Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ways and Means

Assembly Bill 4

Relating to: increasing the maximum deduction under the individual income tax sliding scale standard deduction.

By Representatives Vos, Steineke, Nygren, Macco, Katsma, Allen, August, Ballweg, Born, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Felzkowski, Gundrum, Horlacher, Hutton, Jagler, James, Kerkman, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Quinn, Ramthun, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Stafsholt, Steffen, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Wichgers, Wittke, Zimmerman and Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Fitzgerald, Darling, Marklein, Stroebel, Kooyenga, Kapenga, Craig, Feyen, Jacque, LeMahieu, Testin, Tiffany, Wanggaard, Bernier and Roth.

February 01, 2019 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

February 05, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Wittke, Kerkman, Brooks, Kulp, Petersen, Dittrich, Ramthun, Riemer, Doyle, Ohnstad and Haywood.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Cory Holig Cattail Dairy Farms LLC
- Abbie Erickson Cattail Dairy Farms LLC
- Katio Kress
- Joanne Laufenberg
- Scott Manley WMC
- Cory Fish WMC

Appearances Against

- Jon Peacock Kids Forward
- Rep. Gordon Hintz Assembly District 54

Appearances for Information Only

• Sec. Designee Peter Barca - Dept. of Revenue

Registrations For

- Rep. Adam Neylon Assembly District 98
- Marvin Wagner
- Sen. Duey Strobel Senate District 20
- Sen. Dale Kooyenga Senate District 5
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Megan Novak Americans for Prosperity
- Rep. Jim Steineke Assembly District 5
- Rep. Scott Krug Assembly District 72
- Michael Welsh WI Economic Development Assoc.
- Rep. Mike Kuglitsch Assembly District 84
- Rep. Warren Petryk Assembly District 93

Registrations Against

- Janie Riebe
- Laura Gottlieb
- Pamela Woodriff
- Rep. Christine Sinicki Assembly District 20
- Chris Nyland

Registrations for Information Only

• Steve Baas - MMAC

February 06, 2019 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Wittke, Kerkman, Brooks, Kulp, Petersen, Dittrich, Ramthun, Riemer, Doyle, Ohnstad and Haywood.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Riemer, seconded by Representative Ohnstad that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Riemer, Doyle, Ohnstad and Haywood.

Noes: (8) Representative Macco; Representatives
Wittke, Kerkman, Brooks, Kulp, Petersen,
Dittrich and Ramthun.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Bill 4** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative Macco; Representatives Wittke, Kerkman, Brooks, Kulp, Petersen, Dittrich and Ramthun.

Noes: (4) Representatives Riemer, Doyle, Ohnstad and Haywood.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Nicholas Bures Committee Clerk