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ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
ADOPTING, AMENDING
OR REPEALING RULES

Relating to rules concerning Chapter HSS 55, Day Care Centers for Children.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Health and Social Services:

Proposed Chapter HSS 55 establishes minimum standards for the regulation of
all day care centers as defined in s. 48.65, Stats. TFor the purpose of
licensing, day care centers are divided into 3 categories; Family day care
centers for 4 through 8 children; Group day care centers for 9 or more
children; and Day Camps for children. The proposed rules also make changes
in the areas of organization, licensee responsibilities, special rules for
infant and night care, and health, program and personnel requirements.

Pursuant to authority vested in the Department of Health and Social Services
by section 227.014(2), Wis. Stats., and section 48.65; the Department of
Health and Social Services hereby repeals and adopts rules interpreting
sections 48.65, 48.67(1), Wis. Stats., as follows:

Chapter HSS 55 repeals and recreates PW-CY 40.10 through 40.14 and 40.70
through 40.80, Wis. Adm. Code.

CHAPTER HSS 55
DAY CARE CENTERS FOR CHILDREN
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PREFACE

Wisconsin law defines day care and requires those wishing to operate a
day care center to first be licensed. The legislative history of s. 48.65,
Stats., clearly indicates that it not only includes the expected family and
group day care centers but also day camps which provide, for compensation,
care and supervision for four or more children under 7 years of age for less
than 24 hours a day. Therefore, the department has developed rules, some of
which apply to all day care centers including day camps, while others recog-
nize and make provision for certain unique differences in the environmental
and the programatic aspects of each type of care.

The law also requires that the department establish rules which must be
met in order to qualify for a license and which protect and promote the
health, safety and welfare of the children in a day care center. HSS 55 was
developed in compliance with the law and represents the minimum level of
acceptable care that a licensee may provide to children in a day care center
in Wisconsin. These rules should not be confused with accreditation by
professional organizations which is based upon conformity with ideal rather
than minimum standards, or with certification of day care providers for
purchase of services with public funds. Day care centers will have to
satisfy certain additional requirements if, for example, they expect to
qualify for reimbursement under Title XX.

Clearly, the fact that a day care center is licensed in no way dimin-
ishes the responsibility of parents for vigilance in seeing that their
children are receiving care which protects their physical well-being as well
as encourages healthy intellectual and emotional development.

SUBCHAPTER I - GENERAL PROVISIONS

HSS 55.01 SCOPE. Sections HSS 55.01 through 55.08 apply to all day
care centers for children.

HSS 55.02 TITLE, INTENT AND CONSTRUCTION OF CHAPTER. (1) Title.
This chapter may be cited as "Rules for Day Care Centers for Children'".

(2) Intent. The intent of these rules is to protect the health,
safety and welfare of children in day care centers in Wisconsin.

(3) Construction. This chapter is to be liberally construed to effect
the objectives in sub. (2).

HSS 55.03 RULES. (1) Statutory Authority. HSS 55 is promulgated under
s. 48.67, Stats., which gives the department authority to regulate day care
centers. These rules have the full effect and force of law as provided in
ch. 227, Stats.

(2) Exception To Rules. The department may make an exception to a
rule for licensing day care centers when it is assured that granting of the
exception is not detrimental to the health, safety and welfare of the chil-
dren served. Exception requests shall be in writing and include an explana-
tion of the alternative provisions planned to cover the intent of the rule.




HSS 55.04 DAY CARE CENTERS DEFINED. (1) Statutory Definition. Day
care centers are defined in s. 48.65, Stats.

(2) Administrative Interpretation. For the purposes of licensing, the
following administrative interpretations apply:

(a) Day care centers include day camps which provide an experience in
cooperative living for periods of less than 24 hours a day in a seasonal
program orientated to the out-of-doors and serve 4 or more children under
the age of 7 at any one time.

(b) Day care centers exclude:

1. Care and supervision of a short duration, usually occurring on a
weekend or after school; including, but not limited to, social organiza-
tions, clubs, religious classes, Sunday schools and skill classes such as
music, dance and art classes.

2. Care and supervision of 4 or more children in a rare or emergency
situation. :
3. Facilities offering care and supervision to individual children on

an irregular and infrequent basis while the parents are engaged in non-work
activities on the premises including, but not limited to, recreation and
shopping.

HSS 55.05 DEFINITIONS. For the purposes of this chapter, except as
otherwise expressly noted:

(1) "Base camp'" means the permanent site, public or private, on which
the day camp is operated.

(2) "Camp director" means the individual on the campsite who has
primary responsibility for the administration of program operations and
supportive services (business, food service, health service).

(3) "Care" means providing for the safety and the developmental needs
of a child in a day care center, nursery school, kindergarten, other pre-
first grade program or day camp.

(4) "Center" means a group day care center or a family day care center
providing care for children.

(a) A family day care center provides care for 4 through 8 children.
(b) A group day care center providing care for 9 or more children.

(5) "Child Care worker" means an adult in a group day care center who
works directly with children.

(6) '"Compensation" means salary or wage or other material considera-
tion such as gifts or compensatory labor and any written or verbal agreement
whereby a parent or guardian makes payment of money or other valuable con-
sideration in exchange for the care and supervision of children. Compensa-




tion does not include those cooperative arrangements made between two or
more parents for the exchange of child care and supervision, and the pay-
ments made by them for the actual cost of equipment, supplies or facilities
incidental to the operation of such cooperative arrangements.

(7) "Counselor" means an individual on the staff who works directly
with children.

(8) '"Day camp'" or "camp'" means a day care center that provides an
experience in cooperating group living for periods less than 24 hours a day
in a seasonal program oriented to the out-of-doors.

(9) '"Day care center" means a licensed facility where a person, other
than a relative or guardian, provides, for compensation or consideration or
both, care and supervision for 4 or more children under 7 years of age, for
less than 24 hours a day.

(10) "Department", unless qualified, means the department of health and
social services including any of the divisions of the department.

(11) "Group" means a specific number of children not to exceed group
size as specified in subsequent subchapters, who have the following things
in common with every other child in the group:

(a) The same child care worker responsible for the child's well-being
and meeting the child's basic needs.

(b) The same self-contained room or area at the center.

(12) "Infant and toddler" means a child under 30 months of age.

(13) "Licensee' means the corporation, individual, partnership or
nonincorporated association or cooperative who has legal and financial
responsibility for the operation of a day care center and for meeting the
licensing rules. ‘

(14) "Night care center" means a group day care center or family day
care center which operates during any period of time between 7:00 p.m. and
6:00 a.m.

(15) "Parent" includes the terms:
(a) '"Parent'" as defined in s. 48.02(13), Stats.
(b) "Guardian" as defined in s. 48.02(9), Stats.

(16) "Parochial school" means a facility that:

(a) Provides a course of instruction comparable to any of the academic
grades, including five year old kindergarten, as described in s. 115.01(2),
Stats.; :

(b) Is affiliated with an identifiable religious denomination or sect
that has its own peculiar tenets and has an organization that goes beyond
the organization of the parochial school; and



(c) Promotes and teaches the peculiar tenets of the religious denomi-
nation or sect it is affiliated with.

(17) "Physician" means a licensed physician as defined in s. 448.02,
Stats.

(18) "Premises'" means a tract of land with buildings thereon.
(19) "Provider" means the adult who works with children.
(20) "Rule" means a regulation, standard, statement of policy or gen-

eral order (including the amendment or repeal of any of the foregoing) of
general application and having the effect of law.

(21) "Self-contained room or area' means a room separated by permanent
walls or an area separated by permanent or portable partitions or dividers
which:

(a) 1Is reserved for a specific group of children.

(b) Contains the indoor equipment and furnishings required for that
group.

(22) "Supervision' means guiding the behavior and activities of the
child for a prescribed period of time.

(23) "Volunteer" means a person who agrees to give time to work .with
children in a day care center.

HSS 55.06 LICENSES. (1) Conditions for a License. (a) Upon receipt of
a written 30-day notice of the department's intent to revoke or deny a
license as specified in s. 48.71(2), Stats., and during any revocation or
denial procedures which may result, a day care center may not accept for
care any child not enrolled as of the date of receipt of the 30-day notice
without the written approval of the department.

(b) A license may not be issued to any person who has been convicted
in a court of competent jurisdiction of child abuse or crimes against sexual
morality involving children. Conviction as specified is grounds for revo-
cation of current license.

(2) Licensing Categories. Day care centers are divided for licensing
purposes into the following categories:

(a) Family day care centers for 4 through 8 children.
(b) Group day care centers for 9 or more children.
(¢) Day camps for 4 or more children under 7 years of age.
(3) Summary Suspension of a License. (a) Under the authority of
s. 227.14(3), Stats., the department may order the summary suspension of a

license and, therefore, the closing of a day care center following a finding
of imminent danger to the health, safety or welfare of the children in care.




A finding of imminent danger may be based on, but not limited to, the fol-
lowing:

1. Failure to provide environmental protections such as heat, water,
electricity or telephone service; or

2. Conviction of a licensee in a court of competent jurisdiction of
child abuse, child neglect or crimes against sexual morality involving
children. ’

(b) An order to close may be verbal but must be approved at a regional
administrative level before it becomes effective. The department must
within 72 hours either approve the reopening of the center or initiate a
petition for the suspension of the license to operate. A preliminary hear-
ing on such suspension shall be provided within 10 working days of the
initial order to close.

HSS 51.07 COMPLAINTS. All complaints concerning a licensed or ille-
gally operating day care center may be submitted by telephone, letter or
personal interview. Complaints will be investigated by a licensing repre-
sentative of the department. A written report of the findings of the inves-
tigation will be sent to the complainant upon request.

HSS 55.08 SEVERABILITY. If a part of this chapter is invalid, all
valid parts that are severable from the invalid part remain in effect. If a
part of this chapter is invalid in one or more of its applications, the part
remains in effect in all valid applications that are severable from the
invalid applications.

HSS 55.09 - 55.19 [RESERVED]



SUBCHAPTER II - ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR FAMILY DAY CARE CENTERS

HSS 55.20 SCOPE. Sections HSS 55.20 to 55.26 apply to all family day
care centers.

HSS 55.21 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE FAMILY DAY CARE PROVIDER. (1) Appli-
cation For License.

(a) An applicant shall file an application and other materials re-
quired by the department for licensure on forms provided by the department.

(b) An application shall be filed with the department at least:

_ 1. Sixty days prior to the date the center proposes to begin opera-
tion.

2. Thirty days prior to the end of the current licensing period.
3. Forty-five days prior to opening an additional center.

4. Thirty days prior to changing the address of the center.

5. Thirty days prior to new ownership of the center.

(c) The application shall be accompanied by the following:

1. A clearly defined statement of purpose as it relates to the provi-
sion of the child care services.

2. A signed statement by the applicant or licensee accepting legal
responsibility for complying with the rules.

3. Diagrammatic floor plan of the center including room dimensions
and intended room usage.

4. Diagram and dimensions of outdoor areas including location of
enclosures.
5. The name, address and telephone number of 2 references for the day

care provider other than relatives and signed authorization to the depart-
ment to make such investigation as is necessary for the verification of
pertinent application information. -

(2) Amendment to License. A written request for an amendment to the
license shall be submitted to the department by the licensee prior to
changes in the conditions of the current license such as maximum number of
children, age range of children, hours, days of the week, months of the year
or change in the name of the center.

(3) Terms of a License. (a) The number of children under 7 years of
age present in a center at any one time may not exceed the number for which
the center is licensed.




(b) The age of children served may not be younger or older than the
age range specified in the terms of the license.

(¢) The hours, days and months of operation may not exceed those
specified in the terms of the license.

.

(4) Administration. The licensee shall:

(a) Comply with all statutory requirements under which the rules in
this chapter were promulgated.

(b) Comply with all applicable rules in this chapter.

(c) Provide documentation of current coverage by the submission of a
certificate of insurance reflecting dates of coverage for general liability
insurance and vehicle liability insurance if transportation is provided.

(d) Develop written plans for fees, admisssion, termination of enroll-
ment, health policy, feeding, discipline, evacuation, and daily activities
of the children. :

(e) Display the day care license in a location where parents can see
it during the hours of operation.

(5) Reports. The licensee shall report to the department:
(a) An accident resulting in the death or serious injury of a child
while at the center within 3 days after the occurrence. A serious injury is

one requiring the hospitalization of the child as an inpatient.

(b) A natural or man made catastrophe which damages the home within 24
hours after the occurrence.

(c) Statistical data required by the department on forms provided by
the department.

(6) Children's records

(a) The licensee shall maintain a current written record file at the
center on each child enrolled and make it available to the licensing repre-
sentative. Each record file shall include:

1. The information prescribed on a department enrollment form.

2. Written consent from the parent for emergency medical care or
treatment.

3. Authorization for the child to participate in and be transported

for field trips and other activities if these are part of the program.

4, Specific informed consent from the parent for each incident or
participation by a child in any research or testing project. The family day
care center shall obtain and make available to the department and the par-
ents a statement indicating the sponsor, the subject matter, the specific
purpose and the proposed use of results with respect to each such project.



5. Record of the current physical examination and any other matters
relating to the child's health.

(b) A record of the daily attendance of each child shall be maintained
for the length of time the child is enrolled in the program.

(c) The provider shall maintain a daily medical log recording any
injuries received by or medication dispensed to children.

1. The log shall be in a bound book with pages that are lined and
numbered. The pages may not be removed.

2. Entries shall be in ink and dated and signed or initialed by the
provider.

(7) Discrimination. The licensee shall ensure that the day care
center does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, sex, creed,
handicap, political persuasion, national orgin or ancestry against:

(a) Any employe or applicant for employment, in regard to hire, tenure
or term, condition or privilege of employment except where there is a bona
fide occupational qualification.

(b) Any enrolled child and family or any applicant for enrollment in
regard to admission, privilege of enrollment or discharge condition except
where it is a reasonable and necessary qualification.

(8) Confidentiality of Records. The licensee is responsible for
compliance by the day care center with s. 48.78, Stats., and the following
rules:

(a) Children's records are confidential. All persons having access to
children's records may not discuss or disclose personal information regard~
ing the children and facts learned about children and their relatives. This
does not apply to:

1. The parent or a person authorized in writing by the parent to
receive such information.

2. The agency assisting in planning for the child when informed
written parental consent has been given.

(b) Day care centers shall make accessible to the parent, upon re-
quest, all records and reports maintained on their own child.

(c) All records required by the department for licensing purposes are
to be available to the licensing representative.

(9) Child Abuse. (a) The licensee, who knows or has reasonable cause
to suspect that a child has been abused or neglected as defined in s.
48.981(1), Stats., shall immediately contact the county welfare agency,
sheriff or city police in compliance with s. 48.981, Stats.

(b) The licensee must ensure that every child care worker who comes in
contact with the children at the day care center has received training in:
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1. Child abuse and neglect laws.

2. The process of identification of children who have been abused or
neglected.
3. The process for reporting known or suspected cases of child abuse

or neglect.

"NOTE" Failure of the licensee to report known or suspected incidents
of child abuse or neglect does not lessen the legal duty of the child care
worker to report known .or suspected cases of child abuse or neglect.

(10) Discipline. (a) Written Policy. Each day care center shall have
a written policy on the discipline of children which provides for positive
guidance, redirection and the setting of clear-cut limits. It shall be
designed to help the child develop self-control, self-esteem, and respect
for the rights of others.

(b) Delegation. Only a qualified child care worker may discipline
children. Discipline may not be delegated to older children or peers.

(c) Punishments Prohibited. Punishment which is humiliating'or fright-
ening to a child such as, but not limited to the following, is prohibited:

1. Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking or inflicting any other form
of corporal punishment.

2, Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about self or family.

3. Binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in a confined
space such as a closet, locked room, box or similar cubicle.

4. Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps.
(d) Children may not be punished for lapses in toilet training.

HSS 55.22 THE DAY CARE PROVIDER AND MEMBERS OF THE HOUSEHOLD. (1)
Qualifications.

(a) The provider shall:
1. Be at least 18 years of age.

2. Have completed satisfactorily, or be enrolled in, 40 hours of
early childhood training as approved by the department.

(b) 1In addition, the provider shall document 15 hours of training
annually in child growth and development or early childhood education as
approved by the department. This training may include attendance at train-
ing events, workshops, conferences, independent reading, consultation with
community resource people or observation in day care centers.

(¢c) The provider shall not be employed in any other occupation during
the hours of operation of the center.



11

(2) Staffing And Grouping.

(a) At no time may more than 8 children under seven years of age be in
the care of the center. This total includes:

1. All children who are under 7 years of age shall be included in
this number.

2. When children who are 7 years of age and older who are not members
of the provider's family are served in the same center with children under 7
years of age, they shall be included in determining the maximum capacity.

(b) The maximum number of children that one provider may care for is
based on the combinations of ages as specified in Table 55.22.

TABLE 55.22

Children Under Children 30 months Maximum Number of
30 Months of Age of age through 6 Children in a Group

0 8 8

1 7 8

2 4 6

3 2 5

4 0 4

(c) 1If the size of the group or age distribution of the children
exceeds the number that may be served by one provider, there shall be a
second provider.

(d) No more than 3 children under one year of age may be served at any
one time.

(e) A child or group of children shall have adult supervision at all
times.

