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PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, TRADE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION 

ADOPTING, AMENDING AND REPEALING RULES 
 

The state of Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection proposes the 2 

following order to amend ATCP 10.01(106)b), 10.06(3)(b), 10.12(1), 10.14(1), 10.20(1)(b), 3 

10.22(9)(b), 10.27(1) to (3), 10.29(1), 10.37(1)(a)2., 10.40(4)(a)1., 10.41(5)(a) to (d) and (6), 4 

10.46(7)(a)1. and 2., (b) and (c), 10.47(3)(b)4., 10.61(4),(5), (6)(c) and (7)(a), 10.62(4)(c), 5 

12.02(4)(a)1. to 3., 12.03(5)(a), 12.04(4)(a) and 12.045(3)(a); to repeal and recreate ATCP 6 

10.61(7)(b); and to create ATCP 10.37(3)(g), 10.49(1m), 10.51(1m), 10.68(2m), 10.73(2m) and 7 

10.74(1m); relating to animal health fees. 8 

___________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Analysis Prepared by the Department of 

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 
 

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (“DATCP”) administers 
Wisconsin’s animal health and disease control program.  The program is funded, in significant 
part, by animal health fees.  This rule increases animal health fees in order to remedy a serious 

deficit in the animal health fee revenue account.   
 

This rule delays most of the fee increases until mid 2009, except that fee increases for veterinary 
inspection forms, fish import permits, and fish farm registrations will take effect in 2008.  
DATCP was able to delay most fee increases because the budget act (2007 Wis. Act 20) provided 

temporary funding assistance of $125,000 in each year of the 2007-09 biennium (one-time 
transfers from the Agriculture Chemical Cleanup Program).    

 
Statutory Authority 

 

Statutory authority:  93.07(1), 95.55(3), 95.57(2), 95.60(5), 95.68(4) and (8), 95.69(4) and 
(8), 95.71(5) and (8), and 95.715(2)(d). 
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Statutes interpreted:  93.06(1d), (1g), (1m), (1p), (1q), 95.55, 95.57(2), 95.60(5), 95.68(4) 

and (8), 95.69(4) and (8), 95.71(5) and (8), and 95.715(2)(d). 
 
DATCP has broad authority, under s. 93.07(1), Stats., to adopt rules needed to implement laws 

under its jurisdiction.  DATCP also has authority, under the provisions cited above, to charge 
certain animal health fees and determine the amount of those fees. 

 

Rule Content 

 

Fee Changes 
 

This rule increases some current animal health fees, and creates some new fees.  Among other 
things, this rule affects license fees, voluntary herd certification fees, fees for veterinary 
certification forms, and fees for voluntary certification of animal health professionals.  Some of 

the fee increases (veterinary certification forms, livestock market licenses, etc.) may affect 
several sectors of the livestock industry, while others are limited to specific livestock sectors.   

 
Fee For:    Current Fee:           Proposed Fee:  
 

Certificate of Veterinary   $3 per form (interstate         $5.60 per form (interstate) 
Inspection (blank form used  or intrastate)        $0.60 per form (intrastate) 

by private veterinarians) 
 
Cattle; Brucellosis-Free  No fee.        $50 annual certification  

Herd Certification (Voluntary 
certification facilitates animal           

sale and movement) 
 
Cattle and Other Bovines;  No fee        $50 annual certification  

TB-Free Herd Certification           
(Voluntary certification  

facilitates sale and movement)  
  
Johne’s Disease Veterinarian;  No fee        $50 per 3-year certification 

Certification (Voluntary  
3-year certification) 

 
Cattle and Other Bovines:  $75 annual permit      $140 annual permit 
Approved Import Feedlot Permit 

(Voluntary permit facilitates  
certain imports) 

 
Swine; Qualified Pseudorabies No fee    $50 annual certification 
Negative Herd, Qualified Pseudo- 

Rabies Negative Grow-out Herd, 
or Feeder Swine Pseudorabies  

Monitored Herd (Voluntary 
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certification facilitates sale and 
movement) 

 
Swine; Validated Brucellosis-Free No fee        $50 annual certification 

Herd Certification (Voluntary   
certification facilitates  
swine sale and movement) 

 
Equine Imports; Quarantine   No fee        $100 annual permit and  

Station Permit (station may       $100 permit per quarantined 
receive certain horse imports)      animal 
 

Poultry Tester; Training  No fee.        $25 training fee. 
 

