Record of Committee Proceedings

Joint Committee on Finance

Assembly Bill 910

Relating to: a property tax exemption for all machinery, tools, and patterns; a reduction of state general obligation and variable rate debt supported by general purpose revenue; and increasing the maximum deduction under the individual income tax sliding scale standard deduction.

By Representatives Vos, Steineke and Nygren; cosponsored by Senators Fitzgerald, Roth and Darling.

February 14, 2020 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance

February 17, 2020 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(14)	Senator Darling; Representative Nygren;
		Senators Olsen, Marklein, Stroebel, LeMahieu,
		Erpenbach and Johnson; Representatives
		Loudenbeck, Born, Katsma, Zimmerman, C.
		Taylor and Goyke.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Senator Tiffany; Representative Rohrkaste.

Appearances For

- Rep. Dan Knodl
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Bus.
- Cory Fish WMC
- Don Millis WMC
- Megan Novak Americans for Prosperity

Appearances Against

- Doug Mering Baraboo School Board
- Susuan Fox Monona Grove School Board
- Megan Ottalloran
- Martha Sararo
- Lauren Shawl

Appearances for Information Only

• Curt Witynski - Leag of WI Municipalities

Registrations For

- Michell Vetterkind WI Broadcasts Assn
- Brian Dake WI Independent Businesses
- Neal Kedzie WI Motor Carriers Assn

- Jeff Knight Greater Whitewater Committee, Skiing WI, Assn of WI Tourist Attractions
- Michelle Kussow Water Quality Assn of WI, WI Grocers Assn,
- John Jacobson WI Property Taxpayers
- Jason Johns National Waste and Recycling Assn WI Chapter

Registrations Against

- Jamie Riebe
- Joseph Brown

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 17, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Senator Darling; Representative Nygren;
		Senators Olsen, Marklein, Stroebel, LeMahieu,
		Erpenbach and Johnson; Representatives
		Loudenbeck, Born, Katsma, Zimmerman, C.
		Taylor and Goyke.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Senator Tiffany; Representative Rohrkaste.

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Senator Darling that **Assembly Bill 910** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(10)	Senator Darling; Representative Nygren;
		Senators Olsen, Marklein, Stroebel and
		LeMahieu; Representatives Loudenbeck,
		Born, Katsma and Zimmerman.

Noes: (4) Senators Erpenbach and Johnson; Representatives C. Taylor and Goyke.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 4

Joe Malkasian Committee Clerk