, opinions and argument in writing as well. Facts,
opinions and argument may also be submitted in writing without a
personal appearance by mail addressed to:

Office of Administrative Rules
Dept. of Regulation & Licensing
P.O. Box 8935
Madison, WI 53708

Written comments must be received by October 18, 1996 to be
included in the record of rule—making proceedings.

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Regulation & Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation: s. 227.11 (2), Stats., and
ss. 440.962 (1) (e), 440.964 and 440.966 (2), Stats., as created by
1995 Wis. Act 322.

Statutes interpreted: ss. 440.962 (1) (e), 440.964 and 440.966 (2)

In this proposed rule—making order, the Department of Regulation
and Licensing creates rules relating to the regulation of interior
designers, which was created by 1995 Wis. Act 322. 1995 Wis.
Act 322 requires applicants to register and to have taken an
examination or, depending on past experience and education, at least
the building and barrier—free codes section of the examination
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administered by the National Council for Interior Design. These
proposed rules address the different examinations that may be taken,
penalties for cheating on examinations, conditions under which an
examination may be retaken after a candidate has failed the
examination and procedures for review of a failed examination.

1995 Wis. Act 322 also requires registered interior designers, at
the time that they apply for renewal of a certificate of registration, to
submit proof of completion of continuing education requirements.
The proposed rules specify the number of hours of continuing
education which registered interior designers must complete before
renewal, course contents, approval of the providers of such education,
approval of course instructors and acceptable proof of having
completed the education.

Section RL 130.01 provides the authority for ch. RL 130. Section
RL 130.02 sets forth the examination requirements that are required
before an applicant may become a registered interior designer.
Section RL 130.03 designates the continuing education requirements
for registered interior designers. Section RL 130.04 sets forth the
criteria for approval of continuing education programs and
instructors.

Text of Rule
SECTION 1. Chapter RL 130 is created to read:

Chapter RL 130

INTERIOR DESIGNERS

RL 130.01 Authority. The rules in ch. RL 130 are adopted
pursuant to s. 227.11 (2), Stats., and ss. 440.962 (1) (e), 440.964,
and 440.966 (2), Stats., as created by 1995 Wis. Act 322, and govern
registered interior designers.

RL 130.02 Examinations. (1) EXAMINATIONS
RECOGNIZED BY THE DEPARTMENT UNDER S. 440.964
(1) (a), STATS. An applicant for registration as an interior designer
shall pass one of the following:

(a) The interior design examination of the national council for
interior design qualification administered in 1990 or later.

(b) The building and barrier free codes section of the interior
design examination of the national council for interior design
qualification administered in 1990 or later, if an applicant has passed
the examination of the national council for interior design
qualification prior to 1990.

(c) The building and barrier free codes section of the interior
design examination of the national council for interior design
qualification administered in 1990 or later, if an applicant has passed
the interior design examination of the council for qualification of
residential interior designers.

(2) EXAMINATION REVIEW. An applicant who fails an
examination may request a review of the examination as permitted by
the examination provider. If a review is permitted, the following
conditions apply:

(a) The applicant shall file a written request to the department
within 30 days of the date on which examination results were mailed
and pay the fee under s. RL 4.05.

(b) Examination reviews are by appointment only and shall be
limited to the time permitted by the examination provider.

(c) An applicant may not be accompanied during the review by
any person other than the proctors.

(d) Applicants may not remove any notes from the examination
area.

(3) PASSING SCORE. Each applicant shall receive a score
determined by the department to represent minimum competence to
practice. The department may adopt the passing score recommended
by the examination provider.

(4) CHEATING. The department may deny release of scores or
issuance of registration if the department determines that the applicant
violated rules of conduct of the examination or otherwise acted
dishonestly.

(5) REEXAMINATION. No restrictions shall be placed on the
number of times an applicant may be reexamined.
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RL 130.03 Continuing education requirements. (1) Every
registered interior designer shall complete at least 9 hours of an
educational program prior to each renewal date except that an interior
designer who is initially registered less than 6 months prior to the first
renewal date shall complete the educational program prior to the
second renewal date.

(2) An hour consists of a 50 minute period of actual classroom
instruction.

(3) A registered interior designer shall attend approved courses in
order to complete the required educational hours.

(4) A registered interior designer who acts as an instructor of an
approved educational program or course shall receive credit toward
satisfaction of the educational requirement. A registered interior
designer may not receive credit for teaching a specific course more
than one time.

(5) The department may grant an extension of time for completion
of the educational requirements for one of the following reasons:

(a) Health reasons which prevented attendance at the educational
program or course.

(b) Active duty in the military service with assignment to a duty
station outside Wisconsin.

(6) A registered interior designer shall certify that he or she has met
the educational requirements when applying for renewal of the
registration. The department shall withhold issuance of the renewal
registration until the certification is provided.

(7) Registered interior designers shall obtain an individual
certificate of completion from a program provider upon satisfactory
completion of the program. Registered interior designers shall retain
evidence of completion for at least 5 years from the date of
completion. The department may require any registered interior
designer to submit evidence of having completed the required hours
of continuing education for the period specified in sub. (1).

RL 130.04 Approval of educational programs and
instructors. (1) A program and its instructors shall be approved by
the American society of interior designers, the interior design
continuing education council, the international interior design
association, the interior design education council, the interior
designers of Canada, or other bodies recognized by the department.
Each program shall relate to the general subject of interior design.

(2) The department shall accept continuing education credits from
registrants who successfully complete programs that are approved
under sub. (1).

(3) An instructor whose registration as an interior designer has
been limited, suspended, or revoked may not instruct in approved
courses or programs while the disciplinary action is in effect.

Fiscal Estimate

1. The anticipated fiscal effect on the fiscal liability and revenues
of any local unit of government of the proposed rule is: $0.00

2. The projected anticipated state fiscal effect during the current
biennium of the proposed rule is: $0.00.

3. The projected net annualized fiscal impact on state funds of the
proposed rule is: $0.00.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These proposed rules will be reviewed by the Department through
its Small Business Review Advisory Committee to determine
whether there will be an economic impact on a substantial number of
small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.
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Copies of Rule and Contact Person

Copies of this proposed rule are available without cost upon
request to:

Pamela Haack, (608) 266—0495
Office of Administrative Rules
Dept. of Regulation & Licensing
1400 East Washington Ave., Room 171
P.O. Box 8935
Madison, WI 53708

Notice of Proposed Rule

Revenue

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 227.11(2) (a), Stats., and
interpreting ss. 77.53 (1), (1m) and (17), 77.54 (5) (a), 77.56 (2) and
77.71 (2), Stats., and according to the procedure set forth in s. 227.16
(2) (e), Stats., the Department of Revenue will adopt the following
rules as proposed in this notice without public hearing unless, within
30 days after publication of this notice on October 1, 1996, it is
petitioned for a public hearing by 25 natural persons who will be
affected by the rule, a municipality which will be affected by the rule,
or an association which is representative of a farm, labor, business or
professional group which will be affected by the rule.