National Poultry Improvement Annual fee ranges from     Annual fee ranges from    
Plan; Annual Flock Enrollment  $40 to $200 based on flock     $80 to $400 based on flock  
     type and size.       type and size. 

      
Farm-raised Deer; Annual Herd Annual fee based on     Annual fee based on herd 

Registration    herd size:   herd size: 
        $50 if ≤ 15 deer     $162.50 if ≤ 15 deer 
        $100 if > 15 deer     $325 if > 15 deer  

     $150 minimum one-time $200 minimum one-time  
        inspection fee for 2nd               inspection fee for 2nd  

        herd at same site (not      herd at same site (not 
        required for renewal).      required for renewal) 

                                                        $100 surcharge if                     $250 surcharge if found  

                                                                           found operating without          operating without  
       registration      registration 

 
Farm-raised Deer; Hunting   $150 for 10-year certificate $500 for 10-year certificate 
Preserve Certificate 

 
Farm-raised Deer; TB-Free  No fee.    $50 per year of certification 

Herd Certification (Voluntary  
certification facilitates 
deer sales and movement) 

 
Farm-raised Deer; Brucellosis- No fee.    $50 per year of certification  

Free Herd Certification  
(Voluntary certification 
facilitates deer sales and  

movement) 
 

Fish Farm (Type 1);    $25 annual fee covers  $37.50 annual fee covers one 
Annual Registration                            any number of Type 1  Type 1 fish farm; $50 annual 
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     fish farms   fee covers any number of 
         Type 1 fish farms 

 
Fish Farm (Type 2);    $50 annual fee covers  $125 annual fee covers 1-5 

Annual Registration                            any number of Type 2                  Type 2 fish farms;  
     fish farms 
                    $150 annual fee covers 6-10  

                Type 2 fish farms; 
  

         $200 annual fee covers 11-20  
               Type 2 fish farms; 

 

         $300 annual fee covers 21 or  
                 more Type 2 fish farms. 
 

Fish Import Permit (may  $50     $90 
cover multiple import  

shipments for up to one year) 
 
Sheep; Brucella-Ovis Free  No fee    $50 per year of certification 

Flock Certification (Voluntary      
certification facilitates animal  

sale and movement) 
 
Goats; Brucellosis-Free  No fee    $50 per year of certification 

Flock Certification (Voluntary      
certification facilitates animal  

sale and movement) 
 
Goats; Tuberculosis Free  No fee    $50 annual certification 

Flock Certification (Voluntary  
certification facilitates animal 

sale and movement) 
 

Animal Market; Annual License $225 annual fee for   $420 annual fee for 

             Class A license          Class A license 
     $115 annual fee for  $220 annual fee for 

             Class B license          Class B license 
     $150 annual fee for  $280 annual fee for 
             Class C license          Class C license 
 

Animal Dealer; Annual License $115 annual fee  $220 annual fee 
 

Animal Trucker; Annual License $30 annual fee   $60 annual fee 
 

Animal Transport Vehicle;  $10 annual fee per  $20 annual fee per 
Annual Registration Sticker         vehicle          vehicle 
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Other Rule Changes 

 

This rule eliminates current fish farm registration fee exemptions for research institutions and 
government agencies.  Those entities will now have to pay the same registration fees as other fish 

farm operators. 
 

Rule Effective Date 

 
Rule provisions related to fish farm registrations, fish import permits and certifications of 

veterinarian inspection take effect on the rule publication date.  The rest of this rule takes effect 
beginning on July 1, 2009.  There are different annual license cycles for different types of 

licensed (and registered) entities, so that license (registration) fee increases do not apply until the 
first annual license cycle beginning after the relevant effective date.   
   

Fiscal Estimate 

State Fiscal Effect 

 

Animal Health program operations are funded by a combination of general state tax dollars  

(79%), animal health fee revenues (19%) and federal funds (2%).  This does not include federal 
funds that are passed through to program beneficiaries in the form of grants or other assistance.   

