Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 744

Relating to: incorporating the Holocaust and other genocides into the state model social studies standards and requiring instruction on the Holocaust and other genocides.

By Senators Darling, Kooyenga, Carpenter, Jacque, Johnson, Larson, Miller, Ringhand, Risser, Schachtner, Wanggaard, Hansen and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Plumer, Subeck, Skowronski, Allen, Anderson, Billings, Bowen, Brostoff, Cabrera, Dittrich, Duchow, Goyke, Hesselbein, Hintz, Katsma, Knodl, Kulp, L. Myers, Ohnstad, Ott, Pronschinske, Quinn, Riemer, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Stafsholt, Steffen, Stubbs, Tittl, Tusler, Vining, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Vos and Doyle.

January 29, 2020	Referred to Committee	on Education
------------------	-----------------------	--------------

March 11, 2020 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Senator Olsen; Senators Darling, Nass,	
		Kooyenga, Bernier, Larson, Bewley, Johnson	
		and Schachtner.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(0)	None.	

Appearances For

- Moshe Katz SB744
- Jody Fuller
- Jodi Majerus HERC
- Eva Zaret
- Sarah Gesner The Prairie School
- Teacher Yvonne Audi
- Nancy Barnett
- Joel Been
- CHair hOlocaust eDucation tAsk fOrce BEverly Greenberg SElf
- Bruce Varick Archdiocese of Milwaukee
- Ms. Natalie White Prairie du Chien High School
- Dr. Dan Haumschild Holocaust Education Resource Center
- Demiree Busch
- Maggie Lottes Notre Dame School of Milwaukee
- Senator Alberta Darling 8th senate district
- Rep Lisa Subeck 78th Assembly District

• Merle Sternberg

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Pat Marver
- Anthony Waite
- Diane Been
- Student Regan Weeks Milwaukee School of Languages
- Student Hazel Stevens My School
- Student Adahlia Gonzalez
- Judy O'hara
- Student JEremiah EVerett
- Mark Gesner
- Arleen Peltz HERC
- Bridget Harper
- Brittney Molinaro
- Ashley Harper
- Kiana Vazquez
- Dr. Monica Olague-Marchan Self and Archdiocese of Milwaukee
- Ryan Thein Prairie du Chien
- Mrs. Lynn Dziadulewicz Milwaukee Archdiocese
- Jonah Hornseth SB744
- Raymond Slawinski SB-744
- Ellie Mara
- President urban league of greater madison Ruben Anthony - Urban league of greater madison
- Ann Imig
- Dean Boyer HERC
- Kirbie Mack BPSA
- Executive director Marc Herstand National association of social workers wisconsin
- Kathy Blumenfeld
- Executive Director Kim Vercauteren Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Senator Dale Kooyenga

Registrations Against

• John Forester - School Administrators Alliance

Registrations for Information Only

- Senior Policy Advisor Jennifer Kammerud Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Legislative Aide Collin Mead Senator Bewley
- March 26, 2020 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Jenna Zantow Committee Clerk