Contact Person

Please contact Mark Wipperfurth at (608) 266—8253, if you have
any questions regarding this proposed rule order.

Analysis by the Dept. of Revenue
Statutory authority: s.227.11 (2) (a)

Statutes interpreted: ss. 77.53 (1), (1m) and (17), 77.54 (5) (a),
77.56 (2) and 77.71 (2), Stats., as affected by 1995 Wis. Act 27.

SECTION 1. Tax 11.83 (1), relating to definitions, is amended to
correct language as required by Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse standards.

Tax 11.83 (2), (3) (d) and (4) (b), relating to taxable gross receipts
and occasional sales, are amended to improve language as required by
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse standards.

Tax 11.83 (5), relating to the temporary use of motor vehicles in
Wisconsin, is amended to clarify the language in s. 77.53 (17), Stats.

Tax 11.83 (6) and (7) (a), relating to tax credits and transfers by
inheritance, are amended to improve language as required by
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse standards.

SECTION 2. Tax 11.83 (8), relating to the use of motor vehicles
by dealers, is repealed and recreated to reflect the amendment to
ss. 77.53 (1), 77.56 (2) and 77.71 (2), Stats., and the creation of
s. 77.53 (1m), Stats., by 1995 Wis. Act 27.

SECTION 3. Tax 11.83 (11) (c) and (12), relating to resale
certificatesand mixing and processing units, are amended to improve
language and to reflect proper format, as required by Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse standards.

Text of Rule

SECTION 1. Tax 11.83 (1), (2), (3) (d) and (4) (b) are amended
to read:

Tax 11.83 (1) DEFINITION. In this section, “motor vehicle”
means a self—propelled vehicle, such as an automobile, truck,
truck—tractor and or motorcycle, designed for and capable of
transporting persons or property on a highway. In this section, “motor
vehicle” does not include a self—propelled vehicle which is not
designed or used primarily for transportation of persons or property,
and is only incidentally operated on a public highway, such as a farm
tractor, snowmobile, fork lift truck and or road machinery as defined
in s. 340.01 (52), Stats. “Motor vehicle” does not include a vehicle
which is not self—propelled, such as a trailer or semitrailer.

(2) RETAILERS’ TAXABLE GROSS RECEIPTS. Gross
receipts from the following sales in Wisconsin are taxable:

(a) Gross-receiptsfrom-the The sale of a motor vehicle minus any

trade—in allowance, if the sale and trade—in are one transaction. A
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separate or independent sale of a motor vehicle by either the buyer or
seller of another motor vehicle is not a trade—in, even if the proceeds
from the sale are immediately applied by the seller to a purchase of
another motor vehicle. A dealer does not realize taxable receipts from
a transaction in which one motor vehicle is traded for another of lesser
value, called a “trade—down-,” unless cash or services are received by
the dealer.

Note to Revisor: Insert the following examples after sub. (2) (a):

Examples: 1) Dealer A sells a motor vehicle to Individual B and
accepts the trade—in of two motor vehicles owned by Individual B.
The selling price of the new vehicle is $20,000. The values of the two
motor vehicles traded in by Individual B are $8,000 and $9,000.
Gross receipts subject to sales tax are $3,000, the $20,000 selling price
less $8,000 and $9,000 trade—ins.

2) Dealer A sells two motor vehicles to Individual C and accepts
the trade—in of a motor vehicle owned by Individual C. The selling
prices of the new vehicles are $10,000 and $12,000. The value of the
motor vehicle traded in is $15,000. Gross receipts subject to sales tax
are $7,000, the $22,000 selling price less $15,000 trade—in.

(b) Groessreceiptsfrom-chargesfor The delivery, handling; and
preparation of a motor vehicle being sold and any the sale of a
warranty, relating to the sale of a motor vehicle that is taxable.

Note to Revisor: Insert the following note after sub. (2) (b):

Note: See s. Tax 11.27 for information regarding the sales and
use tax treatment of warranties.

(c) Gross-receipts-from The sale of equipment and accessories sold
with a motor vehicle. However, adaptive equipment, including parts

and accessories, that makes it possible for handicapped persons to
enter, operate or leave a vehicle as defined in s. 27.01 (7) (a) 2, Stats.,
is exempt from sales and use tax if the equipment is purchased by the
handicapped person, a person acting on behalf of the handicapped
person or a nonprofit organization.

(d) Grossreceiptsfrom-chargesforall Sales of parts and labor for

repair, service and maintenance performed on a motor vehicle,
including charges for installation of accessories or attachments,
except charges for adaptive equipment, including parts and
accessories, that makes it possible for handicapped persons to enter,
operate or leave a vehicle as described in par. (c).

Note to Revisor: Insert the following note after sub. (2) (d):

Note: Under s. 77.51 (14r), Stats., a sale takes place in
Wisconsin if possession of the tangible personal property is
transferred by the seller or the seller’s agent to the buyer or the buyer’s
agent in Wisconsin. A common carrier or U.S. Postal Service is
always an agent of the seller.

(3) (d) When one co—owner transfers an interest in a motor vehicle
to the other co—owner, tax shall apply on the transfer of such the
interest. The measure of the tax shall be the cash or its equivalent paid
for the equity transferred plus the selling co—owner’s share of the
liabilities assumed by the buying co—owner.

(4) (b) Gross receipts from the repair by a Wisconsin retailer of a
nonresident’s motor vehicle or truck body is are subject to the tax.

(5) TEMPORARY USE IN WISCONSIN. Motor vehicles
purchased outside Wisconsin, which are not registered or titled or
required to be registered or titled in Wisconsin, brought into
Wisconsin by a nondomiciliary for that person’s own storage, use or
other consumption while temporarily in Wisconsin are not subject to
use tax when the motor vehicle is not stored, used or otherwise
consumed in Wisconsin in the conduct of a trade, occupation,
business or profession or in the performance of personal services for
wages or fees.

