
   

 

DATE: November 23, 2015 

 
TO:  The Honorable Mary Lazich 

  President, Wisconsin State Senate 
  Room 220 South, State Capitol 

  PO Box 7882 
  Madison, WI 53707-7882 
 

The Honorable Robin Vos 
Speaker, Wisconsin State Assembly 

Room 211, West, State Capitol 
PO Box 8952 
Madison, WI 53708-895 

 

FROM: P.C. Johnson DVM, Chair of the Veterinary Examining Board 
 

SUBJECT: Continuing Education 

 

Introduction 

 
The Veterinary Examining Board is transmitting this rule for legislative committee review, as provided in s. 

227.19(2) and (3), Stats.  The Board will publish notice of this referral in the Wisconsin Administrative 

Register, as provided in s. 227.19(2), Stats.  This rule repeals VE 10.03(3)(b) and (i), Adm. Code., related to 
continuing education. 

 
Background 

 

 
In accordance with s. 89.062(2)(a) and (b), Stats., licensed veterinarians are required to complete 30 hours of 
continuing education and licensed veterinary technicians are required to complete 15 hours of continuing 

education. Continuing education requirements for both veterinarians and veterinary technicians are found in 
Chapter VE 10. Recently, the Veterinary Examining Board identified several provisions within ch. VE 10 that 

required revising, specifically s. VE 10.03(3)(b). The Board determined that this provision allowing self-study 
of veterinary medical or scientific journals was obsolete due to the abundance of continuing education offered 
via the internet. The Board also identified s. VE 10.03(3)(i), regarding certification to use, handle, distribute 

and dispose of pesticides as outdated due to recent legislation, 2009 Wisconsin Act 139. Act 139 specified 
that the Board may not require training or continuing education concerning the use, handling, distribution, and 

disposal of pesticides, other than for disciplinary purposes. 
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Rule Content 

 

The proposed rule repeals VE 10.03(3)(b) and (i) so that neither self-study of veterinary medical or scientific 
journals nor preparation and successful completion of the examination required for certification to use, handle, 

distribute and dispose of pesticides will no longer be approved for continuing education. 

 
Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or Proposed Federal Statutes and Regulations 

 
None. 

 

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States 

 

Illinois: 

Illinois Administrative Code allows renewal applicants to use self-study courses offered by an approved 

provider (Ill. Admin. Code tit. 68, pt.1500.25 and Ill. Admin. Code tit. 68, pt. 1505.55). 

 
Iowa: 

 
Iowa Administrative Code allows the completion of distance education courses but does not explicitly allow 

for the completion of self-study courses to fulfill continuing education requirements (Iowa Admin. Code r. 
811-11.1). 

 
Michigan: 

 
Continuing education is not required to renew a license as a veterinarian or a veterinary technician in the state 
of Michigan. 

 
Minnesota: 

 
Minnesota Administrative Code specifies that not more than ten hours of continuing education credit from 
noninteractive (self-study) sources may be accepted toward the 40- hour continuing education credit 
requirement for license renewal (Minn. R. 9100.100 subp. 5.) 
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Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies 

The Board reviewed the continuing education rules for consistency with the Wisconsin Statutes and 

contemporary practices.  Adjacent states’ requirements were also reviewed. 

 

Analysis and Supporting Documents used to Determine Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of an 

Economic Impact Analysis 

 

The rule was posted for public comment on the economic impact of the proposed rule, including how this 
proposed rule may affect businesses, local government units, and individuals for a period of 14 days. No 

comments were received. 

 
Effect on Small Business 

 
These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 227.114 (1), Stats.   

 

Small Business Regulatory Review Report 

 

The Small Business Regulatory Review Board did not issue a report on this rule.  
 

Hearings 

 
The Board held one public hearing on this rule on November 4, 2015 in Madison.  There were no attendees at 
the hearing.  The Board did not receive any written comments. 

 
Changes from Hearing Draft 

 

The Board incorporated the technical corrections suggested by the Rules Clearinghouse. 
 

 

 


