Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

Senate Bill 5

Relating to: classifying county jailers as protective occupation participants under the Wisconsin Retirement System and the treatment of county jailers under the Municipal Employment Relations Act.

By Senators Marklein, Bewley, Darling, Hansen, Jacque, Johnson, Larson, Risser, Schachtner, Smith, Testin and Bernier; cosponsored by Representatives Born, Edming, Brandtjen, Brooks, Felzkowski, Horlacher, Jagler, Katsma, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Petersen, Plumer, Rohrkaste, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Sortwell, Steffen, Steineke, Stuck, Subeck, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt, Tranel, VanderMeer and Zimmerman.

January 23, 2019 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

March 19, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (4) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque, Darling and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Risser.

Appearances For

- Representative Mark Born
- Senator Howard Marklein
- Sheriff Nate Dreckman WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Sheriff Nate Dreckman Badger State Sheriffs' Association
- Chief Deputy Jeff Spencer WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Chief Deputy Jeff Spencer Badger State Sheriffs' Association
- Captain Jeff Klett WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Captain Jeff Klett Badger State Sheriffs' Association
- Sheriff Todd Delain Brown County Sheriffs Office
- Andrew Phillips Wisconsin Counties Association
- Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Counties Association
- Bill Weiss Vilas County Sheriff's Office
- Sergeant Jamie Meier Vilas County Sheriff's Office
- Officer Jeremy Cox Polk County Jail

- Sheriff Scott Parks Marathon County
- Lieutenant Jim Stilson Columbia County Sheriff's Office
- Theresa Lorenz Eau Claire County Jail
- Sheriff Dale Schmidt Dodge County Sheriff
- Sheriff Jeff Wolf LaCrosse County Sheriff

Appearances Against

- Ethan Hollenberger Washington County
- Norm Cummings Waukesha County

Appearances for Information Only

- Tarna Hunter Department of Employee Trust Funds
- Matt Stohr Department of Employee Trust Funds

Registrations For

- Corrections Lieutenant Doug Verheyen Outagamie County
- Representative Warren Petryk
- County Executive Troy Streckenbach Brown County
- Representative Tony Kurtz
- Ron Cramer
- Sheriff David Mahoney Dane County
- Sheriff Ryan Waldschmidt Fond du Lac County
- Chief Deputy Chad Roberts Polk County Sheriffs Office
- Sheriff Dan Hartwig Manitowoc County
- Deputy Sheriff Troy Steege Marquette County
- Deputy Sheriff Joe Stark Marquette County
- Captain Dave Kiesner Outagamie County Sheriff's Office
- Sheriff Clint Kriewaldt Outagamie County
- Bob Wierenga WI County Law Enforcement Professionals of Wisconsin
- Deputy Sheriffs Geffrey Gardner Marquette County
- Sheriff Kurt Picknell Walworth County

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Present: (5) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque, Darling,
Risser and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None.
Excused: (0) None.

Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Valirie Maxim
Committee Clerk