(6) TAX CREDIT FOR VEHICLE PURCHASED OUTSIDE
WISCONSIN. A motor vehicle purchased outside this—state
Wisconsin and registered in this-state generally Wisconsin is subject
to the Wisconsin use tax, except as noted in sub. (4) (c). However, if
the purchase was subject to a sales or use tax by the state or the District
of Columbia in which the purchase was made, sales or use tax paid to
the other state or the District of Columbia shall may be applied as a
credit against and deducted from the Wisconsin use tax. This credit
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shall does not apply to taxes paid to another country; or to
municipalities in other states, or to motor vehicle registration fees.

(7) (a) The distribution of a motor vehicle to the heir or heirs of an
estate is not a taxable transfer subject to the Wisconsin sales or use tax.
However, the sale of a motor vehicle by a personal representative of
an estate is subject to the tax, and the purchaser isrequired to shall pay
the tax to the department of transportation at the time of registration.

SECTION 2. Tax 11.83 (8) is repealed and recreated to read:

Tax 11.83 (8) VEHICLES USED BY LICENSED WISCONSIN
MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS. (a) General. Motor vehicles
purchased without tax for resale by a Wisconsin motor vehicle dealer
licensed under s. 218.01, Stats., and used for a purpose in addition to
retention, demonstration or display, except motor vehicles loaned to
any school or school district for a driver training educational program
conducted by the school or school district, are subject to Wisconsin
use tax. Motor vehicles used by the dealership solely for retention,
demonstration and display, while holding them for sale in the regular
course of business, or solely for leasing to others, such as customers
and employes, are not subject to Wisconsin use tax.

(b) Amount subject to use tax. The amount subject to use tax on
a motor vehicle used by a licensed motor vehicle dealer for a purpose
in addition to retention, demonstration or display is one of the
following:

1. Motor vehicles held for sale which are assigned to a specific
dealer employe subject to withholding from federal income tax on
wages are subject to Wisconsin use tax on $96 per motor vehicle
registration plate per month.

Note: As provided in s. 77.53 (1m), Stats., the department
annually, beginning January 1, 1997, will adjust the $96 amount to
the nearest whole dollar to reflect the annual percentage change in the
U.S. consumer price index for all urban customers, U.S. city average,
as determined by the United States department of labor, for the
12 months ending on June 30 of the year before the change. The
department will publicize any rate change in an issue of the Wisconsin
Tax Bulletin prior to the January 1 that the change becomes effective.

2. Motor vehicles held for sale and not assigned to a specific
dealer employe subject to federal withholding on wages are subject to
Wisconsin use tax on the lease value of the motor vehicle computed
on a calendar month basis. If a motor vehicle is used by the dealer for
a period of less than one calendar month, the amount subject to use tax
is the daily lease value calculated by multiplying the applicable
monthly lease value by a fraction, the numerator of which is the
number of days used by the dealer for a purpose in addition to
retention, demonstration or display and the denominator of which is
the number of days in the calendar month. Lease value is computed
using the internal revenue service lease value table contained in
internal revenue service regulation s. 1.61-21 (d) (2). In the lease
value table, the “automobile fair market value” is one of the
following:

a. The amount an individual would have to pay in an arm’s
length transaction to purchase the motor vehicle. The amount
includes all amounts attributable to the purchase of the automobile
such as sales tax and title fees.

b. The motor vehicle dealer’s cost of purchasing the automobile,
including all expenses attributable to that purchase, provided the
automobile is owned by the dealer and the purchase was made at arm’s
length.

3. Motor vehicles not held for sale, including motor vehicles
properly capitalized for Wisconsin income or franchise tax purposes,
are subject to use tax based on the sales price of the motor vehicle as
defined in s. 77.51 (15), Stats. However, if the motor vehicles were
purchased without tax using a resale or other exemption certificate
and the first use, in addition to retention, demonstration or display,
occurs more than 6 months after the purchase by the dealer, the dealer
may use the fair market value of the motor vehicle at the time of first
use as the amount subject to tax.

(¢) Recordkeeping. It is presumed that all dealer plates issued by
the department of transportation to a licensed motor vehicle dealer are
used each month on motor vehicles assigned to employes subject to
withholding for federal income tax purposes for a purpose in addition
to retention, demonstration or display and are subject to use tax as
provided in par. (b) 1, unless one of the following applies:
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1. The motor vehicle dealer keeps adequate records showing
that the dealer plates were not used during the month on motor
vehicles for a purpose in addition to retention, demonstration or
display.

2. The motor vehicle to which the dealer plate is assigned is
subject to use tax as computed in par. (b) 2 or 3.

(d) Transitional provision. For motor vehicles, not assigned to
employes or salespersons subject to federal withholding on wages,
that are used by the dealer for a purpose in addition to retention,
demonstration and display both prior to September 1, 1995, and on
and after September 1, 1995, upon which a sales or use tax was paid
on the purchase price of the motor vehicle by the dealer, the
imposition of use tax as described in par. (b) 2 does not apply.

SECTION 3. Tax 11.83 (11) (¢) and (12) are amended to read:

Tax 11.83 (11) (c) A supplier cannet may not accept a resale
certificatein good faith on items which are not physically transferred
to the purchaser’s customer, except when the purchaser does all of the

following:
1. Inventories the property;.

2. Certifies that the purchaser sells significant-amounts-of the
property over—the—counter to-walk—in trade;-and in the regular course

of business.

3. Thepurchaserspeeifies Specifies on the resale certificate each
type of item the purchaser sells-over—the—counter in the regular course
of business.

(12) EXEMPTION FOR MIXING AND PROCESSING UNITS.
Sales, leases and rentals of mobile mixing units used for mixing and
processing, and the motor vehicle-or trailer vehicles or trailers on
which the wunit—is units are mounted, including accessories,
attachments, parts, supplies and materials for those vehicles, trailers
and units, are exempt from the sales and use tax.

Note to Revisor: Replace the notes at the end of s. Tax 11.83 with
the following:

Note: Section Tax 11.83 interprets ss. 77.51 (13) (am) and
(14) (§), 77.52 (1) and (15), 77.53 (1), (Im), (16), (17) and (18), 77.54
(5) (a), (c) and (d), (7) and (22) (g), 77.56 (2) and (3), 77.61 (1) and
77.71 (2) and (4), Stats.

