Record of Committee Proceedings

Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules

Clearinghouse Rule 21-093

Relating to county and district fairs.

Submitted by Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

June 28, 2022 Referred to Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules

July 12, 2022 Meeting with Agency requested

August 16, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Senator Nass; Representative Neylon; Senators

Stroebel, Bradley, Roys and Larson;

Representatives August, Spiros and Hebl.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Subeck.

Appearances For (Rule without Objection)

- Sharon Henes DATCP
- Fratney Miller DATCP
- Jayme Buttke WI Association of Fairs
- Tonya Dvork Manitowoc County Fair
- Mary Check Rock County Fair
- Jackie Kumm St. Croix County
- Scott Gunderson Racine County Fair
- Rusty Volk Northern Wisconsin State Fair
- Matthew Immel Fon du Lac County Fiar
- Amy LIstle Jefferson County Fair
- Chrissy Gluege Waukesha County fair

Appearances Against (Rule with Objection)

- Sen. Joan Ballweg Senate District 14
- Rep. Tony Kurtz Assembly District 50
- Rep. Jon Plumer Assembly District 42
- Marie Preuss Elroy Fair
- Shelly Dougs Elroy Fair & Juneau County Fair
- Eric Johnson Lodi Ag Fair
- Lori Ripp Lodi Ag Fair

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Katy Walters Waukesha County Fair
- David Adams Walworth County Fair
- Charity Guzman Waukesha County Fair

Registrations Against

- Wayne Joernke Lodi Ag Fair
- C. Terry Jobsis Hoernke Lodi Ag Fair
- Michael Bradley Elroy Fair
- Susan Quam Fair Volunteer

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

August 25, 2022 **Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot**

Present: (10) Senator Nass; Representative Neylon; Senators Stroebel, Bradley, Roys and Larson; Representatives August, Spiros, Subeck and Hebl.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved, that pursuant to s. 227.19 (5) (d), Stats., the Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules nonconcur in the partial objection to **Clearinghouse Rule 21-093** by the Senate Committee on Agriculture and Tourism.

Ayes: (10) Senator Nass; Representative Neylon; Senators Stroebel, Bradley, Roys and Larson; Representatives August, Spiros, Subeck and Hebl.

Noes: (0) None.

NONCONCURRENCE IN OBJECTION PASSED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Adam Field
Committee Clerk