Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Workforce Development

Assembly Bill 122

Relating to: employment and training activities for homeless populations, the Council on Workforce Investment, and local workforce development boards.

By Representatives Rodriguez, Steineke, Snyder, Pronschinske, Kurtz, Plumer, Dittrich, James, Tittl, Mursau, Felzkowski, Rohrkaste, Spiros, Steffen, Allen, Duchow, Kulp, Petryk, Petersen, Thiesfeldt, Kitchens, Edming, Schraa, Krug, Murphy, Tusler, Ballweg and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators Feyen and Carpenter.

March 25, 2019 Referred to Committee on Workforce Development

April 23, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present: (14) Representative Petryk; Representatives
Dittrich, Murphy, Allen, Brandtjen, Kulp,
Macco, Snyder, Gundrum, Oldenburg, Fields,
Crowley, Ohnstad and Haywood.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Shankland.

Appearances For

- Joseph Volk Wisconsin Coalition Against Homelessness
- Scott Peoples Pillars Inc.
- Brad Paul WISCAP
- Lexi Wood Micah Center
- Jim Bestul WI Apartment Association
- Rafael Aceredo Milwaukee Continuum of Care
- Andi Elliot Milwaukee Continuum of Care
- Torrie Kopp Mueller Homeless Services Consortium of Dane County
- Carrie Poser WI Balance of States Continuum of Care
- Representative Jessie Rodriguez

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

Katie Jaeger - HSC

- Jon Mugasaki Project Respect
- Eve Dorman
- Representative Warren Petryk
- Bob Welch AASCW
- Meghan Jensen
- Gary Goyke WI Apartment Association
- Gary Goyke Wis. Community Action WISCAP
- Senator Daniel Feyen
- Jodi Bloch Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
- Gai Lorenzen Racine Continuum of Care

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

June 04, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Petryk; Representatives
Dittrich, Allen, Brandtjen, Kulp, Macco,
Snyder, Gundrum, Shankland, Fields, Crowley
and Ohnstad.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Murphy, Oldenburg and Haywood.

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Macco that **Assembly Bill 122** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representative Petryk; Representatives
Dittrich, Allen, Brandtjen, Kulp, Macco,
Snyder, Gundrum, Shankland, Fields,
Crowley and Ohnstad.

Noes: (0) None.

*NOTE: Representative Murphy would have voted Aye on AB 122 had he been present.

*NOTE: Representative Haywood would have voted Aye on AB 122 had he been present.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

BJ Dernbach Committee Clerk