Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions

Senate Bill 575

Relating to: farmland preservation implementation grants, agreements, and tax credits and making an appropriation.

By Senators Testin, Schachtner, Smith and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Oldenburg, Spreitzer, Novak, Kolste, Tranel, Shankland, Bowen, Cabrera, Considine, Doyle, Emerson, Gruszynski, Kitchens, Krug, Kulp, Mursau, Neubauer, Ramthun, Schraa, Skowronski, Subeck, Summerfield, C. Taylor, Tusler, VanderMeer and Vruwink.

November 22, 2019 Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions

February 06, 2020 Public Hearing Held

Present: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Sen. Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- Representative Loren Oldenburg 96th Assembly District
- Doug Rebout Wisconsin corn growers
- Debi Towns WI Farm Bureau
- County conservationist Tom Sweeney Rock county
- Representative Mark Spreitzer
- Matt Krueger WI Land and Water
- Scott Laeser Clean wisconsin
- Kara O'Connor

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Sara Walling DATCP
- Katy Smith DATCP

Registrations For

- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Soybean Association

- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Cattlemens Assn
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Pork Assn
- Kurt Gibbs Marathon County Board of Supervisors
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Assn
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin State Cranberry Growers Assn
- John Jacobson Wisconsin Property Taxpayers, Inc.
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Corn Growers Association
- Legislative Director Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- George Meyer Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Joe Ruth Wisconsin Towns Association
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative netwlre
- Jennifer Giegerich WI Conservation Voters

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 13, 2020 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Bill 575** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Vincent Williams
Committee Clerk