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ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
RENUMBERING, AMENDING, REPEALING AND RECREATING
AND CREATING RULES

To renumber HSS 201.195(8); to amend HSS 201.195(1),
(4), (5)(c) to (f), (6)(a) and (b), and (10) (a) (intro.), 1, 2 and
4 and (b) to (f), as renumbered; to repeal and recreate
HSS 201.195(2), (3) and (7); and to create HSS 201.195(8) and
(9), relating to participation of Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC) recipients in Learnfare.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and Social Servicges

Under s.49.50(7), Stats., the Department implemented a
program which requires that all teenagers, that is, persons 13
through 19 years of age who reside with a natural or adoptive
parent and teen parents, who are included in an Aid to Families
with Dependent Children (AFDC) grant under s.49.19, Stats., must
attend school, unless they have graduated from high school or
have received a high school equivalency diploma. This program is
called Learnfare. ' :

The Department requested and received authority from the
federal Department of Health and Human Services to expand the
school attendance requirement to preteens, that is, persons who
are 6 through 12 years of age, reside with a natural or adoptive
parent or who are a parent and are included in an AFDC group.
Section 49.50(7)(}), Stats., as amended and created by 1993
Wisconsin Act 16, provides that the Department shall implement a
pilot program in four counties to permit the application of the
Learnfare school attendance requirement to preteens. Rock,
Brown, Fond du Lac and Kenosha counties will be participating in
the pilot program. The Department will phase the requirement in
by age over a 3 year period, beginning on the first day of the
fall 1994 school term, as defined in s.115.001(12), Stats.
Children who are 10 through 12 years of age will be required to
participate in Learnfare beginning in the fall of 1994, children
who are 8 through 9 years of age will be required to participate
in Learnfare beginning in the fall of 1995 and children who are 6
through 7 years of age will be required to participate in
Learnfare beginning in the fall of 1996.

The rules state how the application of the school attendance
requirement to 6 through 12 year olds will be phased in, include
the requirement that case management be offered to preteen and
teenage Learnfare participants the first time the preteen or
teenager fails to meet the school attendance requirement, and
outline the requirements for applying a sanction to a preteen who
fails to meet the school attendance requirements and who fails to
participate in case management. The exemption from participation
in Learnfare for the 16 through 19 years olds who are not
expected to graduate by age 20 is repealed and the payment for
the caretaker when the only eligible child is sanctioned is
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modified to delete the 3 month time limit for making the payment
to conform to s.49.50(7) (h)2, Stats., as amended by 1993
Wisconsin Act 16.

The Department's authority to renumber, amend, repeal and
recreate and create these rules is found in s.49.50(2), Stats.,
and s.49.50(7) (h)1 and 1m, Stats., as affected by 1993 Wisconsin
Act 16. The proposed rules interpret ss.46.62 and 49.50(7),
Stats., as affected by 1993 Wisconsin Act 16.

SECTION 1. HSS 201.195(1) is amended to read:

HSS 201.195(1) AUTHORITY AND PURPOSE. This section is
adopted under the authority of s.49.50(2) and (7)(h)1l and 1m,
Stats., to provide rules for the administration of learnfare, a
program that requires that all teenagers who are included in a
grant under s.49.19, Stats., who are parents or who are residing
with a natural or adoptive parent and who have not graduated from
high school or received a high school equivalency diploma attend
school to meet WBOP JOBS participation requirements, and that all
preteens living in a pilot county designated by the department
under s.49.50(7)(j)., Stats., who are included in a grant under
s.49.19, Stats., who are parents or who are residing with a
natural or adoptive parent and who have not graduated from high
school or received a high school equivalency diploma attend
school to meet JOBS participation requirements.