Note: The interpretations in s. Tax 11.83 are effective under
the general sales and use tax law on and after September 1, 1969,
except:

(a) The exemption for a transfer from an individual to a
corporation solely owned by an individual became -effective
January 1, 1983, pursuant to Chapter 264, Laws of 1981;

(b) The exemption for motor vehicles used in waste
reduction and recycling became effective July 1, 1984, pursuant to
1983 Wis. Act 426;

(c) The exemption for mobile mixing and processing units
became effective July 20, 1985, pursuant to 1985 Wis. Act 29;

(d) The exemption for adaptive equipment for handicapped
persons to enter, operate or leave a vehicle became effective June 1,
1990, pursuant to 1989 Wis. Act 238;

(e) The exemption for motor vehicles donated to exempt
organizations became effective August 9, 1989, pursuant to 1989
Wis. Act 31;

(f) The exemption for transfers of motor vehicles to in—laws
became effective August 15, 1991, pursuant to 1991 Wis. Act 39;

(g) The exemption for parts and accessories for adaptive
equipment for motor vehicles of handicapped persons became
effective October 1, 1991, pursuant to 1991 Wis. Act 39; and

(h) The measure of use tax on motor vehicles as described in
sub. (8) (b) became effective September 1, 1995, pursuant to 1995
Wis. Act 27.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rule order does not have a significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses.
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Fiscal Estimate

The proposed rule updates the Administrative Code with respect
to the Department of Revenue’s sales and use tax treatment of motor
vehicles.

Section 7 of the rule repeals and recreates s. Tax 11.83 (8), relating
to taxes on motor vehicles used by licensed motor vehicle dealers. It
changes the formula for calculating use tax on vehicles operated by
an employe of the dealer to:

Sales and use tax rate (5% for the state,
0.5% for counties with a sales tax) multiplied by
$96 per month per dealer license plate held by
the dealership.

Further, it changes the formula for calculating use tax on other
vehicles operated by the dealer to:

Sales and use tax rate multiplied by the
monthly lease value of the motor vehicle, as
shown in the lease value tables compiled by the
Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

Section 7 reflects statutory changes made in 1995 Wis. Act 27 and
does not have a fiscal effect.

Other rule sections reflect additional statutory changes in Act 27,
clarify existing language, reflect a recent decision by the Wisconsin
Tax Appeals Commission, and change style and format to conform
with Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse standards. These
changes do not have a fiscal effect.

Notice of Hearing
Department of Transportation

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 343.02(1), 343.055(5),
343.06(3) and 343.14, Stats., and interpreting ss. 343.055 and
343.14, Stats., the Department of Transportation will hold a public
hearing in Room 421 of the Hill Farms State Transportation
Building, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin on the
15th day of October, 1996, at 1:30 PM, to consider the amendment
of ch. Trans 102, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to driver license issuance.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on request
for this hearing. Please make reservations for a hearing interpreter at
least 10 days prior to the hearing.

The public record on this proposed rule making will be held open
until close of business, October 15, 1996, to permit the submission
of written comments from persons unable to attend the public hearing
or who wish to supplement testimony offered at the hearing. Any
such comments should be submitted to Karen Schwartz, Department
of Transportation, Bureau of Driver Services, Room 301, P. O. Box
7920, Madison, WI 53707-7920.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible entrance are
available on the north and south sides of the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: ss. 343.02(1), 343.055(5),
343.06(3) and 343.14

STATUTES INTERPRETED: ss. 343.055 and 343.14

General Summary of Proposed Rule. The purpose of this
proposed rulemaking is threefold: to clarify when the commercial
motor vehicle sanctions associated with “excessive speeding” apply
to farm service CDL applicants; to permit the Division of Motor
Vehicles (DMV) to issue training permits up to 60 days before a
student begins behind the wheel training; and to permit additional
alternative documents to be used as proof of identification for
purposes of obtaining a driver license as suggested by the American
Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators.

Under the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act, accompanying
federal regulations, and s. 343.315(2)(f)1., Stats., drivers who are
convicted of as exceeding the posted speed limit in a commercial
motor vehicle by 15 or more miles per hour are disqualified. Under
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the federal farm service CDL waiver, drivers who exceed posted
limits by 15 or more miles per hour in any class of vehicle are not
permitted to obtain seasonal farm service CDLs for a period of 2 years.
There has been some confusion regarding the speed at which the
“excessive speeding” sanctions apply because for many years the
uniform traffic deposit schedule has provided different monetary
fines and DOT has assessed more demerit points to drivers who
exceeded the speed limit by more than 20 miles per hour. Trans
101.02(1)(j). The proposed amendment to s. Trans 102.20(2)(c)
clarifies that the 15 mile per hour standard is used in determining farm
service CDL eligibility.

Currently the applicant’s signature is required on the application
for an operator’s license or identification card. The Division of Motor
Vehicles is having operational difficulties with members of fringe
groups who sign their driver licenses with false names or add
“reservations of rights,” allegations that the license is obtained under
duress, or other extraneous information on the license signature line.
DMV’s experience with these groups has been that the members tend
to provide required information as requested only when some
provision of law leaves no possible room for ambiguity. This
proposed rulemaking specifies precisely that signatures must be in the
format first name, middle initial or name, last name. The purpose of
the proposed rulemaking is to attempt to provide counter personnel
with a tool to speed up the handling of driver license applications by
these people.

Documents that will be accepted by the Department as proof of
name, date and place of birth, and identity are expanded and updated.
The new documents are recommended in the Uniform Identification
Practices materials prepared by the American Association of Motor
Vehicle Administrator’s Driver Licensing and Control Uniform
Identification Working Group, September, 1995.

The rulemaking also proposes to permit out—of—state drivers with
driver licenses from their home states to provide any reliable evidence
of their place of birth to DMV rather than requiring a certified copy
of birth certificate or passport. DMV has never tracked the place of
birth information it is required to collect under s. 343.06(1)(j), Stats.
Because the birth certificate is less reliable identification than an
out—of—state driver license, and requiring immigrants to the state to
obtain birth certificates creates an administrative burden for the driver
(to obtain the license) and for DMV (to have to explain the
requirement to the driver and make arrangements to process the
person when he/she obtains the certificate), the Division is proposing
to accept any reliable evidence of place of birth rather than requiring
the certified birth certificate.

After having several incidents in which people misrepresented
their identity to the Department using only a license renewal notice as
identification, the Department is repealing the exceptions which
permitted people holding renewal notices from being required to
provide other forms of ID. People reinstating or renewing a license
will now need to provide some sort of photo ID, such as their expired
license or a student ID.

Finally, this proposed rulemaking would change the Department’s
longstanding practice of not issuing an instruction permit to a driver
until 30 days prior to the time the student begins behind the wheel
training. The proposed rule would permit issuance up to 60 days prior
to the start of behind the wheel training. The Division believes
changing its practice will reduce some administrative burdens to the
Division and license applicants.

