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TO ALL WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL: COME, GREETINGS:

I, RONALD R. FIEDLER, Secretary of the Wisconsin Department
of Transportation and custodian of the official records do hereby
certify that the rule relating to point values for speeding viola-
tions, reducing a driver's point totals and suspensions and revo-
cations based on accumulated point in a given period was duly
approved and adopted by this Department on January /9%, 1990.

I further certify that this copy has been compared by me
with the original on file in this Department and that the same is
a true copy thereof, and of the whole of such original.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have
hereunto set my hand and affixed
the official seal of the Depart-
ment of Transportation at 4802
Sheboygan Avenue, in the City of
Madison, Wisconsin, +this /¢
day of January, 1990.

RONALD R. FIEDLER, JE,

Secretary




STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

AN ORDER repealing s. Trans 101.06,
amending ss. Trans 101.02 (20) and
(26), 101.04 (2) to (4), 101.05 (1)
and (2) and 101.07 (1), (2), and (8)
and creating s. Trans 101.07 (11),
Wisconsin Administrative Code, relat-
ing to point values for speeding
violations, reducing a driver’s point
totals and suspensions and revoca-
tions based on accumulated points in
a given period.

ORDER ADOPTING RULE
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Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation

General summary of rule. Section 343.32 (2), Wis. Stats., authorizes the
Secretary of Department of Transportation to adopt an administrative rule
assigning demerit points to traffic convictions according to their serious-
ness. The purpose of the rule-making authorization is to identify individuals
who are habitually reckless or negligent drivers and to revoke or suspend
their operating privileges. The Legislature specified the number of demerit
points to be assigned to speeding violations in s. 343.32 (2) (b), Wis.
Stats., and set the number of points in a 12 month, 24 month and 36 month
period that would result in revocation or suspension in s. 343.32 (2) (c),
Wis. Stats.

Section 343.32 (2) (b) and (c) were affected by 1987 Wis. Act 24. The
Act repealed the escalator provision which increased the number of demerit
points to be assessed for repeat speeding offenses. The Act also repealed the
provisions requiring suspension or revocation of a person’s operating privi-
lege when the person accumulated 18 points in a 24-month period or 24 points
in a 36-month period.

This rule amends ss. Trans 101.02 and 101.04, Wis. Admin. Code, and
repeals s. Trans 101.06, Wis. Admin. Code, to bring the rule into conformity
with s. 343.32 (2), Wis. Stats., as amended by 1987 Wis. Act 24. In addition,
ss. Trans 101.05 (1) and (2) are amended to reflect the effective renumbering
of s. 343.305 (9) (d), Stats., by 1987 Wis. Act 3. The amendments to ss.
Trans 101.05 (1) and (2) also are intended to clarify the Department’s policy
that these provisions for reducing total accumulated demerit points when a
person’s operating privilege is reinstated do not apply to cases where the
Ticense revocation or suspension resulted from any provision of the current s.
343.305, Stats.

The amendment of s. Trans 101.07, Wis. Admin. Code, is mainly editorial
to improve clarity. Several sentences are transferred from s. Trans 101.07
(1) to s. Trans 101.07 (2) and (11), Wis. Admin. Code. The only substantive
change to s. Trans 101.07 is the deletion of the cross reference to s. MVD



23.02 (1), (4), (5) and (6), Wis. Admin. Code. Chapter MVD 23, Wis. Admin.
Code, concerning driver counseling is currently being revised and renumbered
as ch. Trans 106, Wis. Admin. Code, in separate rule-making.

At present, a driver may qualify for a reduction of total demerit points
by completing certain schooling or counseling. This rule clarifies the
procedure and the specific form (MVD 3304) to be used to certify completion of
the course. This rule also adds language to s. Trans 101.07 (2), Wis. Admin.
Code, to clarify that schools may reproduce the form, for example on school
computers, provided the requisite copies are kept by the school and furnished
to the student. A new Note following the subsection informs schools how to
obtain copies of the MVD form.

Authority for Rule. This rule making is authorized by s. 343.32 (2),
Wis. Stats.

Final fiscal estimate. The Department anticipates no fiscal effect of
this rule, separate from the fiscal impact of 1987 Wis. Act 24, on the fiscal
liabilities or revenues of the state or any county, city, village, town,
school district, vocational, technical and adult education district or sewer
district.

The Department of Transportation’s original fiscal estimate on 1987 SB
86, enacted as 1987 Wis. Act 24, was prepared prior to adoption of amendments
to the bill. Those amendments included a reduction of 1.75 SEG positions in
the Department’s authorized FTE positions as of July 1, 1987. The original
fiscal estimate projected a $46,000 reduction in work costs due to eliminating
7,377 revocation or suspension cases resulting each year from the speed
escalator provision. An estimated 70% of those persons revoked or suspended
will reinstate their licenses. The loss in reinstatement fees was therefore
estimated at $125,706. The net fiscal impact of the original bill was esti-
mated at a $79,706 reduction in state funds. Any savings resulting from the
subsequent legislative amendments, which eliminated the 1.75 SEG positions,
should be considered in offsetting that amount.