(f) 1In order to ensure that the requirement of par. (e) is met, a
second adult shall be available within 5 minutes for emergencies. There
shall be a dated and signed statement with name, address and telephone
number on file certifying to the second person's availability and agreement
to serve. In the event of the provider's absence, an adult substitute shall
be on the licensed premises during any period that enrolled children are
present.

(g) The adult on call within 5 minutes and the substitute helper shall
receive an orientation to the operation of the home including:

1. The plan for evacuation and other emergencies.

2. The location of the daily attendance sheet and emergency informa-
tion for children.

3. The plan of the center as specified in HSS 55.21(4)(d).
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Note: The person on call within 5 minutes for emergencies and the sub-
stitute helper may be the same adult.

(h) Only a person 18 years of age or older may be left in sole charge
of the children.

(3) Health.

(a) Any person who works directly with children shall have a health
examination within 6 months prior to beginning work or within 30 days there-
after. The report, dated and signed by a licensed physician, shall be on
file in the center and certify that:

1. The person is free from illness detrimental to young children.

2. The person is physically able to work with young children.

(b) Household members over the age of 15 who work directly with young
children and substitutes shall be required to meet the same health qualifi-

cations as the provider.

(¢) Household members under the age of 15 years shall be subject to
the same health requirements as the children in care as specified in
HSS 55.24(5)(g). :

(d) Staff, household members, volunteers, visitors or parents with
symptoms of illness, communicable disease or whose behavior gives reasonable

concern for the safety of children shall not be in contact with children.

HSS 55.23 THE HOME. (1) General Rules

(a) Buildings

1. There shall be a report of inspection, which indicates approval of
the building by the department of industry, labor and human relations or by
a certified investigator of that department. The home shall comply with all
state and local building codes.

"Note'": Local authorities should be consulted to obtain any required
zoning clearances or building permits. The department may request subse-
quent inspections from local authorities where available.

2. The space used by children shall be no less than 35 square feet
(3.3 square meters) of usable floor space per child. This space excludes
passageways, bathrooms, lockers, storage areas, furnace room, that part of
the kitchen occupied by stationary equipment and furniture not intended for
children's use.

3. The inside temperature may not be less than 67 degrees F (20
degrees C).

(b) Protective measures
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1. Fire places, steam radiators, electric fans, electric outlets,
electric heating units and hot surfaces such as pipes shall be protected by
screens or guards.

2. Unvented space heaters shall be prohibited in rooms used by or
accessible to children.

3. Firearms, ammunition and other potentially dangerous items which
are located on the premises shall be under lock and key.

4, Materials harmful to children such as, but not limited to, power
tools, flammable or combustible materials, insecticides, matches, drugs, and
other articles labeled hazardous to children shall be in properly marked
‘containers and stored in areas inaccessible to children.

5. The fire extinguisher shall be operable at all times, inspected
once a year by a person qualified to do so and bear a label indicating its
present condition and the date of last inspection.

6. The provider and substitute shall be knowledgeable about the use
of the fire extinguisher.

7. Each home shall have an evacuation plan for fire, tornados and
other emergencies which shall be practiced monthly.

8. The center shall have at least one telephone with a list of emer-
gency telephone numbers on or near each telephone, such as the local rescue
squad, fire department, police department, child protective services and
emergency medical service.

9. Indoor and outdoor space shall be free from hazards such as, but
not limited to, abandoned automobiles and household appliances, uncovered
wells and cisterns, stacked lumber with exposed nails, and explosives.

10. A motor vehicle at the home or a public or private rescue or
emergency vehicle shall be immediately available at all times in case of an
emergency. .

11. Neither alcohol or non-prescribed controlled substances as defined
in s. 161.01, Stats., shall be consumed during hours of operation by the day
care provider.

(c) Sanitation

1. The premises shall be free from litter, in a sanitary condition
and in good repair.

2. Doorways and windows which are opened for ventilation shall be
screened.
3. Furnishings, toys, cots, and other equipment shall be cleaned or

washed regularly and as often as they become soiled.

4. Household duties and domestic routines shall be limited to daily
maintenance of the home while children are present.

el
i<
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5.  Potty chair receptacles shall be emptied, rinsed and disinfected
immediately after each use.

(d) Water

1. A safe supply of drinking water shall be readily available to the
child at all times by use of disposable or individually labeled cups.
Common use of drinking cups is prohibited.

2. When a public water supply is not available, a private well may be
used if it is approved by the department of natural resources. Water sam-
ples from an approved well shall be tested by the state laboratory of hy-
giene or a state-approved laboratory at least annually. The water supply
shall be bacteriologically safe prior to use. The report shall be available
to the department.

(2) Furnishings. Furnishings shall be durable and safely constructed,
with no sharp, rough, loose or pointed edges. Included in the furnishings
shall be:

(a) Table space for each child and seating sufficient to serve the
children cared for in the group.

(b) Storage space for equipment, cots (if used), bedding, children's
clothing and personal belongings.

(c) A safe, washable cot, bed or sleeping bag available for each child
over one year of age who naps or sleeps.

(d) A safe, washable crib provided for each child under one year of
age who naps or sleeps.

(e) Low shelves for children's daily equipment.
(3) Kitchens.

(a) Equipment. Equipment and utensils for preparing, serving and
storing food shall be clean and equipped for the safe handling of food.

(b) Dishwashing procedure

1. Utensils and dishes shall be scraped, sorted and prewashed under
running water.

2.  For manual washing of dishes and utensils, a three-step procedure
shall be used:

a. Wash in water between 110 and 120 degrees F (43 to 52 degrees C),
using an effective soap or detergent.

b. Rinse by immersing dishes and utensils in clean, hot water to
remove soap or detergent.

c. Sanitize by submerging dishes and utensils for at least 2 minutes
in a solution of an approved sanitizer.
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3. For mechanical washing of dishes and utensils in home type dish-
washer with a temperature setting of between 130 and 150 degrees F (54 to 66
degrees C), dishes and utensils shall be washed and rinsed in the dishwasher
and sanitized by submerging dishes and utensils for at least 2 minutes in a
solution of an approved sanitizer.

4, All dishes and utensils shall be air-dried in racks or baskets or
on a drain board.

"NOTE": A list of approved sanitizers is available from the Section of
hotels and restaurants, division of health, P.0. Box 309, Madison, Wisconsin
53701.

(¢) TFood sources

1. Food shall be from sources approved or considered satisfactory by
the department and shall be clean, wholesome, free from spoilage, adultera-
tion and misbranding, and safe for human consumption.

2. Only milk and milk products which meet the Grade A milk standard
of the department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection and certi-
fied by the department may be served or used.

3. Food in dented, bulging or leaking cans, or cans without labels
shall not be used.

4. No hermetically sealed, non-acid or low acid food which has been
processed in a place other than a commercial food processing establishment
may be used.

(d) Food storage. Food shall be stored at temperatures which will
protect against spoilage.

1. Perishable and potentially hazardous- food which includes all
custard-filled and creamed filled pastries, milk and milk products, meat,
fish, shellfish, gravy, poultry stuffing and sauces, dressings, salads
containing meat, fish, eggs, milk or milk products, or any other food or
food products liable to rapid food spoilage shall be continuously maintained
at safe temperatures: 40 degrees F (4 degrees C) or below or 150 degrees F
(66 degrees C) or above, except during necessary periods of preparation and
service.

2. Each cold storage facility shall be maintained at 40 degrees F (4
degrees C) or lower (refrigerator), or 1 degree F (-17 degrees C) or lower
(freezer).

3. Each cold storage facility shall be equipped with a clearly-
visible accurate thermometer.

4.  Food shall be covered during storage under refrigeration.
(e) Food handling

1. Raw fruits and vegetables shall be washed before serving or cook-
ing.
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2. Food returned from individual plates or from dining tables shall
be discarded.

3. Leftover prepared food which has not been served shall be refrig-
erated promptly and used within 24 to 36 hours, or frozen immediately for
later use.

(4) Washroom And Toilet Facilities.

(a) There shall be at least one toilet and one sink available for the
use of children.

(b) Steps or blocks shall be provided if lavatory (washbasin) or water
closet (toilet) are not proportioned to the size of children.

(c) Soap, toilet paper, disposable paper or individually labeled
towels and a waste paper container shall be provided and accessible to

children.

Note: Plumbing, as defined in ch. 145 Stats., shall comply with all
applicable sections of H62 of the Wis. Adm. Code.

(5) Outdoor Space.

(a) The rules on outdoor space shall apply to any center where chil-
dren are present for more than 3 hours per day.

(b) There shall be at least 75 square feet (7.0 square meters) of
outdoor play space for each child.

(c) The boundaries of outdoor play space shall be defined in such a
way as to protect children. A permanent enclosure not less than 4 feet (1.2
meters) high shall be provided where hazards exist such as, but not limited
to, traffic or bodies of water.

(d) The outdoor space shall be well-drained and free of hazards.

HSS 55.24 THE CHILD. (1) Program.

(a) Planned activities shall reflect the cultural diversity of the
children of the community and provide experiences in which each child can:

1. Be successful and feel good about self.

2. Use and develop language.

3. Use large and small muscles.
‘ 4. Use materials and take part in activities which encourage creativ-
ity.

5. Learn new ideas and skills.

6. Participate in imaginative play.



17

(b) The daily schedule shall be planned according to the age and
developmental level of the child in care and include a flexible balance of:

1. Daily indoor and outdoor activities.

2, Active and quiet play.

3. Protection from excess .fatigue and overstimulation.
4. TIndividual and group activities.

(c) Children shall be given individual attention on a one to one
basis.

(d) The cultural diversity of the children shall be reflected in the
program through the incorporation of their language, food, celebrations and
lifestyles.

(2) Equipment.
(a) Equipment shall be provided for indoors and outdoors and be:
1. Scaled to the size and developmental level of the children.

2. 0f sound construction with no sharp, rough, loose or pointed edges
and in good operative condition.

3. Placed so as to avoid danger of accident and collision and to
permit freedom of action.

(b) Permanently installed equipment shall be anchored in a manner
which assures stability.

(c) A variety of equipmenﬁ shall be provided to allow for large and
small muscle activity, dramatic play, creative expression and intellectual
stimulation.

(d) Indoor equipment shall be provided in a sufficient quantity so
that each child has a choice of at least 3 activities involving equipment
when all children are involved in using equipment.

(e) Outdoor equipment shall be provided in a sufficient quantity so
that each child has at least one activity when all children are using equip-
ment at the same time.

"NOTE": TLists of sample equipment according to variety and quantity
are available from the department on request.

(f) Equipment and materials which reflect an awareness of cultural and
ethnic diversity shall be provided.

(3) Rest Periods For Sessions Of More Than Four Hours.

(a) There shall be a nap or rest period of approximately one hour or
longer for all children under 5 years of age.
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(b) Children who do not sleep shall be permitted to get up and have a
quiet time through the use of equipment or activities which do not disturb
other children.

(c) Each child shall be provided with a bed, cot, sleeping bag or crib
which is placed at least 2 feet (63.8 cm) from the next bed, cot, sleeping
bag or crib. Sleeping bags, if used, shall be provided by parents. When
sleeping bags are used, the child's head may not rest on the floor.

1. When the beds of family members are used by day care children,
they shall be completely covered with a separate sheet. Each sheet shall be
identified with the child's name.

2. Each child using a bed, cot or crib shall be provided an individ-
ual sheet and blanket.

3. Beds, cots, cribs, sleeping bags and bedding shall be stored in a
clean and sanitary manner and labeled with the child's name.

4. There shall be a complete change of bed linen after each 5 uses or
immediately when wet or soiled and always after a change of occupancy.
Sleeping bags shall be washed or cleaned as often as needed or at least
weekly.

(d) Infants under one year shall sleep alone in cribs. Only 2 related
children may share a double bed. No 2 children may share a single size bed,
cot or sleeping bag.

(4) Feeding. (a) Food shall be provided according to Table 55.24
which is based on the amount of time children are present.

TABLE 55.24
Time present Number of meals and snacks
2 1/2 to 4 hours 1 snack
4 to 8 hours 1 snack and 1 meal
8 to 10 hours 2 snacks and 1 meal
10 or more hours 2 meals and 2 oxr 3 snacks

(b) Food shall be served at flexible intervals, but no child may go
without nourishment for longer than 3 hours.

(c) Each meal shall provide 1/3 of the daily nutritional requirements
of the child. Meal and snack patterns listed in par. (d), (e) and (f) shall
be used in meal planning.

(d) Breakfast is to consist of at least one item from each of the
following categories:

Fruit or juice

Cereal or whole grain or enriched bread product
Butter or margarine

Grade A vitamin D milk

WD =
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(e) Noon or evening meals shall consist of at least one item from each
of the following categories:

1. Meat, poultry, fish, egg, cooked dried peas or beans, cheese or
peanut butter
2 vegetables or 1 vegetable and 1 fruit or 2 fruits
Cereal or whole wheat or enriched bread products
Butter or margarine
Grade A vitamin D milk

U~ w N

(f) Snacks (either mid-morning or mid-afternoon) shall consist of at
least one of the following: milk or milk product, fruit, fruit juice,
vegetable, peanut butter or other protein, whole grain or enriched bread or
cereal., When only fruit juice is served, it shall be pure fruit juice.

Note: Centers participating in and meeting the meal requirements of
the United States department of agriculture (USDA) child care food program
meet the requirements of par. (d), (e) and (f).

(g) A sufficient quantity of food shall be prepared for each meal so
that second portions of vegetable or fruit, bread, butter or margarine and
milk are available to children.

(h) Menus shall be available for review by the department and reflect
the cultural and ethnic preferences of children of the community.

(i) When food such as bag lunches is provided by the parent, the
provider shall ensure that each child has a meal that provides 1/3 of the
daily nutritional requirements as specified in par. (d) and (e).

(5) Health. (a) Observation

1. Each child upon arrival shall be observed by the provider for
symptoms of illness.

2. Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacerations, and
burns shall be noted on the child's record.

(b) Isolation

1. A separate room or area shall be provided for the care of children
who become ill.

2. When an apparently ill child is observed in a center, the fol-
lowing procedures shall apply:

a. Children with a sore throat, inflammation of the eyes, fever,
lice, rash, vomiting, diarrhea or other illness or condition shall be iso-
lated.

b. The child shall be provided with a bed, crib or cot and sheet and
blanket in a separate room or area with the day care provider within sight
and hearing of the child. The child shall be separated from other children
until the child can be removed from the center.
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c. Arrangements shall be made with the parent or emergency contact
person to remove the child from the center as soon as possible.

.(C) Communicable Disease

1. When a child is suspected of having a communicable disease or
condition such as, but not limited to, chickenpox, German measles, infec-
tious hepatitis, measles, mumps, poliomyelitis, lice, ringworm of the scalp,
scarlet fever, whooping cough, diphtheria or meningitis, the county or city
public health nurse shall be notified.

2. When a diagnosis of a communicable disease is made, the exposed
children shall be watched for symptoms of the disease and the parent noti-
fied as specified in sub. (6).

3. A child may be readmitted without a statement from a physician
after a communicable disease only if the child has been absent for a period
of time designated by the department.

(d) Medication
1. No prescriptive or non-prescriptive medications such as, but not

limited to, aspirin, cough medicine or nose drops may be given to a child
except under the following conditions:

a. A written authorization that is dated and signed by the parent is
on file.
b. Prescription medication is in the original container, and labeled

with the child's name, drug, dosage, directions for administering, date and
physician's name.

c. Non-prescriptive medication is labeled with the child's name and
the request, signed by the parent, includes dosage and directions for admin-
istering.

d. A written report including type of medication given, dosage, time,
date and the name of the person administering the medication shall be kept
in the child's record and the center's medical log as specified in HSS
55.21(6).

2.  All medication shall be kept under lock and key or otherwise
inaccessible to children.

3. Medication requiring refrigeration shall be kept in a designated,
separate, covered container clearly labeled '"Medications'.

(e) Personal Cleanliness

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and water before eating
and after toileting. Children's hands and faces shall be washed after
meals.

2. Persons working with children shall wash their hands with soap and
water before handling food and after assisting with toileting.
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3. Individual washcloth, comb and toothbrush shall be kept in a
sanitary condition when used at the center.

4, Wet or soiled clothing shall be changed promptly from an available
supply of clean clothing.

(f) Accident or injury

1. Planned procedures for the treatment of accidents and injuries
shall include:

a. Procedure to be followed in bringing the child to emergency medi-
cal care.
| b. Routine procedures for treatment of minor injuries.
c. First aid measures for serious accidents.
d. A planned source of emergency medical care, such as a hospital

emergency room, clinic or other constantly staffed facility shall be desig-
nated and made known to parents.

e. Each center shall have a supply of bandages, tape and bandaids.
Superficial wounds shall be cleaned with soap and water only and protected.

f. Written permission from the parents to call the family physician
or refer the child for medical care in case of accident or emergency shall
be on file at the center. Parents shall be contacted as soon as possible
after the emergency has occurred.

2. A record of the accident or injury shall be kept in the child's
permanent file and in the center medical log as specified in HSS 55.21(6).

(g) Physical examination

1. Each child shall have an initial examination not more than 6
months prior to, nor later than 3 months after admission to a center.

2. Evidence of current physical examination shall be provided by a
report signed and dated by a physician licensed in this state or in the
state where the examination is done.

3. Each child 2 years of age and older shall have a subsequent physi-
cal examination at least once every 2 years thereafter by a physician.

4, Each child under 2 years of age shall be given a physical examina-
tion by a physician at least once every 6 months after admission.

