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CERTIFICATE

STATE OF WISCONSIN )
) ss

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION )

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME, GREETINGS:

I, Lowell B. Jackson, Secretary of the Wisconsin Department
of Transportation and custodian of the official records of the
department, do hereby certify that the annexed rule TRANS 111,
relating to Special Restricted Operator's License, was duly
approved and adopted by this department in accordance with

s. 227.026(1), Stats.

I further certify that the annexed copy has been compared
by me with the original on file in this department and that

the same is a true copy thereof, and of the whole of such

original.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have
hereunto set my hand and affixed
the official seal of the Department
of Transportation in the City ,of
Madison / Wisconsin, this . '~

day of ,(arch 1981,

NattOld

Lowell B. Jafdkson
Secretary




STATE OF WISCONSIN

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

IN THE MATTER OF THE
PROPOSED CREATION OF
CHAPTER TRANS 111
WIS. ADM. CODE,
RELATING TO SPECIAL
RESTRICTED OPERATOR'S
LICENSE &

PROPOSED
ORDER ADOPTING
RULES

Analysis By The Department of Transportation

This proposed rule creates Chapter TRANS 111, Wis. Admin. Code,
relating to issuance, design, physical requirements, examination and
restrictions for a special restricted operator's license, as author-
ized by s. 343.135, Stats. The most significant portions of the rule

are as follows:

1. The rule clarifies the fact that all statutory licensing
requirements apply to the special restricted operator's license.

2. The rule provides that the vision standards in Section MVD
14.07, Wis. Admin. Code, for regular operator's licenses will

be applicable for these special licenses, except that the minimum
vision acuity is allowed to be better than 20/200 in the best
corrected eye, as certified by a vision specialist, to be eli-
gible for a special restricted operator's license. This is more
liberal than the vision standard for a regular operator's 1i-
cense, which is at least 20/100 in the best corrected eye.

Persons who have a vision acuity from 20/100 to, but not includ-
ing, 20/200 in thé best corrected eye, will be restricted to
daylight hours only.

3. The rule provides that the department may request medical
and vision reports and recommendations from physicians and vision
specialists and that the department will consider such reports
and recommendations in making a licensing decision.

4, Instruction permits will be required of all applicants
except a person who has held a driver's license within a four
(4) year period prior to making application for a special re-
stricted license, and whose physical or mental condition has
not changed during that period.

5. Persons with physical or mental impairments may be required
to demonstrate ability to handle vehicle controls to obtain an

instruction permit.



6. The department will administer a test to determine the
applicant's knowledge of traffic laws and a test to determine
the applicant's ability to understand traffic signs. The appl-
icant will also be required to demonstrate driving ability.

7. Restrictions placed on the license will be determined on

the basis of vision and other medical reports, and results of
examinations administered by the department.

Bstimate Of Fiscal Effect

Costs for issuing these special restricted operator's licenses
are expected to be from $8,000 to $10,000 for reprogramming current
computer programs. Because so few applicants are expected to apply,
most of the work to issue a special restricted operator's license
will be handled manually rather than through the computer programs.
This has kept programming costs at a minimum. Operating costs will
be absorbed if, as expected, no more than twenty (20) of these licenses
will be issued each year.

Forms
A new instruction permit form, MVD-3380, has been developed and

is being used and a new test on knowledge of traffic laws has been
developed.

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained upon request from
the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles,
Room 255, Hill Farms State Office Building, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue,
Madison, Wisconsin 53702. Telephone (608) 266-2233.
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PursuantLEo authority vested in the Department of Transportation
by ss. 110.06, 227.014 and 343.135, Stats., the department proposes
to create and adopt a rule interpreting s. 343.135, Stats., as follows:
RULE TEXT

TRANS 111.01 Purpose § Scope. (1) The purpose of this chapter is

to administratively interpret s. 343,135, Stats. relating to issuance
of a special restricted operator's license permitting operation of
motor bicycles, mopeds, power driven cycles or specially designed

vehicles authorized by the department to be operated on the highway.