Fiscal Effect

The proposed rulemaking will have no material fiscal effect on the
Department, but will reduce some administrative burdens on the
Division of Motor Vehicles.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rulemaking will have no effect on small businesses.
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Preparation and Copies of Proposed
Rule

Preparation of this proposed rule was done by the Division of
Motor Vehicles. Copies of the proposed rule may be obtained upon
request, without cost, by writing to Karen Schwartz, Department of
Transportation, Bureau of Driver Services, Room 301, P. O. Box
7920, Madison, WI 53707-7920, or by calling (608) 266—0054.
Hearing—impaired individuals may contact the Department using
TDD (608) 266—0396. Alternate formats of the proposed rule will be
provided to individuals at their request.

Notice of Proposed Rule
Department of Transportation

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority of ss.
110.075(6), 194.38(2), 194.43 and 346.45(4), Stats., and according
to the procedure set forth in s. 227.16(2)(e), Stats., the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation will adopt the following rule amending
chs. Trans 325, 326 and 328 without public hearing unless, within 30
days after publication of this notice, on October 1, 1996, the
Department of Transportation is petitioned for a public hearing by 25
natural persons who will be affected by the rules; a municipality
which will be affected by the rules; or an association which is
representative of a farm, labor, business or professional group which
will be affected by the rules.

Questions about this rule making and any petition for public
hearing may be addressed to Lt. Lyle Walheim, Division of State
Patrol, Room 551, P. O. Box 7912, Madison, Wisconsin
53707-7912, telephone (608) 266—0305.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: ss. 110.075(6), 194.38(2), 194.43
and 346.45(4)

STATUTES INTERPRETED: ss. 110.07, 110,075, 194.38 and
194.43

General Summary of Proposed Rule. This proposed rule making
will amend three existing rules to bring them into compliance with

changes to the federal regulations which have gone into effect as of
November 1, 1996. These changes are as follows:

Chapter Trans 325 adopted motor carrier safety regulations of the
United States Department of Transportation in effect on November 1,
1995. This proposed amendment changes the date from November
1, 1995 to November 1, 1996. This change allows Wisconsin to
enforce the most recent motor carrier safety regulations. All vehicles
operating in interstate commerce are already subject, under federal
law, to any changes that have been adopted between November 1,
1995 and November 1, 1996.

The Department also proposes to incorporate recent changes to
federal regulations that became effective April 3, 1996, that affects the
agricultural industry in Wisconsin. The new federal rules provide
exceptions to hours of service requirements for drivers transporting
agricultural commodities or farm supplies for agricultural purposes
within a 100 air mile radius from the source of the commodities or the
distribution point of the farm supplies. The exception will apply
during the “planting and harvesting season within the state” as
determined by the state. The Department will propose the planting
and harvesting season to be from March 15 to December 15 each year.
The proposal will be consistent with surrounding state declarations.

Chapter Trans 326 adopted motor carrier safety requirements for
transportation of hazardous materials of the United States Department
of Transportation in effect on November 1, 1996. This proposed
amendment changes the date from November 1, 1995 to November
1, 1996. This change allows Wisconsin to enforce the most recent
version of the motor carrier safety requirements for transportation of
hazardous materials. All vehicles operating in interstate commerce
are already subject under federal law to any changes that have been
adopted between November 1, 1995 and November 1, 1996.

Chapter Trans 328 adopted motor carrier safety requirements for
intrastate transportation of hazardous materials of the United States
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Department of Transportation in effect on November 1, 1995. This
proposed amendment changes the date from November 1, 1995 to
November 1, 1996. This change allows Wisconsin to enforce the
most recent version of the motor carrier safety requirements for
intrastate transportation of hazardous materials.

Fiscal Impact

The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the
liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school
district, technical college district, sewerage district, or any
federally—recognized tribes or bands.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule will have no adverse impact on small
businesses.

Copies of Rule

This proposed rule was prepared by Lt. Lyle Walheim, Division of
State Patrol. Copies of the rule may be obtained upon request, free of
charge, from the Division of State Patrol, P. O. Box 7912, Room 551,
Madison, WI ~ 53707-7912, or by calling (608) 266—6936.
Hearing—impaired individuals may contact the Department using
TDD (608) 266—0396. Alternate formats of the proposed rule will be
provided to individuals at their request.

Text of Proposed Rule

Under the authority vested in the state of Wisconsin, department
of transportation, by ss. 110.075(6), 194.38(2), 194.43 and
346.45(4), Stats., the department of transportation hereby amends
rules interpreting ss. 110.07, 110,075, 194.38 and 194.43, Stats.,
relating to motor carrier safety regulations, motor carrier safety
requirements for transportation of hazardous materials, and motor
carrier safety requirements for intrastate transportation of hazardous
materials.

SECTION 1. Trans 325.01 is renumbered 325.02.
SECTION 2. Trans 325.01 is created to read:

Trans 325.01 DEFINITION. “Planting and harvesting season”
means the period of time beginning March 15 through December 15
of each year.

SECTION 3. Trans 325.02(intro.), as renumbered, is amended to
read:

Trans 325.02 FEDERAL RULES ADOPTED. (intro.) The
following federal motor carrier safety regulations adopted by the
United States department of transportation and in effect on November
1, 1995 1996, are adopted by the department and shall be enforced in
relation to those carriers, drivers or vehicles to which these federal
rules apply in the same manner as though the regulations were set out
in full in this chapter:

SECTION 4. Trans 326.01(intro.) is amended to read:

Trans 326.01 FEDERAL RULES ADOPTED. The following
federal motor carrier safety regulations adopted by the United States
department of transportation and in effect on November 1, 1995
1996, are adopted by the department and shall be enforced in relation
to those carriers, drivers or vehicles to which these federal rules apply
in the same manner as though the regulations were set out in full in this
chapter:

SECTION 5. Trans 328.03(intro.) is amended to read:

Trans 328.03 FEDERAL RULES ADOPTED. The following
federal motor carrier safety regulations adopted by the United States
department of transportation and in effect on November 1, 1995
1996, are adopted by the department and shall be enforced in relation
to those carriers, drivers or vehicles to which these federal rules apply
in the same manner as though the regulations were set out in full in this
chapter:
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Notice of Hearings
Workforce Development
(Migrant labor, Ch. DWD 301)

Notice is given that pursuant to s. 103.905 (1), Stats., the
Department of Workforce Development proposes to hold public
hearings to consider the revision of ch. ILHR 301 [DWD 301], Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to Migrant Labor.

