Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources and Energy

Senate Bill 772

Relating to: PFAS standards and grant programs, providing blood testing for certain individuals, requiring a cancer cluster study, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Senator Hansen; cosponsored by Representative Nygren.

February 05, 2020 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources and Energy

February 07, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (4) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Miller and

Hansen.

Absent: (1) Senator Marklein.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Dave Hansen 30th Senate District
- Representative John Nygren 89th Assembly District
- Beth Bier Department of Natural Resources
- Darsi Foss Department of Natural Resources
- Casey Hicks Wisconsin Conservation Voters
- Jeff Lamont SOH20
- Daryl Sherman
- Doug Oitzinger SOH20
- Cindy Boyle SOH20
- Andi Rich
- Tony Krzyzewski
- Charles Frisk
- Marilyn Hamilton
- Dr. Elizabeth Neary
- Michael Farni
- George Meyer Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Rob Lee Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Carly Michiels Clean Wisconsin
- Maria Powell Midwest Environmental Justice Organization
- Mary Beth George 20th Assembly District

Appearances Against

- Delanie Breuer Wisconsin Paper Council
- Scott Manley Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Steve Risotto American Chemistry Council
- Jason Culotta Midwest Food Products Association

Appearances for Information Only

- Andrew Hoyer Booth Department of Health Services
- Roy Irving Department of Health Services
- Jon Meiman Department of Health Services
- Carl Landsness
- Martin Griffin Madison Metropolitan Sewerage District
- Matthew Miller Sandpiper Institute
- Eric Uram
- Vanessa Wishart Municipal Environmental Group-Wastewater Division
- Loreen Gage

Registrations For

- Representative Rob Swearingen 34th Assembly District
- Cindy Boyle Craig Koller
- Diane Dempsey
- Chuck Boyle SOH20
- Jean Beckwith
- Alexander Madorsky The Nature Conservancy
- President Ray Cross UW-System
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Public Health Association
- David Fallow
- Charlene Brandl
- Sally Young
- Laura Olah Citizens for Safe Water Around Badger
- Jenny Hayes
- Harry Richardson
- Frances Wiedenhoeft Veterans for Peace
- Genie Ogden
- Mitchell Nussbaum
- Karen Matteoni
- Niki Euhardy
- Susan Carson
- Cecilia Goldschmidt Wisconsin Women's Network
- Adrienne Ramirez
- Silvia Martinez

- Ariana Hones Wisconsin Women's Network Policy Institute
- Karolyn Beebe
- Rotiesha Nelson
- Kristen Johnson
- Angela West Blank
- Jeffrey Evan Arnold
- Martina Rippon
- Patricia Hammal

Registrations Against

• Paige Scobee - Wisconsin Civil Justice Council

Registrations for Information Only

• Curt Witynski - League of Wisconsin Municipalities

February 11, 2020 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Miller and Hansen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Senate Bill 772 be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (4) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Miller and Hansen.

Noes: (1) Senator Marklein.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Toni Herkert Committee Clerk