5. Children participating in the early and periodic screening, diag-
nosis and treatment program (EPSDT) or other screening programs approved by
the department, meet the requirements of this paragraph.

(h) Immunization
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1. Each child shall have an immunization history which states that
the child has been immunized against diphtheria, pertussis, tetanus, polio-
mylitis, measles, rubella and the month and year each dose was administered
(as required by s. 140.05, Stats.). This written statement shall be on file
at the center or one of the following compliance alternatives shall be met
prior to the child's admission:

a. Signed permission by the parent to have the child immunized in a
prompt and timely manner by a physician specified by the parent or the local
public health agency;

b. Upon written and dated statement by a physician that, in the
opinion of that physician, a particular immunization required under s.
140.05, Wis. Stats., is or may be detrimental to the health of a particular
child, the requirements for that particular immunization shall be waived for
that child until it is certified by that physician or another physician
chosen by the parent that the particular immunization is no longer detrimen-
tal to the health of the child; or

c. Upon written, signed and dated statement by the parent that a
particular child is an adherant of a religious belief which percludes immu-
nization, the immunization requirements under s. 140.05, Stats., shall be
waived by the department for that child. :

2. A written statement from the parent regarding the type and date of
any immunization required under s. 140.05, Stats. which is administered to a
child after the immunization history has been submitted to the center shall
be on file within 90 days or according to the required immunization sched-
ule.

"NOTE:" The required immunization schedule is based upon the Advisory
Committee on Immunization Practices of the U.S. Public Health Service and

described in the compliance form issued by the department under s. 140.05,
Stats.

(6) Parents.

(a) Parents shall be given an explanation of the plan of operation of
the center before the child is admitted as specified in HSS 55.21(4).

(b) Parents of an enrolled child shall be notified:
1. Immediately of illness of or serious injury to the child.
2. 0f any minor injury to the child, upon departure from the center.

(c) The provider shall communicate with the parent regarding the
child's adjustment to the program and growth and development.

(d) A copy of the applicable parts of HSS 55 shall be made available
to parents.

(7) Pets
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(a) Dogs and cats shall be vaccinated against diseases for which
immunizations are available and which present a hazard to the health of
children.

(b) Pets suspected of being ill or infested with ectoparasites (exter-
nal lice, fleas and ticks) or endoparasites (internal worms) shall be re-
moved from the center.

(c) In the event that an animal bites a child, a veterinarian shall be
contacted by the provider to determine a course of action in the diagnosis
of possible rabies in the animal. Procedures for emergency care of children
as specified in sub. (5)(f) shall be followed. Parents shall be notified of
any action taken by the veterinarian.

(d) Turtles, skunks and poisonous reptiles are prohibited as pets in
order to prevent salmonella, rabies and poisoning.

(e) Animal pens shall be kept clean.

(f) Pets shall be kept and handled so as to protect the well-being of
both children and pets.

(8) Pools. Centers which have swimming places such as pools and
beaches located on their premises shall comply with:

(a) The requirements of ch. H71, Wis. Adm. Code.

(b) The American Red Cross standards as specified in Subchapter IV -
Additional Requirements For Day Camps.

(9) Transportation. When transportation including, but not limited
to, field trips is contracted for or provided by the center, it shall comply
with the transportation rules as specified in Subchapter III - Additional
Requirements For Group Day Care Centers.

HSS 55.25 ADDITIONAL RULES FOR INFANT AND TODDLER CARE. (1) Scope.
This section applies to a family day care center which provides care and
supervision to children under 30 months of age in addition to sections
HSS 55.20 through HSS 55.24.

(2) General Rules.

(a) Information obtained on preadmission enrollment forms shall be
used to individualize the program of care for each child. This information
shall be reviewed and revised with parents at least once every 2 months.

(b) Children under 30 months of age are restricted to first floors or
ground floors having direct grade level exits.

(c) Safety gates shall be provided at stairways.

(3) Daily Program.

(a) Each child shall be allowed to form and follow the child's own
patterns of sleeping and waking periods.
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(b) Emphasis in activities shall be given to play as a learning and
growth experience.

1. Throughout the day, each infant and toddler shall receive physical
contact and attention such as being held, rocked, talked to, sung to and
taken on walks inside and outside the center.

2. Routines such as bedtime, feeding, cleanliness and toileting shall
be used as opportunities for language development and other learning experi-
ences.

3. VWhen a non-walking child is awake, the child's position and loca-
tion shall be changed several times during the waking hours.

4, The non-walking child shall have opportunity during each day for
freedom of movement such as creeping and crawling in a safe, clean, open,
warm and uncluttered area.

5. Infants and toddlers shall be encouraged to play with a wide
variety of safe toys and objects as specified in HSS 55.24(2).

6. Infants and toddlers shall be taken outdoors for part of each day
except during inclement weather or when a physician has ordered otherwise.

(c) When being transported in a motor vehicle, children under 30
months of age shall be fastened securely in a child crash tested restraint.

(4) Feeding.

(a) Each child under 2 years of age shall be fed on the child's own
feeding schedule.

(b) Food and formula brought from home shall be labeled with the
child's name and refrigerated if required.

(c) Leftover milk or formula shall be discarded after each feeding.
Bottles shall be rinsed after use.

(d) Drinking water shall be offered to the infant and toddler several
times daily.

(e) A child unable to hold a bottle shall be held whenever the bottle
is given. Bottles may not be propped.

(f) Commercial baby food containers which are opened and foods pre-
pared in the center which are stored shall be covered, dated and refriger-
ated. If not used within 24 hours, leftover food shall be discarded.

(g) A child too young to sit in a high chair or feeding table shall be
held or placed in an infant seat while being fed. Wide base high chairs
with safety straps or feeding tables with safety straps shall be provided
for those children not developmentally able to sit at tables and chairs.
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(h) Infants shall be encouraged to experiment with self-feeding with
hands and spoons or both. Eating utensils and cups shall be scaled to the
size and developmental level of the infant and toddlers.

(i) A variety of nourishing foods shall be offered including cereal,
vegetables, fruit, eggs and meat according to the child's developmental
level and the parent's feeding plan, except that no child may be forced to
eat.

(5) Diapering And Toileting Activities.

(a) Wet and soiled diapers and clothing shall be changed promptly.

(b) There shall be a supply of dry clean clothing and diapers suffi-
cient in quantity to meet the needs of each infant.

(c) Infants and toddlers shall be changed on a surface which is indi-
vidual to each child or is cleaned with a germicidal solution after each
use.

(d) If cloth diapers are used, they shall be supplied by the parent.
Soiled diapers shall be rinsed and placed in labeled plastic bags which are
kept separate from other clothing and sent home daily.

(e) If disposable diapers are used, soiled diapers shall be placed in
a plastic lined covered container,

(f) Soiled diapers shall be removed from containers as needed or at
least daily for washing or disposal. Containers shall be washed and disin-
fected daily.

(g) Soiled infant -clothing shall be placed in a container separate
from diapers.

(h) The hands of the provider shall be washed before and after each
diapering or assistance with toileting routines, using soap and running
water.

(i) The application of lotions, powders or salves to the child during
diapering may be done only at the specific direction of the parent or physi-
cian.

(j) A child shall be washed with a disposable or fabric washcloth used
once before rediapering. Washcloths shall be individual to each child.

(k) Washcloths and towels shall be provided for face and handwashing.
Washcloths and towels shall be individual to each child and separate from
washcloths used for diapering.

(1) Toilet training shall be planned cooperatively between the day
care provider and the parent.

HSS 55.26 ADDITIONAL RULES FOR NIGHT CARE. (1) Scopé. This section
applies to a family day care center which provides care and supervision to
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children during any time between 7:00 pm and 6:00 am in addition to sections
HSS 55.20 through HSS 55.25.

(2) General Rules.

(a) No one person may be responsible for the care of children for more
than 12 hours in any 24-hour period.

(b) Each child in night care shall be provided, by parent or center,
individually labeled sleeping garments, washcloth, towel, toothbrush and, if
the child wishes, a special toy or blanket which has meaning to the child.

(c) The provider shall work with the child's parent to coordinate the
plan for the time the child spends at the center with the family schedule.

(d) School age children shall have an opportunity for reading or
school work. ‘

(e) The provider shall be knowledgeable about special techniques of
evacuating sleeping children in an emergency.

(f) The provider shall be awake at all times including when children
are sleeping.

(3) Feeding.

(a) Breakfast shall be served to all children in care for the night,
unless the parent specifies otherwise.

(b) A night time snack shall be available to all children in care.

(c¢) Each child present at the time the evening meal is scheduled shall
be served dinner.

(4) Personal Cleanliness.

(a) Children shall have a shower, tub or sponge bath as needed for
body cleanliness. When a bathtub is used, fresh water shall be provided for
each child and the tub shall be cleaned after each use. '

(b) Children shall be closely supervised while bathing.

(5) Sleep.

(a) Children who attend the center for the evening hours but do not
spend the whole night shall have an opportunity to sleep, if needed.

(b) Sleeping routines for individual children shall be established
based on information provided by the parents.

(c) A separate bed or crib shall be provided for each child in night
care, with sheets and blankets individual to each child.

1. A supply of extra sleeping garments and bedding for emergencies
and accidents shall be maintained.
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2. Rubber sheets shall be provided for children whose enrollment
information indicates a tendency to bedwetting.

3. Pillows with pillow cases shall be available for children who
choose to use them.

(d) Children under 2 years of age in night care shall sleep in cribs.

(e) The provider shall work with parents to insure consistency between
the family and center bedtime routines.

HSS 55.27 - 55.29 [RESERVED]
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SUBCHAPTER III - ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR
GROUP DAY CARE CENTERS

HSS 55.30 SCOPE. Sections HSS 55.30 to 55.37 apply to all group day
care centers. >

HSS 55.31 ORGANIZATION AND ADMINISTRATION. (1) Application for
License.

(a) An applicant shall file an application and other materials re-
quired by the department for a licensure on forms provided by the depart-
ment.

(b) An application shall be filed with the department at least:

1. Sixty days prior to the date the center proposes to begin opera-

tion.

2. Thirty days prior to the end of the current licensing period.

3. Forty-five days prior to opening an additional center.

4, Thirty days prior to changing the address of the center.

5. Thirty days prior to new ownership of the center.

(c) The application shall be accompanied by the following:

1. The constitution and by-laws of a corporation, association or
cooperative.

2. A clearly defined statement of purpose as it relates to the provi-

sion of child care services.

3. A signed statement by the applicant or licensee accepting legal
responsibility for complying with rules.

4, A diagrammatic floor plan of the center building including room
dimensions and intended room usage.

5. A diagram and dimensions of outdoor areas including location of
enclosures.
6. A written delegation of administrative authority signed by the

licensee which outlines organizational structure and designates, in a chain
of command form, those persons on the premises in charge of the center for
all hours of operation. '

"NOTE:" The designation of person in charge may be by job function.
(2) Amendment to License. A written request for an amendment to the

license shall be submitted to the department by the licensee prior to
changes in the conditions of the current license such as maximum number of
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children, age range of children, hours, days of the week, months of the year
or change in the name of the center.

(3) Terms of License.

(a) The number of children under 7 years of age present in a center at
any one time may not exceed the number for which the center is licensed.

(b) The age of children served may not be younger or older than the
age range specified in the terms of the license.

(¢) The hours, days and months of operation may not exceed those
specified in the terms of the license.

(4) Additional License. A licensee seeking licensure for an addition-
al center location must demonstrate compliance in the operation of any
existing center. .

(5) Administration. The licensee shall:

(a) Comply with all statutory requirements under which the rules in
this chapter were promulgated.

(b) Comply with all applicable rules in this chapter.

(c) Designate; in writing, a Wisconsin resident who is responsible for
ensuring compliance with all applicable statutes and rules, if the licensee
resides in another state.

(d) Meet, upon request, with the licensing representative on matters
pertaining to licensing.

(e) Provide documentation of insurance coverage by the submission of a
certificate of insurance reflecting current dates of coverage for:

1. General liability insurance which provides coverage with limits of
not less than $25,000 for each person and total limits of $75,000 per occur=
rence. .

2, Vehicle liability insurance, when transportation is provided, with
minimums no less than those provided in s. 121.53, Stats.

3. Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when transportation is
provided in other than center owned vehicles.

(f) Assure that no person who has been convicted in a court of compe-
tent jurisdication of child abuse or crimes against sexual morality invol-

ving children is employed as a worker in a day care center.

(g) Develop and implement written policies to be submitted to the
department for review on:

1. Termination of enrollment of children.
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2. Fee payment and refund.

3. Personnel policies, including job description, hours of work,
lunch and break times, holidays, vacations, sick leave, leave of absence,
salary range, probationary period, performance evaluation, grievance proce-
dure and disciplinary process.

(h) Develop and implement written policies to be submitted to the
department for approval on:

1. Health, education, nutrition and discipline.
2. Transportation when proVided.

3. Plans for evacuation and other emergencies.
4, In-service training.

5. Orientation of new staff and volunteers.

(i) Display the day care license near the entrance or in some other
conspicuous area of the center that is accessible to the public.

(6) Reports. The licensee shall report to the department:
(a) An accident resulting in the death or serious injury of a child
while at the center within 3 days after the occurrence. A serious injury is

one requiring the hospitalization of the child as an inpatient.

(b) A natural or man made catastrophe which damages the building
‘within 24 hours after the occurrence.

(c) A change in the board chairperson or director of a day care center
within 30 days after the change.

(d) A termination of any program services at least 5 days prior to the
termination.

(e) Statistical data required by the department on forms provided by
the department.

(7) Staff records. The licensee shall:

(a) Maintain a record file for each employe which is available for
examination by the licensing representative and which includes:

1. An application form including name, address, date of birth, educa-
tion, position, previous work experience in child care including reason for
termination, the name, address, and telephone number of persons to be noti-
fied in an emergency and any record of conviction for child abuse or crlmes
against sexual morality involving children.

2. Evidence of current physical examination as specified in
HSS 55.32(1).
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3. Documentation of educational qualifications for the position as
specified in HSS 55.32(1).

(b) Have a listing of the name, address and telephone number of the
person to be notified in the event of an emergency to an employe at the

location where the employe works.

(8) Children's records.

(a) The licensee shall maintain a current written record file at the
center on each child enrolled and make it available to the licensing repre-
sentative. Each record file shall include:

1. Pre-admission and enrollment information consisting of:

a. Name and birth date of child.

b. Full name of parents.
c¢. Home address and telephone number.
d. Address and telephone number where a parent can be reached while

child is in care.

e. Name, address, telephone number and relationship to the child of a
person to be notified in an emergency, when a parent cannot be reached
immediately.

f. Name, address and telephone number of physician or medical facil-
ity caring for the child.

g. Name, address and telephone number of a person other than a parent
authorized to call for the child, or authorized to accept the child who is
dropped off.

h. First day of attendance and termination date.

i. For children under 30 months of age, a current statement from the
parent about the specific habits of eating, sleeping, toileting, communica-
tion and comforting.

2. Consent from the parent for emergency medical care or treatment.

3. Authorization to transport the child to and from the center, when
transporation is provided.

4, Authorization for the child to participate in and be transported
for field trips and other activities if these are part of the center's
program.

5. Specific informed consent from the parent for each incident of
participation by a child in any research or testing project. The day care
center shall obtain and make available to the department and to the parent a
statement indicating the sponsor, the subject matter, the specific purpose
and the proposed use of results with respect to each such project.
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6. The current physical examination and any other matters relating to
the child's health.

7. The daily attendance of each child for the length of time the
child is enrolled in the program. For children in irregular or drop in
care, the hours of arrival and departure shall be recorded.

(b) The licensee shall maintain a daily medical log recording in- (iq/w‘tpgiﬁg))
quiries received by or medication dispensed to children. ga) -
‘/ij A r‘ 2 F

1. The log shall be in a bound book with pages that are lined and %%3;%%9

numbered. The pages may not be removed.
(j- A 4@‘( 3 /:5{ A v,

2. Entries shall be in ink and dated and signed or initialed by the Pt 5 Foreidn
person making the entry. ' D

(9) Discrimination. The licensee shall ensure that the day care
center does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, sex, creed,
handicap, political persuasion, national orgin or ancestry against:

(a) Any employe or applicant for employment, in regard to hire, tenure
or term, condition or privilege of employment except where there is a bona
fide occupational qualification.

(b) Any enrolled child and family or any applicant for enrollment in
regard to admission, privilege of enrollment or discharge condition except
where it is a reasonable and necessary qualification.

(10) Confidentiality of Records. The licensee is responsible for
compliance by the day care center with s. 48.78, Stats., and the following
rules:

(a) Children's records are confidential. All persons having access to
children's records may not discuss or disclose personal information regard-
ing the children and facts learned about children and their relatives. This
does not apply to:

1. The parent or a person authorized in writing by the parent to
receive such information.

2., The agency assisting in planning for the child when informed
written parental consent has been given.

(b) Day care centers shall make accessible to the parent, upon re-
quest, all records and reports maintained on their own child.

(¢) All records required by the department for licensing purposes are
to be available to the licensing representative.

(11) Child Abuse. (a) The licensee, who knows or has reasonable cause
to suspect that a child has been abused or neglected as defined in s.
48.981(1), Stats., shall immediately contact the county welfare agency,
sheriff or city police in compliance with s. 48.981, Stats.
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(b) The licensee must ensure that every child care worker who comes in
contact with the children at the day care center has received training in:

1. Child abuse and neglect laws.

2. The process of identification of children who have been abused or
neglected.
3. The process for reporting known or suspected cases of child abuse

or neglect.