 
Recent state budgets have done the following: 
 

 Reduced annual GPR funding (general tax dollars) for animal health by nearly $300,000. 

 Lapsed approximately $130,000 in animal health fee revenue (one-time lapse) to the state 

general fund.   

 Assigned more staff to be paid from animal health fee revenues. 

   
Program costs have gone up this year, as DATCP has filled critical animal health positions that 

had been held vacant.  DATCP has only about 37 authorized permanent positions (field and office 
positions) for its entire animal health and disease control program, so it is important that key 
positions be filled.  

 
As a result of these combined factors, the positive cash balance in the animal health fee revenue 

account is declining rapidly.  DATCP collects about $300,000 in animal health fees each year, 
and projects fee revenue expenditures approaching $600,000 each year.  Even with the temporary 
funding assistance of $125,000 in each year of the 2007-09 biennium DATCP projects a negative 

cash balance of $85,000 in the animal health fee revenue account beginning in FY 2008, 
$241,000 in FY 2009, $545,00 in FY 2010 and $877,000 in FY 2011.   

 
This rule will increase animal health fee revenues by approximately $149,000 in FY 2008-09.  
When it is fully implemented beginning in FY 2009-10, it will increase annual fee revenues by 

approximately $375,150.  DATCP projects that this fee increase will stabilize animal health 
program staffing and funding through 2012, without further fee increases.   
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Without this fee increase or other funding support, DATCP will need to reduce animal health 
staffing at a time when bio-security and disease threats have grown.  DATCP has only about 37 

permanent staff for all of its animal health and disease control programs (does not count 
temporary, federally-funded positions).   Staff reductions will increase risks to Wisconsin’s major 
livestock industries, which rely on effective animal health and disease control programs.  Staff 

reductions will also increase disease risks to humans and wildlife.  
 

Local Fiscal Effect 

 

This rule will have no fiscal impact on local units of government.  See fiscal estimate attached. 

 

Business Impact 

 
This rule affects animal markets, animal dealers, animal truckers, livestock farmers, deer farmers, 
fish farmers and veterinarians.  Many of these businesses are “small businesses” as defined in s. 

227.114(1)(a), Stats.   
 

This rule increases some current animal health fees, and creates some new fees.  Some fee 
increases may affect several sectors of the livestock industry, while others are limited to specific 
livestock sectors.   

 
The proposed fee increases will increase industry costs by a combined statewide total of 
approximately $375,150 per year for all affected industries, once the rule is fully implemented.  

The projected impact by industry sector is shown in Appendix B.  Fee increases for individual 
businesses are generally modest, and depend on business size and type.  Smaller businesses 

generally pay lower fees than large businesses.  Fees are based, in part, on animal health costs 
related to each affected industry.   
 

This rule does not change other animal health regulations.  This rule requires no additional 
recordkeeping, and no added professional services to comply.   For small businesses, the effective 

date of this rule is automatically delayed by 2 months, pursuant to s. 227.22(2)(e), Stats.  The 
delayed effective date is not expected to have a significant impact on the timing or amount of fee 
collections under this rule. 

Federal Regulation 

DATCP administers animal disease control programs in cooperation with the United States 

Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (“the federal bureau”).   
Federal grants pay for about 2% of Wisconsin’s animal health program operations.  This does not 

include federal funds that are passed through to program beneficiaries in the form of grants or 
other assistance.   

   
The federal bureau has well-established control programs for historically important diseases such 

as tuberculosis and brucellosis.  The federal bureau has less well-developed programs for new or 

localized diseases, or emerging animal-based industries.  In those areas, states often play a 
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leadership role.  For example, Wisconsin is a recognized national leader in the regulation of farm-

raised deer (chronic wasting disease) and aquaculture. 
   

States have independent authority to regulate animal health and movement, including imports 

from other states.  However, states strive for reasonable consistency, based on standards spelled 
out in federal regulations.  States typically incorporate federal standards where they exist, and 

play a key role in implementing federal standards. 

 
The federal bureau does not license animal businesses, or regulate state fees.  This fee rule does 

not duplicate or conflict with any federal fees or standards.   
 