SECTION 2. HSS 201.195(2) and (3) are repealed and
recreated to read:

HSS 201.195(2) APPLICABILITY. This section applies to:

(a) All school districts and all county and tribal economic
support agencies;

(b) All teenagers included in an AFDC group who are parents
or who are residing with a natural or adoptive parent and all
AFDC groups which include a teenager who is a parent or who is
residing with a natural or adoptive parent; and

(c) In a pilot county designated by the department under
$.49.50(7) (j), Stats., all preteens included in an AFDC group who
are parents or who are residing with a natural or adoptive parent
and all AFDC groups which include a preteen who is a parent or
who is residing with a natural or adoptive parent as follows:

1. Beginning on the first day of the fall 1994 school term,
as defined in s.115.001(12), Stats., the preteen is 10 to 12
years of age;
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2. Beginning on the first day of the fall 1995 school term,

as defined in s.115.001(12), Stats., the preteen is 8 to 12 years
of age; and

3. Beginning on the first day of the fall 1996 school term,
as defined in s.115.001(12), Stats., the preteen is 6 to 12 years
of age.

(3) DEFINITIONS. In this section:

(a) "Case management" means intervention for the purpose of
assessing family needs, developing a family service plan and
assisting in the implementation of the plan for the purpose of
furthering regular school attendance by the preteen or the
teenager.

(b) "Ceased to attend" means that the preteen or the
teenager has 20 consecutive full school days of unexcused
absences.

(c) "Dropout" means a preteen or a teenager who has ceased
to attend school, has not graduated from high school or received
a high school equivalency diploma and does not have an acceptable
excuse under s.118.15(1) (b) to (d) or (3), Stats.

(d) "Excused absence" means that the reason for the absence
meets the school district's definition of a valid reason for the
preteen or the teenager not to attend school.

(e) "Full day" means the entire school day as defined by the
school district.

(£) “"High school equivalency diploma" means a certificate of
educational achievement issued under s.115.29(4), Stats., and
ch. PI 5 following completion of a course of study.

(g) "Learnfare" means the program established under
s.49.50(7), Stats., which requires that all preteens living in a
pilot county designated by the department under s.49.50(7) (3),
Stats., and all teenagers attend school to meet the JOBS
participation requirements.

(h) "Monthly attendance requirement" means that the preteen
or the teenager has no more than 2 full days of unexcused
absences in a calendar month.

(1) "Preteen" means a person who is 6 to 12 years of age,
lives in a pilot county as provided under s.49.50(7)(j), Stats.,
is a member of an AFDC group and is a parent or residing with his
or her natural or adoptive parent,
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(j) "School" has the meaning prescribed in s.49.50(7) (a),
Stats., namely, any one of the following:

1. A public school, as described in s.115.01(1), Stats.;
2. A private school, as defined in s.115.001(3r), Stats.:

3. A technical college pursuant to a contract under
s.118.15(2), Stats.; or

4. A course of study meeting the standards established by
the state superintendent of public instruction under s.115.29(4),
Stats., for the granting of a declaration of equivalency of high
school graduation.

(k) "School attendance officer™ has the meaning prescribed
in s.HSS 118.16(1) (b), Stats., namely, an employe designated by
the school board to deal with matters relating to school
attendance and truancy.

(1) "School district" means the territorial unit for school
administration as specified in s.115.01(3), Stats.

. (m) "Teenager" means a person who is 13 to 19 years of age,
a member of an AFDC group and a parent or residing with his or
her natural or adoptive parent.

(n) "Unexcused absence" means that the reason for the
absence does not meet the school district's definition of a valid
reason for the preteen or the teenager not to attend school.

SECTION 3. HSS 201.195(4), (5)(c) to (f) and (6) (a) and (b)
are amended to read:

HSS 201.195(4) (a) A preteen or a teenager shall attend
school full or part time except that a preteen or a teenager who
has graduated from high school or received a high school
equivalency diploma is exempt from the school attendance
requirement under this section.

(b) A preteen or a teenager who is required to participate
in learnfare under this section shall be considered to be meeting
the school attendance requirements under the following
circumstances:

l. A preteen or a teenager who is required to attend school
shall be considered to have met the attendance requirement by
having fewer than 10 full days of unexcused absences from school
during the most recently completed school semester.

2. A preteen or a teenager who has 10 or more full days of
unexcused absences from school during the most recently completed
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school semester or who was a dropout and returned to school

during the semester under review or who is unable to verify

previous attendance shall comply with the monthly attendance
requirement.

