Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Insurance, Financial Services, Government Oversight and Courts

Senate Joint Resolution 57

Relating to: convention of the States for one or more Constitutional amendments restraining abuses of power by the federal government.

By Senators Tiffany, Bernier, Jacque, Nass, Stroebel and Marklein; cosponsored by Representatives Knodl, Brandtjen, Edming, Felzkowski, Hutton, Ramthun, Schraa, Sortwell, Dittrich, Gundrum, Horlacher, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Magnafici, Mursau, Neylon, Ott, Petryk, Quinn, Stafsholt, Summerfield, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, Zimmerman and Kurtz.

August 08, 2019 Referred to Committee on Insurance, Financial Services, Government Oversight and Courts

October 03, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Craig; Senators Stroebel, Feyen, Risser and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Brian Higgins
- Mrs Sarah Peloquin Convention of States
- Marvin Wagner Convention Of States
- Michael Pulvermacher
- Robert Kelly Convention of States Action
- Lisa Thompson-Bingenheimer CoS
- Ann Brigham Convention of States
- Scott Petersen Convention Of States
- Vince Gorichan COS
- Mr David Certa Cos
- Daniel Gumbert
- Joanne Laufenberg
- Senator Tom Tiffany 12th Senate District
- Taylor Rens
- Representative Dan Knodl
- Ken Quinn US Term Limits
- Representative Rob Stafsholt Assembly District 29

Appearances Against

- David Lewis
- John Coover
- Exec director Matt Rothschild Wis democracy campaign
- Attornney Joan Schwarz
- Paul Ryan
- Kathleen Fullin League of Women Voters
- Sheri Swokowski ACLU WI

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jeffrey Blaska
- Julie Hedstrom
- David Zwicky
- Mr Timothy Gregerson
- Peg Senf COS
- John Pope Self
- Bruce Laufenberg
- Regional Director COSA Catherine Zemanek -Convention Of States
- Jennifer Carey COS
- Benjamin Laufenberg
- Mr Clifford Cash COS
- Joseph Laufenberg
- Helen K
- Patrick K
- Arik K
- Grass Roots Coordinator Terry Certa Convention of States
- Brenda Rens
- Mr Scott Webb
- Steve Statsick Myself
- Peter Rens
- Glenn Dunville
- Steve Effertz
- James Schumacher
- Jack Sanderson Self
- Representative Mary Felzkowski 35th Assembly District
- James Jones

Registrations Against

- David Armiak
- Janie Riebe Citizens of WI
- Mitchell Nussbaum Self
- Genie Ogden
- Jon Peacock Kids forward.
- Representative Chris Taylor 76th Assembly District

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 17, 2020 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Craig; Senators Stroebel, Feyen, Risser and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Joint Resolution 57** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Craig; Senators Stroebel and Risser.

Noes: (2) Senators Feyen and L. Taylor.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Sam Hope Committee Clerk