# **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Insurance, Financial Services, Government Oversight and Courts

#### Senate Bill 314

Relating to: limiting certain 2nd class cities' ability to designate or regulate historic landmarks.

By Senators Kapenga, Darling, Fitzgerald, Kooyenga, Nass and Craig; cosponsored by Representatives Neylon, Brandtjen, Brooks, Dittrich, Duchow, Gundrum, Horlacher, Hutton, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Murphy, Ramthun, Sanfelippo and Skowronski.

July 03, 2019 Referred to Committee on Insurance, Financial Services,

Government Oversight and Courts

#### July 16, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Craig; Senators Stroebel, Feyen, Risser and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

## Appearances For

- Senator Chris Kapenga WI State Senate
- Representative Adam Neylon WI State Assembly
- County Executive Paul Farrow Waukesha County
- Public Works Director Allison Bussler Waukesha County
- Parks and Land Use Director Dale Shaver Waukesha County

#### Appearances Against

- Mayor Shawn Reilly City of Waukesha
- Mary Emery Waukesha Preservation Alliance
- Kurt Stege Madison Trust for Historic Preservation
- Eugene Hackbarth
- Mary Jane Sanchez
- Alder Cassie Rodriguez City of Waukesha District 3
- County Supervisor Kathleen Cummings

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Kate Easton WI Historical Society
- Daina Penkiunas WI Historical Society

#### Registrations For

- Kyle Christianson WI Counties Association
- Sarah Spaeth Waukesha County Board of Supervisors

### Registrations Against

- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Wendy Muller
- Marilyn Hagerstrand Waukesha Preservation Alliance
- Kevin Lahner
- Mitchell Nussbaum
- Genie Ogden

#### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## September 19, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (5) Senator Craig; Senators Stroebel, Feyen, Risser

and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Stroebel, seconded by Senator Feyen that **Senate Bill 314** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senator Craig; Senators Stroebel and Feyen.

Noes: (2) Senators Risser and L. Taylor.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

\_\_\_\_\_

Sam Hope Committee Clerk