(2) This chapter applies to any Wisconsin resident wishing to
obtain a special restricted operator's license under s. 343,135,

Stats.

TRANS 111.02 Eligibility Requirements. (1) No person prohibited

from licensure under s. 343.006, Stats. shall be licensed under this
chapter. No person prohibited from licensure under s. 343.135(1),

Stats., shall be licensed under this chapter.



(2) Except as provided in s. 343.135, Stats., all statutory
licensing provisions which apply to regular operator's licenses also

apply to special restricted licenses.

(3) Test requirements and standards for eyesight are the same

as those in Section MVD 14.07, Wis. Adm. Code, except that:
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a. Persons with visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the best
corrected eye, as certified by a vision specialist, shall
not be considered for a special restricted operator's 1i-
cense.

b. Persons with visual acuity from 20/100 up to, but not in-
cluding, 20/200 in the best corrected eye, as certified
by a vision specialist, shall be restricted to daylight
hours only. Daylight hour restrictions may also be applied
in other situations as described in sections TRANS 111.03(3)

and 111.10.

(4) The department may request a medical report when evaluating
any mental or physical disability or disease which might impair driv-

ing ability. Any such report shall be at the expense of the applicant.

(5) The department shall make a determination of the applicant's

ability to hear as provided in s. MVD 14.09(5), Wis. Adm. Code.




TRANS 111.03 Instruction Permit. (1) BEvery applicant for a special

restricted license shall obtain an instruction permit, except an appli-

cant who:

(a) Has held a valid operator's license in this or any other
jurisdiction within the 4 years prior to the application
for the special restricted license, and

(b) Whogg physical or mental condition that could affect driv-
ing ability has not changed during the 4 years prior to

the application.

(2) The applicant shall be issued an operator's license which
shall be restricted to operation of only one of the following vehicle

types:

(a) Motor bicycle, or

(b) Moped, or

(c) Power driven cycle, or

(d) A specific specially-designed vehicle having a maximum
speed of 35 miles per hour which the department authorizes

to be operated on the highway.
(3) The instruction permit is valid during daylight hours only.
(4) As authorized by ss. 343.075, 343.135(6) and 346.92, Stats.,
a passenger may be allowed on the vehicle if it is equipped and de-

signed for carrying passengers. When the licensee is operating with

an instruction permit, any passenger shall be a licensed driver.
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(5) The department may require persons with physical or mental
impairments to demonstrate ability to operate vehicle controls to
determine if any additional restrictions are necessary on the in-

struction permit.

(6) In imposing licensing restrictions, the department shall
consider the statement of findings and recommendations from the vision
and other medical reports available as well as driving needs of the

applicant.

TRANS 111.04 Road Sign Test. (1) A road sign test shall be admin-

istered to determine the applicant's ability to read and understand

the meaning of a series of common highway signs.

(2) The applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs
shall be scored on a pass or fail basis. All sign test questions

must be answered correctly to pass.

(3) If the applicant is unsuccessful on the first sign test
due to language, comprehension or reading problems, a second oral
or special sign test may be administered which will require 100%
correct on part A and 75% correct on part B of the test to pass.
When the department considers licensing for a restricted area only,
the second sign test may be modified to include only signs normally

found in that area.

(4) When an applicant fails a sign test, the applicant may not

take further examinations until a period of one day has elapsed since



the previous examination. When the applicant fails four such examina-
tions, the applicant may not take a fifth examination until the de-
partment is satisfied that the applicant has received instruction,
such as assistance from a driver education instructor, teacher, par-

ent, etc., in reading and understanding the road signs.

TRANS 111.05 Test On Knowledge of Traffic Laws. (1) The department

shall administer a test on knowledge of traffic laws which shall con-
sist of a series of questions concerning traffic laws and rules of
the road, vehicle equipment and safe driving practices. This examina-

tion may be written or oral.