Surrounding State Programs 
 

Surrounding state animal health programs are broadly comparable to those in Wisconsin, but 
differ in a number of ways.  State programs reflect differences in animal populations, animal-

based industries, and disease threats.  Programs for historically important diseases, such as 

tuberculosis and brucellosis, tend to be fairly similar between states and are based on well-
established federal standards.  Programs for newer diseases or newer forms of agriculture, such as 

farm-raised deer and aquaculture, tend to be more variable. 

 
Animal health fees fund about 19% of Wisconsin’s animal health program operations.  In the 

surrounding states, by contrast, animal health program operations are funded almost entirely by 

state general fund appropriations.  Some states charge almost no license fees.  Other states charge 
fees but deposit them to the state general fund (so they do not have a direct impact on program 

appropriations).   

 
Minnesota 

 

The state-funded portion of Minnesota’s animal health program is funded 98% by state general 
fund appropriations and 2% by industry fees.  The farm-raised deer (chronic wasting disease 

control) program is the only program that charges fees.  That fee is $10 per farm-raised deer, up 

to maximum of $100 per herd. 
 

Iowa 

 

The state-funded portion of Iowa’s animal health program is funded 100% by state general fund 

appropriations.  Iowa charges nominal industry fees that are deposited to the state general fund.  

The cost to collect the fees (which are set by statute) exceeds the amount of revenue produced.  
Fees include the following: 

 

 $50 for an annual animal market license, plus $10 for each market agent.  
 $25 for an annual animal dealer license, plus $10 for each dealer agent. 

 $5 for an annual pig dealer license, plus $3 for each dealer agent. 

 $3 for an annual poultry buyer license. 
 $10 for an annual hatchery license.   

 $25 to register a livestock brand for 5 years.   
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 $10 for an annual sheep dealer license. 

 $10 for an annual bull breeder license. 
 

Michigan 

 

The state-funded portion of Michigan’s animal health program is funded 95% by state general 

fund appropriations, 2% by segregated fees from racing, and 3% by animal industry fees.  

Michigan fees include the following: 
 

 $400 for an annual livestock market (auction) license. 

 $250 for an annual livestock collection point (buy station) license. 
 $150 for an annual horse market (auction) license. 

 $50 for an annual livestock dealer license. 

 $100 for an annual fish farm license ($75 for a renewal).  
 

Illinois 

 

The state-funded portion of Illinois’ animal health program is funded 100% by state general fund 

appropriations, except that part of its poultry program (eggs) is funded by industry fees.  The state 

also charges some lab testing fees for non-traditional diseases.  Illinois charges nominal license 
fees that are deposited to the state general fund.  The cost to collect the fees (which are set by 

statute) exceeds the amount of revenue produced.  Fees include the following: 

 
 $200 for an annual livestock market (auction) license.   

 $25 for an annual livestock dealer license ($10 for a renewal license), plus $10 for each 

additional business location and $5 for each dealer agent.   
 $25 for an annual feeder swine dealer license ($10 for a renewal license), plus $5 for each 

dealer agent.   
 

Agency Contact 

 

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 
Division of Animal Health 

2811 Agriculture Drive 
P.O. Box 8911 
Madison, WI 53708-8911 

Attn:  Melissa Mace 
Telephone:  608-224-4875 

E-mail:  melissa.mace@wisconsin.gov 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 SECTION 1.  ATCP 10.01(106)(b) is amended to read: 1 
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 ATCP 10.01(106)(b)  In the case of farm-raised deer, the uniform methods and 1 

rules for the national cervid tuberculosis eradication program dated January 22, 1999, as 2 

published in federal bureau publication 91-45-011 (January 22, 1999), as amended by 3 

federal register Volume 71, No. 81, effective April 21, 2006. 4 

 SECTION 2.  ATCP 10.06(3)(b) is amended to read: 5 

 ATCP 10.06(3)(b)  A Wisconsin certified veterinarian may obtain Wisconsin 6 

certificate of veterinary inspection forms from the department for $3 per form. There is a 7 

fee of $5.60 for each interstate movement form, and $0.60 for each intrastate movement 8 

form. 9 

 SECTION 3.   ATCP 10.12(1) is amended to read: 10 

 ATCP 10.12(1)  CERTIFICATION.   The department may certify a herd of cattle as a 11 

brucellosis- free herd if the herd qualifies for that certification under the brucellosis 12 

