Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

Senate Bill 386

Relating to: trespassing on the property of an energy provider and providing a penalty.

By Senators Wanggaard, Olsen, Nass, Bewley and Schachtner; cosponsored by Representatives Steffen, Fields, Kuglitsch, Tusler, Gundrum, Rodriguez, Kulp, Skowronski, Born, Vruwink and Sinicki.

September 05, 2019 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

October 22, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(4)	Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque, Risser
		and L. Taylor.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Senator Darling.

Appearances For

- Senator Van Wanggaard
- Representative Jason Fields
- Terry McGowan Wisconsin Operating Engineers
- Steve Bonaparte WI Pipe Trades
- Steve Kwaterski WI Laborers' District Council
- Executive Director Erin Roth American Petroleum Institute

Appearances Against

- Scott Pitta
- David Armiak
- John Endrizzi
- Harry Bennett
- Max Prestigiacomo
- Justin Novotney
- Timothy Cordon
- Ronalee Monroe
- Rn Susan Bietila
- Richard Jones
- Ryan Clancy
- Donald Roberts
- Riley Kaiser
- Kelly Grenquist

- Sarah Zarling Citizens Acting for Rail Safety-Watertown
- Robert Owen Jr
- Rev John Stanley

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Dean Hackl
- Bernie Samz
- Corey Mcgovern
- Mark Linsmeier
- Mark Gauf
- Charlie Schuett
- Jeremy Allen
- Corey Starr Liuna
- Timothy Pattermann
- Mr Robert Weaver Operating Engineers
- Pat Goss WTBA
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative Network
- President Scott Suder Wisconsin Paper Council
- Steve Baas Mmac
- Lane Ruhland WMC
- Bill Skewes Wis. Utilities Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Joe Strohl BNSF
- Jeff Knight Mechanical Contractors Association of Wisconsin
- Peter Kammer Wisconsin Railroad Association
- Jeff Knight Plumbing and Mechanical Contractors Association of Milw. and SE Wisc. Inc.
- Jeff Knight Sheet Metal and Air Conditioning Contractors Assoc. of Milw., Inc.
- Misha Lee Construction Business Group
- Susan Quam Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Bob Welch Operating Engineers Local 139
- Mr Brandon Scholz Wisconsin Grocers Association
- Executive Director Todd Stuart Wisconsin Industrial Energy Group - WIEG

Registrations Against

- Dr Susan Millar
- Maria Haskins

- Guy Reiter
- Leah Qusba Alliance for Climate Education
- Gail Nordheim 350 Madison
- Mr Edward Kuharski
- Andrew Trusty
- Rob Lee Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Dr Al Gedicks
- Cathy Loeb
- Barb With
- Elizabeth Ward Sierra Club
- Julie Melton
- Michael Monroe
- Abby Ross
- Alicia Shoberg
- David Fallow
- Attorney Patricia Hammel Madison Chapter National Lawyers Guild
- Mike Wiggins Bad River Tribe
- Mark Borchardt
- Judith Stadler
- Sven Midelfort
- Steve Shirshac
- Trespass John Bell
- Joan Kemble
- Rick Ruecking
- Bernie Schlafke
- Ms Jane M Rains
- Mr William Kilgour

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 29, 2019 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

- Present: (5) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque, Darling, Risser and L. Taylor.
- Absent: (0) None.
- Excused: (0) None.

Moved that Senate Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (5) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque, Darling, Risser and L. Taylor.
- Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved that **Senate Bill 386** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (4) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque, Darling and L. Taylor.

Noes: (1) Senator Risser.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Valirie Maxim Committee Clerk