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Report From Agency 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION 

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION  : AND LICENSING ADOPTING RULES 
AND LICENSING    : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 06-014) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
PROPOSED ORDER 

 

An order of the Department of Regulation and Licensing to repeal RL 128.03 (1) (c) and 
(d); and to amend RL 128.03 (1) (intro.), (a) and (b), the Note following RL 128.04 (1), 

the Note following RL 128.04 (1m) (e), and the Note following RL 128.04 (6) (b), 
relating to educational programs for auctioneers. 
 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

ANALYSIS 
 
Statute interpreted: 

 
Section 480.08 (5) and (6), Stats. 

 
Statutory authority: 

 

Sections 227.11 (2) and 480.08 (6), Stats. 
 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 
The Department of Regulation and Licensing is authorized under s. 480.08 (6), Stats., to 

promulgate rules establishing requirements and procedures for registered auctioneers to 
complete continuing education programs or courses of study in order to qualify for 

renewal. 
 
Related statute or rule: 

 
Section 480.08 (5), Stats., which states, in part, that a renewal application for an 

auctioneer certificate shall be accompanied by proof of completion of continuing 
education requirements under sub. (6). 
 

Plain language analysis: 

 

SECTIONS 1 and 2.  Under the current law, in order to renew a registration, an 
auctioneer must complete 12 hours of continuing education that consists of four specific 
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courses.  The subject matter of those courses include:  1) three hours in Wisconsin laws 
relating to auctioneer ethical and professional conduct; 2) three hours in Wisconsin laws 

relating to maintenance of records and trust accounts; 3) three hours in federal laws 
relating to auctioneering and Wisconsin laws other than those described in paragraphs 1) 

and 2) above, and 4) three hours in certain elective courses that are relevant to the 
practice and legal requirements of auctioneering. 
 

Except for the three hour ethics course, the department proposes to revise the rules to 
eliminate the specific subject matter areas or topics identified in the rules.  Instead, the 

department would identify and approve the subject matter areas or topics biennially. 
 
SECTIONS 3, 4 and 5 amend Notes to amend the address of the department and include 

the department’s website. 
 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

 
There are no federal laws that govern continuing education requirements for auctioneers. 

 
Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 
Illinois: 

 

Illinois requires auctioneers to complete 12 hours of continuing education, of which six 
include mandatory core subjects and 6 include elective subjects. 

 
Iowa: 

 

Do not regulate auctioneers. 
 

Michigan: 

 
Do not regulate auctioneers. 

 
Minnesota: 

 
Do not regulate auctioneers. 
 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

No study resulting in the collection of factual data was used relating to this rule.  The 
primary methodology for revising the rule is the board’s analysis and determination that a 
rule change is necessary. 

 
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 
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The proposed rule would change the specific subject matter area requirements for 
auctioneer continuing education requirements.  There are 1,963 auctioneers licensed in 

Wisconsin.  There are also 318 registered auction companies who are licensed in 
Wisconsin.  It should be noted that an individual who is registered as an auctioneer may 

act as an auction company without having to additionally register as an auction company.  
Auction companies are not required to take continuing education and would not be 
affected by this rule change.  Of the 1,963 auctioneers licensed in Wisconsin, a majority 

are probably small business owners. 
 

In order for auctioneers to renew their license, the auctioneer would have to take 
continuing education courses.  Currently, four specific courses are required for 
continuing education for a total of 12 hours.  Except for the ethics course requirement, 

the remaining course requirements would be in subjects approved by the department 
biennially.  There will be no additional reporting requirements, bookkeeping 

requirements, or compliance costs.  This rule would merely set a standard for review of 
course content biennially, rather than have permanent course requirements.  The same 12 
hour requirement would be in place.  In the future, auctioneers may have to take classes 

in different subjects than were required previously.  This rule change will not have an 
effect on small business. 

 
Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an economic impact report 
before submitting the proposed rule-making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  

The Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an “agency” in this 
section. 

 
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: 

 

The Department of Regulation and Licensing anticipates no significant fiscal impact on 
the private sector. 

 
Fiscal estimate: 

 

The Department of Regulation and Licensing will incur staff costs of $5,100 annually to 
approve an expansion of available educational courses. 

 
Effect on small business: 

 

These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact on small businesses, as 
defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may 

be contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266-8608. 
 
Agency contact person: 

 
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal 

Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, 

mailto:christopher.klein@drl.state.wi.us
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Wisconsin 53708-8935.  Telephone: (608) 266-0495.  Email:  
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us. 

 
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 
Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and 
Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, 

Wisconsin 53708-8935, or by email at pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must 
be received on or before April 28, 2006 to be included in the record of rule-making 

proceedings. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

TEXT OF RULE 

 
 SECTION 1.  RL 128.03 (1) (intro.), (a) and (b) are amended to read: 

 
 RL 128.03 Courses; examinations. (1) COURSES. (intro.)  The educational 
program shall consist of 4 courses and shall cover all of the topics under each paragraph 

title, be presented during no less than the number of hours stated after each paragraph 
title, and 12 hours, which shall include: 

 
   (a)  Course A:  3 Three hours in the Wisconsin laws relating to 
auctioneer ethical and professional conduct. 

 
   (b)  Course B:  3 Nine hours in the Wisconsin laws relating to 

maintenance of records and trust accounts topics pertinent to the practice of auctioneering 
that shall be approved by the department biennially. 
 

 SECTION 2.  RL 128.03 (1) (c) and (d) are repealed. 
 

 SECTION 3.  The Note following RL 128.04 (1) is amended to read: 
 
 Note:  Applications for educational program and course approval are available 

from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Bureau of Direct Licensing and Real 
Estate Office of Education and Examinations, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 

8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708 or from the department’s website at:  http://drl.wi.gov. 
 
 SECTION 4.  The Note following RL 128.04 (1m) (e) is amended to read: 

 
 Note:  Applications for educational program and course approval are available 

from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Education and 
Examinations, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 
53708 or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov. 

 
 SECTION 5.  The Note following RL 128.04 (6) (b) is amended to read: 

 

mailto:pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us
mailto:pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us
http://drl.wi.gov/
http://drl.wi.gov/
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 Note:  Applications for approval of instructors are available from the Department 
of Regulation and Licensing, Bureau of Direct Licensing and Real Estate Office of 

Education and Examinations, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, 
Wisconsin 53708 or from the department’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following 
publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), 

Stats. 
 
 

 
 

Dated ___________________ Agency ___________________________________ 
       Celia M. Jackson, Secretary 
       Department of Regulation and Licensing 
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