uniform methods and rules.  Every certification application shall include a nonrefundable 13 

fee of $50 for each year of certification.  To maintain the herd certification, a herd owner 14 

shall comply with applicable requirements under the brucellosis uniform methods and 15 

rules.   16 

 SECTION 4.   ATCP 10.14(1) is amended to read: 17 

 ATCP 10.14(1)  CERTIFICATION.   The department may certify a herd of bovine 18 

animals as an accredited tuberculosis- free herd if the herd qualifies for that certification 19 

under the tuberculosis uniform methods and rules.  Every annual certification application 20 

shall include a nonrefundable fee of $50 for each year of certification.  To maintain the 21 

certification, a herd owner shall comply with applicable requirements under the 22 

tuberculosis uniform methods and rules.  23 
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 SECTION 5.  ATCP 10.20(1)(b) is amended to read: 1 

 ATCP 10.20(1)(b)  An application for certification under par. (a) shall include a 2 

nonrefundable fee of $50.  A certification under paragraph (a) expires 3 years after it is 3 

granted.  A veterinarian may renew the certification by completing a renewal training 4 

program provided or approved by the department and paying a nonrefundable renewal 5 

fee of $50. 6 

 SECTION 6.  ATCP 10.22(9)(b) is amended to read: 7 

 ATCP 10.22(9)(b) Permit application.  To obtain an approved import feedlot 8 

permit, a feedlot operator shall submit an application on a form provided by the 9 

department.  The application shall identify the location of the feedlot by county, township 10 

and section, and shall include other relevant information required by the department. The 11 

application shall include a fee of $75 $140. The department shall grant or deny a permit 12 

application within 30 days after a complete application is filed with the department. 13 

 SECTION 7.  ATCP 10.27(1) to (3) are amended to read: 14 

 ATCP 10.27(1)  QUALIFIED PSEUDORABIES NEGATIVE HERD.  The department may 15 

certify a herd of swine as a qualified pseudorabies negative herd if the herd qualifies for 16 

that certification under the pseudorabies national eradication standards.  Every 17 

certification application shall include a nonrefundable fee of $50 for each year of 18 

certification.  To maintain the certification, the herd owner shall comply with applicable 19 

requirements under the pseudorabies national eradication standards. 20 

 (2)  QUALIFIED PSEUDORABIES NEGATIVE GROW-OUT HERD.  The department may 21 

certify a herd of swine as a qualified pseudorabies negative grow-out herd if the herd 22 

qualifies for that certification under the pseudorabies national eradication standards.  23 
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Every certification application shall include a nonrefundable fee of $50 for each year of 1 

certification.  To maintain the certification, the herd owner shall comply with applicable 2 

requirements under the pseudorabies national eradication standards. 3 

 (3)  FEEDER SWINE PSEUDORABIES MONITORED HERD.  The department may certify 4 

a herd of swine as a feeder swine pseudorabies monitored herd if the herd qualifies for 5 

that certification under the pseudorabies national eradication standards.  Every 6 

certification application shall include a nonrefundable fee of $50 for each year of 7 

certification.  To maintain the certification, the herd owner shall comply with applicable 8 

requirements under the pseudorabies national eradication standards. 9 

 SECTION 8.  ATCP 10.29(1) is amended to read: 10 

 ATCP 10.29(1)  CERTIFICATION.  The department may certify a herd of swine as a 11 

validated brucellosis- free herd if the herd qualifies for that certification under the 12 

brucellosis uniform methods and rules.  Every certification application shall include a 13 

nonrefundable fee of $50 for each year of certification.  To maintain the herd 14 

certification, the herd owner shall comply with applicable requirements under the 15 

brucellosis uniform methods and rules. 16 

 SECTION 9.  ATCP 10.37(1)(a)2. is amended to read: 17 

 ATCP 10.37(1)(a)2.  The applicant pays a nonrefundable $100 permit fee and the 18 

department issues a permit under s. ATCP 10.07(2) authorizing the import shipment. and 19 

a  A copy of the permit shall accompany the shipment.  20 

 SECTION 10.  ATCP 10.37(3)(g) is created to read: 21 

 ATCP 10.37(3)(g)  A nonrefundable annual permit fee of $100.   22 

 SECTION 11.  ATCP 10.40(4)(a)1. is amended to read: 23 
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 ATCP 10.40(4)(a)1.  An individual who has completed sample collection training, 1 

