Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Operations, Technology and Consumer Protection

Senate Bill 612

Relating to: increasing the minimum retirement age under the Wisconsin Retirement System; decreasing the minimum break in service for annuitants in the Wisconsin Retirement System who are rehired by a participating employer; and allowing rehired annuitants to elect to not participate in the Wisconsin Retirement System.

By Senators Stroebel and Petrowski; cosponsored by Representatives Felzkowski, Katsma, Dittrich, Edming, Krug, L. Myers, Quinn, Rohrkaste, Snyder and Wichgers.

December 06, 2019 Referred to Committee on Government Operations, Technology and Consumer Protection

January 29, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators Kapenga, Craig, Wirch and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Mike Ritchie
- Senator Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Ethan Hollenberger Washington County
- Mayor Tim Michalak City of Hartford
- Representative Mary Felzkowski 35th Assembly District
- Dan Rossmiller Wisconsin Association of School Boards

Appearances Against

- Peggy Wirtz-Olsen Wisconsin Education Association Council
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance & Wisconsin Retired Educators Association

Appearances for Information Only

• Tarna Hunter - Employee Trust Funds

Registrations For

None.

Registrations Against

- Executive Director Kim Kaukl Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance
- Andy Swartz Self
- Amy Owen Self

Registrations for Information Only

• Terri Phillips - Southeastern Wisconsin Schools Alliance

February 11, 2020 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators Kapenga, Craig, Wirch and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Senate Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Stroebel; Senators Kapenga and Craig.

Noes: (2) Senators Wirch and Smith.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Senate Bill 612 be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Stroebel; Senators Kapenga and Craig.

Noes: (2) Senators Wirch and Smith.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Lucas Fuller Committee Clerk