3. If the school that the preteen or the teenager is
currently enrolled in does not keep daily attendance records, the
preteen or the teenager shall be considered to be meeting the
school attendance requirement if the school verifies the
continuing enrollment of the preteen or the teenager in the
semester under review.

4. The preteen or the teenager is not required to comply
with the monthly attendance requirements when the school the
preteen or the teenager is attending is not in regular session,
including during the sumnmer.

(c) Either—the The preteen, teenager or the primary person
shall cooperate in providing information needed to verify
enrollment information or good cause under sub. (7). If neither
ene none of these individuals cooperates, the preteen or the
teenager shall be ineligible for aid as provided under s.HSS
201.22.

(d) A teenager who is required to attend school but has good
cause under sub. (7) for not attending may be referred by the
agency to the WEGP JOBS program under—eh-—HS5—208.

(e) Bither—the The preteen or the teenager who is a dropout
or the primary person shall notify the agency of the preteen's or
teenager's nonattendance at school in compliance with
s.HSS 201.07.

(5) (c)1. The agency shall request information from the
school attendance officer in the preteen's or the teenager's
school district about the preteen's or teenager's attendance in
the school district's most recently completed semester of
attendance.

2. If information about the preteen's or the teenager's
previous school attendance is not available or cannot be
verified, the agency shall require the preteen or teenager to
meet the monthly attendance requirement for one semester or until
the information is obtained.

(d) The agency shall use the attendance information provided
by a school to verify attendance for a preteen or a teenager.

(e) The agency shall review a preteen's or a teenager's
claim that he or she has a good cause reason under sub. (7) for
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not attending school, and shall determine if a preteen should be
referred to case management under sub. (8) or if a teenager
excused under sub. (7) from attending should be referred to WBEP
JOBS under-eh-HE6208.

(f) The agency shall administer day care and transportation
funds available to teer parents under age 20 under
s.49.50(7) (e)*, Stats. Payment for the cost of transportation to
and from the child care provider shall be in the amount equal to
the cost of transportation by the most appropriate means as
determined by the department or the agency.

(6) (a) The school attendance officer shall provide
information to the agency about the attendance of a preteen or a
teenager who is enrolled in the public school in the school
district within 5 working days after the date of receipt of the
written request from the agency. '

(b) The requirement under 20 USC 1232g and s.118.125(2),
Stats., that written consent be given for a school district to
make available the attendance records of a pupil shall be met in
the case of a preteen or a teenager in an AFDC group by the
signature of the parent, guardian, caretaker or pupil on the AFDC
application for initial eligibility or eligibility
redetermination.

SECTION 4. HSS 201.195(7) is repealed and recreated to
read:

HSS 201.195(7) GOOD CAUSE CRITERIA. (a) A preteen or a
teenager who is required to attend school to meet the learnfare
participation requirements under s.49.50(7) (g), Stats., shall
comply except when there is good cause which shall be
demonstrated by any of the following circumstances:

1. The preteen or the teenager is the caretaker of a child
who is less than 45 days old;

2. The preteen or the teenager is the caretaker of a child
who is 45 to 89 days old and child care for the preteen's or the
teenager's child is required but:

a. There is no on-site day care at the school;

b. The school has no home instruction program; or

c. The preteen or the teenager has a physician's excuse; or

3. The preteen or the teenager is the caretaker of a child

who is 90 or more days old and the preteen or the teenager has a
physician's excuse;
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4. Child care services for the preteen's or the teenager's
child are necessary for the preteen or the teenager to attend
school but child care licensed under s.48.65, Stats., certified
under s.48.651, Stats., or established under s.120.13(14),
Stats., is not available. Child care shall be considered
unavailable if there is no space available for the child in day
care licensed under s.48.65, Stats., certified under s.48.651,
Stats., or established under s.120.13(14), Stats., within
reasonable travel time and distance, or if the cost of the care
where space is available exceeds the maximum rate established by
the county under s.46.98(4), Stats.;

' 5. Transportation to and from child care is necessary for
the preteen's or the teenager's child and there is no public or
private transportation available;

6. The preteen or the teenager is temporarily excused from
school attendance by the school district under s.118.15(3),
Stats.;