"NOTE" Failure of the licensee to report known or suspected incidents
of child abuse or neglect does not lessen the legal duty of the child care
worker to report known or suspected cases of child abuse or neglect.

(12) Discipline. (a) Written Policy. Each day care center shall
have a written policy on the discipline of children which provides for
positive guidance, redirection and the setting of clear-cut limits. It

shall be designed to help the child develop self-control, self-esteem, and
respect for the rights of others.

(b) Delegation. Only a qualified child care worker may discipline
children. Discipline may not be delegated to older children or peers.

(c) Punishments Prohibited. Punishment which is humiliating or
frightening to a child such as, but not limited to the following, is prohib-
ited:

1. Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking or inflicting any other form
of corporal punishment.

2. Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about self or family.

3. Binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in a confined
space such as a closet, locked room, box or similar cubicle.

4, Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps.
(d) Children may not be punished for lapses in toilet training.

HSS 55.32 PERSONNEL. (1) Responsibilities And Qualifications Of Staff.

(a) Person with administrative responsibilities.

1. The licensee shall designate a person or persons with administra-
tive responsibility for the management of the center, including but not
limited to personnel, finances, physical plant maintenance and other areas
of operational management. '

2. A person who has administrative responsibilities shall:

a, Be at least 21 years of age.

b. Have completed high school or its equivalency as determined by the
department of public instruction; or hold certification, credential or
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diploma from a post secondary early childhood education training program as
approved by the department.

3. Prior to assuming the position, a person with administrative
responsibilities shall:

a. Have one year experience in operational management; or have satis-
factorily completed 40 hours of training in business or program administra-
tion.

b. Have one year of experience as a person with primary program
responsibility or as a primary child care worker; or have satisfactorily
completed 40 hours of training in early childhood education as approved by
the department.

4. Persons may meet the requirements of subd. 3 if prior to assuming
the position, they have completed the administrative training or experience
requirement and are currently enrolled in the early childhood education
training; or have completed the early childhood education training or exper-
ience and are currently enrolled in the administrative training.

5. Within each subsequent three year period after assuming the posi-
tion, a person with administrative responsibility shall complete 45 addi-
tional hours of early childhood education as approved by the department.
This training shall be exclusive of the in-service training requirement as
specified in sub. (2).

6. When the administrative responsibility for the management of the
center is the designated responsibility of a cooperative board, the quali-
fication requirements as specified in subds. 2, 3, 4 and 5 do not apply.

"NOTE": Accumulated hours of training beyond the entry level require-
ment, as specified in subds. 3a and 3b are counted in determining each sub-
sequent 3 year requirement as specified in 5.

(b) Person with primary program responsibilities.

1. The licensee shall designate a person or persons as responsible
for supervision of the planning and implementation of the program and di-
recting the orientation and in-service training of staff.

2. A person who has primary program responsibilities shall:
a. Be at least 21 years of age.

b. Have completed high school or its equivalency as determined by the
department of public instruction; or hold certification, credential or
diploma from a post secondary early childhood training program as approved
by the department.

3. In a center or multi-center agency licensed to serve 40 or less
children at any one time and operated by the same licensee, the person with
primary program responsibility shall have completed:
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a. Prior to assuming the position, 120 working days experience pro-
viding direct child care as a child care worker or volunteer in a licensed
day care center, kindergarten or early childhood program approved by the
department; or been certified by the Wisconsin department of public instruc-
tion as a nursery school teacher or show ev1dence of meeting the qualifica-
tions for such certification.

b. Prior to assuming the position, 2 years of documented credit in an
institution of higher education with at least 3 credits equivalent to early
childhood education; or satisfactorily completed 80 hours of training in
early childhood education as approved by the department.

c. Within each subsequent 3 year period after assuming the position,
45 additional hours of training in early childhood education as approved by
the department. This training excludes the in-service training requirement
as specified in sub. (2).

4, In a center or multi-center agency licensed to serve 41 or more
children at any one time and operated by the same licensee, the person or
persons with primary program responsibility shall have completed:

a. Prior to assuming the position, 2 years experience as a primary
child care worker in a licensed day care center, kindergarten or early
childhood program approved by the department.

b. Prior to assuming the position, 2 years of documented credit in an
institution of higher education with at least 12 credits in early childhood
education, or satisfactorily completed 160 hours of training in early child-
hood education as approved by the department.

c. Within each subsequent 3 year period after assuming the position,
45 additional hours of training in early childhood education as approved by
the department. This training excludes the in-service training requirement
as specified in sub. (2).

"NOTE": Accumulated hours of training beyond the entry level require-
ment, as specified in subds. 3b and 4b are counted in determining each
subsequent 3 year requirement as specified in subds 3c and 4c.

(c) Primary child care worker.

1. A primary child care worker shall plan and implement the daily
activities for a designated group of children.

2, A person who is a primary child care worker shall:

a. Be at least 18 years old.

b. Have completed high school or its equivalency as determined by the
department of public instruction; or hold certification, credential or
diploma from a post secondary early childhood training program as approved

by the department.

3. The person who is a primary child care worker shall have com-
pleted:
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a. Prior to assuming the position, 120 working days experience pro-
viding direct child care as a child care worker or volunteer in a licensed
day care center, kindergarten or early childhood program approved by the
department; or be certified by the Wisconsin department of public instruc-
tion as a nursery school teacher or show evidence of meeting the qualifica-
tions for such certification.

b. Prior to assuming the position, 2 years of documented credit in an
institution of higher education with at least 3 credits equivalent to early
childhood education; or satisfactorily complete 80 hours of training in
early childhood education as approved by the department; or have a Child
Development Associate (CDA) credential or satisfactory attainment of other
department approved competency program.

c. Within each subsequent 3 year period, after assuming the position,
45 additional hours of training in early childhood education as approved by
the department. This training excludes the in-service training requirement
as specified in sub. (2).

"NOTE:" - Accumulated hours of training beyond the entry level require-
ment as specified in subd. 3b are counted in determining each subsequent 3
year requirement as specified in subd. 3c.

(d) Secondary child care worker.
1. A secondary child care worker shall:

a. Work under the supervision of a primary child care worker with a
group of children. '

b. Be at least 18 years old.

c. Have completed satisfactorily or be enrolled in 40 hours of train-
ing as approved by the department.

d. Within the following 3 year period after assuming the position,
complete 40 additional hours of training in early childhood education as
approved by the department. This training excludes the in-service training
requirement as specified in sub. (2).

2. A parent serving as a secondary child care worker in a parent
cooperative may be exempt from the training requirements specified in subd.
1. Parent volunteers shall have at least four hours of training in day care
programming and procedures before working in the classroom.

"NOTE:" Approval of training content, length of courses and qualifi-
cations of persons teaching courses shall be according to criteria estab-
lished by the department of health and social services.

(e) Substitutes.

1. In the absence of a regular staff member, there shall be a simi-
larly qualified substitute; or
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2. In the event the regular staff member's absence is not anticipated
to exceed 5 days, a person not meeting the educational qualifications may
substitute if a qualified person is not available. The substitution may not
exceed 5 consecutive days.

(f) Volunteers

1. Volunteers shall participate in orientation as required in sub.
(2)(a).
2. Volunteers who are included in determining staff to child ratios

shall meet the requirements of the position they are filling.

3. Volunteers not included in determining staff to child ratios shall
have at least four hours of training in day care programming and procedures
before working in the classroom.

4, The person with primary program responsibilities shall:
a. Designate a staff member to coordinate the volunteer program.
b. Keep on file a schedule of the hours of the volunteers who are

included in determining staff to child ratios.
(g) Health qualifications

1. All persons except volunteers who work directly with children
shall have a health examination within 6 months prior to beginning work or
within 30 days thereafter. The report, dated and signed by a physician,
shall be on file in the center and certify that:

a. The person is free from illness detrimental to children.

b. The person is physically able to work with young children.

2. No staff, volunteer, visitor or parent with symptoms of illness,
communicable diseases or whose behavior gives reasonable concern for the
safety of children may be on the premises of the center.

3. No person with a health history of typhoid, paratyphoid, dysentery
or other diarrheal diseases may work in a center until is is definitely

determined by appropriate tests that such person is not a carrier of these
diseases.

(2) Orientation And In-service Training.

(a) Each center shall develop and implement a written orientation
program which is required of all new staff and volunteers within their first
week at the center. This orientation shall include, but is not limited to:

1. A review of the applicable parts of HSS 55.

2. A review of center policies.
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3. Training in emergency procedures including first aid.

4. Job responsibilities in relation to the job description.
5. Training in the recognition of illness of the éhild.

6. Schedule of activities.

7. The child abuse and neglect laws.

(b) Centers shall develop and implement an annual in-service training
plan which includes staff meetings. The center shall provide training, at a
ratio of 2 hours per month for each month of program operation through, but
not limited to, one or more of the following means:

1. Discussion or materials concerning child growth and development
and early childhood education, available for, and used by staff.

2. Community resource people.
3. Attendance at conferences or workshops.

(c) The center shall provide food service personnel with orientation
and in-service training in kitchen sanitation, food handling and nutrition.

(3) Staffing And Grouping.

(a) At least one child care worker meeting the qualifications of a
primary child care worker shall supervise each group of children as outlined
in sub (1)(c).

(b) Each child shall be closely supervised by a child care worker.

(c¢) The maximum number of children in a group and the ratio of child
care workers to children may not exceed those specified in table 55.32.

Table 55.32
Age of Maximum Number of  Minimum Number of Child
Children Children in a Group Care Workers to Children
Infant to 1 year 6 1:3
1 year to 2 years 8 1:4
2 years to 2 1/2 years 12 1:6
2 1/2 years to 3 years 16 1:8
3 years to 4 years 20 1:10
4 years to 5 years 24 1:12
5 years and over 32 1:16

"NOTE:" Maximum group size does not apply to field trips, outdoor play
areas, and those areas reserved exclusively for napping and eating.

(d) When children under the age of 2 1/2 are part of a mixed age
group, the size of the group may not exceed the maximum number of children
that would be allowable for the youngest member of the group.
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(e) When there is a mixed age group, the staff to child ratio shall be
adjusted on a prorata basis, according to age.

(f) When 8 or less children are present in the center, there shall be
a second adult available within 5 minutes. The center shall keep a signed
and dated statement including address and telephone number, certifying the
person's availability and agreement to serve.

(g) In a center with 9 or more children present, there shall be at
least 2 adults available at all times in the building. At least one of
these shall be a child care worker directly involved in the supervision and
care of children.

(h) Supportive staff such as clerical, housekeeping and food service
staff may be considered in determining the staff to child ratio:

1. During those hours when they give full attention to the care and
supervision of children; and

2. Provided they meet the qualifications of child care staff.

(i) Child care workers shall be free of all other non-classroom duties
during the hours they are working directly with children.

(j) Children of staff members who attend the center or who are on the
premises for supervision and care shall be included in determining group

size and staff to child ratio.

HSS 55.33 PHYSICAL PLANT AND FURNISHINGS. (1) General Rules.

(a) Buildings

1. There shall be a report of inspection which indicates approval of
the building by the department of industry, labor and human relations or by
a certified inspector of that department. The building shall comply with
applicable state and local building codes. '

""NOTE" : Local authorities should be consulted to obtain any required
zoning clearances or building permits. The department may request subse-
quent inspections from local authorities where available.

2. The department shall be given written notice of proposed construc-
tion, remodeling of existing space or change in rooms to be used by chlldren
prior to the initiation of such changes.

3. Space designated for use by the children shall be available for
the children and staff only and not used for other purposes while the center

is open.

4.  The inside temperature may not be less than 67 degrees F. (20
degreees C).

(b) Protective measures.
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1. Fireplaces, steam radiators, electric fans, electric outlets,
electrical heating units and hot surfaces such as pipes shall be protected
by screens or guards. Electric fans shall be securely mounted out of chil
dren's reach.

2. Unvented space heaters are prohibited.

3. No potentially dangerous hazards, such as but not limited to
firearms, ammunition, explosives, abandoned automobiles and household appli-
ances, uncovered wells and cisterns or stacked lumber may be kept on the
premises.

4, Materials harmful to children such as but not limited to, power
tools, flammable or combustible materials, insecticides, matches and all
other articles labeled hazardous or poisonous shall be in properly marked
containers and stored in areas inaccessible to children.

5. A motor vehicle at the center or public or private rescue or
emergency vehicle shall be immediately available at all times in case of an
emergency.

6. The center shall have access to a telephone during hours of opera-
tion and a list of emergency telephone numbers such as the local rescue
squad, fire department, police department, child protective services and
emergency medical service shall be posted on or beside each telephone.

Note: In this subdivision, "telephone'" does not include pay telephones
requiring payment to reach the operator or telephones in locked rooms.

7. Stairs, walks, ramps and porches shall be maintained in a safe
condition and free from the accumulation of water, ice and snow.

8. Smoking shall be permitted only in rooms or areas not used by
children during hours of operation.

9. Alcohol or non-prescribed controlled sustances or both as speci-
fied in s. 161.01, Stats., may not be consumed on the premises of the day

care center during hours of operation or while children are present.

10. Children may not be allowed in an area where power tools are in
use.

(c) Fire prevention

1. Each center shall have written plans for fire, tornadoes and other
emergencies. The center shall:

a. Post and practice the plans monthly as specified in HSS 55.31(5).

b. Inform each staff member of their duties in the event of such an
emergency.

c. Keep a written record of dates and times of the monthly practice.
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2. The fire extinguisher on the premises shall be operable at all
times, inspected once a year by a person qualified to do so, and bear a
label indicating its present condition and date of last inspection,

3. All staff members shall be instructed in and knowledgeable about
the use of the fire extinguisher.

4, Exits and exit passageways shall be unobstructed by furniture or
other objects. A minimum clear width of 3 feet is required.

5. Extension cords may not be used in place of permanent wiring.

6. No more than 2 electrical appliances may be plugged into any one
wall outlet.

7. The door to the basement and furnace room shall be closed.
8. Areas under stairs may not be used for storage.

9. All exit lights shall be 1lit at all times.
10.  Fire alarm and smoke detectors shall be tested weekly.

(d) Sanitation

1. The premises shall be free from litter, in a sanitary condition
and in good repair.

a. Flaking and deteriorating paint on exterior and interior surfaces
accessible to children shall be refinished.

b. No lead based paint or other toxic finishing material may be used.

c. Garbage containers in the building shall be covered, watertight
and emptied daily or more often as needed. Compactors need not be emptied
daily. Garbage and refuse stored out of doors shall be kept in leak-proof
containers equipped with tight fitting covers and shall be disposed of as

necessary to prevent decomposition or overflow.

d. Furnishings, toys, cots and other equipment shall be washed or
cleaned as often as they become soiled.

e. Toilet rooms and fixtures shall be in a sanitary, odor free condi-
tion at all times.

f. Potty chair receptacles shall be emptied, rinsed and disinfected
immediately after each use.

2. Windows which are opened for ventilation shall be screened.

3. The premises shall be maintained so as to prevent the entrance or
harborage of vermin.

(e) Water
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1. A supply of safe drinking water shall be available to children at
all time from a drinking fountain of the angle jet type or by use of dispos-
able cups. Common use of drinking cups is prohibited.

2, When a public water system is not available, a private well may be
used if it is approved by the department of natural resources. Water sam-
ples from an approved well shall be tested at the state laboratory of hy-
giene or a state approved laboratory at least annually. The water supply
shall be bacteriologically safe prior to use. The report shall be available
to the department.

(2) 1Indoor Space

(a) The space used by children shall be no less than 35 sq. ft. (3.3
sq. meters) of usable floor space per child. This space excludes passage-
ways, bathrooms, lockers, office, storage areas, isolation quarters, staff
room, furnace room, that part of rooms occupied by stationary equipment and
those areas not consistently available to children such as, but not limited
to, areas used exclusively for large muscle activity, music, napping or
eating.

(b) There shall be storage space for cots, bedding, supplies and
surplus equipment.

(3) Furnishings.

(a) All furnishings shall be durable, safely constructed, with no
sharp, rough, loose or pointed edges.

(b) Tables shall be scaled to the height and size of the children's
comfort and reach. Seating shall be scaled to the height and size of the
child. .

(c) In centers where meals are served, there shall be table space for
each child and seating sufficient in number to serve the children cared for
in the group.

(d) Shelves shall be provided for the equipment and supplies in rooms
used by children. Equipment and supplies shall be arranged in an orderly
fashion so that children may select, use and replace items.

(e) Each child shall have storage space for clothing and personal
belongings. For children 30 months and older, the space for outergarment
storage shall be at child level.

(f) There shall be a safe, washable cot, bed or sleeping bag provided
for each child over one year who naps or sleeps. There shall be a safe
washable crib provided for each child under one year who naps or sleeps.

(4) Kitchens.

(a) Equipment and utensils

1. Equipment and utensils used for preparing, serving and storing
food shall be clean and equipped for the safe handling of food.
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2. All equipment and utensils shall have smooth, hard surfaces, be
easily cleanable, in good repair, durable, non-toxic, free of cracks, seams,
chips and roughened areas, and shall be capable of being maintained in a
clean and sanitary condition.