Copies of Rule. Copies of this rule are available without cost upon
request to the O0ffice of General Counsel, P.0. Box 7910, Madison, WI 53707,
telephone (608) 266-8810,

Contact Persons. Persons with questions about this rule may call
Wesley R. Geringer, telephone (608) 266-0614. Legal questions about this rule
may be addressed to the Office of General Counsel, Wisconsin Department of
Transportation, P.0. Box 7910, Madison, WI 53707, telephone (608) 266-8810.




TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. Trans 101.02 (20) (title) and (26), Trans 101.04 (2), (3) and
(4), Trans 101.05 (1) and (2) are amended to read:
Trans 101.02 (20) (title) SPEEDING CONVICTIONS
lst-—ZRd--BPd-—4th-—-—Sug§2é::nt
Trans 101.02 (20) (a) 10 mph or less in excess of Tawful

or posted speed .........0c00unn.., 3 f----B----Boomoaen 7

(b) More than 10 mph but less than
20 mph in excess of lawful or

posted speed......vevevniniuanenn.. 4 6----8----10--------- 12

(c) 20 mph or more in excess of

Tawful or posted speed............. 6 8----10---12--------- 14

(26) In determining the accumulated demerit points against an operator
within 12 months, 24-menths;-er-36-menths; the department shall use the date

each violation was committed as the basis for the determination.

SECTION 2. Trans 101.04 (2), (3) and (4), Trans 101.05 (1) and (2) are
amended to read:

Trans 101.04 (2) The department shall suspend or revoke the operating
privileges of any person whose driving record shows that 12 points in 12
months;-18-peints-in-24-menths-oer-24-peints-in-36-menths from the date of
violation have been accumulated. Any person who has not had the operating
privilege suspended or revoked under ch. 343, except s. 343.30 (6) or 343.345,
Stats., shall have the operating privilege suspended. In all other cases, the

operating privilege shall be revoked.



(3) The department shall revoke, or suspend if sub. (2) applies, the
chauffeur Ticense of any person; whose driving record shows an accumulation of
12 points in 12 months er-18-peinrts-in-24-menths-er-24-peints-in-36-menths for
offenses committed while operating as a chauffeur; or when the law requires
assignment of points against the chauffeur’s license.

(4) The following demerit point accumulations, calculated from the date

of violation, shall result in the following revocation or suspension periods:

Demerit Points Accumulated Length of Revocation
in a 12-Month Period or Suspension
12 to 16 points 2 months
17 to 22 points 4 months
23 to 30 points 6 months
More than 30 points 1 year
------- Demerit-Points-Aecumulated--------Length-of-Revoecation
---------- tn-a-24-Menth-Peried---------------gr-Suspension
------------- 18-te-22-points-------------------2-months
------------- 23-te-28-points-------------------4-menths
------------- 29-te-36-peints-------------------6-menths
----------- Mere-than-36-peiRts-----------------1l-year




------- Demerit-Peints-Aeccumulated--------Length-of-Reveeation

---------- in-a-36-Menth-Peried---------------gr-Suspensien
------------- 24-téézs-pe4nts-------------------z-menths
------------- 29-te-36-points-------------------4-months
------------- 37-te-44-peints-------------------6-menths
----------- More-than-44-peints-----------------1-year

Trans 101.05 DETERMINATION OF POINT VALUE AT REINSTATEMENT (1) The

department, upon issuing a reinstated operator’s license, shall reduce the
accumulated point value to 6 points. If at the time of such reinstatement the
demerit point value in the immediately preceding 12 month period is Tess than
6, then the lesser point value shall be carried forward in the record.
Revocations and reinstatements under s. 343:365(9}¢(b} 343.305, ch. 48 or 344,
Stats., do not qualify for a point reduction.

(2) The department, upon return of a Ticense which has been suspended,
except under chs. 48, 344, 345, Stats., and ss. 343.16 (2) (a), 343.30 (lqg)
(d), 343.30(6), 343-305(9}(d) 343.305 and 343.345, Stats., shall reduce the
accumulated point value to 6 points., If at the time of return the demerit
point value in the immediately preceding 12 month period is less than 6, then

the lesser point value shall be carried forward in the record.

SECTION 3. Trans 101.06 is repealed.