7. The preteen or the teenager is prohibited by the school
district from attending school and an expulsion under
s.120.13(1), Stats., is pending. This exemption no longer
applies once the preteen or the teenager has been formally
expelled;

8. The preteen or the teenager is unable to attend school
because he or she was expelled under s.120.13(1), Stats., and
another school is not available because:

a. There is no public or private school within reasonable
travel time or distance which will accept the preteen or the
teenager;

b. There is no public or private transportation available
to another school; or

c. There is a public or private school which will accept the
preteen or the teenager but the tuition charge is prohibitive and
the preteen's or the teenager's school district refuses to pay
the tuition; or

9. The preteen or the teenager failed to attend school for
one or more of the following reasons:

a. Illness, injury or incapacity of the preteen or the
teenager or a member of the preteen's or the teenager's family.
In this subparagraph, "member of the preteen's or the teenager's
family" means a spouse, child, parent or other dependent relative
who lives with the preteen or the teenager;

b. Court-required appearance or temporary incarceration;
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c. Medical or dental appointments for the preteen or the
teenager or his or her child;

d. Death of a relative or a friend:
e. Observance of a religious holiday:;
f. Family emergency;

g. Breakdown in transportation;

h. Suspension; or

i. Any other circumstance beyond the control of the preteen
or the teenager. .

(b) Additional good cause criteria may be defined by the
department through the fair hearing process.

SECTION 5. HSS 201.195(8) is renumbered 201.195(10).
SECTION 6. HSS 201.195(8) and (9) are created to read:

HSS 201.195(8) CASE MANAGEMENT. The first time that a
preteen or a teenager fails to meet the attendance requirements
under sub. (4), the agency shall send a written notice offering
case management services to the individual and his or her family.
The notice shall include information regarding the components of
case management services including assessment, family service
plan development and implementation and monitoring of the family
service plan.

(9) CRITERIA FOR APPLYING A SANCTION. (a)l. Except as
provided under subd. 2, a preteen who fails to meet the
attendance requirements under sub. (4) without good cause under
sub. (7) may be sanctioned under sub. (10) if all of the
following apply:

a. The agency has offered case management services to the
preteen and his or her family; '

b. The primary person fails or refuses to respond to or
rejects an offer of case management or fails or refuses to
participate in an assessment or the development of a family
service plan, or the preteen or the preteen's family fails or
refuses to engage in any activities identified by the case
manager in the family service plan as being necessary to improve
the preteen's school attendance; and
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c. The preteen, without first complying with the attendance
requirement under sub. (4)(b)1l, fails without good cause under
sub. (7) to meet the attendance requirements under sub. (4) (b)2
in a subsequent month.

2. No sanction may be imposed and any existing sanction
shall be removed in the next possible payment month in which a
sanction is not already being applied for the preteen under any
of the following circumstances:

a. The agency has not made a case manager available to a
preteen who has failed to meet the attendance requirements under
sub. (4):

b. The preteen or preteen's family is unable to comply with
the family service plan because a service identified is not
available and no appropriate alternative service as determined by
the case manager is available; or

c. A good cause reason under sub. (7)(a)9 precluded the
preteen or preteen's family from cooperating under subd. 1.b.

(b) A teenager who fails to meet the attendance requirements
under sub. (4) without good cause under sub.. (7) may be
sanctioned under sub. (10) as long as he or she continues to do
so or a good cause reason under sub. (7) is verified.

SECTION 7. HSS 201. 195(10)(a)(1ntro ), 1, 2 and 4, and (b)
to (f), as renumbered, are amended to read:

HSS 201 195(10)(a)(1ntro ) Notlce. Upon determlnlng that a

a%%ené—sehee% sanctlon is proger under sub. (9 ) the agency shall'
send written notice to the primary person which specifies:

1. That the preteen or the teenager will be removed from
the AFDC grant in the next possible payment month because the
preteen required to attend school has failed to meet attendance
requirements and has failed to participate in case management or
the teenager required to attend school has failed to meet
attendance requirements. If the preteen or the teenager is the
only child in the grant i i i