3. Food preparation tables shall be durable, and surfaces shall be
smooth, non-absorbent and easily cleanable.

4. After cleaning, utensils shall be stored in a clean, dry place
protected from contamination.

5. Single service utensils shall be non-toxic, stored in a clean, dry
place, kept covered, and may not be reused.

(b) Dishwashing procedures

1. All kitchen utensils and food contact surfaces used in the prep-
aration, storage and service of food shall be thoroughly cleaned and sani-
tized after each use.

2. All utensils and dishes shall be scraped, sorted and prewashed
under running water.

3. For manual washing of dishes and utensils, a 3 step procedure
shall be used:

a. Wash in water between 110 and 125 degrees ¥ (43 to 52 degrees C),
using an effective soap or detergent.

b. Rinse by immersing dishes and utensils in clean, hot water to
remove soap or detergent.

c. Sanitize by submerging dishes and utensils for at least 2 minutes
in a solution of an approved sanitizer.

4. For mechanical washing of dishes and utensils, the following shall
apply:

a. Wash at 130 to 150 degrees F (54 to 66 degrees C) for at least 20
seconds, using an effective cleaning agent.

b. Rinse and sanitize at 180 degrees F (82 degrees C) for 10 seconds
or more, using automatic rinse injector.

c. Readily-visible temperature gauges shall be located in the wash
compartment of all mechanical dishwashers and in the rinse water line of
spray~type mechanical dishwashers or in the rinse tank of an immersion-type
dishwasher; or

d. For mechanical washing of dishes and utensils in hometype dish-
washers with a temperature setting of between 130 and 150 degrees F (54 to
66 degrees C), dishes and utensils shall be washed and rinsed in the dish-
washer and sanitized by submerging dishes and utensils for at least 2 min-
- utes in a solution of an approved sanitizer.
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5. All dishes and utensils shall be air dried in racks or baskets or
on drain boards.

"NOTE:" A list of approved sanitizers is available from the hotels and
restaurants section, division of health services, P.0. Box 309, Madison,
Wisconsin, 53701.

(¢c) Tood sources

1. Food shall be from sources approved or considered satisfactory by
the department and shall be clean, wholesome, free from spoilage, free from
adulteration and misbranding and safe for human consumption.

2, Only milk and milk products which meet the Grade A milk standards
of the Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade, and consumer protection
and certified by the department may be served or used.

3. No food prepared for meals shall be served on the premises unless
it is prepared on the premises or in another location licensed by the appro-
priate agency.

4, Food in dented, bulging or leaking cans, or cans without labels
may not be used.

5. No hermetically sealed, non-acid and low-acid food which has been
processed in a place other than a commercial food processing establishment
may be used.

(d) TFood storage

1. Food shall be stored at temperatures which will protect against
spoilage.

a. Perishable and potentially hazardous food which includes all
custard-filled and cream-filled pastries, milk and milk products, meat,
fish, shellfish, gravy, poultry stuffing and sauces, dressings, salads
containing meat, fish, eggs, milk or milk products, and any other food or
food products liable to rapid food spoilage shall be continuously maintained
at safe temperatures, 40 degrees F (4 degrees C) or below or 150 degrees F
(66 degrees C) or above, except during necessary periods of preparation and
service.

b. Each cold storage facility shall be maintained at 40 degrees F (4
degrees C) or lower (refrigerator), or 0 degrees F (-17 degrees C) or lower
(freezer).

c. Each cold storage facility shall be equipped with a clearly vis-
ible accurate thermometer.

d. Food shall be covered during storage under refrigeration.

2. Foods not requiring refrigeration shall be stored in clean, dry,
ventilated and lighted storerooms or areas.
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a. Dry bulk foods, such as flour, sugar, cereals and beans shall be
stored in metal, glass or food grade plastic containers with tight fitting
covers and shall be labeled.

Note: Food grade plastic means of any type of material used in the
construction of dishes, utensils which has proven not harmful to health by
the National Sanitation Foundation.

b. Food shall be stored at least 8 inches (20.32 cm) above the floor
in the basement storage areas and above the floor in other than basement
areas, in order to provide air circulation and facilitate cleaning.

c¢. Foods shall be stored in such manner so as to prevent contamina-
tion by sewage, waste water backflow, condensation, leakage or vermin.

(e) Cleaning aids

1. Poisonous and toxic materials such as, but not limited to, clean-
ing supplies, bleaches and insecticides shall be labeled and stored in
cabinets used for no other purpose.

2. Cleaning aids such as mops, brooms and buckets may not be stored
in food preparation or food storage areas, and shall be in a clean and
sanitary condition.

(f) Food handling

1. All raw fruits and vegetables shall be washed before serving or
cooking.
2. Food returned from individual plates or from dining tables shall

be discarded. .

3. Leftover prepared food which has not been served shall be refrig-
erated promptly and used within 24 to 36 hours, or frozen immediately for
later use.

4. Food delivery vehicles shall be equipped with clean containers or
cabinets to store food while in transit. Containers for hot or cold foods

shall be capable of maintaining temperatures at or below 40 degrees F (4
degrees C) or 150 degrees F (66 degrees C) or above.

(g) TFood service personnel.

1. Food service personnel includes any person who participates in
meal preparation (breakfast, lunch, dinner).

2. Food service personnel shall:
a. Be at least 18 years of age.

b. Wear clean clothing and effective hair restraints such as hair
nets or caps.
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c. Wash their hands before starting work, before and after handling
food, and after using the toilet.

(5) Washroom And Toilet Facilities.

(a) The center shall provide the number of washbasins and toilets
specified in table 55.33.

Table 55.33

Maximum Number of
Children Center is Number of
Licensed For Washbasins and Toilets

10 or less
11 to 25
26 to 40
41 to 55
56 to 70
71 or more

AU W N

(b) When a center is licensed for more than 70 children, one addi-
tional washbasin and toilet shall be provided for each additional 15 chil-
dren or fraction thereof. '

(c) When potty chairs are used for children under 30 months of age in
place of required water closets (toilets), the potty chairs shall be pro-

vided in a ratio of 1 for every 4 children or fraction thereof.

(d) Steps or blocks shall be provided if the lavatory (washbasin) and
water closet (toilet) are not proportioned to the size of the children.

(e) Soap, toilet paper, and a waste paper container shall be provided.

(f) Single use disposable or individually labeled clean cloth towels
shall be provided and accessible to children.

(g) Toilet room door locks shall be openable from the outside and the
opening device shall be readily accessible to the staff.

NOTE: Plumbing as defined in ch. 145, Stats., shall comply with ch.
H62, Wis. Adm. Code.

(6) Outdoor Space.

(a) The rules on outdoor space shall apply to any center where Chil-
dren are present for more than 3 hours per day.

(b) There shall be at least 75 square feet (7.0 square meters) of
outdoor play space on the premises for each child using the space at a given
time. The total outdoor space shall accommodate not less than one third of
the licensed capacity or a minimum of 750 square feet (70 square meters),
whichever is greater.
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(c) The boundaries of outdoor play space shall be enclosed in such a
way as to protect children. A permanent enclosure not less than 4 feet (1.2
meters) high shall be provided where hazards exist such as, but not limited
to, traffic or bodies of water.

(d) The outdoor space shall be well drained and free of hazards.

HSS 55.34 PROGRAM. (1) Essential Program Qualifications

(a) There shall be a written program of activities planned according
to the developmental level of each group of children and reflecting the
cultural diversity of the children of the community. The program shall
provide each child with experiences which will encourage:

1. Self-esteem and positive self-image.

2. Social interaction.

3. Self-expression and communication skills.
4. Creative expression.

5. Large and small muscle development.

6. Intellectual growth.

(b) The program schedule shall be planned to provide a flexible bal-
ance of:

1. Active and quiet activities.
2. Individual and group activities.
3. Indoor and outdoor activities.

(c) Television shall be used only to supplement the daily plan for
children. No child may be required to watch television.

(d) Routines such as toileting, eating and intervals between activ-
ities shall be planned to avoid keeping children waiting in lines or assem-
bled in large groups.

(e) The program shall provide:

1. Reasonable regularity in routines such as eating and napping.

2. Daily periods when a variety of experiences are concurrently
available for the children to select their own activities.

3. Protection from excess fatigue and overstimulation.

(f) Children shall be given individual attention on a one to one basis
by staff members.
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. (g) The cultural diversity of the children shall be reflected in the
program through the incorporation of their language, food, celebrations and
1ife styles.

(h) When centers are open in the early morning and late afternoon,
special consideration shall be given to planning .activities which will meet
the individual needs of the child through:

1. Opportunities to rest and eat if these are indicated.

2, Use of materials or participation in activities which are not
necessarily a duplication of activities planned for the major part of the

program day.

(i) The program, as implemented, shall reflect the center's written
plans. '

(2) Equipment.
(a) Equipment shall be provided for both indoors and outdoors and Be:
1. Scaled to the size and developmental level of the children.

2. 0f sound construction with no sharp, rough, loose, or pointed
edges and in good operative condition and anchored when necessary.

3. Placed so as to avoid danger of accident and collision and to
permit freedom of action.

(b) Minimum requirements shall be met by the provision of equipment
and supplies according to the following criteria:

1. A variety of equipment from each of the following shall be select-
ed:

a. To provide for large muscle development.

b. To provide for construction activities and for the development of
manipulative skills.

c. To encounrage social interaction.

d. To provide for intellectual stimulation.

e. To encourage creative expression.

2. Indoor equipment shall be provided in a sufficient quantity so

that each child has a choice of at least 3 activities involving equipment
when all children are using play equipment at the same time.

3. Outdoor equipment shall be provided in a sufficient quantity so
that each child has at least one activity involving equipment when all
children are using play equipment at the same time.
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"NOTE:" Tists of sample equipment according to variety and quantity
are available from the department on request.

4, Equipment and materials which reflect an awareness of cultural and
ethnic diversity shall be provided.

(3) Rest Periods For Sessions Of More Than Four Hours.

(a) There shall be a supervised nap or rest period of approximately
one hour or longer for all children under 5 years of age.

(b) Children who do not sleep shall be permitted to get up and helped
to have a quiet time through the use of equipment or activities which will
not disturb other children.

(c) Each child shall be provided with an individual bed, cot, sleeping
bag or crib which is placed at least 2 feet (63.8 cm.) on all sides from the
next bed, cot, crib or sleeping bag. Sleeping bags, if used, shall be pro-
vided by parents. When sleeping bags are used, the child's head shall not
rest on the floor. ‘ »

(d) Beds, cots, cribs, sleeping bags and bedding shall be labeled with
the child's name to assure that each child uses the same items between
washings.

(e) Each child using a bed, cot or crib shall be provided with an
individual sheet and blanket.

(f) There shall be a complete change of bed linen after each 5 uses,
immediately when wet or soiled, and always upon a change in occupancy.

Sleeping bags shall be washed or cleaned or as often as needed and at least
weekly.

(g) Beds, cots, cribs, sleeping bags and bedding shall be stored in a
clean and sanitary manner.

(4) TFeeding.
(a) TFood

1. Food shall be provided according to Table 55.34 which is based on
the amount of time children are present:

Table 55.34
Time Present Number of Meals and Snacks
2 1/2 to 4 hours 1 snack
4 to 8 hours 1 snack and 1 meal
8 to 10 hours 2 snacks and 1 meal
10 hours or more 2 meals and 2 or 3 snacks

2. Center provided transportation time shall be included in deter-
mining the amount of time children are present for the purposes of subd. 1.
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3. Food shall be served at flexible intervals, but no child shall go
without nourishment for longer than 3 hours.

4, Meal and snack patterns listed in subds. 5, 6 and 7 shall be used
in meal planning. Each meal shall provide 1/3 of the daily nutritional
requirement of the child.

5. Breakfast shall consist of at least one item from each of the
following categories:

a. Fruit or juice

b. Cereal, whole grain or enriched bread product

c. Butter or margarine

d. Grade A vitamin D milk

6. A noon or evening meal shall consist of at least one item from

each of the following categories:

a. Meat, poultry, fish, egg, cooked dried peas or beans, cheese or
peanut butter .

b. 2 vegetables or 1 vegetable and 1 fruit or 2 fruits

c Cereal or whole grain or enriched bread products

d. Butter or margarine

e Grade A vitamin D milk

7. Snacks (mid-morning or mid-afternoon) shall consist of at least
one of the following: milk or milk product, fruit, fruit juice, vegetable,
peanut butter, whole grain or enriched bread or cereal. When only fruit
juice is served, it shall be pure fruit juice.

Note: Centers participating in and meeting the meal requirements of

the United States department of agriculture (USDA) child care food program
meet the requirements of subds. 5, 6 and 7 above.

8. Menus shall:

a. Be posted in the kitchen and in a conspicuous place accessible to
parents.
b. Be planned at least one week in advance, dated and kept on file

for 3 months.

c. Be available for review by the department.

d. Include a variety of foods.

e. Reflect the cultural and ethnic preferences of children of the
community.

9. Any changes in the planned menu shall be recorded.

10. A sufficient quantity of food shall be prepared for each meal to
allow second portions of vegetables or fruit, bread, butter or margarine and
milk to be available to children.
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11. Special diets including nutrient concentrates and supplements may
be served only upon written instructions of the child's physician and upon
request of the parent.

(b) TFood and food service

1. Staff shall sit at the table with the children.

2. Meals shall be served with time allowed for socialization.
3. Children shall be encouraged to serve themselves.
4.  Food may not be used as a punishment or reward.

5. Children may not be forced to eat.

(5) Health.

(a) Observation

1. Each child upon arrival shall be observed by a staff person for
symptoms of illness.

2. Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacerations and burns
shall be noted on the child's record and reported immediately to the person
in charge of the center.

3. Food allergies and other allergies of specific children shall be
known to cooks, staff members, child care workers, and substitutes having
direct contact with these children.

(b) Isolation. An isolation area shall be provided for the care of
children who become ill. If the area is not a separate room, it shall be
separated from space used by other children by a partition, screen or other
means.

(¢) 111 Child Procedure. When an apparently ill child is observed in
the day care center the following procedures shall apply:

1. Children with a sore throat, inflammation of the eyes, fever,
lice, rash, vomiting, diarrhea, or other illness or condition shall be
isolated.

2. The child shall be provided with a bed, crib or cot and sheet and
blanket in the isolation room or area with a staff within sight and hearing
of the child. Isolation shall be used until the child can be removed from
the center.

"NOTE:" For sessions of 4 hours or less, a kindergarten mat may be
provided for the isolation room or area instead of a bed, crib or cot.

3. The child's parent, or a designated responsible person when a
parent cannot be reached, shall be contacted as soon as possible after the
illness is discovered. Arrangements shall be made for the exclusion of the
child from the center.
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4, Children who are ill may be transferred to a center or program
component licensed for the care of i1ll children when all of the following
conditions are met:

a. With the consent of the parent.

b. When the written health policy of the center allows ill children
to remain.

c. When medical consultation from a physician or local health depart-
ment is available to the center in establishing policy for the management of
ill children.

(d) Communicable Disease

1. When a child is suspected of having a communicable disease or
condition such as, but not limited to, chickenpox, German measles, infec-
tious hepatitis, measles, mumps, poliomyelitis, lice, ringworm of the scalp,
scarlet fever, whopping cough, diphtheria or meningitis, the county or city
public health nurse shall be notified.

2. When a diagnosis of a communicable disease is made, the exposed
children shall be watched for symptoms of the disease and the parents shall
be notified as specified in sub (6).

3. A child may be readmitted without a statement from a physician
after a communicable disease if the child has been absent for a period of
time designated by the department.

(e) Medication

1. No prescriptive medication or nonprescriptive medication such as,
but not limited to, aspirin, cough medicine or nose drops may be given to a
child except under the following conditions:

a. A signed, dated, written authorization of the parent is on file.

b. Prescription medication is in the original container and labeled
with the child's name, name of drug dosage, directions for administering,
date and physician's name.

¢. Non-prescriptive medication is labeled with the child's name and
the request, signed by the parent, includes dosage and directions for admin-
istering.

d. A written report including type of medication given, dosage, time,
date and the name of the person administering the medication shall be kept
in the child's record and the center medical log as specified in HSS
55.31(8).

2. Medication shall be kept under lock and key or otherwise inac-
cessible to children.

3. Medication requiring refrigeration shall be kept in a designated
separate covered container clearly labeled "Medications'.
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(f) Personal cleanliness

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and water before eating
and after toileting. Children's hands and faces shall be washed after
meals.

2. Persons working with children shall wash their hands with soap and
water before handling food and after assisting with toileting.

3. Individual washcloth, comb and toothbrush shall be kept in a
sanitary condition when used at the center.

4, Wet or soiled clothing shall be changed promptly from an available
supply of clean clothing which shall be available.

(g) Accident or injury
1. A written description of procedures for the treatment of accidents

and injuries shall be included in the health policy and be made known to
staff including:

a. Procedure to be followed in bringing the child to emergency medi-
cal care.

b. Routine procedures for treatment of minor injuries.

c. First aid measures for serious accidents.

d. A planned source of emergency medical care, such as a hospital

emergency room, clinic or other constantly staffed facility shall be desig-
nated and made known to staff and parents.

e. Each center shall have a supply of bandages, tape and bandaids.
Superficial wounds shall be cleaned with soap and water only and protected.

f. Written permission from the parents to call the family physician
or refer the child for medical care in case of accident or emergency shall
be on file at the center. Parents shall be contacted as soon as possible
after the emergency has occurred.

