Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources and Energy

Senate Bill 712

Relating to: funding a University of Wisconsin System freshwater collaborative and making an appropriation.

By Senators Darling, Cowles, Larson, Olsen, Petrowski, Testin and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Novak, Shankland, Tranel, Krug, Summerfield, Kurtz, Pope, Hebl, Kitchens, Felzkowski, Anderson, Ballweg, Cabrera, Considine, Doyle, Edming, Emerson, Gruszynski, Katsma, Kolste, Kulp, Macco, Magnafici, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Petryk, Plumer, Sargent, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Subeck, Swearingen, Tauchen, Billings, C. Taylor, Tusler, Vining, Vruwink, Zamarripa, Zimmerman, Allen and Spiros.

January 24, 2020 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources and Energy

January 29, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (4) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Miller and

Hansen.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Marklein.

Appearances For

- Senator Alberta Darling 8th Senate District
- Representative Todd Novak 51st Assembly District
- Tom Luljak UW-Milwaukee
- James Hurley UW-Madison
- Kevin Fermanich UW-Green Bay
- J. Brian Mahoney UW-Eau Claire
- Val Klump UW-Milwaukee
- Roger Haro UW-La Crosse
- Amy Eliot UW-Superior Lake Superior Research Institute
- Jessica Orlofske UW-Parkside
- Brian Sloss UW-Stevens Point
- Elisabeth Harrachy UW-Whitewater

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Robert Cowles 2nd Senate District
- Ray Cross UW-System
- Andy Leavitt UW-Oshkosh

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 05, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Miller and Hansen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Cowles, seconded by Senator Miller that **Senate Bill 712** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Miller and Hansen.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Toni Herkert

Committee Clerk