Hearing Information

October 21, 1996 Job Service Office

Monday 349 N. Peters Ave.
10:00 a.m. Fond du Lac
November 5, 1996 Cartwright Center
Tuesday 1741 State Street
10:00 a.m. La Crosse

A copy of the rules to be considered may be obtained from the State
Department of Workforce Development, Division of Workforce
Excellence, 201 E. Washington Ave., P.O. Box 7972, Madison, WI
53707, by calling (608) 266—-5712 or at the appointed times and
places the hearings are held.

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearings and will be
afforded the opportunity of making an oral presentations of their
positions. Persons making oral presentations are requested to submit
their facts, views and suggested rewording in writing. Written
comments from persons unable to attend the public hearing, or who
wish to supplement testimony offered at the hearings may be
submitted no later than October 25, 1996, for inclusion in the
summary of public comments submitted to the Legislature. Any such
comments should be submitted to Vidal Rodriquez at the address
noted above. Written comments will be given the same consideration
as testimony presented at the hearings. Persons submitting comments
will not receive individual responses.

These hearings are held in accessible facilities. If you have special
needs or circumstances which may make communication or
accessibility difficult at the hearing, please call (608) 266—5712 or
Telecom—Communication Device for the Deaf (TDD) at (608)
267-4077 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date. Accommodations
such as interpreters, English translators or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available on request
by a person with a disability.

Analysis

This rule revises the code enforcement system followed by the
Bureau of Migrant Services of the Department of Workforce
Development. Its goal is to improve enforcement by rewarding
code—compliant camp operators with lower fees and fewer inspection
visits while increasing the attention, and the penalty fees, directed at
camp operators with serious violations.

Under the proposed rule, the department will refund the camp
certificateapplication fee for a timely applicant if the camp is certified
on the basis of the first inspection. If a second visit is necessary for
certification, there is no refund of the fee. If a third inspection visit is
required, the department will charge an additional fee of $500. If four
or more Visits are required, the department will charge an additional
$750 fee for each additional inspection.

For violations found after a post—occupancy inspection, the
proposed rule would replace the current citation system with a system
that bases the penalty fee on the gravity of the violation, the
probability of harm, and mitigating factors like the compliance
history of the employer.

The proposed fee changes have resulted from a review of fees
caused by the statutory changes made by 1995 Act 27. The fee for
migrant labor contractor certification, now $25 for one year, is
changed to $250 for two years. The application fee for operating a
migrant labor camp is raised from $10 to $100 plus the cost of water
sampling and testing, and the late application fee is raised from $25
to $150 plus the cost of water sampling and testing. (As of now, this
cost is about $35 per well.)
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Other proposed rule changes will make corrections in
cross—references, printing errors, and references to other statutes or
legal requirements.

The rule is renumbered from ILHR 301 to DWD 301 to reflect the
change in the department’s name from the Department of Industry,
Labor and Human Relations to the Department of Workforce
Development.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rules.

Employers that operate migrant labor camps and provide housing
to migrant workers.

2. Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required for
compliance with the rules.

This rule doesn’t add any new requirements.

3. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance with the
rules.

None.

Fiscal Estimate

The 1996 Amendments to DWD 301(Migrant Labor)propose the
following: migrant camp registration and labor contractor fee
changes, recovery of costs for water sampling and testing,
administrative penalty fee assessments that replace the current system
of code enforcement based on citations taken to court, and make
corrective amendments to the migrant labor code. The proposed fee
changes have resulted from a review of fees caused by the statutory
changes made by 1995 Act 27.

Migrant Labor Camp Fee Assumptions

125 Migrant labor camps will operate in Wisconsin in 1997,
112(90%) of these will register prior to 4/1/97, and will pay the
proposed $100 registration fee; 13 will register after 4/1/97, and will
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pay the proposed $150 late registration fee; Total Projected
Revenues—$13,150; Total Projected Revenues Subject to
Refund—-$11,200(Due to incentive to register early and be certified
on initial visit); Projected Revenue Increase——$1,950; Based on the
last 3 years experience, DWD has collected an annual average of
$1,748; PROJECTED NET ANNUAL REVENUE INCREASE
(GPR)—$202.

Migrant Labor Contractor Fee Assumptions

25 Migrant Labor Contractors will register for permit to operate in
Wisconsin in 1997, and will pay the proposed bi—annual fee of $250;
Total Projected Annual Revenue——$3,125; Based on the last 3 years
experience, DWD has collected an annual average of $261;
PROJECTED NET ANNUAL REVENUE
INCREASE(GPR)—$2,864.

Private Well Water Sampling and Testing Assumptions

Costs involved with the sampling and testing was previously
borne by the DNR, who no longer is able to bear this cost. In 1997,
DWD will, thus, sample private wells, at a cost to camp operators of
$35 per well, in a projected 125 migrant camps that will result in 300
samples(125 for bacteria, 125 for nitrates and 50 resamplings), and
will send them to the state lab of hygiene for testing and results. The
state lab of hygiene will then bill DWD for the testing services. Total

Projected Revenues—$10,500; Total Projected
Expenditures——$10,500; REVENUES WILL EQUAL
EXPENDITURES.

Penalty Fee Assessment Assumptions

In 1997, DWD will receive no benefit from the assessment of
post—occupancy inspection penalty fees. Any collected fees will go
directly to the state treasury. However, DWD is projecting that all
violations will be resolved before the penalty fees are assessed.
PROJECTED NET ANNUALLY REVENUES INCREASE-$0-.

The projected net total GPR Earned annual revenue increase is
$3,066.
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NOTICE OF SUBMISSION OF PROPOSED RULES TO THE PRESIDING OFFICER OF
EACH HOUSE OF THE LEGISLATURE, UNDER S. 227.19, STATS.

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings for further information on a particular rule.

Health & Family Services (CR 96—120):
S. HSS 146.03 — Relating to addition of varicella (chicken pox)
to list of vaccine—preventable diseases.

Insurance, Commissioner of (CR 96-94):
Chs. Ins 14 and 51 — Relating to financial standards for
insurers.

Natural Resources (CR 96-39):
Chs. NR 158, 700, 705, 706, 708, 712, 716, 722, 724 and 726 —
Relating to hazardous substance discharge notification
requirements and source confirmation.

Natural Resources (CR 96-72):
S. NR 20.04 (5) — Relating to sport fishing in urban waters.

Natural Resources (CR 96-96):
S. NR 10.01 (1) (b), (g) and (u) — Relating to the 1996
migratory game bird season.

Natural Resources (CR 96-97):

S. NR 20.038 — Relating to special size and bag limits for the
Lac du Flambeau reservation.

Securities, Division of (Financial Institutions)

(CR 96-128):
S. SEC 2.01 (1) (¢) 5 and (d) 5 — Relating to designating
alternative accounting guidelines for the preparation of
financial statements for certain governmental issuers of
securities.

