Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 138

Relating to: professional development training in character education for teachers, pupil service professionals, principals, and school district administrators, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Darling, Larson, Carpenter, Johnson, L. Taylor and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Rodriguez, Crowley, Anderson, Duchow, Fields, James, Kulp, Mursau, L. Myers, Novak, Ohnstad, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snyder, Subeck, C. Taylor and Tittl.

March 28, 2019 Referred to Committee on Education

September 17, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Senator Olsen; Senators Darling, Nass, Kooyenga, Bernier, Larson, Bewley, Johnson and Schachtner.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Alberta Darling 8th Senate District
- Senator Chris Larson
- Dick Pieper
- Mrs Tosha Womack WCEP
- Alexandria Millet
- Principal-Meyer Middle School Mark Chapin WCEP Advisory Committee

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Grant Huber Dept of Public Instruction
- Rep Jessie Rodriguez Assembly District 21
- Mr Dan Rossmiller Wis. Association of School Boards
- SAA Executive Director John Forester Wisconsin Assn of School Disrict Administrators

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 17, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (9) Senator Olsen; Senators Darling, Nass, Kooyenga, Bernier, Larson, Bewley, Johnson and Schachtner.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Bewley, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Senator Olsen; Senators Darling, Nass, Kooyenga, Bernier, Larson, Bewley, Johnson and Schachtner.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Bernier, seconded by Senator Bewley that **Senate Bill 138** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Senator Olsen; Senators Darling, Bernier, Larson, Bewley, Johnson and Schachtner.

Noes: (2) Senators Nass and Kooyenga.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 2

Jenna Zantow

Committee Clerk