2. A record of the accident or injury shall be kept in the child's
permanent file and in the center medical log as specified in HSS 55.31(8).

3. Records of accidents shall be reviewed by the director with staff
at least twice each year in order to determine that all possible preventive
measures are being taken.

(h) Physical examination

1. Each child shall have an initial examination not more than 6
months prior to, nor later than 90 days or 3 months after admission to a
center.

2. Evidence of current physical examination shall be provided by a
report signed and dated by a physician licensed in this state or in the
state where the examination is done.
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3. Each child 2 years of age and older shall have a subsequent physi-
cal examination at least once every 2 years thereafter by a physician.

4. Each child under 2 years of age shall be given a physical examina-
tion by a physician every 6 months after admission.

Note: Children participating in the early and periodic screening
diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) program or other screening program approved
by the department meet the requirements of this paragraph.

(i) Immunization

1. Each child shall have an immunization history which states that
the child has been immunized against diphtheria, pertussis, tetanus, polio-
mylitis, measles, rubella and the month and year each dose was administered
(as required by s. 140.05, Stats.). This written statement shall be on file
at the center prior to the child's admission or one of the following com-
pliance alternatives shall be met prior to the child's admission:

a. Signed permission by the parent to have the child immunized in a
prompt and timely manner by either a physician specified by the parent or
the local public health agency;

b. A statement signed and dated by the parent authorizing the admin-
istration of needed immunization through medical arrangements made by the
day care center with a physician or local public health agency;

c. Upon written and dated statement by a physician that, in the
opinion of the physician, a particular immunization required under s.
140.05, Stats. is or may be detrimental to the health of a particular child,
the requirement for that particular immunization shall be waived by the
department for that child until it is certified by that physician or another
physician chosen by the parent that the particular immunization is no longer
detrimental to the health of the child; or

d. Upon written, signed and dated statement by the parent that a
particular child is an adherent of a religious belief which precludes immu-
nization, the immunization requirements under s. 140.05, Stats. shall be
waived by the department for that child.

2. A written statement from the parent regarding the type and date of
any immunization required under s. 140.05, Stats., which is administered to
a child after the immunization history has been submitted to the center,
shall be on file within 90 days or according to the required immunization
schedule.

"NOTE:" The required immunization schedule is based upon the Advisory
Committee on Immunization Practices of the U.S. Public Health Service and
described in the compliance form issued by the department under s. 140.05,
Stats.

(6) Parents.

(a) Parents of enrolled children shall be notified:
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1. When their child has been exposed to a communicable disease which
has been diagnosed or suspected.

2. Of illness or serious injury to the child, immediately.
3. Of minor injury to the child, upon departure from the center.

4, Of the date, time and destination of field trips which require the
use of a vehicle.

(b) The center shall be open to visits and observations by parents
during the hours of operation.

(¢) The center shall plan opportunities at least twice each year for
parent and staff communication regarding the child's adjustment to the
program, growth and development.

(d) 1If religious training is part of the center program, reference to
the religious component shall be included in any publicity and the education
policy. This information shall be shared with parents.

(e) A copy of the applicable parts of HSS 55 and a copy of the child
care policies of the center shall be made available to the parents. Person-
nel, training or orientation policies need not be included.

(7) Pools.

(a) Centers which have swimming places such as pools and beaches
located on their premises shall comply with the requirements of ch. H71,
Wis. Adm. Code.

(b) The center shall comply with the American Red Cross standards as
specified in Subchapter IV - Additional Requirements For Day Camps.

(8) Miscellaneous Activities. A center which includes in its program
watercraft, riflery, archery or horseback riding shall comply with the ap-
plicable rules for the activity as specified in Subchapter IV - Additional
Requirements for Day Camps.

(9) Pets.

(a) Dogs and cats shall be vaccinated against diseases for which
immunization are available and which present a hazard to the health of
children.

(b) Pets suspected of being ill or infested with ectoparasites (exter-
nal lice, fleas and ticks) or endoparasites (internal worms) shall be re-
moved from the center.

(¢) 1In the event that an animal bites a child, a veterinarian shall be
contacted by center personnel to determine a course of action in the diagno-
sis of possible rabies in the animal. Procedures for emergency care of
children as specified in sub. (5)(g) shall be followed. Parents shall be
notified of any action taken by the veterinarian.
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(d) Turtles, skunks and poisonous reptiles are prohibited in order to
prevent salmonella, rabies and poisoning.

(e) Animal pens shall be kept clean.

(f) Pets shall be kept and handled so as to protect the well-being of
both children and pets.

(g) No pets may be in the food preparation areas.

(10) Transportation. (a) Scope.

1. Rules on transportation apply when transportation, including field
trips, is contracted or provided by the center. When privately owned,
non-center vehicles are provided by volunteers without remuneration to
transport children on field trips, transportation rules sub. (10)(b) 1, 2,
3, 7; sub. (10)(c) 2; sub. (10)(d) 2, 3 and sub. (10)(e) 4, 9 do not apply.

(b) General

1. When children are transported in school buses as defined in sec-
tion 340.01 (56) Wis. Stats. the school busses shall comply with MVD 17,
Wis. Adm. Code.

2. When a center provides transportation by any means, it shall
assume responsibility for a child between the time and place where the child
is picked up until the child is delivered to the parent or to a responsible
person designated by the parent.

3. Each center shall maintain a written plan for the transportation
of children, as specified in HSS 55.31(5) which includes:

a. A current list of children transported and methods of taking daily
attendance.

b. The schedule of the bus route.

c. The name and address of persons authorized to receive the child if
the child is dropped off at other than the child's residence.

d. Procedures to be followed when parent or designated authorized
adult is not at home to receive the child.

e. The name of each driver and type of license held and the date of
expiration of each license, when transportation is provided by the center.
When services are contracted, the name, address and telephone number of the
contracting firm and the name of an individual representing the firm who may
be contacted after hours.

4. A center serving handicapped children shall include within the
written plan and then implement safety precautions for the protection of
children according to their age and disability.

5. Required emergency information as specified in HSS 55.31(8) shall
be carried whenever children are transported.
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6. Smoking is prohibited in the vehicle while children are being
transported.
7. When a center charters transportation services, the licensee shall

obtain evidence that any vehicle used complies with par. (d)1 and drivers
comply with par. (c)1.

(c¢) Driver

1. The driver shall hold a valid Wisconsin operator's license of
whatever type is required.

2. VWhen the driver is a paid or unpaid staff member of the center,
the driver shall:

a. Sign a waiver authorizing the administrator of the center to
obtain a copy of the driver's driving record; or

b. Provide a copy of the driver's driving record.
"NOTE:" Copies of driving records may be obtained from the department
of transportation, division of motor vehicles, bureau of drivers control,

Hill Farms state office building, Madison, WI 53702.

3. The driver of a vehicle transporting children shall be 18 years of
age or older, under 70 years of age and have at least one year's experience
as a licensed driver.

(d) Vehicle

1. Any vehicle operated by a center shall be licensed in accordance
with the laws of this state.

2. The vehicle used for transporting children shall be in safe oper-
ating condition. At 6 month intervals, the licensee shall provide evidence
of safe operating condition on forms provided by the department.

3. The vehicle shall be equipped with a first aid kit.

4. The vehicle shall be clean, uncluttered, and free of obstructions
on the floors, aisles and seats of vehicles.

5. Any vehicle used to transport children shall be enclosed. Chil~-
dren shall not be transported in a truck, except in the cab.

6. When seat or safety belts are available, they shall be worn by
children.

7. Doors shall be locked at all times that the vehicle is moving.
8. In every accident involving a motor vehicle which is transporting
children, a copy of the insurance accident report shall be submitted to the

department within 5 days after the occurrence.

(e) Vehicle Capacity and Supervision
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1. Children may not be left unattended in the vehicle,

2. There shall be at least one adult supervisor in addition to the
driver when there are more than 10 children in the vehicle.

3.  There shall be at least one adult supervisor in addition to the
driver whenever children under 24 months of age or handicapped children are
passengers of the vehicle.

4, The driver shall wait until the child enters the home or is into
the hands of a designated authorized adult.

5. Handicapped children and children under 2 years of age shall be
given assistance as indicated by their abilities, including leading or
carrying them to and from their doorsteps or center to the seat of the
vehicle. )

6. A seat shall be provided for each child. Allowable rump width in
determining seating capacity is 13 inches per child and 20 inches per adult.

7. The driver or adult driver shall be responsible for seeing that
children remain seated while the vehicle is in motion.

8. No more than 3 persons including the driver may occupy the front
seat of the vehicle.

9. The driver shall conduct evacuation drills of the vehicle at 3
month intervals at the center. The evacuations are to be supervised and
verified in writing by a staff person.

(11) Field Trips.

(a) When a vehicle is used to transport children on a field trip,
staff shall carry required emergency information as specified in HSS
55.31(8). : '

(b) Staff to child ratio shall be maintained on field trips. When 9
or more children are involved, the number of adults accompanying children
away from the center may be no less than 2.

HSS 55.35 ADDITIONAL RULES FOR INFANT AND TODDLER CARE. (1) Scope.
This section applies to a group day care center providing care and super-
vision to children under 30 months of age in addition to sections HSS 55.30
through HSS 55.35.

(2) General Rules.

(a) Prior to admission, an interview shall be conducted with the
child's parent or guardian in order to obtain written information which will
aid child caring staff in individualizing the program of care for each child
as specified in HSS 55.31(8). Information shall include:

1. Schedule of meals and feeding.
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2. Types of food introduced and time table for new foods.

3. Toilet and diapering procedures.

4,  Sleep and nap schedule.

5. Child's way of communicating and being comforted.

6. Developmental and health history.

(b) Admission information for children under 30 months of age shall be
on file in the room or area to which the child is assigned and shall be
known to the child care worker.

(c) At least every 2 months thereafter, child care staff shall meet
with parents to update admission information and summarize information on
the child's growth, development and behavior in order to coordinate the care
of the child in the center and the home.

(d) Each specific group of infants and toddlers shall have at least
one regularly assigned child care worker to care for them in order to assure

consistency and stability of relationship.

(e) Children under 30 months of age are restricted to floors having
grade level exits.

"NOTE:" Grade level exit is defined to mean an exit without stairs in
ch. Ind 60, Wis. Adm. Code.

(3) Daily Program.

(a) Each child shall be allowed to form and follow the child's own
pattern of sleeping and waking periods.

(b) Emphasis in activities shall be given to play as a learning and
growth experience.

1. Throughout the day, each infant and toddler shall receive physical
contact and attention such as being held, rocked, talked to, sung to and
taken on walks inside and outside the center.

2. Routines such as bedtime, feeding, cleanliness and diapering shall
be used as opportunities for language development and other learning expe-
rience.

3. While a non-walking child is awake, the child's position and loca-
tion shall be changed several times.

4, The non-walking child shall have opportunity during each day for
freedom of movement such as creeping and crawling in a safe, clean, open,
warm and uncluttered area.

5. Infants and toddlers shall be encouraged to play with a wide
variety of safe toys and objects as specified in HSS 55.34(2).
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6. Infants and toddlers shall be taken outdoors for part of each day
except during inclement weather or when a physician has ordered otherwise.

(c) An adult size rocking chair or other adult size seating shall be
provided for each child care worker.

(d) The space occupied by permanently erected cribs shall be excluded
in making a determination of the 35 square feet (3.3 meters) per child.

(e) When being transpofted in a motor vehicle, children under 30
months of age shall be fastened securely in a child crash-tested restraint.

(4) Feeding.

(a) Each child under 2 years of age shall be fed on the child's own
feeding schedule.

(b) Food and formula brought from home shall be labeled with the
child's name and refrigerated if required.

(c) If formula is provided by the center, it shall be of the commer-
cially prepared iron enriched ready to feed type.

(d) When formula is discontinued, the center shall provide and use
Grade A vitamin D milk. Use of other types of milk shall be based on the
written recommendations of the child's physician.

(e) Excess milk shall be discarded after each feeding. Bottles shall
be rinsed after use.

(f) Drinking water shall be offered to the infant and toddler several
times daily.

(g) A child unable to hold a bottle shall be held whenever a bottle is
given. Bottles may not be propped.

(h) Commercial baby food containers which are opened and foods pre-
pared in the center which are stored, shall be covered, dated and refrig-
erated. If not used within 24 hours, leftover food shall be discarded.

(i) A child too young to sit in a high chair or feeding table shall be
held or placed in an infant seat while being fed. Wide based highchairs
with safety straps or feeding tables with safety straps shall be provided
for those children not developmentally able to sit at tables and chairs.

(j) Infants shall be encouraged to experiment with self-feeding with
hand and spoons. Eating utensils and cups shall be scaled to the size and
developmental level of the infants and toddlers.

(k) A variety of nourishing foods shall be offered including cereal,
vegetables, fruit, eggs and meat according to the child's developmental
level and the parent's feeding plan as specified in par. (2), except that no
child may be forced to eat.
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(5) Diapering And Toileting Activities.

(a) There may be no routine attempt to toilet train infants before 18
months of age.

(b) Wet and soiled diapers and clothing shall be changed promptly.

(c) There shall be a supply of dry clean clothing and diapers suffi-
cient in quantity to meet the needs of each infant.

(d) Children shall be diapered and changed in their own cribs or on a
sturdy diapering table. The diapering surface shall be washed with water
and germicidal solution after each use or a single use disposable covering
which is changed after each use shall be provided.

(e) If center supplied cloth diapers are used, soiled diapers shall be
rinsed in toilets of the water flush type and placed immediately in a plas-
tic lined covered container. Diapers shall be washed by a commercial diaper
laundry service.

(f) If parent supplied cloth diapers are used, soiled diapers shall be
rinsed and placed in labeled plastic bags which are kept separate from other
clothing and sent home daily.

(g) 1If disposable diapers are used, soiled diapers shall be placed in
a plastic lined covered container.

(h) Soiled diapers shall be removed from containers as needed or at
least daily for washing or disposal. Containers shall be washed and dis-
infected daily.

(i) Soiled infant clothing shall be placed in a container separate
from diapers.

(j) The hands of the child care worker shall be washed before and
after each diapering or assistance with toileting routines, using soap and
running water.

(k) The application of lotions, powder or salves to the child during
diapering may be done only at the specific direction of the parent or physi-
cian. These directions shall be recorded in the child's file and posted in
the diapering area.

(1) Each self-contained classroom or area serving infants or toddlers
who are diapered, shall have a lavatory (sink) with hot and cold running
water in, or immediately adjacent to, the room or area.

(m) A child shall be washed before diapering with a disposable or
fabric washcloth which is used once. Washcloths shall be individual to each
child.

(n) Washcloths and towels shall be provided for face and handwashing.
Washcloths and towels shall be individual to each child and separate from
washcloths used for diapering.
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(o) Toilet training shall be planned cooperatively between the child's
assigned child care worker and the parent so that the toilet routine estab-
lished is consistent between the center and the child's home.

HSS 55.36 ADDITIONAL RULES FOR NIGHT CARE. (1) Scope. This section
applies to a group day care center which operates during any period of time
between 7:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. in addition to sections HSS 55.30 through
HSS 55.35.

(2) General Rules.

(a) Night care may be provided only in centers which offer self-
contained classrooms.

(b) The maximum number of children who may be admitted at any one time
to a center offering night care is 30.

(c) When the same premises are used for the operation of both day care
and night care, the number of children during overlapping shift periods may
not exceed the maximum licensed capacity of the center.

(d) The time which any child attends the center may not exceed 12
hours of any 24-hour period.

(e) Minimum staff child ratios and group size as specified in HSS
55.32(3) shall be maintained.

1. Child care workers shall remain awake.

2., Children shall be within the sight or sound of a child care
worker.

3. At no time may there be less than 2 child care workers on the
premises while children are sleeping.

(f) Each child in night care shall have provided by parent or center,
individually labeled sleeping garments, washcloth and towel, toothbrush and
a special toy or blanket which has meaning to the child, if the child '
wishes.

(3) Program.

(a) The child care staff shall work with the child's parent to coordi-
nate a plan for the time the child spends at the center with the family
schedule.

(b) A center offering night care shall provide a self-contained class-
room away from sleeping children where the awake child can engage in activ-
ities.

(¢) An evening and morning schedule of program activities shall be
planned for the hours that children are awake.

(d) School age children shall have an opportunity for reading or
school work.
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(4) Preventive Measures.

(a) Training shall be given to child care staff around special tech-
niques of evacuating sleeping children in an emergency.

(b) Centers operating during hours of darkness shall provide emergency
lighting, such as an operable flashlight, for each self-contained room used
by children.

(5) Feeding.

(a) Breakfast shall be served to all children in care for the night,
unless the parent specifies otherwise.

(b) A nighttime snack shall be available to all children in care.

(c) Each\child present at the time the evening meal is scheduled shall
be served dinner.

(6) Personal Cleanliness.

(a) Children shall have shower, tub or sponge bath as needed for body
cleanliness. When a bathtub is used, fresh water shall be provided for each
child and the tub shall be cleaned after each use.

(b) A child care worker shall be in the room while children are bath-
ing.

(7) Sleep.

(a) Children who attend the center for the evening hours but do not
spend the whole night shall have an opportunity to sleep, if needed.

(b) Sleep routines for individual children shall be established based
on information provided by the parents.

(c) A bed or crib shall be provided for each child in night care with
sheets and blankets individual to each child.

