Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions

Senate Bill 18

Relating to: increasing the maximum deduction under the individual income tax sliding scale standard deduction.

By Senators Marklein, Stroebel, Kooyenga, Kapenga, Craig, Darling, Feyen, Fitzgerald, Jacque, LeMahieu, Testin, Tiffany, Wanggaard, Bernier and Roth; cosponsored by Representatives Vos, Steineke, Nygren, Macco, Katsma, Allen, August, Ballweg, Born, Brandtjen, Brooks, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Felzkowski, Gundrum, Horlacher, Hutton, Jagler, James, Kerkman, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Quinn, Ramthun, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Stafsholt, Steffen, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Wichgers, Wittke and Zimmerman.

February 04, 2019 Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions

February 05, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Sen. Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Rep. Robin Vos 63rd Assembly District
- Cory Holig
- Abbie Erickson
- Katie Kress
- Joanne Laufenberg
- Scott Manley WMC
- Cory Fish WMC

Appearances Against

- Rep. Gordon Hintz 54th Assembly District
- Jon Peacock Kids Forward

Appearances for Information Only

• Secretary Peter Barca - Dept. of Revenue

Registrations For

- Rep. Adam Neylon 98th Assembly District
- Marvin Wagner
- Sen. Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Sen. Dale Kooyenga 5th Senate District
- Bill Smith NFIB
- Megan Novak Americans for Prosperity
- Rep. Jim Steineke 5th Assembly District
- Rep. Scott Krug 72nd Assembly District
- Michael Welsh WI Economic Development Assoc.
- Rep. Mike Kuglitsch 84th Assembly District
- Rep. Warren Petryk 93rd Assembly District

Registrations Against

- Laura Gottlieb
- Pamela Woodruff
- Rep. Christine Sinicki 20th Assembly District
- Janie Riebe
- Chris Nyland

Registrations for Information Only

• Steve Baas - MMAC

Vincent Williams Committee Clerk