SECTION 4. Trans 101.07 (1), (2) and (8) are amended to read:
Trans 101.07. REDUCTION OF POINT VALUES FOR ATTENDANCE AT DRIVER IMPROVEMENT

COUNSELING, TRAFFIC SAFETY SCHOOL OR DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSES. (1) In



accordance with the authority in s. 343.32 (5), Stats., and the requirements

of this section, a person’s point record shall be reduced by 3 points or the

number of points accumulated up to 3, if-aecceptable-certification-is-furnished

to-the-department-that-a upon satisfactory completion of one of the following

courses_approved, in advance, by the department:

(a) A course of instruction at a traffic safety school; as-autherized;
appreved-and-administered-under-s--345:60;-Stats-;-er-a

(b)_A course of instruction in defensive driving or similar course, whieh

eodrse-has-been-approved-in-advance-by-the-department;-has-been
satisfaetorily-completed;-or-if-a-driver; or,

(c) Driver improvement eedrse counseling conducted under the program

authorized by s. 110,08, Stats.

the-department-has-been-satisfaetorily-completed:--The-ecertification-must-be
filed-with-the-department-within-30-days-oef-completion-of-the-course-te
gualify-for-peint-reduction---Befinitions-of-sueh-sehoels-and-eodrses-are
established-in-5:-MVB-23:02-{1};-(4};-(5)-and-{6}:--The-person-seeking-the
reduction-shall-be-respensible-for-any-and-atl-fees-eharged-for-the-courses

NOTE: See ch. MVD 23 or ch. Trans 106 concerning authorization, approval

and administration of traffic safety schools and defensive driving
courses.

(2) The certified instructor of the traffic safety or defensive driving

course or the driver improvement analyst of the driver improvement counseling

program shall furnish to the department a certification of completion of an

approved course. A separate certification shall be provided to the department

en-an-individual-persen-basis for each individual in the course. The

certification shall be on the form prescribed by the department and must be

made within 30 days of satisfactory completion of the course in order to




qualify for point reduction. A copy of the completed certification form shall

be furnished to the student, another copy sent to the court or assessment

agency, if the student was assigned to the school, and one copy shall be

retained by the school. F¥he-department-will-preseribe-the-infermation

neeessary-to-be-supplied-from-an-approved-sehool-or-supply-the-neeessary-forms

to-complete-the-certification-for-administering-this-pregram: The department

may approve the use of a reproduction of this form, at the request of a

school, including computerized versions.

Note: The multipart form MVD-3304, course completion certificate, is

available by mail upon request. Each form produces an original and 3

copies. Send requests to DOT Document Sales, P.0. Box 7713, Madison,

Wisconsin 53707-7713.

(8) Persons who have accumulated Tess than the demerit points required
for suspension or revocation on their record under the point system may be
processed as provided by department rule for counseling and re-examination of
drivers. Upon receipt of certification of satisfactory completion of one of
the department approved courses, previded-in-s:-MVD-23:02{1};-{4};-{5)-0r-{6)},
such person may be given a point reduction as provided in this chapter if

otherwise entitled to it.

SECTION 5. Trans 101.07 (11) is created to read:
Trans 101.07 (11) The person seeking the point reduction under this section
shall be responsible for any and all fees charged for the course.

(END OF RULE TEXT)




Effective Date: This rule shall take effect on the first day of the
month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as
provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Wis. Stats.

Signed at Madison, Wisconsin this /9% day
of January, 1990.

Ronald R. gied]er, P.E.

Secretary
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
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/////////m““\\\\\\\ Tommy G. Thompson Ronald R. Fiedler, PE OFFICE OF GENERAL COUNSEL
Governor Secretary P. O. Box 7910

Madison, WI 63707-7910

January 19, 1990

" Mr. Gary Poulson
Assistant Revisor of Statutes
30 West Mifflin Street
- Suite 702
Madison, Wisconsin 53703

RE: Clearinghouse Rule 89-74
In the Matter of the Adoption of Trans 101, Wisconsin Admin-

istrative Code, Relating to Point Values for Speeding Viola-
tions, Reducing a Driver's Point Totals and Suspensions and
Revocations Based on Accumulated Point in a Given Period

Dear Mr. Poulson:

Enclosed for filing, pursuant to sec. 227.20, Wis. Stats.,
is a certified copy of CR 89-74, an administrative rule relating
to point values for speeding violations, reducing a driver's
point totals and suspensions and revocations based on accumulated
point in a given period. This rule is submitted by the Wisconsin

Department of Transportation.

Sincerely,

gal Assistb

Enclosures

cc: Tom Walker
Linda Thelke
Sandy Beaupre
Senator Plewa
Representative Antaramian
Joyce Gelderman
Wes Geringer
Al Johnson

lo-ly Farms State Transportation Building, Room 115B; 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin; Telephone (608) 266-8810; FAX (608) 267-6734
4



