Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

Senate Joint Resolution 2

Relating to: conditions for release prior to conviction, including the imposition of bail (second consideration).

By Senators Wanggaard, Bradley, Testin, Stroebel, James, Quinn and Feyen; cosponsored by Representatives Duchow, Neylon, Allen, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Gundrum, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kurtz, Macco, Magnafici, Michalski, Moses, Murphy, Novak, Ortiz-Velez, Penterman, Rettinger, Rozar, Snyder, Sortwell, Steffen, Tittl, Wichgers and Wittke.

January 05, 2023 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

January 10, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque,

Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor, Roys and

Larson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Van Wanggaard 21 Senate District
- Representative Cindi Duchow 99th Assembly District
- Waukesha County Assistant District Attorney Michael Thurston
- Mark Sette WI fraternal order of police

Appearances Against

- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender
- Craig Johnson WI Justice Initiative
- Director of Dane County Pretrial Services Rhonda Frank-Loron - Dane County Pretrial Services
- Brittany Lee Moes Dream.org
- Atty Anthony Jurek Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
- Rep Ryan Clancy Assembly District 19 and Milwaukee County District 4
- Atty Sarah Schmeiser Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
- Charity Barry
- Executive Director Jerome Dillard EXPO of Wisconsin

- Executive Assistant Marianne Oleson EXPO of Wisconsin
- Craig Johnson Wisconsin Justice Initiative

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Pearl Foster
- Steven Conway Wifop
- James Fenley Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Senator Julian Bradley
- Alexander Ayala Milwaukee Police Association

Registrations Against

- Rep Madison Rep Darrin Madison
- Robert Nagel

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 12, 2023 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (8) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque,

Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor, Roys and

Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Joint Resolution 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton and James.

Noes: (3) Senators Taylor, Roys and Larson.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Eric Barbour

Committee Clerk