Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources and Energy

Senate Bill 723

Relating to: county conservation staffing and making an appropriation. By Senators Testin, Jacque, Olsen, Petrowski and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Novak, Brooks, Felzkowski, Hebl, Kitchens, Krug, Kurtz, Pope, Shankland, Summerfield, Tranel, Anderson, Ballweg, Billings, Cabrera, Considine, Edming, Emerson, Gruszynski, Knodl, Kulp, Magnafici, Milroy, Mursau, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Petryk, Plumer, Sargent, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Steffen, Subeck, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Tittl, Tusler, Vining, Vruwink, Zamarripa, Zimmerman, Born and Spiros.

January 24, 2020 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources and Energy

February 05, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Miller and Hansen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- Representative Todd Novak 51st Assembly District
- Kurt Calkins Columbia County Land and Water Conservation Department
- Greg Baneck Outagamie County Land Conservation Department
- Bob Schlimm
- Matt Krueger Wisconsin Land and Water Conservation Association
- Kara O'Connor Wisconsin Farmers Union

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Sara Walling - Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Registrations For

- Allison Werner River Alliance of Wisconsin
- Margaret Krome Michael Fields Agricultural Institute

- John Holevoet Dairy Business Association
- Michael Engleson Wisconsin Lakes
- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin Conservation Voters
- Debi Towns Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Brandon Scholz Wisconsin Wetlands Association
- Brandon Scholz Wisconsin Trout Unlimited
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Corn Growers Association
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County Board of Supervisors
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- Melissa Schlupp Sauk County Land Resources and Environment Department
- Amber Meyer Smith Clean Wisconsin

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Bradford Steine - Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

February 11, 2020 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Miller and Hansen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Senate Bill 723 be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Miller and Hansen.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Toni Herkert
Committee Clerk