Transportation (CR 96-69):
Ch. Trans 128 — Relating to a traffic violation and registration
program.


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/120
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/94
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/39
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/72
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/96
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/97
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/128
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/69
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ADMINISTRATIVE Rures FiLep WiTH

THE

REVISOR OF STATUTES BUREAU

The following administrative rules have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published. The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date. It is possible that the publication of these rules could be
delayed. Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at (608) 266—7275 for updated information on the effective dates for the listed

rules.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection (CR 95-97):

An order affecting chs. ATCP 88 and 89, relating to egg
grading, handling and labeling.
Effective 11-01-96.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Geologists, Professional Engineers, Designers and Land
Surveyors Examining Board (CR 96-49):
An order affecting ss. A-E 3.05, 4.08, 5.04, 6.05, 9.05 and
10.05, relating to examination reviews.
Effective 11-01-96.

Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board
(CR96-1):
An order creating s. BC 3.03 (5), relating to booth rental
arrangements.
Effective 11-01-96.

Natural Resources (CR 95-99):
An order repealing and recreating s. NR 46.30 (2) (a) to (c),
relating to the administration of the Forest Crop Law and the
Managed Forest Law.

Effective 11-01-96.

Natural Resources (CR 96-18):
An order affecting chs. NR 140, 724 and 726 and
ss. NR 700.03 and 722.07, relating to the closure of
hazardous substance spill cases where the Department has
determined that naturally—occurring physical, chemical or
biological processes will restore groundwater quality within
a reasonable period of time.

Effective 11-01-96.

Transportation (CR 96-110):
An order creating s. Trans 102.22, relating to commercial
driver’s license (CDL) waivers for snowplow operators
employed by local units of government with populations of
less than 3000.

Effective 11-01-96.

Workforce Development (CR 96-36):
An order affecting chs. HSS 201 and 206, relating to
participation of Aid to Families with Dependent Children
(AFDC) applicants and recipients in the Pay for Performance
(PFP) demonstration project.

Effective 11-01-96.


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1995/97
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/49
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1995/99
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/18
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/110
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/1996/36
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Rures PuBLISHED IN

THis Wis. AbM. REGISTER

The following administrative rule orders have been adopted and published in the September 30, 1996 Wisconsin
Administrative Register. Copies of these rules are sent to subscribers of the complete Wisconsin Administrative Code, and also to

the subscribers of the specific affected Code.

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266—3358.

Administration (CR 95-233):
An order creating ch. Adm 25, relating to the Information
Technology Investment Fund.

Effective 10-01-96.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection

(CR 95-190):
An order repealing and recreating ch. ATCP 42, relating to
commercial feed.

Effective 10-01-97.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection (CR 96-9):
An order affecting ch. ATCP 100, relating to payroll
statements to milk producers and price discrimination in
milk procurement.

Effective 10-01-96.

Elections Board (CR 96-28):
An order creating s. El Bd 1.655, relating to source
identification in polls or other political communications.
Effective 10-01-96.

Health & Family Services (CR 96-26):
An order affecting chs. HFS 34 and 61, relating to standards
for emergency mental health service programs.

Effective 10-01-96.

Insurance, Commissioner of (CR 96—45):
An order affecting ss. Ins 17.01, 17.26 and 17.28, relating to
annual patients compensation fund and mediation fund fees
for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 1996, future medical
expense attachment point changing from $25,000 to
$100,000.

Effective 10-01-96.

Medical Examining Board (CR 96-27):
An order amending s. Med 10.02 (2) (q), relating to
unprofessional conduct.

Effective 10-01-96.

Natural Resources (CR 94-183):
An order repealing and recreating ch. NR 113, relating to
servicing septic or holding tanks.

Effective 01-01-97.

Natural Resources (CR 95-107):
An order affecting ss. NR 812.09 and 812.33, relating to
fiberglass pressure tank use in private wells.

Effective 10-01-96.

Natural Resources (CR 95-195):
An order creating ch. NR 48, relating to applications to
withdraw lands entered as county forest.

Effective 10-01-96.

Natural Resources (CR 95-222):
An order creating subch. VII of ch. NR 51, relating to
administration of Heritage State Park and Forest Trust
grants.

Effective 10-01-96.

Physical Therapists Affiliated Credentialing Board
(CR 96-52):
An order repealing and recreating s. PT 3.01 (4), relating to
temporary licenses to practice physical therapy.
Effective 10-01-96.

Public Instruction (CR 96-59):
An order affecting ch. PI 19, relating to education for school
age parents.

Effective 10-01-96.

Public Instruction (CR 96-60):
An order affecting ch. PI 3, relating to teacher licenses.
Effective 10-01-96.

Public Instruction (CR 96-61):
An order affecting ch. PI 32, relating to AODA programs.
Effective 10-01-96.

State Fair Park Board (CR 94-80):
An order affecting chs. SFP 1 to 7, relating to penalties for
violations revising the bond deposit schedule, creating new
definitions, and creating new requirements for conduct at the
State Fair Park, including personal conduct.

Effective 10-01-96.

Transportation (CR 96-88):
An order affecting ch. Trans 107, relating to driver licensing
of persons with chemical abuse or dependency problems.
Effective 10-01-96.

University of Wisconsin System (CR 96-31):
An order affecting ss. UWS 18.02 and 18.06, relating to
conduct on university lands.

Effective 10-01-96.
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FINAL REGULATORY FLEXIBILITY ANALYSES

1.

Administration (CR 95-233)

Ch. Adm 25 - Information technology investment fund.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

Pursuant to s. 227.114, Stats., the proposed rules is not expected
to impact on small businesses.

Summary of Comments:

No comments were reported.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
(CR 95-190)

Ch. ATCP 42 — Commercial feed.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

The rule is not expected to have a significant economic impact
on small business.

Summary of Comments from Legislative Committees:

The rule was referred to the Senate Committee on Agriculture,
Transportation, Utilities and Financial Institutions on June 19,
1996 and the Assembly Committee on Agriculture on June 3,
1996. the Department received no comments from either
committee.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
(CR 96-9)

Ch. ATCP 100 — Producer payroll statements and price
discrimination in milk procurement.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

This rule repeals and creates s. ATCP 100.75, Wis. Adm. Code,
so that payroll statement requirements will be consistent with
the new “multiple component pricing” methods. Effective
January 1, 1996, federal milk marketing orders provide for a
new method of payment called “multiple component” pricing,
and establish new requirements for reporting pricing
information to producers. This rule also spells out alternate
payroll statement requirements for dairy plant operators who
continue to use the traditional “straight fat” or “3.5% butterfat
differential” pricing methods. This rule does not add to current
rule requirements, but merely makes technical changes to the
requirements to be consistent with the various methods that
dairy plant operators may use to pay their milk producers.