(2) 1In grading the test under sub. (1), a score of 75% or more
constitutes a passing grade. A score below 75% constitutes a failure

of the test.

(3) An applicant who fails the traffic laws test may not take
additional examinations until a period of 7 days has elapsed since
the previous examination. If the applicant fails four examinations
on knowledge of traffic laws, the applicant may not take a fifth exam-
ination until a period of 90 days has elapsed since the previous
examination, or until the applicant satisfies the department that
the applicant has received instruction, such as assistance from a
driver education instructor, teacher, parent, etc., on the rules of

the road.

TRANS 111.06 Driving Ability Examination. (1) The department shall

require a driving ability examination, as described in ss. MVD

14.01(1), 14.01(3), Wis. Adm. Code, or a combination of both, of all

applicants for a special restricted license.
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(2) The department may refuse to give the driving ability ex-
amination if the weather or road conditions are such that it might
be hazardous or might be impossible to complete the test. The depart-
ment may also deny a test if the vehicle furnished by the applicant
is not in safe operating condition. Tests may be concluded at any
time if continuing the test would constitute a hazard to the appli-

cant, the motoring public, or to the examiner.
(3) Persons licensed within the previous four (4) years, and

whose physical or mental condition has not changed during that period,

shall not be required to perform the driving ability examination.

TRANS 111.07 Scoring The Driving Ability EBExamination. (1) Those

maneuvers which are not satisfactorily performed shall be scored as
fair, poor, or unsatisfactory, depending on the degree of deviation

from a satisfactory performance of the maneuver.

(2) 1If the applicant demonstrates the requested maneuver satis-
factorily, the maneuver shall appear unmarked on the score card for

scoring purposes.

(3) In computing the score of the examination, three maneuvers
scored fair are equivalent to one maneuver scored poor. Three man-
euvers scored poor are equivalent to a failure of the examination.
Any maneuver scored unsatisfactory constitutes a failure of the exam-

ination.
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TRANS 111.08 Repeat Driving Ability Examinations. (1) When the appli-

cant is unsuccessful on the first examination, the applicant may not
take a second examination until a period of 10 days has elapsed since
the first examination. If the applicant is unsuccessful on the second
examination, the applicant may not take a third examination until

a period of 30 days has elapsed since the second examination. If

the applicant+is unsuccessful on the third examination, the applicant
may not take a fourth examination until a period of 90 days has elapsed

since the third examination.

(2) 1If the applicant has had considerable previous driving ex-
perience and the sole cause of an unsuccessful driving examination
was a single traffic violation, the department may permit a repeat

examination within a lesser period of time than provided in sub. (1).

(3) 1If the applicant furnishes proof of professional driving
instruction or considerable driving practice since the previous exam-
ination, the department may permit a repeat examination within a

lesser period of time than provided in sub. (1).

TRANS 111.09 Additional Driving Ability Examinations. (1) If the

applicant is unsuccessful after the fourth examination, the depart-
ment may grant further examinations only when it is satisfied that
the applicant's driving ability has improved through evidence that
professional instruction has been obtained. Any fifth or subsequent
examinations will be conducted at such intervals of time as the de-

partment determines reasonable.
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TRANS 111.10 Restrictions. (1) Restrictions shall be applied as de-

scribed in ss. 111.02(3), 111.03 (2), (4), (5), and (6), and as

a result of the evaluation of the driving ability examination.

(2) Restrictions include, but are not limited to, those identi-

fied in s. 343.135(6), Stats.

+
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TRANS 111,12 General Provisions. Nothing in this Chapter allows an

applicant to operate a vehicle to and from an examination station,
or any other operation without an instruction permit or proper 1li-

censing.

(END)

The rules contained in this order shall take effect upon

publication as provided in s. 227.026(1), (intro.) Stats.

Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this /é;7' day of

January, 1981,

A

ackéon,gﬁjgi

Secretary
Wisconsin Department of Transportation



