Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions

Senate Bill 186

Relating to: creating and funding a University of Wisconsin Dairy Innovation Hub and making an appropriation.

By Senators Marklein, Testin, Bernier, Darling, Feyen, Olsen and Petrowski; cosponsored by Representatives Tranel, Summerfield, Tauchen, Zimmerman, Edming, Kerkman, Kitchens, Kulp, Kurtz, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Petryk, Plumer, Skowronski, Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Tusler, VanderMeer and Duchow.

April 26, 2019 Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions

May 01, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate Disrict
- State Representative Travis Tranel 49 th Dist
- Tina Hinchley Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Shelly Mayer Professional Dairy Producers
- Kent Weigel UW-Madison
- vice president Kevin Krentz Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Heather White UW-Madison
- Janet Clark Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Scott Rankin UW-Madison
- Troy Runge UW-Madison
- Chuck Schwab
- Mitch Breunig Mystic Valley Dairy
- Dr Tera Montgomery UW-Platteville
- dairy farmer Andy Buttles
- Cody Carpenter
- Rami Reddy School of Agriculture
- Dr Dennis Busch UW Platteville
- John Holevoet
- Amy Penterman Dairy Business Assoc

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Patrick Testin Senate District 24
- State Representative Tony Kurtz 50th Assembly District
- Representative Rob Summerfield 67th AD
- Jon Turke WI Bankers Assn
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Rebekah Sweeney Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association
- David ward Cooperative Network
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Corn Growers Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

May 09, 2019 **Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot**

Present: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Bill 186** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Vincent Williams
Committee Clerk