, the notice shall also state that the
entire grant will be diseentinued_reduced and only a payment to
meet the needs of the caretaker will be made as long as the case
continues to meet all other AFDC eligibility criteria:;

2. The beginning date of the sanction, and the preteen or
he teenager to whom the sanction applies;

~ 4. The preteen's, teenager's or primary person's right to
request a fair hearing under par. (b).
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(b) Fair hearing. The preteen, teenager or primary person
may request a fair hearing in accordance with s.49.50(8), Stats.,
and s.PW-PA 20.18 [ch.HSS 225] on the agency's determination that
the—teenager—has—not-been—attending-sehoeot a sanction is proper
under sub. (9).

(c) Failure to meet monthly attendance requirement. If the
preteen, teenager or primary person does not request a fair
hearing under par. (b) or if, after a fair hearing has been held,
the hearlng offlcer flnds that %he~%eeﬁagef—has—ﬁat%ed—w1theut

e—Moen mept a sanction

proper under sub. (9 ), the agency shall dlscontinue or deny
a1d to the preteen or the teenager in the next possible payment
month in which a sanction is not already being applied for the
preteen or the teenager. If application of a sanction would
otherwise close the case because the preteen or the teenager is
the only eligible child in the grant, benefit payments to neet
the needs of the caretaker only shall contlnue

as long as the
case continues to meet all other AFDC eligibility criteria.

(d) Effective period of sanction for failure to meet monthly
attendance requirement. A sanction applied under par. (c) shall
be effective for one month for each month the preteen fails to
meet the monthly attendance requirement and fails to participate

in case management or the teenager fails to meet the monthly
attendance requirement.

(e) Dropping out of school. 1. If the preteen, teenager or
primary person does not request a fair hearing under par. (b) or
if, after a fair hearing has been held, the hearing officer finds
that the preteen is a dropout and has failed to participate in
case management or the teenager is a dropout, the agency shall
discontinue or deny aid in the next possible payment month after
the preteen or the teenager dropped out to the preteen or_ the
teenager who has ceased to attend school. If application of a
sanction would otherwise close the case because the preteen or
the teenager is the only eligible child in the grant, benefit
payments to meet the needs of the caretaker only shall continue

for—one-time—up—to3—menthsthe first—time—the teenager—is
sanetiened as long as the case continues to meet all other AFDC
eligibility criteria.

2. If the fair hearing decision finds against the preteen
or the teenager or if the preteen or the teenager failed to
comply with the reporting requirements under s.HSS 201.07, the
month or months the preteen was included in the grant but did not
meet the school attendance requirements and failed to participate
in case management or the teenager was included in the grant but
did not meet the school attendance requirements shall be
considered an overpayment under s.HSS 201.30(3) (c).
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(f) Effective period of sanction for dropping out of school.
A sanction applied under par. (e) shall be effective until—the
for a preteen who is a dropout and who has failed to participate
in case management until the preteen provides verification from
the case manager that he or she is no longer failing to
participate in case management, provides written verification
from the school district that he or she has re-enrolled and has
met the monthly attendance requirement under sub. (4) for one
calendar month or a good cause reason under sub. (7) for failing
to attend school is verified. In this paragraph, "no longer
failing to participate in case management" means that the
preteen's family accepts the offer of case management,
participates in an assessment and development of a family service
plan_and begins to engage in the activities identified as being
necessary to improve the preteen's school attendance. A sanction
applied under par. (e) shall be effective for a teenager who is a
dropout until the teenager provides written verification from the
school district that he or she has re-enrolled and has met the
monthly attendance requirement under sub. (4) for one calendar
month or a good cause reason under sub. (7) is verified. For
either a preteen or a teenager, Any any month in which school is
in session at least 10 days during that month may be used to meet
the attendance requirement under sub. (4). This includes
attendance at summer school. The sanction shall be removed in
the next possible payment month.

The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the
first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin
Administrative Register as provided in s.227.22(2), Stats.

Wisconsin Department of Health
and Social Services

Dated: August 4, 1994 By: g%%$441 <}€2}¢L}

Gerald Whitburn
Secretary
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