provided by the department, within 2 years prior to collecting the blood samples.  The 2 

department shall charge a $25 training fee. 3 

 SECTION 12.  ATCP 10.41(5)(a) to (d) are amended to read: 4 

ATCP 10.41(5)(a)  $20 $40 if the flock consists solely of specialty breeds, other 5 

than breeds commonly raised for meat or egg production, and the flock owner raises the 6 

birds primarily for exhibition. 7 

(b)  $20 $40 if the flock owner does not hatch or collect eggs, and obtains stock 8 

solely from flocks enrolled in the national poultry improvement plan. 9 

(c)  $30 $60 if the flock includes farm-raised game birds, the flock owner does 10 

not hatch or collect eggs, and the flock owner obtains stock solely from flocks enrolled in 11 

the national poultry improvement plan. 12 

(d)  The following applicable fee for a breeding flock of poultry or farm-raised 13 

game birds: 14 

1.  $40 $80 if the flock includes no more than 1,000 breeders. 15 

2.  $50 $100 if the flock includes more than 1,000 breeders, but no more than 16 

5,000 breeders. 17 

3.  $100 $200 if the flock includes more than 5,000 breeders, but no more than 18 

10,000 breeders. 19 

4.  $200 $400 if the flock includes more than 10,000 breeders. 20 

SECTION 13.  ATCP 10.41(6) is amended to read: 21 

ATCP 10.41(6)  TESTING.  Testing under this section, including test sample 22 

collection, shall comply with applicable requirements in s. ATCP 10.40(3)10.40(4). 23 
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 SECTION 14.  ATCP 10.46(7)(a)1. and 2., (b) and (c) are amended to read: 1 

 ATCP 10.46(7)(a)1.  A nonrefundable annual fee of $50 $162.50 if the herd 2 

includes no more than 15 farm-raised deer. 3 

2.  A nonrefundable annual fee of $100 $325 if the herd includes more than 15 4 

farm-raised deer. 5 

 (b)  A person who applies to register a herd at the same location where another 6 

herd is registered shall pay a nonrefundable fee of $150 $200 for each day needed to 7 

complete an inspection under sub. (4)(c). 8 

(c)  An applicant shall pay a registration fee surcharge of $100 $250 if the 9 

department determines that, within 365 days prior to submitting the registration 10 

application, the applicant kept farm-raised deer without a required registration certificate.  11 

In addition to the surcharge, the applicant shall pay the fee due for the year in which the 12 

applicant failed to obtain the required registration certificate. 13 

 SECTION 15.  ATCP 10.47(3)(b)4. is amended to read:  14 

 ATCP 10.47(3)(b)4.  A nonrefundable fee of $150 $500 .   15 

 SECTION 16.  ATCP 10.49(1m) is created to read: 16 

 ATCP 10.49(1m)  CERTIFICATION FEE.  Every application for certification under 17 

sub. (1) shall include a nonrefundable application fee of $50 for each year of 18 

certification. 19 

 SECTION 17.  ATCP 10.51(1m) is created to read: 20 

 ATCP 10.51(1m)  Every application for certification under sub. (1) shall include a 21 

nonrefundable application fee of $50 for each year of certification. 22 
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 SECTION 18.  ATCP 10.61(4), (5), (6)(c) and (7)(a) are amended to 1 

read: 2 

 ATCP 10.61(4)  ANNUAL EXPIRATION DATE.  An annual fish farm registration 3 

certificate under sub.(1) expires on December March 31 of each year. 4 

 (5)  PERSONS OPERATING 2 OR MORE FISH FARMS.  A person who 5 

operates 2 or more fish farms shall obtain a separate registration certificate 6 

under sub. (1) for each fish farm.  A person may obtain annual registration 7 

certificates for 2 or more fish farms by filing a single annual application 8 

under sub. (6) and paying a single annual fee under sub. (7).  There is no 9 

additional charge for additional fish farms.  A registration certificate is not 10 

