Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ways and Means

Assembly Bill 683

Relating to: expanding applicability of the room tax, making substantive and technical changes to the local room tax, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Kitchens, Billings, Novak, Emerson, Bowen, Considine, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, L. Myers, Pope, Rodriguez, Skowronski, Spiros, Swearingen and Tranel; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Bewley and Jacque.

December 20, 2019 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

January 09, 2020 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Macco; Representatives Wittke,
		Kerkman, Brooks, Petersen, Dittrich, Ramthun,
		Riemer, Ohnstad, Haywood and McGuire.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Kulp.

Appearances For

- Representative David Kitchens Wisconsin's 1st Assembly District
- Kim Robert Door County Tourism
- Bryan Nelson Door Co. Room Tax Zone Commission
- Josh Vanlieshout City of Sturgeon Bay
- Kathi Kilgore WI Hotel and Lodging Assoc.
- John Chaston Kalahari Resort
- Julia Hertel Wicsonins Assoc. of Convention and Visitors Bureau's

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jordan Lamb WI Dells Visitors and Convention Bureau
- Representative Jill Billings Wisconsin's 95th Assembly District
- Curt Witynski Leauge of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Senator Luther Olsen Wisconsin's 14th Senate District

• Erica Knight - Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions

 Registrations
 Against

 •
 Cory
 Fish - WMC.

 Registrations
 for
 Information
 Only

• None.

February 18, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present:	(11)	Representatives Wittke, Kerkman, Brooks,
		Kulp, Petersen, Dittrich, Ramthun, Riemer,
		Ohnstad, Haywood and McGuire.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Macco.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (11) Representatives Wittke, Kerkman, Brooks, Kulp, Petersen, Dittrich, Ramthun, Riemer, Ohnstad, Haywood and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 683** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Wittke, Kerkman, Brooks, Kulp, Petersen, Dittrich, Ramthun, Riemer, Ohnstad, Haywood and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Nicholas Bures Committee Clerk