## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Education**

### Senate Bill 527

Relating to: the seclusion and physical restraint of pupils.

By Senators Olsen, Johnson, Darling, Bewley, Cowles, Kooyenga, Larson, Schachtner and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Quinn, Considine, Dittrich, Bowen, Cabrera, Crowley, Doyle, Edming, Felzkowski, Jagler, Kulp, Milroy, Novak, Ohnstad, Ramthun, Rodriguez, Sargent, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor, Tittl, Vruwink, Wittke and Zimmerman.

October 25, 2019 Referred to Committee on Education

November 19, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(8)	Senator Olsen; Senators Darling, Nass,
		Kooyenga, Larson, Bewley, Johnson and
		Schachtner.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Senator Bernier.

Appearances For

- Angela Wendling
- Amber McGinley AASD SEPTA President
- Executive director Lisa Pugh The arc Wisconsin
- Molly Immendorf
- Nicki Vander Meulen Myself
- Legislative liaison Tami Jackson Wisconsin board for people with developmental disabilities
- Advocate Sally Flaschberger Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Joshua Rabel My daughter
- Joanne Juhnke
- Director Student Services Amanda Mazurkiewicz
- Jeff Spritzer-Resnick Autism Society Of South Central Wisconsin
- Hugh Davis Wisconsin Family Ties
- Senator Luther Olsen 14th Senate District
- Katie French
- Advocacy Specialist Sally Flaschberger Disability Rights wisconsin
- Kimberlee Coronado My children

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Executive director John Forester Wisconsin School Administrators Alliance
- Mr Dan Rossmiller Wisconsin Association of School Boards

#### Registrations For

- Shannon Zimmerman Representative
- Representative Romaine Quinn
- Anna Moffit NAMI Dane County
- Kelli Simpkins Madison Partners for Inclusive Education
- Co-Chair Lisa Pugh Survival Coalition
- Jennifer Moore
- Public Policy and Advocacy Director Crystal Hester NAMI Wisconsin

#### **Registrations** Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### December 19, 2019 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

- Present: (9) Senator Olsen; Senators Darling, Nass, Kooyenga, Bernier, Larson, Bewley, Johnson and Schachtner. Absent: (0) None.
- Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that Senate Bill 527 be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (9) Senator Olsen; Senators Darling, Nass, Kooyenga, Bernier, Larson, Bewley, Johnson and Schachtner.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Jenna Zantow Committee Clerk