transferable between persons or locations. 11 

 (6)(c)  For each fish farm under par. (b), a A statement indicating 12 

whether the operator seeks a type 1 or a type 2 registration certificate for 13 

each fish farm. 14 

 (7)(a)  Except as provided in par. (b), an operator shall pay the 15 

following annual fee to obtain registration certificates for one or more fish 16 

farms identified on the same registration application: 17 

 1.  A total nonrefundable fee of $25 if the fish farms are all type 1 fish farms 18 

$37.50 for a type 1 fish farm, or a total nonrefundable fee of $50 for 2 or more type 1 fish 19 

farms. 20 

 2.  A total nonrefundable fee of $50 if any of the fish farms is a type 2 fish farm 21 

$125 for up to 5 type 2 fish farms, $150 for more than 5 but not more than 10 type 2 fish 22 
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farms, $200 for more than 10 but not more than 20 type 2 fish farms, and $300 for more 1 

than 20 fish farms that are type 2 fish farms. 2 

 SECTION 19.  ATCP 10.61(7)(b) is repealed and recreated to read: 3 

 ATCP 10.61(7)(b)  Primary and secondary schools are exempt from registration 4 

fees under par. (a). 5 

 SECTION 20.  ATCP 10.62(4)(c) is amended to read: 6 

  ATCP 10.62(4)(c)  A nonrefundable fee of $50 $90. 7 

 SECTION 21.  ATCP 10.68(2m) is created to read: 8 

 ATCP 10.68(2m)  Every application for certification under sub. (1) or 9 

certification renewal under sub. (2) shall include a nonrefundable fee of $50 for each year 10 

of certification. 11 

 SECTION 22.  ATCP 10.73(2m) is created to read: 12 

 ATCP 10.73(2m)  Every application for certification under sub. (1) or 13 

certification renewal under sub. (2) shall include a nonrefundable fee of $50. 14 

 SECTION 23.  ATCP 10.74(1m) is created to read: 15 

 ATCP 10.74(1m)  Every application for certification under sub. (1) shall include a 16 

nonrefundable fee of $50 for each year of certification. 17 

 SECTION 24.  ATCP 12.02(4)(a)1. to 3. are amended to read: 18 

 ATCP 12.02(4)(a)1.  $225 $420 for a class A license. 19 

 2.  $115 $220 for a class B license. 20 

 3.  $150 $280 for a class E license. 21 

    SECTION 25.  ATCP 12.03(5)(a) is amended to read: 22 
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 ATCP 12.03(5)(a)  LICENSE FEES.  A person shall pay a basic nonrefundable 1 

annual fee of $115 $220 for an animal dealer license under sub. (1). 2 

 SECTION 26.  ATCP 12.04(4)(a) is amended to read: 3 

 ATCP 12.04(4)(a)  FEES.  A person shall pay a basic nonrefundable annual license 4 

fee of $30 $60 for a license under sub. (1). 5 

 SECTION 27.  ATCP 12.045(3)(a) is amended to read: 6 

 ATCP 12.045(3)(a)  A person shall pay an annual fee of $10 $20 for each vehicle 7 

registration sticker under this section. 8 

 SECTION 28.  EFFECTIVE DATE AND INITIAL APPLICABILITY.   9 

 (1)  Except as provided in subs. (2) to (4), this rule takes effect on July 1, 2009.  10 

 (2)  Except as provided in subs. (3) and (4), the treatment of sections ATCP 11 

10.06(3)(b), 10.61(4), (5), (6)(c), (7)(a) and (b), and 10.62(4)(c) of this rule takes effect 12 

the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, 13 

as provided under s. 227.22(2)(intro.).   14 

 (3)  The treatment of sections ATCP 10.06(3)(b), 10.61(4), (5), (6)(c), and (7)(a) 15 

and (b), and 10.62(4)(c) of this rule first applies to small businesses as defined in s. 16 

227.114(1), Stats., on the first day of the third month commencing after the rule 17 

publication date, as required by s. 227.22(2)(e), Stats. 18 

 (4)  The treatment of s. ATCP 10.61(4) by this rule first applies to registration certificates 19 

issued for the first registration year beginning after the effective date of this rule.  20 

 

Dated this ______ day of _________________, _____________. 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, 
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TRADE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION 
 

By ________________________________ 

   Rodney J. Nilsestuen, Secretary 