1. Pillows with pillow cases shall be available to children who
choose to use them.

2, The center shall maintain a supply of extra sleeping garments and
bedding for emergencies and accidents.

3. Rubber sheets shall be provided for children whose enrollment
information indicates a tendency to bedwetting.

(d) Children under 2 years of age in night care shall sleep in cribs.

(e) Child care staff shall work with parents to insure consistency
between the family and night care center bedtime routines.

HSS 55.37 ADDITIONAL RULES FOR SUPPLEMENTAL CARE FOR SCHOOL AGE
CHILDREN. (1) Scope. This section applies to a group day care center



64

serving children who regularily attend programs for part of the day in a
facility other than the center in addition to sections HSS 55.30 through HSS
55.36.

(2) Program.
(a) The center shall have a written agreement signed by parent or
guardian which outlines the plan for transporting the child to and from the

center.

(b) The center shall have a planned program which provides a change of
pace and interest between school and the center through provision for:

1. Rest and quiet areas.
2. Recreational activities including outdoor and active play.
3. Freedom for children to select and plan their own activities.

(c) When children seven years of age and older are served in the same
center with children under seven years of age, the program for children
seven years of age and over may not infringe on the required space, equip-
ment, staff or bathroom facilities for the younger group of children.

(3) Staff Qualifications. When a center provides care exclusively for
children enrolled in a kindergarten or elementary school, the program direc-
tor or teacher may substitute credits in elementary education, physical
education or recreation for the requirements of HSS 55.32(1).

(4) Feeding. School age children who are in the day care center shall
be served meals and snacks when they are present at the time meals or snacks
are served.

(a) When breakfast is served, it shall be made available to those
children who have not had breakfast. '

(b) School age children present at mid-day or evening shall be serve
lunch or dinner. :

(c) School age children present after school shall be served a snack.

HSS 55.38 - HSS 55.39 [RESERVED]
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SUBCHAPTER IV - ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR DAY CAMPS FOR CHILDREN

HSS 55.40 SCOPE. Sections HSS 55.40 to 55.44 apply to all day camps
for children.

HSS 55.41 ORGANIZATION AND ADMINISTRATION. (1) Application For
License.

(a) An applicant shall file an application and other materials re-
quired by the department for a licensure on forms provided by the depart-
ment.

(b) An application must be filed with the department at least:

1. Sixty days prior to the date the day camp proposes to begin opera-

tion.

2. Forty-five days prior to opening an additional day camp.

3. Thirty days prior to changing the address of the base campsite.

4, Thirty days prior to new ownership of the camp.

(c) The application shall be accompanied by the following:

1. The constitution and by-laws of a corporation, association or
cooperative.

2. A clearly defined statement of purpose as it relates to the provi-

sion of child care services.

3. A signed statement by the applicant or licensee accepting legal
responsibility for complying with the rules.

4. A general description of the camp area, geographic location, and
size of the campsite.

5. A statement from the state laboratory of hygiene or state approved
laboratory indicating that the water source has been tested and found to be
safe.

6. The name, address and telephone number of the person to be con-
tacted by the licensing representative for the pre-camp licensing review.

7. A written delegation of administrative authority signed by the
licensee, which outlines organizational structure and designates in a chain
of command form, those persons on the premises in charge of the camp for all
hours of operation.

(2) Amendment to License. A written request for an amendment to the
license shall be submitted to the department by the licensee prior to
changes in the conditions of the current license such as maximum number of
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children, age range of children, hours, days of week, months of the year or
change in the name of the camp.

(3) Terms of License.

(a) The number of children under 7 years of age present in a day camp
at any one time may not exceed the number for which the day camp is licensed.

(b) The age of children served may not be younger or older than the
age range specified in the terms of the license.

(c¢) The hours, days and months of operation may not exceed those
specified in the terms of the licemnse.

(4) Administration. The licensee shall:

(a) Comply with all statutory requirements under which the rules in
this chapter were promulgated.

(b) Fulfill the legal responsibility for meeting the rules.

(c) Designate, in writing, a Wisconsin resident who is responsible for
ensuring compliance with the applicable rules in this chapter, if the licen-
see regides in another state.

(d) Meet, upon request, with the licensing representative on matters
pertaining to licensing.

(e) Provide documentation of insurance coverage by the submission of a
certificate of insurance reflecting current dates of coverage for:

1. General liability insurance which provides coverage with limits of
not less than 825,000 for each person and total limits of $75,000 per occur-
rence. A

2. Vehicle liability insurance, when transportation is provided, with
minimums no less than those provided in s. 121.53, Stats.

3. Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when transportation is
provided by other than camp owned vehicles,

(f) Assure that no person who has been convicted in a court of compe-
tent jurisdication of child abuse or crimes against sexual morality in-

volving children is employed as a worker in a day camp.

(g) Develop and implement written policies which shall be submitted to
the department for review on the following:

1. Termination of enrollment of children.
2. Fee payment and refund.

3. Personnel policies, job descriptions, and terms of employment.
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(h) Develop and implement written policies which shall be submitted to
the department for approval on the following:

1. Admission of children.

2. Program objectives and description of activities designed to carry
out the program objectives.

3. Health, nutrition and discipline.

4. Transportation, when provided.

5. Plans for evacuation and other emergencies.

6. In-service training and orientation of staff and volunteers.
7. Supervised swim plan, if applicable.

(i) Make available to the parents, on request, a copy of the appli-
cable parts of HSS 55 and a copy of the child care policies of the camp.
Personnel, in-service training and orientation policies need not be in-
cluded.

(i) Ensure that all published statements such as brochures and publi-
city are accurate.

(k) Include a reference to the religious component in any publicity
and program objectives if religious training is part of the camp program.
This information shall be shared with parents.

(5) Reports. The licensee shall report to the department:

(a) An accident resulting in the death or serious injury of a child
while at the camp within 3 days after the occurrence. A serious injury is

one requiring the hospitalization of the child as an inpatient.

(b) A natural or man made catastrophe which damages the building or
campsite within 24 hours after the occurrence.

(c) A change in the board chairperson of a day camp within 30 days of
the change.

(d) A change of the day camp director within 7 days of the change.

(e) Statistical data required by the department on forms provided by
the department.

(6) Staff records. The licensee shall:

(a) Maintain a record file for each employe which is available for
examination by the licensing representative and which includes:

1.  An application form including name, address, date of birth, educa-
tion, position, previous experience in child care, name, address and tele-
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phone number of person to be notified in an emergency and any record of
conviction for child abuse or crimes against sexual morality involving
children.

2, Documentation of any pertinent certification or training required
for the position.

(b) Have a listing of the name, address, and telephone number of the
person to be notified in the event of an emergency involving an employee at
the day camp site.

(7) Children's records.

(a) The licensee shall maintain a current written record file on each
child enrolled and make it available to the licensing representative. Each
record file shall include:

1. Pre-admission and enrollment information consisting of:

a. Name and birthdate of child.

b. Full name of parent.
c. Home address and telephone number.
d. Address and telephone number where a parent can be reached while

the child is in care.

e. Name, address, telephone number and relationship to the child of
person to be notified in an emergency, when a parent cannot be reached
immediately.

f. Name, address and telephone number of the physician or medical
facility caring for the child.

g. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of persons authorized to

call for the child.
/

h. Dates of camp session in which the child is enrolled.
2, Consent from the parent for emergency medical care or treatment.
3. Authorization to transport the child to and from the camp, when

transportation is provided.

4, Authorization for the child to participate in and be transported
for field trips and other activities if these are part of the camp program.

5. Specific informed consent from the parent for each incident of
participation by a child in any research or testing project. The day camp
shall obtain and make available to the department and to the parent a state-
ment indicating the sponsor, the subject matter, the specific purpose and
the proposed use of results with respect to each such project.
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6. The current health history and any other matters relating to the
child's health.

7. The daily attendance of the child.

(b) The licensee shall maintain a daily medical log recording any
injuries received by or medication dispensed to children.

1. The log shall be in a bound book with pages that are lined and
numbered. The pages may not be removed.

2. Entries shall be in ink and dated and signed or initialed by the
person making the entry.

(8) Discrimination. The licensee shall ensure that the day camp does
not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, sex, creed, handicap,
political persuasion, national orgin or ancestry against:

(a) Any employe or applicant for employment, in regard to hire, tenure
or term, condition or privilege of employment except where there is a bona
fide occupational qualification.

(b) Any enrolled child and family or any applicant for enrollment in
regard to admission, privilege of enrollment or discharge condition except
where it is a reasonable and necessary qualification.

(9) Confidentiality of Records. The licensee is responsible for
compliance by the day camp with s. 48.78, Stats., and the following rules:

(a) Children's records are confidential. All persons having access to
children's records may not discuss or disclose personal information regard-
ing the children and facts learned about children and their relatives. This
does not apply to:

1. The parent or a person authorized in writing by the parent to
receive such information.

2, The agency assisting in planning for the child when informed
written parental consent has been given.

(b) Day camp shall make accessible to the parent, upon request, all
records and reports maintained on their own child.

(c) All records required by the department for licensing purposes are
to be available to the licensing representative.

(10) Child Abuse. (a) The licensee, who knows or has reasonable cause
to suspect that a child has been abused or neglected as defined in s.
48.981(1), Stats., shall immediately contact the county welfare agency,
sheriff or city police in compliance with s. 48.981, Stats.

(b) The licensee must ensure that every child care worker who comes in
contact with the children at the day camp has received training in:
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1. Child abuse and neglect laws.

2, The process of identification of children who have been abused or
neglected.
3. The process for reporting known or suspected cases of child abuse

or neglect.

"NOTE" Failure of the licensee to report known or suspected incidents
of child abuse or neglect does not lessen the legal duty of the child care
worker to report known or suspected cases of child abuse or neglect.

(11) Discipline. (a) Written Policy. Each day camp shall have a
written policy on the discipline of children which provides for positive
guidance, redirection and the setting of clear-cut limits. It shall be

designed to help the child develop self-control, self-esteem, and respect
for the rights of others.

(b) Delegation. Only a qualified child care worker may discipline
children. Discipline may not be delegated to older children or peers.

(c) Punishments Prohibited. Punishment which is humiliating or
frightening to a child such as, but not limited to the following, is prohib-
ited:

1. Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking or inflicting any other form
of corporal punishment.

2. Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about self or family.

3. Binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in a confined
space such as a closet, locked room, box or similar cubicle.

4.  Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps.
(d) Children may not be punished for lapses in toilet training.

HSS 55.42 PERSONNEL. (1) Staff: Paid And Volunteer.

(a) Each day camp shall have a person designated as camp director on
the premises. The camp director shall meet at least 2 of the following
criteria:

1. Be at least 21 years of age.

2, Have at least 2 years prior supervisory or administrative experi-
ence in an organized camp or children's program.

3. Have a bachelor's degree in a camp related field such as outdoor
education, recreation, social work, psychology, child development or educa-
tiomn.

(b) Paid counselors, who are considered in determining counselor child
ratio, shall have completed high school or the equivalent as determined by
the department of public instruction.
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(c) Counselors, paid or volunteer, who are considered in determining
counselor child ratio shall be a least 18 years of age.

(d) In the absence of a regular staff member, there shall be a simi-
larly qualified substitute.

(2) Staff Training.

(a) Each day camp shall develop a written orientation plan which is
submitted to the department and includes, but not limited to, the following:

1. A review of the applicable parts of HSS 55.

2. A review of camp policies and procedures.
3. Job responsibilities in relation to the job description.
4. Training in the recognition of illness of children.

5. Daily activity plans and schedules.
6. Emergency first aid.
7. Emergency plan as specified in HSS 55.43(2).

8. Training in the use of the fire extinguisher and other fire fight-
ing equipment.

9. Orientation to local poisonous plants and snakes.
10. Child abuse and neglect laws.

(b) The precamp training program shall be a minimum of 3 days or 18
hours, including orientation on the camp site. All paid and volunteer staff
who are considered in determining counselor to camper ratio shall have
precamp training.

(c) Campers' parents serving as staff may be exempt from the 3 day or
18 hour precamp training program, as specified in par. (b) when the fol-
lowing conditions are met:

1. The parent receives 4 hours of training in day camp programming
including the orientation required in par. (a).

2. The parent works under the supervision of a staff person who has
met the requirements specified in par. (b).

(d) The camp director shall plan and implement staff meetings which
will provide ongoing supervision and in-service training for the staff.

(3) Staffing.

(a) Each child or group of children shall be closely supervised at all
times.
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(b) There shall be a ratio of at least one counselor to every 3 chil-
dren under 4 years of age. There shall be a ratio of at least one counselor
to every 5 children 4 years of age. There shall be a ratio of one counselor
to every 10 children 5 and 6 years of age.

(¢) The counselor to child ratio shall be exclusive of administrative
and maintenance staff, program specialists or counselors in training.

(d) The camp director may not leave the campsite during the hours of
operation unless another qualified person is on the campsite. This person
shall be identified in a written delegation of administrative authority and
authorized to make decisions.

(e) When children 7 years of age and older are served in the same
group or unit with children under 7 years of age, the ratio of counselors to
all children in the group or unit shall be consistent with the requirements
for the under 7 year old group.

(4) Health Qualifications. Staff, volunteers, visitors or parents
with symptoms of communicable diseases or physical illness, or whose behav-
ior gives the camp director reasonable concern for the safety of children,
are not allowed on the premises of the day camp.

HSS 55.43 CAMPSITES AND FACILITIES. (1) Building And Site.

(a) The site shall provide natural resources that allow for an outdoor
living experience.

¥

(b) On or off site shelters shall be provided for use during inclement
weather for ongoing camp activities.

(c) The campsite shall be located in an area that has good drainage.

(d) Local authorities shall be consulted to obtain any required zoning
. clearances or building permits.

(e) Buildings and shelters on sites used or constructed primarily for
day camp purposes shall comply with applicable state and local building
codes and an inspection report shall be filed with the department.

"NOTE:" This rule shall not apply to buildings or structures on or in
public or private parks and picnic grounds, amusement parks or similar sites
used primarily for purposes other than the care and supervision of children
under 7 years of age and where the building has been approved and construc-
ted in accordance with chs. Ind 50-64, Wis. Adm. Code. The department may
request subsequent inspections from local authorities where available.

(£f) All buildings and structures used by children for day camp pur-
poses shall have not less than 2 plainly marked exits.

(2) Safety. (a) Protective measures.
1. Each camp shall have a written plan for emergencies such as, but

not limited to, fire, natural disaster, lost campers, lost swimmers, acci-
dent or illness.
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a. Each staff person shall be informed of duties in the event of an
emergency.
b. Evacuation routes shall be known by staff.

c. The location of the nearest telephone shall be known to staff. A
list of emergency telephone numbers shall be immediately available to staff.

2. All equipment and facilities used by the children and staff,
whether owned by the camp or not, shall be in safe operating condition and
not present undue risk to children.

3. Neither alcohol or non-prescribed controlled substances, as de-
fined in s. 161.01, Stats. may be consumed on the premises of the day camp
during hours of operation.

4,  Natural and man made hazards such as, but not limited to, aban-
doned refrigerators with doors, open grease traps, unsafe fences, and aban-
doned excavations shall be eliminated or provided with protective devices.

5. Substances which may be toxic if ingested, inhaled, or handled
including, but not limited to, drugs, chemicals and pesticides, shall be
clearly labeled and stored in areas not accessible to children.

6. A motor vehicle shall be available for emergency transportation at
all times.

(b) Fire protection

1. All fire protection facilities and equipment shall be inspected
and maintained in working order by a person qualified to do so.

2. Flammable and combustible liquids shall be in plainly marked
containers and stored in areas accessible only to designated adults.

3. Before camp opens, written notification of the camp operation
shall be given to the nearest fire department or forest ranger service for
protection in case of fire,

4. Any permits required for operation of incinerators or for open
fires shall be secured.

5. The clearing around open fires shall be free of burnable materials
for a radius of 6 feet.

(3) Sanitation. (a) General.

1. The premises shall be free of litter and in a safe and clean
condition.

2. Furnishings and other equipment shall be clean.

3. Toilet facilities shall be in a sanitary condition.
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4, Painted exterior and interior surfaces accessible to children
shall be finished with lead free paint or other non-toxic material.

5. Garbage containers in the building shall be covered, watertight
and emptied daily. Garbage and refuse stored out-of-doors shall be kept in
rigid leak proof containers equipped with tight fitting covers and hauled
away as necessary to prevent decomposition and overflow at the site.

6. Garbage and rubbish areas shall be clean and dry.

7. Solid waste disposal sites on the premises must be licensed by the
department of natural resources.

(b). Insect, rodent, and weed control

1. The growth of brush, weeds, grass and plants shall be controlled
in the central camp area to prevent the harborage of noxious insects and
other animals.

2. The central camp area shall be maintained to prevent growth of
ragweed, poison ivy, and other noxious plants considered detrimental to
health.

3. Buildings and structures shall be maintained to control insect and
rodent haborages and infestations.

(c) Food preparation, service and storage

1. When food is provided and served by the day camp, rules concerning
kitchens in HSS 55.33 (4) in Subchapter III-Additional Rules for Group Day
Care Centers apply.

2. Equipment and utensils used for preparing, serving and storing
food shall be clean and facilities equipped for the safe handling of food.

3. Washable dishes provided by the camp shall have smooth hard sur-
faces which are free of open seams, cracks, chips and roughened areas. They
shall be stored in such a manner as not to expose them to contamination.