The rule also creates s. ATCP 100.76 (3m) and subch. VI of ch.
ATCP 100, to interpret the provisions of s. 100.22, Stats., which
prohibits price discrimination in milk procurement. These rule
sections apply to approximately 180 dairy plants that purchase
milk from Wisconsin’s approximately 27,000 dairy farmers.
Some of the dairy plants and virtually all of the dairy farmers are
defined as small businesses under s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Subchapter VI of this rules prohibits discrimination in the
amount paid for milk between milk producers unless the
discrimination is based on a difference in milk quality, is
justified by a difference in procurement costs, or is justified in
order to meet a competitor’s price. The rules spells out what the
dairy plant operator must do to show that price differences were
based on differences in milk quality, cost—justified differences
in procurement costs or meeting competition. Justification of
price differences between producers is already required by s.
100.22, Stats.

This subchapter also spells out enforcement standards and
procedures. The department may require a dairy plant operator
to file documentation justifying alleged discriminatory prices,
and may take enforcement against an operator who fails to
provide adequate justification. The department may ask the
attorney general or a county district attorney to prosecute a
violator in court, and may take action against a violator’s dairy
plant license.

Effective enforcement of s. 100.22, Stats., and this rule may
result in reduced payments of milk volume premiums to the
state’s larger dairy farmers, most of whom fall within the
definition of small businesses. However, effective enforcement
may also result in increased payments to smaller dairy farmers,
most of whom are small businesses.

Summary of Comments from Legislative Committees:

The rule was referred to the Senate committee on
Transportation, Agriculture and Local Affairs and to the
Assembly Committee on Agriculture on July 8, 1996. The
department received no comments or request for hearing from
either committee.

Elections Board (CR 96-28)

S. EIBd 1.655 — Source identification in polls or other
communications.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:
The creation of this rule does not affect business.

Summary of Comments:

No comments were reported.

Health and Family Services (CR 96-026)

Ch. HSS 34 — Standards for emergency mental health services
programs.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

These rules will not have a significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses as“‘small business” is
defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

The rules apply to the Department, to county departments of
human services or community programs that request
certification or are certified to operate an emergency mental
health services program and to county—contracted private
service providers that request certification or are certified to
operate an emergency mental health services program on behalf
of a county.
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At most, 7 of the 74 currently certified programs are small
businesses.

The rules permit a county to operate or contract for the operation
of an emergency mental health services program that either
meets a basic set of certification standards, which are the current
standards modestly updated, or meets new, alternative standards
that are more stringent but qualify the service provider for
reimbursement under the Medical Assistance (Medicaid)
program.

At the Department’s public hearing on the program rule, no
suggestions for change were received from persons who
identified themselves as representing small businesses.

Summary of Comments of Legislative Standing Committees:

No comments were received.

Medical Examining Board (CR 96-027)

S. Med 10.02 (2) (q) — Unprofessional conduct.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact
on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Summary of Comments:

No comments were reported.

Natural Resources (CR 94-183)

Ch. NR 113 - Servicing septic or holding tanks.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

The proposed rule doe snot have a significant economic impact
on small businesses because it does not increase monitoring,
recordkeeping or reporting over current regulations.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review Committees:

The rules were reviewed by the Assembly Committee on
Natural Resources and the Senate Committee on Environment
and Energy. There were no comments.

Natural Resources (CR 95-107)

Ch. NR 812 — Fiberglass pressure tank use in private wells.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

Small businesses that install pump equipment in Wisconsin
must meet the minimum requirements of the rule. It is not
necessary to make these requirements less stringent for these
businesses. There are no new additional compliance schedules,
reporting requirements or deadlines in the proposed rule.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review Committees:

The rules were reviewed by the Assembly Committee on
Natural Resources and the Senate Committee on Environment
and Energy. No request for modifications was received.
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9. Natural Resources (CR 95-195)

Ch. NR 48 — Applications to withdraw lands entered as county
forest.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

The proposed rule does not regulate small businesses; therefore,
a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments:

The rule was reviewed by the Assembly Natural Resources
committee and the Senate Environment and Energy Committee.
There were no comments.

10.Natural Resources (CR 95-222)

Ch. NR 51 - Heritage state park and forest trust grants.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

The proposed rules do not regulate small businesses. Therefore,
a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review Committees:

The rules were reviewed by the Senate Committee on
Environment and Energy and the Assembly Committee on
Natural Resources. The Assembly committee met with the
Department to discuss concerns regarding language in s. NR
51.91 regarding applicability language that was not covered by
the authorizing statutes. The Committee and the Department
came to an agreement that s. NR 51.91 would be amended in a
rule package being initiated by the Department.

11.Physical Therapists Affiliated Credentialing

Board (CR 96-052)

S. PT 3.01 (4) — Temporary licenses to practice physical therapy.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact
on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Summary of Comments:

No comments were reported.

12.Public Instruction (CR 96-59)

Ch. PI 19 — Education for school age parents.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact
on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Summary of Comments:

No comments were reported.
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13. Public Instruction (CR 96-60) Summary of Comments:
Ch. PI 3 — Teacher licenses. No comments were reported.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact 15.Transportation (CR 96-88)
on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Ch. Trans 107 — Driver licensing of persons with chemical abuse
Summary of Comments: or dependency problems.

No comments were reported.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:
14.Public Instruction (CR 96-61) ) ) )
This proposed rule will have no adverse impact on small

Ch. PI 32 — AODA programs. businesses.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact
on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats. No comments were reported.

Summary of Comments:
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EXEcUuTIVE ORDERS

The following is a listing of recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 293. Relating to the Removal of James F. Blask as District Attorney of Lincoln County.
Executive Order 294. Relating to the Amendment of Executive Order #289.

Executive Order 295. Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of Wisconsin
be Flown at Half-Staff as a Mark of Respect for the Late Officer Wendolyn Tanner of the Milwaukee Police Department.

Executive Order 296. Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of Wisconsin
be Flown at Half-Staff as a Mark of Respect for the Late Corporal Richard G. Parquette of the Bayfield County Sheriff’s
Department.

Executive Order 297. Relating to Issuance of General Obligation Bonds for the Veterans Home Loan Program and
Appointment of Hearing Officer.
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