### **Senate**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Government Operations, Legal Review and Consumer Protection

#### Senate Bill 344

Relating to: registration and the scope of practice of interior designers and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Kooyenga, Johnson, Stroebel, Marklein and Roys; cosponsored by Representatives Horlacher, Stubbs, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Dittrich, Gundrum, Hintz, Krug, Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, Neylon, Skowronski, Sortwell, Vruwink and Wichgers.

May 14, 2021 Referred to Committee on Government Operations, Legal Review and Consumer Protection

#### August 25, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators Felzkowski, Bradley, Roys and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Senator Dale Kooyenga 5th Senate District
- Representative Cody Horlacher 33rd Assembly District
- Jodie Thill
- Melissa Destree
- Mindy Hoppe
- Lesley Sager
- Gigi Szelinski
- Laura Schade Stroik
- Mitchell Bacon
- Catherine Starosta Mount Mary University
- Robert Schwartz Mount Mary University
- Janella Curtis International Interior Design Association
- Kevin Sorg
- Eric Daun Milwaukee Professional Firefighters Association
- Jim Sjolander Building Inspection, City of Middleton
- Ed Lisinski Wisconsin Code Officials Alliance
- Stephanie Anderson
- Bill Beaudreau
- Sheila Semrou

- Pam Cramer
- Alan Bachmann Bachmann Construction
- Michelle Schildgen

#### Appearances Against

- Lisa Kennedy AIA Wisconsin
- Jennifer Lehrke AIA Wisconsin
- Matthew Wiedenhoeft AIA Wisconsin
- Walter Wilson
- Andrea Cecelia
- Michael Mazmanian City of Milwaukee
- Ralph Jackson AIA Wisconsin
- Stacey Keller AIA Wisconsin
- Kathryn Tyson AIA Wisconsin
- Suzanne Van Cleave AIA Wisconsin
- Edward Kuharski

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Justin Held
- Tim Dobbs Creative Business Interiors
- Nathan Ladwig Creative Business Interiors
- Ana Rosa Tapia Creative Business Interiors
- Kate Stachowiak
- Katia Arce
- Jerilyn Alsum
- Taylor Roberts
- Emma Eisch
- Stephanie Gander
- Anahi Lopez Mount Mary University
- Laysha Puga
- Angelica Wisch Mount Mary University
- Maria Jimenez
- Elise DeGraef Mount Mary University
- Kylie Flores
- Precious Miller
- Elisabeth Niemetschek
- Debra Alton
- Sarah Loera Flores Mount Mary University
- Robin Stroebel
- Beverly Quiles Martinez
- Jordan Green

- Hollie Schick
- Katherine Seno Mount Mary University
- Zachary Denton
- Koreen Pelot IIDA
- Russ Zoellner IIDA
- Galit Hayes IIDA
- Russell Kowalski

#### Registrations Against

- Carol Richard
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association & NAIOP Wisconsin
- David Litton Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs Association
- Brian Fischer
- Rachel Nelan AIA Wisconsin

#### Registrations for Information Only

• Jalyssa Rivera - Mount Mary University

#### October 26, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators Felzkowski, Bradley, Roys and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Felzkowski, seconded by Senator Bradley that **Senate Bill 344** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (4) Senator Stroebel; Senators Felzkowski, Bradley and Roys.

Noes: (1) Senator Smith.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Mark Radcliffe
Committee Clerk