4, Single service utensils and food containers may not be reused and
are to be made from non-toxic materials.

5. Milk is to be maintained at or below 40 degrees F (8 degrees C).

(d) Water

1. A supply of safe drinking water shall be available to children at
all times from disposable cups, individually labeled cups or angle jet type
drinking fountains. Common use of drinking cups is prohibited.

2. When a public water system is not available, a private well may be
used if it is approved by the department of natural resources. Water sam-
ples from an approved well shall be tested at the state laboratory of hy-
giene or a state approved laboratory at least annually and at least two
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weeks prior to the camp opening. The water supply shall be bacteriologi-
cally safe.

3. Where running water is not available, a covered drinking water
container suitable for pouring or equipped with a faucet shall be provided.
Dipping of water is prohibited. The container shall be cleaned daily. The
water source shall be from a public water supply or as specified in par.
(d)2. above.

(e) Washrooms and toilet facilities

1. Handwashing and toilet facilities shall be provided and accessible
to children.

2. Single use disposable towels or individually labeled clean cloth
towels shall be provided and accessible to children.

3. Soap, toilet paper and waste paper container shall be provided and
accessible to children.

4, Privies, when used, shall be constructed according to the require-
ments of Ind 52.63, Wis. Adm. Code.

5. If devices other than plumbed toilets or privies are used, they
shall be subject to local jurisdiction and required permits shall be obtain-
ed.

6. Plumbing shall comply with all applicable sections of ch. H62,
Wis. Adm. Code.

7. Liquid waste shall be connected to public sewer, if available. If
not available, liquid waste disposal shall be in accord with ch. H62, Wis.
Adm. Code.

HSS 55.44 PROGRAM QUALIFICATIONS. (1) Essential Program Qualifica-
tions.

(a) There shall be a program of activities planned according to the
developmental level of each group of children and which reflects the cul-
tural diversity of the children of -the community. The program shall provide
each child with experiences which will encourage:

1. An appreciation and understanding of the natural environment.

2. Large and small muscle development.

3. Learning of skills.

4, Self-esteem and a positive self-image.

5. Opportunities for recreation.

6. Social interaction in a group setting.
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(b) The program shall provide:

1. Protection from excess fatigue and overstimulation.

2. Flexibility by encouraging spontaneous activities.

(2) Equipment.

(a) The camp shall provide program equipment in a variety and quantity
which will allow staff to implement activities outlined in the written
policy of program objectives and activities as specified in HSS 55.41(4).

(b) All equipment shall be:

1. Scaled to the developmental level, size and ability of the child.

2. 0f sound construction with no sharp, rough, loose or pointed edges
and in good operative condition.

3. Placed to avoid danger of accident and collision and to permit
freedom of action.

(c) Stationary equipment shall be anchored in a manner which will
assure stability.

(3) Rest. When a session is more than 4 hours in length, there shall
be a rest or period of quiet activities of approximately one hour for all
children under 5 years of age.

(4) Food.

(a) Food shall be provided according to Table 55.44 which is based on
the amount of time children are present:

Table 55.44
Time Present Number of Meals and Snacks
2 1/2 to 4 hours 1 snack
4 to 10 hours 2 snacks and 1 meal
10 hours or more " 2 meals and 2 or 3 snacks

(b) Camp provided travel time shall be included in determining the
total number of hours a child is present for the purposes of par. (a).

(c) Food allergies of specific children shall be known to cooks,
counselors and substitutes having direct contact with children.

(d) Meal and snack patterns listed below shall be used in meal plan-
ning. Each meal shall provide 1/3 of the daily nutritional requirements of
the child.

(e) Noon or evening meals shall consist of at least one item from each
of the following categories:
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1. meat, poultry, fish, egg, cooked dried peas or beans, cheese or
peanut butter

2. 2 vegetables, 1 vegetable and 1 fruit or 2 fruits
3. Cereal produce or whole grain or enriched bread
4. Butter or margarine

5. Grade A vitamin D milk

(f) Snacks (mid-morning, mid-afternoon) shall consist of at least one
of the following: milk or milk product, fruit, fruit juice, vegetable,
peanut butter, whole grain or enriched bread or cereal. When only fruit
juice is used, it shall be pure fruit juice.

Note: Camps participating in and meeting the meal requirements of
either the United States department of agriculture (USDA) child care food
program or summer food service program meet the requirements of pars. (d)
and (e) above.

(g) When food such as bag lunches is provided by the parent, the camp
shall ensure that each child has a meal that provides 1/3 of the daily
nutritional requirements as specified in pars. (d) and (e).

(h) Children's hands shall be washed with soap and water before eat-
ing.

(5) Health. (a) Observation.

1. Each child upon arrival shall be observed by a staff person for
symptoms of illness.

2. Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacerations and burns
shall be noted on the child's record and reported immediately to the camp
director.

(b) Supervision. There shall be an adult at the camp at all times who
is responsible for health supervision. The adult shall be a registered
nurse, physician or a person holding a current certificate from the American
Red Cross standard first aid and personal safety course.

(¢) Isolation

1. There shall be an isolation or first aid area for the care of
children who become ill.

2. When an apparently ill child is observed in the day camp, the
following procedures shall apply:

a. Children with a sore throat, inflammation of the eyes, fever,
lice, rash, vomiting, diarrhea, or other illnesses or conditions shall be
isolated.
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b. Isolation shall be used until the child can be removed from the
camp.

c. The child's parent or a designated responsible person when parents
cannot be reached shall be contacted as soon as possible after the illness
is discovered. Arrangements shall be made for exclusion of the ill child
from the camp. :

(d) Communicable Disease

1. When a child is suspected of having a communicable disease or
condition, such as, but not limited to, chicken pox, German measles, infec-
tious hepatitis, measles, mumps, poliomyelitis, lice, ringworm of the scalp,
scarlet fever, whooping cough, diphtheria or meningitis, the county or city
health nurse shall be notified.

2. When a diagnosis of a communicable disease is made, the exposed
children shall be watched for symptoms of the disease and parents shall be
notified.

3. A child may be readmitted without a statement from a physician
after a communicable disease if the child has been absent for a period of
time designated by the department.

(e) Medication

1. No prescription or non-prescription medication such as, but not
limited to, aspirin, cough medicine, or nose drops may be given to a child
except under the following conditions:

a. A signed, dated, written authorization of the parent is on file.

b. Prescription medication is in the original container and labeled
with the child's name, drug, dosage, directions for administering, date and
physician's name.

c. Non-prescriptive medication is labeled with the child's name and
the request, signed by the parent, includes the dosage and directions for
administering.

d. A written report including type of medication given, dosage, time,
date and name of the person administering the medication shall be kept in
the child's record and the camp medical log as specified in HSS 55.41(7).

2. All medication shall be kept under lock and key or otherwise
inaccessible to children.

3. Medication requiring refrigeration shall be kept in a designated
separate, covered container clearly labeled '"Medications".

(£f) Accident or Injury
1. A written description of procedures for the treatment of accidents

and injuries shall be included in the health policy and made known to staff
including:
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a. Procedures to be followed in bringing the child to emergency
medical care.

b. Routine procedures for treatment of minor injuries.
c. First aid measures for serious accidents.
d. Prior to the opening of camp, a planned source of emergency medi-

cal care, such as a hospital emergency room, clinic or other constantly
staffed medical facility shall be designated and made known to staff and
parents.

e. First aid equipment shall be available at a designated location in
each unit and at the first aid area. Superficial wounds shall be cleaned
with soap and water only and protected.

f. First aid equipment shall be taken on all out of camp trips.

g. Written permission from the parent to call the family physician or
refer the child for medical care in case of accident or emergency shall be
on file at the camp. This permission shall be used only when the parent or
the designated responsible person cannot be reached.

2. A daily record of the accidents or injuries shall be kept in the
camp medical log.

3. Records of accidents shall be reviewed by the camp director with
staff as part of the in-service training in order to determine that all
preventive measures are being taken.

(g) Health History

1. A health history including dates of immunizations, allergies,
limitations that would affect activities and other health conditions shall
be furnished by the parent prior to the first day of camp on forms pre-
scribed by the department. This shall be kept on file at the campsite and
be available to staff.

(6) Waterfront.
(a) Swimming Area

1. Swimming places such as pools and beaches which are used by cam-
pers shall be located, constructed, equipped and operated according to the
requirements of ch. H71, Wis. Adm. Code, pertaining to public swimming
places.

2, The source and bacteriological, chemical, physical and biological
quality of water at pools and beaches shall meet the requirements of ch.
H71, Wis. Adm. Code, pertaining to public swimming places.

3. Swimming pools shall be enclosed with a fence. All gates shall be
locked except for periods when the waterfront staff is on duty.
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4. The swimming area used by a day camp shall have designated areas
for non-swimmers, intermediates, advanced swimmers and divers.

(b) Waterfront staff

1. Each day camp offering aquatic activities such as swimming,
boating or canoeing shall have a person d631gnated as waterfront director.
The waterfront director shall:

a. Be 19 years of age or older.

b. Hold a current Red Cross water safety instructor's certificate or
comparable certification such as Boy Scout or national YMCA certificate.

2. The camp shall maintain a ratio of one person with a current Red
Cross lifesaving certificate per 25 children in the water except where a
public swimming place has life saving personnel on duty. While children are
in the water, staff to child ratios shall be maintained by staff who can
swim.

3. There shall be a waterfront director or an equally qualified
person on duty at all times whenever children are in the water.

(c¢) Swimming Procedures

1. The swimming ability of each child shall be determined and re-
corded through the use of an American Red Cross test.

2. Children shall be restricted to swimming areas within their swim-
ming classification.

3. A written plan, approved by the department, for the supervision of
swimmers shall be developed, implemented and known to staff. The plan shall
include:

a. A system of checking persons in and out of the water.

b. An emergency "lost swimmer" plan.

(d) No rowboats, canoes, motor boats or other crafts, except lifeboats
used by lifeguards, are to be allowed in the swimming areas, as specified in
s. 30.68(7), Stats.

(e) Children shall be closely supervised when they are participating
in fishing and shoreline activities.

(7) Watercraft
(a) All watercraft shall comply with ch. NR5, Wis. Adm. Code.

"NOTE:" Copies of ch. NR5, Wis. Adm. Code are available from Document
Sales, 202 South Thornton Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin 53702.
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(b) Each occupant of a watercraft shall wear a type I or II coast
guard approved personal flotation device which is appropriate to the weight
of the child or adult for whom it is intended.

(¢) There shall be at least one adult in each watercraft who is a
competent swimmer as determined by the waterfront director.

(d) Children who have not completed beginning swimmer shall be limited
to the use of rowboats only.

(8) Riflery and Archery. Riflery and archery may not be part of the
program for children under 7 years of age. When riflery and archery are
included in the program for older children, the following precautions for
the protection of children under 7 years of age shall be observed.

(a) The archery or rifle range may be used only under the supervision
of an adult instructor.

(b) Program activities shall be in an area away from the designated
archery or rifle range. The range shall be fenced in with rope or wire and
marked with danger signs or flags.

(c) Rifles, ammunition, and archery equipment shall be stored under
lock and key when not in use.

(d) Unfired cartridges and arrows collected in cleaning the range
shall be returned to the instructor and not thrown into the trash or kept by
the finder.

(9) Tools.

(a) The use of power tools may not be part of the program for children
under 7.

(b) When tools and power tools are not in use, they shall be stored in
an area not accessible to children.

(¢) Children under 7 years of age may not be allowed in areas where
power tools are in use.

(10) Horseback Riding.

(a) Rules on horseback riding shall apply whether the camp owns,
rents, or leases horses.

(b) Children may ride horseback only under close supervision in a ring
or other enclosed area.

(c) Riding tack shall be maintained in good repair to provide maximum
safety for children. It shall be appropriate to the age, size, and ability
of the rider.

(d) Horseback riding shall be specifically covered by the liability
insurance.
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(11) Pets and Livestock.

(a) Dogs and cats shall be vaccinated against diseases for which
immunications are available and which present a hazard to the health of
children.

(b) Pets suspected of being ill or infested with ectoparasites (exter-
nal lice, fleas and ticks) or endoparasites (interal worms) shall be removed
from the camp. ’

(c) In the event that an animal bites a child, a veterinarian shall be
contacted by camp personnel to determine a course of action in the diagnosis
of possible rabies in the animal. Procedures for emergency care of children
as specified in sub. (5) shall be followed. Parents shall be notified of
any action taken by the veterinarian.

(d) Turtles, skunks and poisonous reptiles are prohibited as pets in
order to prevent salmonella, rabies and poisoning.

(e) Animal pens shall be kept clean.

(f) Pets shall be kept and handled so as to protect the well-being of
both children and pets.

(g) No pets may be in the food preparation areas.

(h) Horses and other farm animals shall be quartered more than 500
feet from central camp buildings, central and unit cooking and dining areas.

(12) Transportation.

(a) Scope

1. Rules on transportation apply when transportation including field
trips is contracted or provided by a day camp.

2. These rules do not apply to privately owned, non-camp vehicles
which are volunteered without remuneration to transport children.

(b) General

1. Each camp shall maintain a written plan for the transportation of
children, as specified in HSS 55.41(4) which includes:

a. A current list of children transported and methods of taking daily
attendance. '

b. The schedule of the bus route.

c. The name and address of persons authorized to receive the child if
the child is dropped off at other than the child's residence.

d. Procedures to be followed when parent or designated authorized
adult is not at the designated drop off point to receive the child.
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e. The name of each driver and type of license held and the date of
expiration of each license, when transportation is provided by the camp.
When services are contracted, the name, address and telephone number of the
contracting firm and the name of an individual representing the firm who may
be contacted after hours.

2. A camp serving handicapped children shall include within the
written plan and then implement safety precautions for the protection of
children according to their age and disability.

3. Required emergency information as specified in HSS 55.41(7) shall
be carried whenever children are transported.

4, Smoking is prohibited in the vehicle while children are being
transported.
5. When a camp charters transportation services, the licensee shall

obtain evidence that any vehicle used complies with par. (d)1 and drivers
comply with par. (c)l.

(¢) Driver

1. The driver shall hold a valid Wisconsin operator's license of
whatever type is required.

2. When a driver is a paid or unpaid staff member of a camp, the
driver shall:

a. Sign a waiver authorizing the camp director to obtain a copy of
the driver's driving record; or

b. Provide a copy of the driver's driving record.

"NOTE:" Copies of driving records may be obtained from the department
of transportation, division of motor vehicles, bureau of drivers control,
Hill Farms state office building, Madison, WI 53702.

3. The driver of a vehicle transporting children shall be 18 years of
age or older, under 70 years of age and have at least one year's experience
as a licensed driver.

(d) Vehicle

1.  Any vehicle operated by a camp shall be licensed in accordance
with the laws of this state.

2, The vehicle used for transporting children shall be in safe oper-
ating condition. At 6 month intervals, the licensee shall provide evidence
of safe operating condition on forms provided by the department.

3. The vehicle shall be equipped with a first aid kit.

4, The vehicle shall be clean, uncluttered, and free of obstructions
on the floors, aisles and seats of vehicles. ‘



84

5. Any vehicle used to transport children shall be enclosed. Chil-
dren may not be transported in a truck, except in the cab.

6. When seat or safety belts are available, they shall be worn by
children.

7. Doors shall be locked at all times that the vehicle is moving.

8. In every accident involving a motor vehicle which is transporting
children, a copy of the insurance accident report shall be submitted to the
department within 5 days after the occurrence.

(e) Vehicle Capacity and Supervision
1. Children may not be left unattended in the vehicle.

2, There shall be at least one adult supervisor in addition to the
driver when there are more than 10 children in the vehicle.

3. There shall be at least one adult supervisor in addition to the
driver whenever children under 24 months of age or handicapped children are
passengers of the vehicle.

4, The driver shall wait until the child enters the home or is into
the hands of a designated authorized adult.

5. Handicapped children and children under 2 years of age shall be
given assistance as indicated by their abilities, including leading or
carrying them to and from the seat of the vehicle.

6. A seat shall be provided for each child. Allowable rump width in
determining seating capacity is 13 inches per child and 20 inches per adult.

7. The driver or adult rider shall be responsible for seeing that
children remain seated while the vehicle is in motion. '

8. No more than 3 persons including the driver may occupy the front
seat of the vehicle.

9. The driver shall conduct an evacuation drill of the vehicle during
the first week of each camp session. The evacuations are to be supervised
and verified in writing by a staff person.

(13) Day Trips.

(a) Day trips away from the base camp shall meet the following condi-
tions:

1. Staff shall carry signed parental permission for the emergency
medical care of children for all children who go on day trips.

2. The counselor child rates shall be maintained on day trips except
that the number of adults accompanying children away from the base camp may
be no less than 2.
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3. A planned source of emergency medical care in the area to be
visited shall be known to staff.

4, A list of children participating in the day trip shall be main-
tained by a counselor accompanying the children.

(b) Day camps which operate without a base camp and whose program
consists primarily of day trips shall submit a proposed itinerary of day
trips to the department.

HSS 55.45-HSS 55.49 (RESERVED)

The rules, amendments, and repeals contained in this order shall take effect
on the first day of August, 1980 pursuant to authority granted by s. 227.026
(1)(b).

Dated: , WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
//f/y” AND SOCTAL SPAVIC

Seal: %8\ N

DONALD E. PERCY
SECRETARY




